DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending and examined below.
Inventorship
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections of claims 1-18 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On page 7 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues that Hagenauer, nor Lee, nor any of the other cited references, individually teaches "translating the high-level description into a transformation" as recited in independent claims 1 and 10. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. In pursuit of this argument, Applicant appears to present a definition for a “high level description” in ¶ 12 of the Applicant’s specification. Examiner asserts that ¶ 12 simply states that a high level description “might pertain to” environment properties and so on. However this is merely exemplary language and does not constitute a special definition for the term. Just as a high level description might pertain to environment properties, it might also refer to other things such as the modification region of Hagenauer. There does not appear to be a special definition in Applicant’s specification that would preclude this interpretation. Further , Hagenauer discloses that this modification region (i.e. high level description) is automatically modified and that this serves as the translation of the high level description into a transformation. Again there does not appear to be a special definition that would preclude this interpretation. Therefore, Hagenauer does in fact disclose “translating the high-level description into a transformation.”
Therefore, the rejections of claims 1 and 10 are maintained. Claims 2-9 and 13-18 are dependent on claim 1 while claims 11-12 are dependent on claim 10 and are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10, 12, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagenauer et al. (US Pat. 9592607, hereinafter Hagenauer) in view of Lee (Korean Pub. KR 20170095583).
Regarding claim 1 and similar claims 10 and 12, Hagenauer discloses:
A method of programming a robot by a user comprising: receiving a (Col. 2, ln 39-43 disclose a modification region may be specified in an embodiment in that a path point of the robot path may be specified, in particular selected, as a start point and a further path point of the robot path may be specified as an end point of the modification region.);
translating the (Col. 7, ln 24-25 disclose the modification region is automatically modified by the programming means);
receiving the existing robot trajectory at least a first time series of coordinates for the robot to follow (Col. 2, ln 40-48 disclose a path point of the robot path may be specified, as a start point and a further path point of the robot path may be specified as an end point of the modification region. Similarly, a segment or length of the robot path may be specified, around which a start point and/or end point of the modification region is located upstream or downstream of a specified, path point of the robot path in the execution direction; Col. 4, ln 51-53 discloses a region of the robot path which abuts the modification region remains at least substantially unchanged during the modification of the modification region);
transforming the existing robot trajectory into an updated robot trajectory by applying the transformation to the existing robot trajectory the updated robot trajectory at least a second time series of coordinates for the robot to follow (Col. 6, ln 18-20 discloses the user may select a path point to be modified of the modification region);
programming a controller of the robot with the updated robot trajectory (Col. 1, 39-41 disclose a programming means in the sense of the present invention can be configured as hardware and/or software technology) and
operating the robot with the controller to perform the updated robot trajectory (Col. 1, ln 48-49 disclose output means, which is directed to the execution of an inventive method of robot control).
Hagenauer does not disclose high-level descriptions from a user.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches high-level descriptions ([0035]-[0036] disclose the adaptive task plan generating apparatus of the robot receives a service request from the user which may be in a natural language form and may be related to a personalized service).
It would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the method of Hagenauer with the high-level description as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because robot intelligence elements have mainly performed tasks such as cleaning and manufacturing in a fixed work environment with limited environment change, but adding a human command which refines the task allows a robot to take advantage of human intelligence to adjust its operation and increase the likelihood of success in completing the task. (Lee [0006]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 4 and similar claim 14, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hagenauer further discloses wherein the transformation is a mathematical adjustment (Col. 2, ln 11-13 disclose in particular one or more of sections of the robot path, is specified by a spline function, in particular by a spline function of third or fifth degree or a b-spline function).
Regarding claim 5 and similar claim 15, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hagenauer further discloses wherein the transformation is an object size adjustment, an object rotation or an object location adjustment (Col. 3, ln 40-46 disclose a plurality of modification operations are made available to the user, from which he may select and preferably parameterize one or more, for example, a (parameterizable) displacement on or parallel to the robot path, perpendicular or at a specifiable or parameterizable angle to the same, in a specified or specifiable or parameterizable direction in the working or coordinate space or the like).
