DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh et al. (US 2016/0142913) in view of Fleischman (US 2005/0096065) further in view of Behzadi et al. (US 2020/0356221).
Regarding claim 6, Ghosh teaches an electronic device, comprising: a memory to store first location information regarding a first zone and a second location information regarding a second zone (i.e., one or two mobile devices includes its location, alternatively the server can determine the locations of mobile devices in a geographic area [0031]-[0035]); and a processor to: receive third location information from a location device indicating a location of a host device relative to the location device (i.e., location device (corresponding to the server) determines the location of mobile devices 112 and 114 [0031]-[0035]), determine if the host device is located in the first zone based on the first location information and the third location information (i.e., “sharing content when mobile devices are in the coverage area” implies host device 112 in the same area as 114 [0031]-[0035]), in response to a determination that the host device is located in the first zone, transmit identification information of the electronic device to the host device (i.e., determining mobile device 11, the host, in geographical area 118, and device 114 in the geographical area 118, communication identifiers via the server [0031]-[0035], [0041]), and receive content shared by the host device after transmitting the identification information (i.e., device 112 shares content with device 14 [0031]-[0032], [0041]).
Ghosh does not specifically teach designate a first two-dimensional area or three-dimensional volume as a first zone of an external electronic device, designate a second two-dimensional area or three-dimensional volume as a second zone of the external electronic device.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fleischman teaches a user wishing to transmit a message may designate a geographic area (in two dimensions) or a volume (in three dimensions) by referencing structures of the geographic area 10. If the recipients are carrying GPS receivers, if their locations are being radio triangulated, or their location is otherwise known, the recipient may then be identified by virtue of the recipient's presence in the designated geographic area or volume. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fleischman within the system of Ghosh in order to effectively provide messages to specific groups of individuals within a given two-dimensional (or three dimensional) geographic area.
Ghosh in view of Fleischman does not specifically teach automatically sharing content without a user at the host device.
However the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Behzadi teaches in response to receiving the request to share the content, in accordance with a determination that the second sharing protocol was selected along with the second set of sharing options, such as in FIG. 10N, the first electronic device 500 initiates (1116) a process for sharing the content via the second sharing protocol as modified by the second set of sharing options, such as in FIG. 10R… different default sharing options are automatically selected for the user based on what is more appropriate for the respective sharing protocol ([0489]). In some embodiments, such as in FIG. 10F, initiating the process for sharing the content via the first sharing protocol comprises starting transfer of the content to another electronic device using first sharing protocol (e.g., transfer the content externally from the first electronic device to another electronic device using the first sharing protocol) (1128). In some embodiments, the content is transferred directly to another mobile device (e.g., another user's smartphone, tablet, laptop, etc.). In some embodiments, the content is automatically transferred without further user involvement ([0500]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Behzadi within the system of Ghosh in view of Fleischman in order to simplify the interaction between the user and the electronic device and enhance the operability of the electronic device and make the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by transferring the content via the selected sharing protocol without requiring the user to navigate to separate user interfaces to transfer via different sharing protocols), which additionally reduces power usage and improves battery life of the electronic device by enabling the user to use the electronic device more quickly and efficiently while reducing errors in the usage of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Ghosh in view of Fleischman further in view of Behzadi teaches all the limitations above. Gosh further teaches the processor is to transmit the identification information of the electronic device to the host device via an ultra-wideband communication protocol (typically present in content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices using a direct wireless connection [0002], [0020]), and the processor is to receive the content shared by the host device via a WI-Fl communication protocol ([0041]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 8, Ghosh in view of Fleischman further in view of Behzadi teaches all the limitations above. Gosh further teaches processor is to determine if the host device is located outside of the second zone based on the second location information and the third location information, and in response to a determination that the host device is located outside of the second zone, transmit information to the host device to cause the host device to stop sharing the content (i.e., the server declining the first content-discovery request when the location indicates that the second mobile electronic device is outside of the established content-sharing geographical area [0035], [claim 7]).
Regarding claim 9, Ghosh in view of Fleischman further in view of Behzadi teaches all the limitations above. Gosh further wherein the electronic device comprises the location device and the location device is disposed at the electronic device (i.e., one or both of the mobile devices 104, 106 includes its location, for instance a GPS location, in the content-discovery request message. Alternatively, the server 108 determines the locations of MD-2 and MD-3 using, for instance, a network-based location method such as an angle of arrival method or a cell ID method. The server 108 uses the location information for MD-2 and MD-3 to determine 224 whether each device is within the content-sharing geographical area 118 [0034]).
Regarding claim 18, Ghosh in view of Fleischman further in view of Behzadi teaches all the limitations above. Behzadi further the processor is to receive an indication of a boundary of the first zone from a user of the electronic device, and the processor is to store the first location information in the memory based on the received indication ([0349], [0352]).
