DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 12, 24, and 35 have been amended; Claims 4-7, 9-11, 14-18, 20-23 and 47-71 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 8, 12, 13, 19, 24-46 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 14 in substance that "You is generally directed to "a user equipment for reporting a demodulation reference signal pattern preferred by the user equipment." You, Abstract. At one portion cited by the Office Action, You describes "[an] eNB may transmit, to the UE, information about subframe locations ... in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback.... the eNB may request that the UE independently perform periodic DMRS pattern feedback with respect to each activated CC." Id."
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. You teaches, the eNB transmits the information necessary for DMRS pattern feedback upon requesting the periodic SRS. UE perform DMRS pattern feedback. When the base station feedback a basic pattern to the UE. For the UE needs to be aware of the DMRS pattern to be used to receive the (e)PBCH, the ePDCCH, the PDSCH, etc. Therefore , when the eNB may select the (entire K) candidate DMRS pattern(s) for the UE and inform the UE of the selected candidate DMRS pattern(s). UE can identify DMRS patterns that are selectable by the UE may be configured by a function. When DMRS patterns are extracted using this function, a base DMRS pattern may be determined by a UE environment and reported CSI. Examiner is construing DMRS pattern information with the DMRS reference signal configuration that is mapped to receive the (e)PBCH, the ePDCCH, the PDSCH etc. However, claim1 merely recites... receiving, from a network entity, a configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting.
Applicant’s Argument:
The applicant argues, on page 14 in substance that " However, even under such an interpretation-which Applicant does not concede to be correct-the "DMRS pattern information" of You is not associated with a first channel state information reference resource. Although You mentions that the "measurement DMRS pattern" may be associated with an RI or CQI, RI and CQI are not CSI reference... See You [0104]. That is, the "measurement DMRS pattern" of You is associated with channel state information, but You fails to teach or suggest that the "measurement DMRS pattern" is associated with a channel state information reference resource.”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. You teaches, a DMRS according to a measurement DMRS pattern for deriving the DMRS pattern on the DMRS measurement resource may be received by the user equipment and the measurement DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI, which You mentioned the DMRS information may be reported together with channel state information (CSI) indicating at least one of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, and a rank indication. Therefore, when DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI which examiner is construing that measurement DMRS pattern" is associated with a channel state information reference resource. However, claim 1 merely recites ... identifying, by the UE, a demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a first channel state information reference resource... periodic channel state feedback reporting.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 24, 35, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (You hereafter) (US 20150373694 A1) in view of Kwak et al. (Kwak hereafter) (US 20210282041 A1).
Regarding claim 1 You teaches, a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity (eNB may transmit, to the UE), a configuration for periodic channel state ([0174] performing periodic CSI) feedback reporting (information about subframe locations (e.g. a subframe period and/or a subframe offset (a start subframe among a predetermined number of subframes)) in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback) (You; [0172] …The eNB may transmit, to the UE, information about subframe locations (e.g. a subframe period and/or a subframe offset (a start subframe among a predetermined number of subframes)) in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback, information about a PUCCH resource on which the UE is to transmit DMRS pattern feedback information, … the eNB may request that the UE independently perform periodic DMRS pattern feedback with respect to each activated CC. [0174] Upon performing periodic CSI reporting, the UE may also perform DMRS pattern feedback);
identifying, by the UE, a demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a first channel state information (DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI) reference resource (DMRS pattern is UE-specific) based at least in part on the configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting (periodic CSI reporting) (You; [0144] the measurement DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI. For example, if a high RI is reported, since performance of channel estimation is very important, the measurement DMRS pattern should be a pattern supporting multiple layers for multiple antenna ports (e.g. a pattern supporting 8 layers if RI=8) and candidate DMRS patterns may be restricted to patterns capable of supporting a higher layer. In more detail, when an eNB informs a UE of measurement DMRS pattern(s) for DMRS feedback, the eNB may inform the UE of the measurement DMRS patterns using the most recently reported RI or CQI, [0146] [0146] In the case in which a DMRS pattern is UE-specific and a specific UE feeds back suitable DMRS pattern information in order to select a DMRS pattern to be used thereby, upon first accessing a specific cell, [0168] …it is assumed that DMRS pattern(s) that satisfy both the RI and the CQI are used as the candidate DMRS pattern(s) [0174] Upon performing periodic CSI reporting, the UE may also perform DMRS pattern feedback.);
transmitting an indication of the generated one or more components of channel state feedback (RI value to be considered) in a periodic channel state feedback report in accordance with the configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting ([0172-0173] the UE periodically) (You; [0104], [0172-0173] the UE periodically feedback [0183] Candidate DMRS pattern(s) for the UE may differ according to an RI value. Upon requesting that the UE perform DMRS pattern feedback, the eNB may transmit an RI value to be considered by the UE for DMRS pattern feedback in the form of being included in an (e)PDCCH).
