DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant's Remarks/Amendment after Non-Final Rejection, filed April 30, 2026. As filed, claims 1-8, 10-15, 20-23 are pending of which claims 1, 2, 4, 20 are amended; claims 21-23 are newly added. Claims 9, 16-19 are cancelled.
Claims 1-9, 16-23 are examined herein. Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants' information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 7/12/2026 have been considered except where lined through. Please refer to Applicants' copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Rejections Withdrawn
Applicants’ amendment, have been fully considered and are entered. The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
1. The rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McElvain et al. Journal of the American Chemical Society 67 (1945): 1578 in withdrawn in view of claim amendment to incorporate subject matter from claim 16.
2. The rejection of claims 1-9, 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roll et al. Journal of the American Pharmaceutical Association (1912-1977) (1957), 46, 578-8 in withdrawn in view of claim amendment to incorporate subject matter from claim 16.
3. The rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zuffanti et al. Journal of the American Chemical Society (1941), 63, 2999-3000 in withdrawn in view of claim amendments to specify three sulfonic acid groups contai8nig compound.
4.The objection to claims was addressed by amendment to claims.
The following are modified or new grounds of rejections necessitated by Applicants’ amendment, filed on 4/30/2026 wherein the limitations in pending claims as amended now have been changed. The limitations in the amended claims have been changed and the breadth and scope of those claims have been changed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1.Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2016072232, 2006 by Aoki (cited in PTO892 attached herewith).
As amended, instant claim 1 is drawn to an alkane multi-sulfonic acid or a salt thereof, comprising an alkyl group and at least three sulfonic acid groups, the alkane multi-sulfonic acid having a total number of carbon atoms of from 4 to 9, wherein the alkane multi-sulfonic acid does not comprise a halogen.
Regarding instant claim 1 the ‘232 publication teaches on Table 1 on pare [0069] the alkane sulfonic compound 10 (last entry; also shown below as displayed in the Registry data base):
RN 1922972-15-3 CAPLUS
CN 1,3,5-Pentanetrisulfonic acid, sodium salt (1:3) (CA INDEX NAME)
OSC.G 1 THERE ARE 1 CAPLUS RECORDS THAT CITE THIS
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, the compounds of prior art read on the limitation of claim 1 alkane multi-sulfonic acid or a salt thereof, comprising an alkyl group and at least three sulfonic acid groups, the alkane multi-sulfonic acid having a total number of carbon atoms of from 4 to 9 (5 carbon atoms) wherein the alkane multi-sulfonic acid does not comprise a halogen (instant claim 1) and wherein the alkyl group is a linear alkyl group (instant claim 2).
Regarding claims 3 the tri sulfonic acid corresponds to claimed formula CR3-CR2-SO3H, wherein one terminal group R is SO3H; one R group is SO3H, another R is hydrogen, CnH2n+1 wherein n is 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the compounds of the prior art correspond to
Claimed formula CR2(SO3H)-CR2-SO3H wherein R is H, SO3H or CnH2n+1, n is 1, the alkyl moiety is a linear alkane.
Therefore, the prior art meets the limitations of instant claims.
2.Claims 1, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry STN Substance Record for 61836-78-0, entered STN 02/08/2007 (cited in PTO892 attached herewith).
Regarding instant claim 1 the CAS Registry RN 61836-78-0 discloses the compound 1,3-Propanedisulfonic acid, 2,2-bis(sulfomethyl)- (shown below) entered STN on Fe. 08, 2007 which corresponds to the compound
RN 61836-78-0 CAPLUS
CN 1,3-Propanedisulfonic acid, 2,2-bis(sulfomethyl)- (CA INDEX NAME)
of claim 1 - the alkane multi-sulfonic acid having a total number of at least three sulfonic acid groups and 4-9 carbon atoms, wherein the alkane multi-sulfonic acid does not comprise a halogen.
Regarding instant claim 21 the CAS Registry RN 61836-78-0 corresponds to the claimed alkane multi-sulfonic acid or a salt thereof, comprising an alkyl group and
at least four sulfonic acid groups, the alkane multi-sulfonic acid having a total number of carbon atoms of from 2 to 9, wherein the alkane multi-sulfonic acid does not comprise a halogen
Therefore, the prior art meets the limitations of instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1.Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2016072232, 2006 by Aoki (cited in PTO892 attached herewith).