Claims 1-5, 11-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina (US 2020/0106877) in view of Fleischman further in view of Ghosh et al. (US 2016/0142913).
Regarding claim 1, Ledvina (US 2020/0106877) teaches an electronic device (i.e., a mobile device can include ranging circuitry [0003]-[0005]), comprising: a display device to display content (i.e., display a relative position of the receiving mobile device on a screen of a sending mobile device [0004], [0029], [0047]); a transceiver to exchange ranging messages with a location device to enable the location device to locate the electronic device relative to the location device (i.e., The ranging can provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of another device, e.g., a distance value and/or an angular (orientation) information between the two devices. The ranging functionality can be implemented in combination with another wireless protocol, which can establish an initial communication session, e.g., to perform authentication and/or exchange ranging settings. Additional wireless protocols can also be used, e.g., for transmission of content from one device to the other [0003]-[0005], [0056], [0295]-[0296]); and a processor (in the mobile device) to, automatically receiving a user input (i.e., the content can be shared automatically, e.g., without a user having to select a visual indicator (meaning without user involvement) [0259]): in response to the electronic device being located near another electronic device, receive identification information of the external electronic device (i.e., a mobile device can include ranging circuitry that can determine the relative distance between the mobile device and another mobile device ([0026]-[0027]), inherently mobile device identification is an integral part of ranging between mobile devices); sending data directly to the other device, e.g., using Bluetooth or WiFi direct (also called peer mode or ad-hoc mode), or at least only through a local access point/router. For example, the user's device can detect other nearby devices and display them as options for sharing the data [0106]. FIG. 6 shows an example sharing scenario of a mobile device using ranging (corresponding to: using mobile ID and distance) to facilitate sharing a data item with another device [0109], [0292], [0296]), and in response to receiving the identification information, share the content with the other electronic device (i.e., the distance information can be used to perform a sharing session between two devices, e.g., if the distance information is sufficiently close for two authenticated devices ([0031]); a method 700 of sharing data between a sending mobile device and a receiving mobile device according to embodiments of the present disclosure. Method 700 can be used to determine a spatial relationship of other devices to the sending mobile device, and use that spatial relationship to facilitate a user in selecting one or more devices to share a data item. Method 700 can be performed by any device that acts as a sending device [0109], [0116]).
Ledvina does not specifically teach designate a first two-dimensional area or three-dimensional volume as a first zone of an external electronic device, designate a second two-dimensional area or three-dimensional volume as a second zone of the external electronic device.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fleischman teaches a user wishing to transmit a message may designate a geographic area (in two dimensions) or a volume (in three dimensions) by referencing structures of the geographic area 10. If the recipients are carrying GPS receivers, if their locations are being radio triangulated, or their location is otherwise known, the recipient may then be identified by virtue of the recipient's presence in the designated geographic area or volume. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fleischman within the system of Ledvina in order to effectively provide messages to specific groups of individuals within a given two-dimensional (or three dimensional) geographic area.
Ledvina in view of Fleischman does not specifically teach in response to the electronic device being located in the first zone, receive identification information of the external electronic device, and in response to receiving the identification information, share the content with the external electronic device.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Ghosh teaches a server to facilitate content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices. The server receives, from a first mobile electronic device, a first content-sharing request and credentials for establishing a direct wireless connection between the first mobile electronic device and another mobile electronic device for sharing content of the first mobile electronic device. The server also receives, from a second mobile electronic device, a first content-discovery request and a location of the second mobile electronic device. The server communicates the credentials to the second mobile electronic device when the location indicates that the second mobile electronic device is within an established content-sharing geographical area ([0016]). A geographical region within which the mobile electronic devices 112, 114, 116 can share content using the described and related embodiments is delineated as a content-sharing geographical area or content-sharing zone, which is labeled as 118 in FIG. 1. As shown, users 102 and 104 are within the content-sharing zone 118, and user 106 is outside of the content-sharing zone 118. Accordingly, the sharer 102 can share content with intended recipient 104 ([0023], [0032]-[0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Ghosh within the system of Ledvina in view of Fleischman in order to facilitate content-sharing when mobile electronic devices are in the same coverage area.
Regarding claim 2, Ledvina in view of Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ledvina further teaches the transceiver is to exchange the ranging messages with the location device via an ultra-wideband communication protocol (i.e., The second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) may be used for performing ranging with another mobile device [0097]-[0099]), and the processor is to share the content with the external electronic device via a WI-Fl communication protocol (one device sharing content with another device using BT/WIFI antenna [0101]-[0103]).
Regarding claim 3, Ledvina in view of Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ledvina further teaches wherein the processor is to automatically launch, without receiving a user input, a content-sharing application to share the content with the external electronic device (i.e., a ranging operation can be used to determine a distance between the devices. After an authentication has been performed, the screen of a first device can automatically provide the option to view content from a second device. In this manner, the user does not need to make selections on the second device or configure the first device [0252]-[0255], [0259]).
