DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12, 39 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 21, 28, 48, 54 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claim
Claim(s) 1, 21, 28, 48, 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO-2017128175-A1) in view of Dinan (US-20160278073).
As to claim 1, 21, 28, 48, 54: Wei teaches a method for wireless communications at an apparatus of a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a configuration including one or more channel state information (CSI) measurement resources, each of the one or more CSI measurement resources having an activity status ([0056-69] dynamic reconfiguration of CSI-RS resources for CSI reporting. Multiple CSI-RS resources may be configured and associated with a CSI process for CSI reporting); receiving control signaling comprising an indication to switch the activity status of the one or more CSI measurement resources (abstract [0056-69] only a subset of resources that are activated by additional signaling are used for CSI measurement and reporting ); and transmitting a report based at least in part on measuring a channel state or a channel interference, or both, according to the activity status of each of the one or more CSI measurement resources (abstract [0056-69] Both periodic and aperiodic CSI reporting may then be based on the same set of the activated CSI-RS resources); switching the activity status of the one or more CSI measurement resources based at least in part on the control signaling ([0060, 61, 66, 67] MAC CE bitmap to activate or deactivate CSI resources).
Wei may not explicitly teach monitoring for one or more CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) transmissions within a time period between switching the activity status of the one or more CSI measurement resources and a CSI reference resource; and selectively transmitting a second report based at least in part on the monitoring for the one or more CSI-RS transmissions. However, Dinan teaches monitoring for one or more CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) transmissions within a time period between switching the activity status ([0133, 152] UE may receive activation / deactivation MAC CE) of the one or more CSI measurement resources ([0140, 142] CSI measurement) and a CSI reference resource ([0142] For TM9 where CQI measurement is based on CSI RS with configurable periodicity e.g. 5˜80 ms, it is possible that the period without valid CQI is much longer than 4 ms in case the UE miss the CSI RS occasion. The period may be as long as until the first subframe has CSI RS available +4 ms considering UE processing time for CQI measurement); and selectively transmitting a second report based at least in part on the monitoring for the one or more CSI-RS transmissions ([0129, 140] the UE may first transmit a fixed CSI (e.g. invalid or out of range CSI) if no measurement is available or a measurement of a downlink signal is below a threshold … Then the UE may transmit a measured CSI (e.g. valid CSI) when air interface measurement information for the PUCCH SCell is available).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement CSI-RS measurement occasions, taught by Dinan, into the communication system, taught by Wei, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and provide CSI measurements. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Dinan and Wei in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5, 13, 14, 22, 23, 29, 30, 32, 40, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO-2017128175-A1) in view of Dinan (US-20160278073).
As to claim 2, 22, 29: Wei teaches the method of claim 1, 21, 28 wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of a CSI measurement resource bitmap comprising a bit for each of the one or more CSI measurement resources, wherein each bit corresponds to the activity status of each of the one or more CSI measurement resources ([0066, 67] MAC CE bitmap to activate or deactivate CSI resources).
As to claim 3, 23, 30: Wei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the control signaling comprises: receiving an indication of a CSI measurement resource identifier for each CSI measurement resource for which the activity status corresponds to an activated state ([0060, 61] At block 503, a base station, such as eNB 700, transmits a configuration signal identifying the subset of CSI-RS resources selected for activation).
As to claim 5, 32: Wei teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving the one or more CSI-RS transmissions during the time period ([0062-64]); and transmitting the second report based at least in part on receiving the one or more CSI-RS transmissions ([0062-64]).
As to claim 13, 40: Wei teaches the method of claim 1, 28, further comprising: switching the activity status of the one or more CSI measurement resources based at least in part on the control signaling ([0066, 67] MAC CE bitmap to activate or deactivate CSI resources).
As to claim 14, 41: Wei teaches the method of claim 13, 40, further comprising: switching the activity status of the one or more CSI measurement resources from one of an activated state or a deactivated state to the other activated state or the deactivated state according to the indication ([0066, 67] MAC CE bitmap to activate or deactivate CSI resources).
Claim(s) 6, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO-2017128175-A1), Dinan (US-20160278073) in view of Lin (US-20210345148).
As to claim 6, 33: Wei teaches the method of claim 4.
Wei may not explicitly teach further comprising: dropping a transmission of the second report based at least in part on a failure to receive the one or more CSI-RS transmissions during the time period. However, Lin teaches further comprising: dropping a transmission of the second report based at least in part on a failure to receive the one or more CSI-RS transmissions during the time period ([0082, 121, 122] Alternatively, in step 514, if at least one DL RS is no received within the measurement gap before the CSI reference resource corresponds to the CSI report, the UE drops the CSI report).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement dropping CSI reports, taught by Lin, into the CSI measurement and reporting, taught by Wei, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and conserve resources. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Wei and Lin in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 7, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO-2017128175-A1), Dinan (US-20160278073) in view of Chandrasekhar (US-20120201154).