As amended, instant claim 1 is drawn to an alkane multi-sulfonic acid or a salt thereof, comprising an alkyl group and at least three sulfonic acid groups, the alkane multi-sulfonic acid having a total number of carbon atoms of from 4 to 9, wherein the alkane multi-sulfonic acid does not comprise a halogen.
The ‘232 publication teaches alkali metal salt of alkyl sulfonate compd. represented by a general formula of X-(SO3M)4-n; where M is ≥1 elements selected from Li, Na, K, Rb and Cs; X is linear or brunched C1-10 hydrocarbon; and n is an integer of 1-3 -which encompass claimed alkane multi-sulfonic acid or a salt thereof, comprising an alkyl group and at least three sulfonic acid groups and having a total number of carbon atoms of from 4 to 9 as an electrolyte salt to the water- same application as claimed compounds.
Regarding instant claim 1 the ‘232 publication teaches on Table 1 on pare [0069] the alkane sulfonic compound 10 (last entry; also shown below as displayed in the Registry data base):
RN 1922972-15-3 CAPLUS
CN 1,3,5-Pentanetrisulfonic acid, sodium salt (1:3) (CA INDEX NAME)
OSC.G 1 THERE ARE 1 CAPLUS RECORDS THAT CITE THIS
Regarding instant claims 1, 2, the compounds of prior art read on the limitation of claim 1 alkane multi-sulfonic acid or a salt thereof, comprising an alkyl group and at least three sulfonic acid groups, the alkane multi-sulfonic acid having a total number of carbon atoms of from 4 to 9 (5 carbon atoms) wherein the alkane multi-sulfonic acid does not comprise a halogen (instant claim 1) and wherein the alkyl group is a linear alkyl group (instant claim 2).
Regarding claims 3 the alkyl trisulfonic acid corresponds to claimed formula CR3-CR2-SO3H, wherein one terminal group R is SO3H; one R group is SO3H, another R is hydrogen, CnH2n+1 wherein n is 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the compounds of the prior art correspond to
Claimed formula CR2(SO3H)-CR2-SO3H wherein R is H, SO3H or CnH2n+1, n is 1, the alkyl moiety is a linear alkane.
Regarding claims 6-8, the compounds of the prior art is an isomer of compound of claimed formula II and IV.
The difference between the prior art and the instant is that the prior art does not teach preparative example of alkane tri-sulfonic acid compounds wherein alkyl is linear.
A prima facie case of obviousness based on structure exists if the prior art suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the substitution or modification. In re Tabor, 502 F.2d 775 (CCPA 1974). It has been held several times that structurally similar compounds are obvious over one another. See, e.g., In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, (CCPA 1979) (An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails motivation of one skilled in the art to make the claimed compound with an expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties. When prior art compounds essentially "bracket" the instantly claimed compound, one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly be motivated to make the claimed compound.).
MPEP 2141 provides that exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of
obviousness include (E) " Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
In the instant case, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on structural similarity, one of ordinary skill in the art would have an expectation of success in making and using the claimed compounds because of the structural similarity between the prior art and the instantly claimed compounds and a suggestion to try linear alkyl linear as structural motive.
One skilled in the art would have found the claimed compound prima facie obvious because it is well established that nothing unobvious is seen in substituting the known claimed isomers, as taught by the prior art since such structurally related compounds suggest one another and would be expected to share common properties absent a showing of unexpected results. In re Norris, 84 USPQ 458 (1950).
2. Claims 1, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAS Registry STN Substance Record for 61836-78-0, entered STN 02/08/2007 (cited in PTO892 attached herewith).
Regarding instant claim 1 the CAS Registry RN 61836-78-0 discloses the compound 1,3-Propanedisulfonic acid, 2,2-bis(sulfomethyl)- (shown below) entered STN on Fe. 08, 2007 which corresponds to the compound
RN 61836-78-0 CAPLUS
CN 1,3-Propanedisulfonic acid, 2,2-bis(sulfomethyl)- (CA INDEX NAME)
of claim 1 - the alkane multi-sulfonic acid having a total number of at least three sulfonic acid groups and 4-9 carbon atoms, wherein the alkane multi-sulfonic acid does not comprise a halogen.