Regarding claim 7 and similar claim 17, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hagenauer does not disclose wherein the existing robot trajectory comprises an operational robot task.
However, Lee further teaches wherein the existing robot trajectory comprises an operational robot task ([0035] discloses the adaptive task plan generating apparatus of the robot receives a service request from the user which may be in a natural language form and may be related to a personalized service; [0066] discloses an example of a service request by a user is drink serving).
It would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the method of Hagenauer with the operational task as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine in order to provide a robot that is functional for uses in industry or personal services.
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagenauer in view of Lee, in further view of Dzierzega et al. (US Pat. 9902065, hereinafter Dzierzega).
Regarding claim 2 and similar claim 13, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hagenauer and Lee do not disclose or teach wherein the high-level description comprises a textual input.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Dzierzega teaches wherein the high-level description comprises a textual input (Col. 5, ln 28-30 disclose a textual input).
It would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the method of Hagenauer and Lee with the textual input as taught by Dzierzega. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine in order to use the method on various computing machines that may not have a control mouse or touch inputs.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagenauer in view of Lee, in further view of Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 20180356813, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 3, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hagenauer and Lee do not disclose or teach wherein the high-level description comprises a touchpad input.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Sun teaches wherein the high-level description comprises a touchpad input ([0142] discloses a route may be modified by means of a touch body).
It would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the method of Hagenauer and Lee with touch body as taught by Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine in order to use the method on various computing machines that may not have a control mouse or text inputs and additionally, a touch pad may be more intuitive for first time users.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagenauer in view of Lee, in further view of Edsinger et al. (US Pat. 9346164, hereinafter Edsinger).
Regarding claim 6 and similar claim 16, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hagenauer and Lee do not disclose or teach further comprising receiving a configuration input, wherein the transformation is translated from the description and the configuration input.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Edsinger teaches further comprising receiving a configuration input, wherein the transformation is translated from the description and the configuration input (Col. 12, ln 37-41 disclose kinematics of the manipulators 302A, 302B, and 302C, and the inertial properties (mass and moment of inertia) of the manipulators 302A, 302B, and 302C, the inverse dynamics module 504 may be configured to determine torques τ to be applied to the manipulators).
It would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the method of Hagenauer and Lee with configuration input as taught by Edsinger. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine because the ability to manipulate a trajectory for a given robot may be limited by the characteristics of the robot such as turning radius, center of gravity, or degrees of freedom of movement.
Claims 8-9, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagenauer in view of Lee, in further view of Barajas et al. (US Pat. 9346164, hereinafter Barajas).
Regarding claim 8 and similar claim 18, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hagenauer and Lee do not disclose or teach wherein the existing robot trajectory comprises a pre-established motion primitive.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Barajas teaches wherein the existing robot trajectory comprises a pre-established motion primitive ([0007] discloses training a robot with task primitives).
It would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the method of Hagenauer with motion primitives as taught by Barajas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine in order to make the trajectory manipulation easier and provide already created building blocks of program code for a given task.
Regarding claim 9, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 1 as detailed above.
Hagenauer and Lee do not disclose or teach wherein the existing robot trajectory comprises a plurality of pre-established motion primitives combined together and selected from a library of pre-established motion primitives
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Barajas teaches wherein the existing robot trajectory comprises a plurality of pre-established motion primitives combined together and selected from a library of pre-established motion primitives ([0007] discloses training a robot with task primitives).
It would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the method of Hagenauer with motion primitives as taught by Barajas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine in order to make the trajectory manipulation easier and provide already created building blocks of program code for a given task.
Regarding claim 11, Hagenauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 10 as detailed above.
Hagenauer further discloses wherein the translator and the transformer are software components independent of the controller and the robot (Col. 1, ln. 39-42 disclose a programming means in the sense of the present invention can be configured as software such as a program, a program module, and/or a programming environment).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Basil T. Jos/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658