DETAILED ACTION
Current Status
This action is responsive to the amended claims of 02/22/2023. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 3-8 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-2 and 9-11 have been examined on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of a compound of Formula (I) (below), acetochlor, and aegilops in the reply filed on 03/02/2026 is acknowledged.
The elected compound of Formula (I):
.
A search for the elected compound did not return any prior art (see SEARCH 6 of the attached search notes). Thus, the search was extended to encompass further Q moieties (with all other variables held as elected) and returned the species below. Since the extension returned prior art, the search will not be unnecessarily extended in this action, in accordance with Markush search practice.
The extended species are:
and
.
These species read on claims 1-2 and 9-11. The corresponding plant species is extended to grass weeds. The other agrochemically active substance is kept as acetochlor.
Claims 3-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (i.e., not the extended species), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/02/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The effective filing date is 08/20/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/22/2023 and 06/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “salt[[s” in line two. It appears applicant meant to strike the last “s” but did not close the brackets. Please amend. Claims 2 and 9-11 are objected to since they depend from claim 1 and do not rectify the underlying issue.
Claims 1 and 2 recite variables R1-R14, X, and Y and the various moieties from which they are each chosen from. Please make sure there is an “or” before the final moiety from which each variable is chosen. For example: under R1 “
” please insert “or” where the arrow is, before (C1-C8)-haloalkoxy. While these moieties are understood as alternatives (since no one variable can possibly be all of them at once), the ”or” will improve claim grammar and form. Dependent claims 9-11 are similarly objected to since they do not rectify the underlying issue.
Claims 1 and 2 each recite “O (oxygen) and S (sulfur)” under variables X and Y. Recitation of both O and (oxygen) and both S and (sulfur) is redundant. Applicant can strike the “(oxygen)” and “(sulfur)” from the claims. Dependent claims 9-11 are similarly objected to since they do not rectify the underlying issue.
Claim 2 recites “The compound of formula (I) as claimed in claim 1”. Claim 1 does not use the word compound to refer to the species of formula (I), rather claim 1 recites “A substituted N-phenyluracil of formula (I)”. This is not indefinite since claim 2 recites “of formula (I)” which clearly refers back to the formula (I) of claim 1. However, for consistency, it is preferred if Applicant add the word compound to claim 1: e.g., “A substituted N-phenyluracil compound of formula (I)”.
Note: the objections in ¶13-15 would also apply to withdrawn claims 3-8 since these claims are currently drafted to recite the same issues. Please make sure there is an “or” before the final moiety from which each variable is chosen. Applicant can strike the “(oxygen)” and “(sulfur)” from the claims.
Further, withdrawn claim 3 recites many Q species, please make sure these are each separated by commas with an “or” before the final species. Please, also add a period to the end of claim 3.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-2 recite many chemical moieties under each of the Formula (I) variables by naming the chemical groups: e.g., in claim 1 R10 may be “(C1-C8)-alkylcarbonyloxy-(C1-C8)-alkyl”, R14 is “(C1-C8)-alkylamino”, or R8 is “(C1-C8)-alkoxy-(C1-C8)-alkyl”. It is understood that these chemical groups include moieties such as:
,
, and
, respectively. However, the claims leave the attachment point of such moieties open-ended. For example, either of the exemplary oxygen-containing moieties may be attached to the main Formula (I) at the left-most or right-most carbon and the alkylamino group may be attached at the carbon or nitrogen.
Further, for the “(C1-C8)-alkoxy-(C1-C8)-alkyl” moiety, the order of the alkoxy and second alkyl group is left open. For example, the -(C1-C8)-alkyl can be substituted on the O of the alkoxy in the order alkyl-O-alkyl (e.g.,
) or the alkyl could be substituted onto the last carbon of the alkoxy in the order O-alkyl-alkyl (e.g.,
).
If Applicant did not intend for the chemical moieties to be interpreted in such a broad manner, Examiner suggests utilizing drawn chemical structures to define the variables (e.g., see the Q moieties in claim 3). Note, the examples given above are not an exhaustive list. Such interpretation, under the BRI, is applied to all claims and all applicable chemical moieties where such breadth exists.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation R10 is "C(O)R13" in the second to final line of the definition of R10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 1 recites R10 is "C(O)R14" not C(O)R13 and the variables R14 and R13 are chosen from different moieties. Thus, the recitation in claim 2 lacks antecedent basis. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
To overcome: Applicant could amend claim 2 to recite R10 is "C(O)R14".
Claim 2 recites R8 and R10 are independent moieties chosen from two separate lists of chemical moieties on Pg. 10 of the claims. However, at the bottom of Pg. 10, claim 2 recites R8 and R10 together form a heterocycle. There is no “or” or similar language to indicate the separate definitions and the combined definition for R8 and R10 are alternatives. Thus, it is unclear if the variables are chosen as separate entities or have to come together to create a heterocycle. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
To overcome: Applicant could add the word “or” before the “R8 and R10 together…” paragraph.