You fails to explicitly teach, generating one or more components of channel state feedback based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with the first channel state information reference resource
However, in the same field of endeavor Kwak teaches, generating one or more components of channel state feedback (the terminal generates feedback information RI, PMI, and CQI) based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration (applied to the DMRS capable of obtaining the channel state information) associated with the first channel state information reference resource (based on the estimated channel, and selects an optimal CRI, based on the feedback information) (Kwak; [0155] In addition, although the above description is based on the periodic CSI-RS, and also applied to the DMRS capable of obtaining the channel state information. [0157] the terminal
generates feedback information RI, PMI, and CQI by using the received feedback configuration, based on the estimated channel, and selects an optimal CRI, based on the feedback information. Then, at step 1040, the terminal transmits the feedback information to the base station at feedback timing according to the feedback configuration); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kwak in order to transmit configuration information on a CSI-RS for channel measurement and a channel state report to the terminal (Kwak; [0159]).
Regarding claim 12 Park teaches, a method for wireless communications at a network device, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (eNB may transmit, to the UE), a configuration for periodic channel state ([0174] performing periodic CSI) feedback reporting (information about subframe locations (e.g. a subframe period and/or a subframe offset (a start subframe among a predetermined number of subframes)) in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback) (You; [0172] …The eNB may transmit, to the UE, information about subframe locations (e.g. a subframe period and/or a subframe offset (a start subframe among a predetermined number of subframes)) in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback, information about a PUCCH resource on which the UE is to transmit DMRS pattern feedback information, … the eNB may request that the UE independently perform periodic DMRS pattern feedback with respect to each activated CC. [0174] Upon performing periodic CSI reporting, the UE may also perform DMRS pattern feedback);
identifying, by the network device, a demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a first channel state information (DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI) reference resource (DMRS pattern is UE-specific) based at least in part on the configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting (periodic CSI reporting) (You; [0144] the measurement DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI. For example, if a high RI is reported, since performance of channel estimation is very important, the measurement DMRS pattern should be a pattern supporting multiple layers for multiple antenna ports (e.g. a pattern supporting 8 layers if RI=8) and candidate DMRS patterns may be restricted to patterns capable of supporting a higher layer. In more detail, when an eNB informs a UE of measurement DMRS pattern(s) for DMRS feedback, the eNB may inform the UE of the measurement DMRS patterns using the most recently reported RI or CQI, [0146] [0146] In the case in which a DMRS pattern is UE-specific and a specific UE feeds back suitable DMRS pattern information in order to select a DMRS pattern to be used thereby, upon first accessing a specific cell, [0168] …it is assumed that DMRS pattern(s) that satisfy both the RI and the CQI are used as the candidate DMRS pattern(s) [0174] Upon performing periodic CSI reporting, the UE may also perform DMRS pattern feedback.);
receiving an indication of the generated one or more components of channel state feedback (RI value to be considered) in a periodic channel state feedback report in accordance with the configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting ([0172-0173] the UE periodically) (You; [0104], [0172-0173] the UE periodically feedback [0183] Candidate DMRS pattern(s) for the UE may differ according to an RI value. Upon requesting that the UE perform DMRS pattern feedback, the eNB may transmit an RI value to be considered by the UE for DMRS pattern feedback in the form of being included in an (e)PDCCH.).