As to claim 7, 34: Wei teaches the method of claim 4.
Wei may not explicitly teach further comprising: transmitting the second report based at least in part on one or more previous CSI measurement resources and a failure to receive the one or more CSI-RS transmissions during the time period. However, Chandrasekhar teaches further comprising: transmitting the second report based at least in part on one or more previous CSI measurement resources and a failure to receive the one or more CSI-RS transmissions during the time period ([0043-52] use most recent CSI-RS when the current one is invalid).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement using most recent CSI-RS, taught by Chandrasekhar, into the CSI measurement and report, taught by Wei, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and provide as accurate of a CSI measurement as possible. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Wei and Chandrasekhar in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
-
Claim(s) 11, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO-2017128175-A1) in view of Dinan (US-20160278073).
As to claim 11, 38: Wei teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a number of CSI processing units (CPUs), or a number of active CSI measurement resources, or a number of active CSI measurement ports, or a combination thereof, associated with the one or more CSI measurement resources for which the activity status corresponds to an activated state satisfy a threshold (abstract, [0059] While a larger number of channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resources with independent resource configuration are configured and associated with a CSI process, only a subset of resources that are activated by additional signaling are used for CSI measurement and reporting); and evaluating one or more CSI hypotheses of a set of CSI hypotheses corresponding to the one or more CSI measurement resources for which the activity status corresponds to an activated state based at least in part on the number of CPUs satisfying the threshold, or the number of active CSI measurement resources satisfying the threshold, or the number of active CSI measurement ports satisfying the threshold, or a combination thereof (abstract, [0059] only a subset of resources are activated).
Claim(s) 15, 16, 42, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO-2017128175-A1), Dinan (US-20160278073) in view of Muruganathan (US-20190223161).
As to claim 15, 42: Wei teaches the method of claim 13.
Wei may not explicitly teach further comprising: switching the activity status of one or more CSI-interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources based at least in part on switching the activity status of one or more non- zero power (NZP) CSI measurement resources. However, Muruganathan teaches further comprising: switching the activity status of one or more CSI1-interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources based at least in part on switching the activity status of one or more non- zero power (NZP) CSI measurement resources ([0072, 96] Since both SP CSI-RS and SP CSI-IM are activated via MAC CE in NR, it would be appropriate to use the same MAC CE that activates a SP CSI-RS and SP CSI-IM to also activate SP ZP CSI-RS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement coordinating CSI-RS and CSI-IM, taught by Muruganathan, into the CSI measurement, taught by Wei, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce overhead . In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Muruganathan and Wei in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 16, 43: Wei teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising: switching the activity status of the one or more CSI measurement resources associated with a second set of CSI measurements resources based at least in part on the indication ([0072, 96] Since both SP CSI-RS and SP CSI-IM are activated via MAC CE in NR, it would be appropriate to use the same MAC CE that activates a SP CSI-RS and SP CSI-IM to also activate SP ZP CSI-RS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement coordinating CSI-RS and CSI-IM, taught by Muruganathan, into the CSI measurement, taught by Wei, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce overhead . In addition, it would have been obvious to combine … and … in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 17, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO-2017128175-A1), Dinan (US-20160278073) in view of Kim (WO-2016018100-A1).
As to claim 17, 44: Wei teaches the method of claim 13.
Wei may not explicitly teach further comprising: switching the activity status of one or more CSI measurement resources based at least in part on a number of activated port groups and the indication. However, Kim teaches further comprising: switching the activity status of one or more CSI measurement resources based at least in part on a number of activated port groups and the indication (This method is applied to the CSI-RS configuration consisting of a plurality of antenna port groups so that the base station can inform whether the CSI-RS transmission is activated or deactivated for each antenna port group. That is, when the base station informs the UE of the CSI-RS activation / deactivation command, the base station informs of which antenna port group of which CSI-RS configuration is activated or deactivated).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement CCI measurement based on activation for port groups, taught by Kim, into the CSI measurement, taught by Wei, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce overhead. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Wei and Kim in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO-2017128175-A1), Dinan (US-20160278073) in view of Muruganathan (US-20190223161).
As to claim 18: Wei teaches the method of claim 13.
Wei may not explicitly teach further comprising: switching the activity status of a pair of CSI measurement resources based at least in part on the indication. However, Muruganathan teaches further comprising: switching the activity status of a pair of CSI measurement resources based at least in part on the indication (abstract, [0034]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement coordinating CSI-RS and CSI-IM, taught by Muruganathan, into the CSI measurement, taught by Wei, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and reduce overhead. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Muruganathan and Wei in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466