Regarding claim 4, Ledvina in view of Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ghosh further teaches wherein the processor is to, in response to the electronic device receiving information from the external electronic device indicating the electronic device is outside of the second zone, stop sharing the content with the external electronic device, and the second zone overlaps the first zone (i.e., the server declining the first content-discovery request when the location indicates that the second mobile electronic device is outside of the established content-sharing geographical area [0035], [claim 7]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Ghosh within the system of Ledvina in view of Fleischman in order to facilitate content-sharing when mobile electronic devices are in the same coverage area.
Regarding claim 5, Ledvina in view of Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. “ after the processor shares the content with the external electronic device in response to receiving the identification information, if the electronic device is located outside of the first zone and inside of the second zone, the processor is to continue to share the content with the external electronic device” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Ghosh’s reference which discloses a server to facilitate content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices. First device shares content with another device when they are in the same coverage area ([0016]). A geographical region within which the mobile electronic devices 112, 114, 116 can share content using the described and related embodiments is delineated as a content-sharing geographical area or content-sharing zone, which is labeled as 118 in FIG. 1. As shown, users 102 and 104 are within the content-sharing zone 118, and user 106 is outside of the content-sharing zone 118. Accordingly, the sharer 102 can share content with intended recipient 104 ([0023], [0032]-[0035]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 5 from a combination of Ledvina in view of Fleischman and Ghosh.
Regarding claim 11, Ledvina (US 2020/0106877) teaches an electronic device (i.e., a mobile device can include ranging circuitry [0003]-[0005]), comprising: a display device to display content (i.e., display a relative position of the receiving mobile device on a screen of a sending mobile device [0004], [0029], [0047]); a transceiver to exchange ranging messages with a location device to enable the location device to locate the electronic device relative to the location device (i.e., The ranging can provide distance information, which can be used to determine a relative position of another device, e.g., a distance value and/or an angular (orientation) information between the two devices. The ranging functionality can be implemented in combination with another wireless protocol, which can establish an initial communication session, e.g., to perform authentication and/or exchange ranging settings. Additional wireless protocols can also be used, e.g., for transmission of content from one device to the other [0003]-[0005], [0056], [0295]-[0296]); and a processor (in the mobile device) to, automatically receiving a user input (i.e., the content can be shared automatically, e.g., without a user having to select a visual indicator (meaning without user involvement) [0259]): when the electronic device is located in a first zone designated by an external electronic device, receive identification information of the electronic device (i.e., inherently mobile device identification is an integral part of ranging between mobile devices, a mobile device can include ranging circuitry that can determine the relative distance between the mobile device and another mobile device… the distance information can be used to perform a sharing session between two devices, e.g., if the distance information is sufficiently close for two authenticated devices [0026]-[0031]), in response to receiving the identification information (within ranging), share the content with the external electronic device (i.e., a mobile device can include ranging circuitry that can determine the relative distance between the mobile device and another mobile device ([0026]-[0027]); sending data directly to the other device, e.g., using Bluetooth or WiFi direct (also called peer mode or ad-hoc mode), or at least only through a local access point/router. For example, the user's device can detect other nearby devices and display them as options for sharing the data [0106]. FIG. 6 shows an example sharing scenario of a mobile device using ranging to facilitate sharing a data item with another device [0109], [0292], [0296]).
Ledvina does not specifically teach designate a first two-dimensional area or three-dimensional volume as a first zone of an external electronic device, designate a second two-dimensional area or three-dimensional volume as a second zone of the external electronic device.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Fleischman teaches a user wishing to transmit a message may designate a geographic area (in two dimensions) or a volume (in three dimensions) by referencing structures of the geographic area 10. If the recipients are carrying GPS receivers, if their locations are being radio triangulated, or their location is otherwise known, the recipient may then be identified by virtue of the recipient's presence in the designated geographic area or volume. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Fleischman within the system of Ledvina in order to effectively provide messages to specific groups of individuals within a given two-dimensional (or three dimensional) geographic area.
Ledvina in view Fleischman does not specifically teach when the electronic device is moved outside of a second zone designated by the external electronic device, stop sharing the content with the external electronic device, the second zone overlapping the first zone
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Ghosh teaches wherein the processor is to, in response to the electronic device receiving information from the external electronic device indicating the electronic device is outside of a second zone of the external electronic device, stop sharing the content with the external electronic device, and the second zone overlaps the first zone (i.e., the server declining the first content-discovery request when the location indicates that the second mobile electronic device is outside of the established content-sharing geographical area [0035], [claim 7]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Ghosh within the system of Ledvina in order to facilitate content-sharing when mobile electronic devices are in the same coverage area.