Regarding claim 22, the compounds of the prior art is an isomer of compound as claimed.
Structurally similar compounds are obvious over one another. In re Jones, 162 F.2d 638 (CCPA 1947) (Absent unexpected results, one of skill in the art would expect compounds that differ in only the position of a substituent to possess similar chemical and physical properties.); In re Norris, 179 F.2d 970, 84 USPQ 458, 461 (CCPA 1950) (A novel and useful chemical compound, which is isomeric with compounds of prior art, is not patentable where new compound is not shown to possess new and unexpected utilities.); In re Payne, Durden, and Weiden, 606 F.2d 303, 203 USPQ 245, 254-5 (CCPA 1979) (An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails motivation of one skilled in the art to make the claimed compound with an expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties. When prior art compounds essentially "bracket" the instantly claimed compound, one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly be motivated to make the claimed compound.); In re Hass and Susie, 60 USPQ 548, 551 (CCPA 1944) (“[I]n order to be patentable, novel members of a homologous series of compounds must possess some unobvious or unexpected beneficial properties not possessed by homologous compounds disclosed in the prior art.")
In the instant case, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention based on structural similarity, one of ordinary skill in the art would have an expectation of success in making and using the claimed compounds because of the structural similarity between the prior art and the instantly claimed compounds and a suggestion to try linear alkyl linear as structural motive.
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Relevant prior art
L8 ANSWER 14 OF 26 CAPLUS COPYRIGHT 2026 ACS on STN
PatentPak PDF | PatentPak PDF+ | PatentPak Interactive
AN 1998:776581 CAPLUS Full-text
DN 130:20587
TI Method for treating amyloidosis
IN Kisilevsky, Robert; Szarek, Walter; Weaver, Donald
PA Queen's University at Kingston, Can.
UO GSK PLC
UOS GlaxoSmithKline
SO U.S., 29 pp., Cont.-in-part of U.S. Ser. No. 463,548.
CODEN: USXXAM
DT Patent
LA English
FAN.CNT 6
PPPI
PATENT NO. KIND DATE LANGUAGE PatentPak
--------------- ---- -------- ---------- ------------------------
US 5840294 A 19981124 English PDF | PDF+ | Interactive
US 5643562 A 19970701 English PDF
US 5972328 A 19991026 English PDF | PDF+ | Interactive
WO 9628187 A1 19960919 English PDF
ES 2250985 T3 20060416 English PDF
PI
PATENT NO. KIND DATE APPLICATION NO. DATE
--------------- ---- -------- --------------------- --------
US 5840294 A 19981124 US 1995-542997 19951013
EP 1060750 A2 20001220 EP 2000-202287 19940329
EP 1060750 A3 20030326
EP 1060750 B1 20051207
EP 1614416 A2 20060111 EP 2005-22113 19940329
EP 1614416 A3 20090701
US 5643562 A 19970701 US 1995-403230 19950315
US 5972328 A 19991026 US 1995-463548 19950605
CA 2213759 A1 19960919 CA 1996-2213759 19960315
CA 2213759 C 20110607
WO 9628187 A1 19960919 WO 1996-CA179 19960315
AU 9650976 A 19961002 AU 1996-50976 19960315
AU 716218 B2 20000224
BR 9607197 A 19971111 BR 1996-7197 19960315
EP 814842 A1 19980107 EP 1996-907229 19960315
EP 814842 B1 20051012
JP 11501635 T 19990209 JP 1996-527140 19960315
JP 3623236 B2 20050223
NZ 303914 A 20001222 NZ 1996-303914 19960315