You fails to explicitly teach, generating one or more components of channel state feedback based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with the first channel state information reference resource
However, in the same field of endeavor Kwak teaches, generating one or more components of channel state feedback (the terminal generates feedback information RI, PMI, and CQI) based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration (applied to the DMRS capable of obtaining the channel state information) associated with the first channel state information reference resource (based on the estimated channel, and selects an optimal CRI, based on the feedback information) (Kwak; [0155] In addition, although the above description is based on the periodic CSI-RS, and also applied to the DMRS capable of obtaining the channel state information. [0157] the terminal
generates feedback information RI, PMI, and CQI by using the received feedback configuration, based on the estimated channel, and selects an optimal CRI, based on the feedback information. Then, at step 1040, the terminal transmits the feedback information to the base station at feedback timing according to the feedback configuration); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kwak in order to transmit configuration information on a CSI-RS for channel measurement and a channel state report to the terminal (Kwak; [0159]).
Regarding claim 24 You teaches, an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor, at least one memory coupled with the processor (You; [0113] FIG. 7); and
one or more instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to, based at least in part on the one or more instructions (You; [0109] The processors 11 and 21 may be implemented by hardware, firmware, software, or a combination thereof. In a hardware configuration, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), digital signal processors (DSPs), digital signal processing devices (DSPDs), programmable logic devices (PLDs), or field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) may be included in the processors 11 and 21. Meanwhile, if the present invention is implemented using firmware or software, the firmware or software may be configured to include modules, procedures, functions,):
receive from a network entity (eNB may transmit, to the UE), a configuration for periodic channel state ([0174] performing periodic CSI) feedback reporting (information about subframe locations (e.g. a subframe period and/or a subframe offset (a start subframe among a predetermined number of subframes)) in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback) (You; [0172] …The eNB may transmit, to the UE, information about subframe locations (e.g. a subframe period and/or a subframe offset (a start subframe among a predetermined number of subframes)) in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback, information about a PUCCH resource on which the UE is to transmit DMRS pattern feedback information, … the eNB may request that the UE independently perform periodic DMRS pattern feedback with respect to each activated CC. [0174] Upon performing periodic CSI reporting, the UE may also perform DMRS pattern feedback);
identify, by the UE, a demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a first channel state information (DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI) reference resource (DMRS pattern is UE-specific) based at least in part on the configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting (periodic CSI reporting) (You; [0144] the measurement DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI. For example, if a high RI is reported, since performance of channel estimation is very important, the measurement DMRS pattern should be a pattern supporting multiple layers for multiple antenna ports (e.g. a pattern supporting 8 layers if RI=8) and candidate DMRS patterns may be restricted to patterns capable of supporting a higher layer. In more detail, when an eNB informs a UE of measurement DMRS pattern(s) for DMRS feedback, the eNB may inform the UE of the measurement DMRS patterns using the most recently reported RI or CQI, [0146] [0146] In the case in which a DMRS pattern is UE-specific and a specific UE feeds back suitable DMRS pattern information in order to select a DMRS pattern to be used thereby, upon first accessing a specific cell, [0168] …it is assumed that DMRS pattern(s) that satisfy both the RI and the CQI are used as the candidate DMRS pattern(s) [0174] Upon performing periodic CSI reporting, the UE may also perform DMRS pattern feedback.);
transmit an indication of the generated one or more components of channel state feedback (RI value to be considered) in a periodic channel state feedback report in accordance with the configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting ([0172-0173] the UE periodically) (You; [0104], [0172-0173] the UE periodically feedback [0183] Candidate DMRS pattern(s) for the UE may differ according to an RI value. Upon requesting that the UE perform DMRS pattern feedback, the eNB may transmit an RI value to be considered by the UE for DMRS pattern feedback in the form of being included in an (e)PDCCH).