Note: withdrawn claims 3-8 recite Q moieties by drawn structures. It appears that some of these structures do not fall under the umbrella of the Q moieties as defined in parent claim 1 (i.e., these claims would be subject to a 112b rejection if not withdrawn). In short, multiple Q comprise: 1) R10 aryls or heteroaryls further substituted by more than one alkyl or groups other than alkyl or carboxylalkyl (e.g., Q10-11, 14-16, 19-22, 25, 281-288, 290, 295, 300-303, 310, 315, 320, 326-328, 331-338, 340-348, 351-360, 370, 372) and 2) R10 heterocycles further substituted by more than one alkyl group or groups other than alkyl (e.g., Q76-78, 83-88, 101-103, 111-114, 116-119, 266-267, 270, 400-404).
To expedite prosecution, Applicant is kindly asked to review the Q moieties in these claims and either clarify the claim drafting or point out to Examiner where they believe such moieties have antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 recites R10 is "C(O)R13. Parent claim 1 recites R10 is "C(O)R14" not C(O)R13 and the variables R14 and R13 are chosen from different moieties. Thus, claim 2 does not properly further limit parent claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GOTO (JP2001348376A, cited in IDS of 02/22/2023). Note, a machine translation of GOTO is referenced below and is provided attached to this action.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, GOTO teaches compounds of Formula 14:
(Pg. 69-70 ¶111); specifically, compounds 131 and 132 (Pg. 74 Table 46), reproduced below for clarity. Compound 131:
wherein R2 is F, R3 is F, R4 is Cl, X is O, R1 and R5-R7 are each H, Y is O, G is methylene (-CH2-), and Q is
wherein R8-R9 are each H and R10 is C(O)R14 wherein R14 is (C1)alkylamino (-NHCH3). Compound 132:
wherein R2 is F, R3 is F, R4 is Cl, X is O, R1 and R5-R7 are each H, Y is O, G is methylene (-CH2-), and Q is
wherein R8-R9 are each H and R10 is C(O)R14 wherein R14 is (C2)alkylamino (-NHC2H5). These two compounds are species of Formula (I), as defined in instant claims 1 and 2, as explained above.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, GOTO teaches the compound of the invention (i.e., compounds 131-132) is used as an active ingredient in an herbicide and is mixed with a solid carrier, a liquid carrier, a surfactant, and other formulation aids to produce formulations (Pg. 61 ¶45). GOTO teaches the compound is further combined with other herbicides including acetochlor (Pg. 63 ¶46). GOTO also teaches the compound can effectively eliminate various weeds that pose problems in cultivation of soybean, corn, wheat, and other crops (Pg. 58 ¶42).
Thus, GOTO teaches a product (i.e., an herbicide formulation) comprising a compound of instant Formula (I) wherein the compound is an active ingredient (i.e., a herbicide) and it is adapted for one or more useful crop plants (i.e., soy, corn, wheat). Thus, GOTO anticipates instant claim 9 wherein the phrase “comprising a herbicide product” which is “adapted for one or more crops” is interpreted, under the BRI, to be the instant compound of Formula (I).
Further, since GOTO teaches the formulation also comprising another herbicide acetochlor, GOTO also anticipates claim 9 wherein the phrase “comprising a herbicide product” which is “adapted for one or more crops” is an additional component, other than the instant Formula (I).
Regarding claim 10, GOTO teaches the instant compound formulated, as an herbicide, with acetochlor and one or more formulation auxiliaries (i.e., formulation aids). Thus, the claim is anticipated.
Regarding claim 11, GOTO teaches the compounds have excellent herbicidal efficacy against various weeds when applied to the foliage and soil of cultivated fields (Pg. 55 ¶38) including grass weeds such as barnyard grass (Echinochloa oryzicola) (Pg. 59 ¶43). GOTO also teaches the compound is formulated and applied to soil, foliage, or the cultivated area before or after weed emergence (Pg. 62 ¶46). Thus, GOTO teaches a method of controlling harmful plants (i.e., weeds) comprising applying an effective amount of a compound of Formula (I) or composition thereof (i.e., formulation) to the plants, soil, or area under cultivation. Claim 11 is anticipated.
Therefore, GOTO anticipates claims 1-2 and 9-11.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2 and 9-11 are rejected.
Note: Please see the attached search notes (specifically SEARCH 6) for structures related to the elected species which did not retrieve any anticipatory 102-type art (e.g., see Pg. 15-16 & 19-29 results labeled “only instant retrieved”).
/S.E.B./
Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625