AT 306282 T 20051015 AT 1996-907229 19960315
EP 1614432 A2 20060111 EP 2005-22111 19960315
EP 1614432 A3 20090401
ES 2250985 T3 20060416 ES 1996-907229 19960315
JP 2004115539 A 20040415 JP 2003-404129 20031203
US 20040208875 A1 20041021 US 2004-777926 20040211
JP 2004189757 A 20040708 JP 2004-98346 20040330
JP 4187072 B2 20081126
US 20060167095 A1 20060727 US 2005-316378 20051222
JP 2008101020 A 20080501 JP 2007-316576 20071207
PRAI US 1993-37844 B2 19930329
US 1994-219798 B2 19940329
US 1994-315391 B2 19940929
US 1995-403230 A2 19950315
US 1995-463548 A2 19950605
EP 1994-909883 A3 19940329
EP 2000-202287 A3 19940329
JP 1994-521485 A3 19940329
US 1995-472692 A2 19950606
US 1995-542997 A 19951013
EP 1996-907229 A3 19960315
JP 1996-527140 A3 19960315
WO 1996-CA179 W 19960315
US 1999-322577 B1 19990527
US 2001-780233 B1 20010209
US 2002-125063 B1 20020418
JP 2003-404129 A3 20031203
US 2004-777926 A1 20040211
PSPI
PATENT NO. KIND STATUS STATUS DATE
--------------- ---- ------------- -----------
US 5840294 A Dead 20201106
EP 1060750 A2 Dead 20201106
EP 1060750 A3 Dead 20201107
EP 1060750 B1 Dead 20201106
EP 1614416 A2 Dead 20201107
EP 1614416 A3 Dead 20201106
US 5643562 A Dead 20201107
US 5972328 A Dead 20201107
CA 2213759 A1 Dead 20201106
CA 2213759 C Dead 20201106
WO 9628187 A1 Dead 20201107
AU 9650976 A Dead 20201107
AU 716218 B2 Dead 20201107
BR 9607197 A Dead 20201106
EP 814842 A1 Dead 20201106
EP 814842 B1 Dead 20201107
JP 11501635 T Dead 20201106
JP 3623236 B2 Dead 20201106
NZ 303914 A Dead 20201107
AT 306282 T Dead 20201106
EP 1614432 A2 Dead 20201107
EP 1614432 A3 Dead 20201106
ES 2250985 T3 Dead 20201107
JP 2004115539 A Dead 20231207
US 20040208875 A1 Dead 20201106
JP 2004189757 A Dead 20201121
JP 4187072 B2 Dead 20201121
US 20060167095 A1 Dead 20201107
JP 2008101020 A Dead 20250814
ASSIGNMENT HISTORY FOR US PATENT AVAILABLE IN LSUS DISPLAY FORMAT
OS CASFORMULTNS 1998:776581
AB Therapeutic compds. and methods for inhibiting amyloid deposition in a
subject, whatever its clin. setting, are described. Amyloid deposition is
inhibited by the administration to a subject of an effective amt. of a
therapeutic compd. comprising an anionic group and a carrier mol., or a
pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, such that an interaction between
an amyloidogenic protein and a basement membrane constituent is inhibited.
Preferred anionic groups are sulfonates and sulfates. Preferred carrier
mols. include carbohydrates, polymers, peptides, peptide derivs., aliph.
groups, alicyclic groups, heterocyclic groups, arom. groups and
combinations thereof.
IT 183278-32-2
RL: BAC (Biological activity or effector, except adverse); BSU (Biological
study, unclassified); SCLM (Substance in claims); THU (Therapeutic use);
BIOL (Biological study); USES (Uses)
(inhibition of amyloid deposition by drugs comprising an anionic group
and a carrier mol.)
RN 183278-32-2 CAPLUS
CN 1,4-Butanedisulfonic acid, 2-(sulfomethyl)-, sodium salt (1:3) (CA INDEX
NAME)
OSC.G 10 THERE ARE 10 CAPLUS RECORDS THAT CITE THIS RECORD (10 CITINGS)
RE.CNT 10 THERE ARE 10 CITED REFERENCES AVAILABLE FOR THIS RECORD
ALL CITATIONS AVAILABLE IN THE RE FORMAT
L4 ANSWER 106 OF 120 CAPLUS COPYRIGHT 2026 ACS on STN
AN 1946:25652 CAPLUS Full-text
DN 40:25652
OREF 40:5012e-i,5013a-c
TI Introduction of methylenesulfonic acid groups
AU Eigenberger, E.; Schubert, H.