You fails to explicitly teach, generate one or more components of channel state feedback based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with the first channel state information reference resource
However, in the same field of endeavor Kwak teaches, generate one or more components of channel state feedback (the terminal generates feedback information RI, PMI, and CQI) based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration (applied to the DMRS capable of obtaining the channel state information) associated with the first channel state information reference resource (based on the estimated channel, and selects an optimal CRI, based on the feedback information) (Kwak; [0155] In addition, although the above description is based on the periodic CSI-RS, and also applied to the DMRS capable of obtaining the channel state information. [0157] the terminal
generates feedback information RI, PMI, and CQI by using the received feedback configuration, based on the estimated channel, and selects an optimal CRI, based on the feedback information. Then, at step 1040, the terminal transmits the feedback information to the base station at feedback timing according to the feedback configuration); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kwak in order to transmit configuration information on a CSI-RS for channel measurement and a channel state report to the terminal (Kwak; [0159]).
Regarding claim 35 You teaches, an apparatus for wireless communications at a network device, comprising:
at least one processor, at least one memory coupled with the processor (You; [0113] FIG.7); and
one or more instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to, based at least in part on the one or more instructions (You; [0109] The processors 11 and 21 may be implemented by hardware, firmware, software, or a combination thereof. In a hardware configuration, application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), digital signal processors (DSPs), digital signal processing devices (DSPDs), programmable logic devices (PLDs), or field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs) may be included in the processors 11 and 21. Meanwhile, if the present invention is implemented using firmware or software, the firmware or software may be configured to include modules, procedures, functions,):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (eNB may transmit, to the UE), a configuration for periodic channel state ([0174] performing periodic CSI) feedback reporting (information about subframe locations (e.g. a subframe period and/or a subframe offset (a start subframe among a predetermined number of subframes)) in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback) (You; [0172] …The eNB may transmit, to the UE, information about subframe locations (e.g. a subframe period and/or a subframe offset (a start subframe among a predetermined number of subframes)) in which the UE is to perform DMRS feedback, information about a PUCCH resource on which the UE is to transmit DMRS pattern feedback information, … the eNB may request that the UE independently perform periodic DMRS pattern feedback with respect to each activated CC. [0174] Upon performing periodic CSI reporting, the UE may also perform DMRS pattern feedback);
identify, by the network device, a demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a first channel state information (DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI) reference resource (DMRS pattern is UE-specific) based at least in part on the configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting (periodic CSI reporting) (You; [0144] the measurement DMRS pattern may be associated with a reported RI or CQI. For example, if a high RI is reported, since performance of channel estimation is very important, the measurement DMRS pattern should be a pattern supporting multiple layers for multiple antenna ports (e.g. a pattern supporting 8 layers if RI=8) and candidate DMRS patterns may be restricted to patterns capable of supporting a higher layer. In more detail, when an eNB informs a UE of measurement DMRS pattern(s) for DMRS feedback, the eNB may inform the UE of the measurement DMRS patterns using the most recently reported RI or CQI, [0146] [0146] In the case in which a DMRS pattern is UE-specific and a specific UE feeds back suitable DMRS pattern information in order to select a DMRS pattern to be used thereby, upon first accessing a specific cell, [0168] …it is assumed that DMRS pattern(s) that satisfy both the RI and the CQI are used as the candidate DMRS pattern(s) [0174] Upon performing periodic CSI reporting, the UE may also perform DMRS pattern feedback.);
receive an indication of the generated one or more components of channel state feedback (RI value to be considered) in a periodic channel state feedback report in accordance with the configuration for periodic channel state feedback reporting ([0172-0173] the UE periodically) (You; [0104], [0172-0173] the UE periodically feedback [0183] Candidate DMRS pattern(s) for the UE may differ according to an RI value. Upon requesting that the UE perform DMRS pattern feedback, the eNB may transmit an RI value to be considered by the UE for DMRS pattern feedback in the form of being included in an (e)PDCCH).