Regarding claim 12, Ledvina in view Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ledvina further teaches wherein the processor is to automatically launch a content-sharing application to share the content with the external electronic device (i.e., a ranging operation can be used to determine a distance between the devices. After an authentication has been performed, the screen of a first device can automatically provide the option to view content from a second device. In this manner, the user does not need to make selections on the second device or configure the first device [0252]-[0255], [0259]).
Regarding claim 13, Ledvina in view Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. “ wherein when the electronic device is moved outside of the second zone, the electronic device is to receive information from the external electronic device indicating the electronic device is outside of the second zone, and in response to the electronic device receiving the information from the external electronic device indicating the electronic device is outside of the second zone, the processor is to automatically stop the content-sharing application to stop sharing the content with the external electronic device” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Ghosh’s reference which discloses a server to facilitate content sharing between multiple mobile electronic devices. First device shares content with another device when they are in the same coverage area ([0016]). A geographical region within which the mobile electronic devices 112, 114, 116 can share content using the described and related embodiments is delineated as a content-sharing geographical area or content-sharing zone, which is labeled as 118 in FIG. 1. As shown, users 102 and 104 are within the content-sharing zone 118, and user 106 is outside of the content-sharing zone 118. Accordingly, the sharer 102 can share content with intended recipient 104 ([0023], [0032]-[0035]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 13 from a combination of Ledvina in view Fleischman and Ghosh.
Regarding claim 14, Ledvina in view Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. “ the identification information includes at least one of an IP address or a device name of the external electronic device” could have been derived by one of ordinary skill in the art from Ghosh’s reference which discloses the users 102, 104, 106 agree on a session identifier, e.g., a number or name, which is input in conjunction with the content-sharing gesture or the content-discovery gesture. The session identifier is communicated to the server 108, for example, with the content-sharing request 208 or a content-discovery request that a recipient device provides to the server 108 ([0032]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, could have easily conceived the invention in claim 14 from a combination of Ledvina in view Fleischman, and Ghosh.
Regarding claim 15, Ledvina in view Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ledvina teaches the transceiver is to exchange the ranging messages with the location device via a first channel having a first bandwidth (i.e., The second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) may be used for performing ranging with another mobile device [0097]-[0099]), and the processor is to share the content with the external electronic device via a second channel having a second bandwidth (one device sharing content with another device using BT/WIFI antenna [0101]-[0103]).
Regarding claim 16, Ledvina in view Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ledvina teaches the second zone is not identical to the first zone (device can be in various zones [0127], [0176], [0219]).
Regarding claim 17, Ledvina in view Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ledvina teaches the processor is to determine that the electronic device is located in the first zone of the external electronic device if the electronic device is present in the first zone of the external electronic device for a threshold amount of time (i.e., threshold criteria can include a distance as well as a time interval, e.g., to enforce that the two devices are within a threshold for at least a specified time interval (e.g., 20 or 30 seconds) [0160]).
Regarding claim 19, Ledvina in view Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ledvina teaches wherein the second zone is larger than the first zone (i.e., given that the mobile device includes BT/WiFi circuity, inherently the first zone can by Bluetooth and the second zone by WiFi [0101]-[0107], Wi-Fi has a significantly longer range than Bluetooth, typically covering up to 100-300 feet, while Bluetooth is designed for short-range connections, generally around 30 feet).
Regarding claim 20, Ledvina in view Fleischman further in view of Ghosh teaches all the limitations above. Ledvina teaches the transceiver is to communicate using an ultra-wideband protocol (i.e., a first wireless protocol (e.g., UWB) can be used to transmit a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to each of the one or more other mobile devices [0247]).
Claims 10, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh et al. (US 2016/0142913) in view of Fleischman further in view of Behzadi et al. (US 2020/0356221) and further in view of Ledvina (US 2020/0106877).
Regarding claim 10, Ghosh in view of Fleischman further in view of Behzadi teaches all the limitations above except the first zone does not overlap with a location of the electronic device.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ledvina teaches a mobile device can have multiple antennas, e.g., to perform triangulation. The separate measurements from different antennas can be used to determine a two-dimensional (2D) position, as opposed to a single distance value that could result from anywhere on a circle/sphere around the mobile device. The two-dimensional position can be specified in various coordinates, e.g., Cartesian or polar, where polar coordinates can comprise an angular value and a radial value ([0042]). Distance information 230 can be used to determine a 2D or 3D position of mobile device 220, where such position can be used to configure a display screen of mobile device 210 ([0047], [0112], [0127], and [0129]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Ledvina within the system Ghosh in view of Fleischman further in view of Behzadi in order to use the position to determine where to display an icon corresponding to mobile device 220, e.g., which position in a list, which position in a 2D grid, or in which cluster of 1D, 2D, or 3D distance/position ranges to display the icon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643