CS Deutsch. Tech. Hochschule Prag
SO Berichte der Deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft [Abteilung] B: Abhandlungen
(1944), 77B, 331-4
CODEN: BDCBAD; ISSN: 0365-9488
DT Journal
LA Unavailable
AB Aldehydes and ketones in alk. medium readily add HCHO, α-H atoms
being replaced by CH2OH groups. If depolymerization and activation of the
reactants are effected by mere heating, the formation of polymethylenes
and resins is decreased. By heating 350 g. acetone and 60 g.
paraformaldehyde (without alkali) 3 hrs. at 148-50° in an autoclave
of V2A steel, filtering from the resin scales which had sepd. on the Pb
gasket, and fractionating, there were obtained 33% crude MeCOCH2CH2OH (b27
89° after repeated distn.) and about 11% of a brown viscous residue
(yields based on HCHO). The use of addn. products of HCHO, of the general
type RCH2OH, instead of HCHO suggested itself. E. and S. describe the
condensation of acetone with HOCH2SO3Na (I), which, in water in the
presence of alkali, proceeds like the condensation with HCHO, the group
CH2SO3Na (R') being introduced instead of CH2OH, a further confirmation of
the α-HO structure of I. It has not as yet been possible to isolate
the monomethylenesulfonate, MeCOCH2R', but the compds. MeCOCHR'2 (II) and
HOCH(CHR'2)2 (III) have been obtained through the Ba salts. That the
reduction of the CO group to CHOH already occurs in the tetrasulfonate
(III) is ascribed to the strongly reducing reaction medium. By the use of
I, as with HCHO, several methylene residues are introduced in alk. medium,
an effect which is therefore not due to polymeric HCHO but to the
activation of the acetone. II splits off sulfite with alkali and
condenses to a yellowish to light brown watersol. resin. Since excess of
sulfite prevents the alk. cleavage of sulfite and hence resinification,
the appearance of resin formation indicates a decrease of sulfite concn.
and the endpoint of condensation. To 82 g. of 36.5% HCHO in 266 cc. of a
soln. contg. 52 g. NaHSO3 and about 1 g. free SO2 in 100 cc. were added at
room temp. 147 cc. acetone and then slowly, with stirring, 123.2 cc. NaOH
(20 g. NaOH in 100 cc.). After distn. of the excess of acetone (70-5 cc.)
the mixt. was rapidly cooled and allowed to stand several days until it
began to turn yellow, when it was neutralized to Congo red with H2SO4 (the
SO2 being repeatedly boiled out), and concd. until no more Na2SO4 sepd.
By adding MeOH to incipient turbidity, allowing to crystallize, and
repeating the concn. and addn. of MeOH several times, there was obtained
130-5 g. of crude sulfonates (the last crops again began to contain
increasing amts. of sulfate). Repeated crystn. from dil. MeOH (2:1, then
3:1) gave sulfate-free crystals which, treated in a little water with hot
BaBr2 soln., allowed to stand 3-4 hrs., filtered from any BaSO4 which
might have sepd., and pptd. with MeOH, yielded Ba
2,4-dimethylpentan-3-ol-1,2',4',5-tetrasulfonate, crystals with 7 H2O,
difficultly sol. in cold water; Na salt (III), crystals from dil. MeOH,
gives neg. Lieben CHI3 and Legal tests, and neither splits off sulfite nor
resinifies with boiling 30% alkali. The aq. MeOH filtrate from the above
Ba salt was concd. to crystn., the crystals repeatedly digested with MeOH
contg. a little water until Br-free, fractionated from water, and
recrystd. from dil. MeOH, giving Ba 2-methylbutan-3-one-1,2'-disulfonate;
Na salt (II), gives pos. Legal and CHI3 tests, turns yellow, and splits
off sulfite with hot alkali.
IT 854652-63-4, 1,5-Pentanedisulfonic acid,
3-hydroxy-2,4-bis(sulfomethyl)-
(salts)
RN 854652-63-4 CAPLUS
CN INDEX NAME NOT YET ASSIGNED
Conclusion
Claims 1-8, 21, 22 are rejected. Claims 20, 23 are objected to. Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone Inquiry
examiner should be directed to:
Ana Muresan
(571) 270-7587 (phone)
(571)270-8587 (fax)
Ana.Muresan@uspto.gov
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday (9:00AM - 5:30PM).
/ANA Z MURESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692