You fails to explicitly teach, generate one or more components of channel state feedback based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with the first channel state information reference resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kwak teaches, generate one or more components of channel state feedback (the terminal generates feedback information RI, PMI, and CQI) based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration (applied to the DMRS capable of obtaining the channel state information) associated with the first channel state information reference resource (based on the estimated channel, and selects an optimal CRI, based on the feedback information) (Kwak; [0155] In addition, although the above description is based on the periodic CSI-RS, and also applied to the DMRS capable of obtaining the channel state information. [0157] the terminal
generates feedback information RI, PMI, and CQI by using the received feedback configuration, based on the estimated channel, and selects an optimal CRI, based on the feedback information. Then, at step 1040, the terminal transmits the feedback information to the base station at feedback timing according to the feedback configuration); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kwak in order to transmit configuration information on a CSI-RS for channel measurement and a channel state report to the terminal (Kwak; [0159]).
Regarding claim 46 You-Kwak teaches, The apparatus of claim 35,
You further teaches, wherein the indication of the one or more components of channel state feedback is associated with a joint channel state feedback and demodulation reference signal report (You; [0168] If an RI and a CQI are used in combination, common DMRS pattern(s) (i.e. intersection) or all DMRS patterns (i.e. union) of the candidate DMRS patterns in Tables 8 and 9 may be used as K DMRS pattern(s). If it is assumed that DMRS pattern(s) that satisfy both the RI and the CQI are used as the candidate DMRS pattern(s))
Claims 2 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of Ren et al. (Ren hereafter) (US 20190386801 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 25 You-Kwak teaches, the method of claims 1 and 24, further comprising:
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, identifying a first channel state information reference resource slot corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource slot offset and a first channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria; and
deriving a demodulation reference signal configuration assumption for channel state feedback evaluation based at least in part on a physical downlink shared channel allocation on the first channel state information reference resource slot.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ren teaches, identifying a first channel state information reference resource slot corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource slot offset and a first channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria (Ren; [0152] A specific DMRS pattern is shown in FIG. 7. FIG. 7 shows an example in which the front-loaded DMRS is located at 3 (the fourth symbol of the slot) … Assuming that the mapping type of the PDSCH is the PDSCH mapping type A, the terminal device selects Table 3 and determines that the position of last PDSCH symbol is 11); and
deriving a demodulation reference signal configuration assumption for channel state feedback evaluation based at least in part on a physical downlink shared channel allocation on the first channel state information reference resource slot (Ren; [0152] the actual quantity of symbols of the front-loaded DMRS is the single-symbol DMRS, and the quantity of additional DMRSs is 2. In this case, the terminal device may select time domain positions being 6 and 9 of the additional DMRSs from Table 3. A specific DMRS pattern is shown in FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows an example in which the front-loaded DMRS is located at 3 (the fourth symbol of the slot). Assuming that the mapping type of the PDSCH is the PDSCH mapping type B, the terminal device selects Table 4 and determines that the PDSCH duration in the symbols is 7, the actual quantity of symbols of the front-loaded DMRS is the single-symbol DMRS, and the quantity of additional DMRSs is 1. In this case, the terminal device may select a time domain position being 4 of the additional DMRS from Table 4.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ren in order to improve performance of data transmission (Ren; [0105]).
Claims 3, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claims1 and 24 above, and further in view of Ge et al. (Ge hereafter) (US 20190349023 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 26 You-Kwak teaches, The method of claims 1, and 24
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: identifying a second channel state information reference resource slot based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource slot offset and a first channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria
identifying an additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria for the second channel state information reference resource slot, wherein the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria comprises a minimum threshold number of symbols for a physical downlink shared channel allocation on the second channel state information reference resource slot.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ge teaches, identifying a second channel state information reference resource slot based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource slot offset and a first channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria (Ge; [0080] where the additional DMRS is DMRS located after a front-loaded DMRS, the indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following: whether an additional DMRS exists, a quantity of additional DMRSs, and a location of the an additional DMRS, and the frequency hopping mode indicates that some symbols in one resource scheduling unit are located in a first frequency band and some other symbols are located in a second frequency band, [0213] FIG. 6, an example in which one resource scheduling unit occupies 14 symbols is used, and a DMRS occupies L groups of symbols, where L is an integer greater than or equal to 2, the L groups of symbols are not adjacent to each other); and
identifying an additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria for the second channel state information reference resource slot, wherein the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria comprises a minimum threshold number of symbols for a physical downlink shared channel allocation on the second channel state information reference resource slot (Ge; [0083], [0216] FIG. 6 shows a situation in which M=1 and K=1, but this embodiment of the present disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, M and K may be further equal to 2, 3, or the like. Optionally, this embodiment of this application is not limited to a case in which a DMRS occupies two groups of symbols, and L may alternatively be equal to 3. To be specific, the DMRS further occupies P consecutive symbols in the one resource scheduling unit without frequency hopping. Optionally, L may be further equal to 4, 5, or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ge in order to ensure enabling of frequency hopping (Ge; [0372]).
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak-Ge as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Xu.
Regarding claim 29 You-Kwak -Ge teaches, The apparatus of claim 26,
determine that the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria is not satisfied for the second channel state information reference resource slot
derive a demodulation reference signal configuration assumption for channel state feedback evaluation based at least in part on a default demodulation reference signal configuration that is predefined for channel state information reference resource assumptions
Xu further teaches, determine that the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria is not satisfied for the second channel state information reference resource slot (Xu; [0051] In a case that the transmission is performed in a scheduling manner not based on a time slot, the number of scheduled OFDM symbols is not necessarily fourteen as described above, which may be less than or more than fourteen. For example, in the case of scheduling two or four OFDM symbols, the additional DMRS may not be configured.); and
derive a demodulation reference signal configuration assumption for channel state feedback evaluation based at least in part on a default demodulation reference signal configuration that is predefined for channel state information reference resource assumptions (Xu; [0053] [0053] After configurations of the front-loaded DMRS and the additional DMRS are determined, the third generation unit 103 determines a pattern of the DMRS based on the first indication and the second instruction respectively indicating the configurations, and generates a pattern index corresponding to the pattern. The pattern index is to be provided to the user equipment, such that the user equipment can know a location where the DMRS is to be received based on the pattern index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak-Ge to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to provide support for correct demodulation (Xu; [0042]).
Regarding claim 30 You-Kwak-Ge -Xu teaches, The apparatus of claim 29,
You-Kwak-Ge fails to explicitly teach, wherein the default demodulation reference signal configuration defines explicitly or implicitly one or more default parameters, the one or more default parameters comprising a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols, a number of additional demodulation reference signal symbols, locations of all demodulation reference signal symbols relative to a first symbol of the physical downlink shared channel allocation, a demodulation reference signal type, or a combination thereof.
Xu further teaches, wherein the default demodulation reference signal configuration defines explicitly or implicitly one or more default parameters, the one or more default parameters comprising a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols, a number of additional demodulation reference signal symbols, locations of all demodulation reference signal symbols relative to a first symbol of the physical downlink shared channel allocation, a demodulation reference signal type, or a combination thereof (Xu; [0054] The pattern of the DMRS indicates, for example, the configurations of the front-loaded DMRS and the additional DMRS. Specifically, the pattern of the DMRS may indicate: the number and a location of OFDM symbols which are occupied by the front-loaded DMRS, whether to set the additional DMRS, the number and a location of OFDM symbols which are occupied by the additional DMRS, a density of the additional DMRS, or the like).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak-Ge to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to provide support for correct demodulation (Xu; [0042]).
Claims 8, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claims1 and 24 above, and further in view of Saito et al. (Saito hereafter) (US 20210143961 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 31 You-Kwak teaches, The method of claim 1, and 24
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: identifying, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols from the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a physical downlink shared channel allocation on a first channel state information reference resource slot corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor Saito teaches, identifying, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols from the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a physical downlink shared channel allocation on a first channel state information reference resource slot corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource (Saito; [0061] FIGS. 3 to 6 user terminal 20) bundles three slots, and maps, for each slot, the control channel to the first two symbols (SB 1 and SB 2) from the top of each subcarrier, the front-loaded DMRS to the third symbol (SB 3), and, in the first slot, the additional DMRS to the ninth symbol (SB 9). [0097] User terminal 20 (radio base station 10) serving as a receiver performs channel estimation using the front-loaded DMRS mapped to each slot and the additional DMRS in the top slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Saito in order to perform channel estimation (Saito; [0097]).
Claims 32 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (Xu hereafter) (US 20200169441 A1).
Regarding claim 32 You-Kwak teaches, The apparatus of claim 24,
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: identify, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of additional demodulation reference signal symbols and locations of all demodulation reference signal symbols relative to a first symbol of a physical downlink shared channel allocation based on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with the physical downlink shared channel allocation on a first channel state information reference resource slot for the first channel state information reference resource and based on a predefined assumption of physical downlink shared channel allocation duration
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu teaches, identify, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of additional demodulation reference signal symbols and locations of all demodulation reference signal symbols relative to a first symbol of a physical downlink shared channel allocation based on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with the physical downlink shared channel allocation on a first channel state information reference resource slot for the first channel state information reference resource and based on a predefined assumption of physical downlink shared channel allocation duration (Xu; [0058] For example, the pattern index may include two parts, where one part indicates the configuration of the front-loaded DMRS, and the other part indicates the number of OFDM symbols by which the additional DMRS is offset relative to the front-loaded DMRS… where offset represents the number of OFDM symbols by which the additional DMRS is offset relative to the front-loaded DMRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to provide support for correct demodulation (Xu; [0042]).
Regarding claim 43 You-Kwak teaches, The apparatus of claim 35,
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of additional demodulation reference signal symbols and a location of each additional demodulation reference signal symbol relative to a starting demodulation reference signal symbol from the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a downlink allocation and after a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols.
Xu further teaches, identify, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of additional demodulation reference signal symbols and a location of each additional demodulation reference signal symbol relative to a starting demodulation reference signal symbol from the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a downlink allocation and after a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols (Xu; [0058] For example, the pattern index may include two parts, where one part indicates the configuration of the front-loaded DMRS, and the other part indicates the number of OFDM symbols by which the additional DMRS is offset relative to the front-loaded DMRS… where offset represents the number of OFDM symbols by which the additional DMRS is offset relative to the front-loaded DMRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Park to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to provide support for correct demodulation (Xu; [0042]).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Park et al. (Park hereafter) (US 20160105882 A1)
Regarding claim 33 You-Kwak teaches, The apparatus of claim 24,
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, wherein a demodulation reference signal type is based on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a physical downlink shared channel allocation on a first channel state information reference resource slot for the first channel state information reference resource
However, in the same field of endeavor Park teaches, wherein a demodulation reference signal type is based on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a physical downlink shared channel allocation on a first channel state information reference resource slot for the first channel state information reference resource (Park; [0123] The new RSs introduced in LTE-A may be classified into two types. One is a channel state information-RS (CSI-RS) intended for channel measurement for selecting a transmission rank, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and the like, and the other is a demodulation RS (DMRS) intended for demodulation of data transmitted through up to 8 Tx antennas).
Claim 13 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claims 12 and 35 above, and further in view of Ren et al. (Ren hereafter) (US 20190386801 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 36 You-Kwak teaches, The method of claim 12 and 35,
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, further comprising: identifying a slot for the first channel state information reference resource based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource slot offset and a first channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ren teaches, identifying a slot for the first channel state information reference resource based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource slot offset and a first channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria (Ren; [0152] A specific DMRS pattern is shown in FIG. 7. FIG. 7 shows an example in which the front-loaded DMRS is located at 3 (the fourth symbol of the slot) … Assuming that the mapping type of the PDSCH is the PDSCH mapping type A, the terminal device selects Table 3 and determines that the position of last PDSCH symbol is 11);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ren in order to improve performance of data transmission (Ren; [0105]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Saito et al. (Saito hereafter) (US 20210143961 A1).
Regarding claim 19 You-Kwak teaches, The method of claim 12,
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teaches, further comprising: identifying, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols from the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a downlink allocation for the first channel state information reference resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor Saito teaches, identifying, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols from the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a downlink allocation for the first channel state information reference resource. (Saito; [0061] FIGS. 3 to 6 user terminal 20) bundles three slots, and maps, for each slot, the control channel to the first two symbols (SB 1 and SB 2) from the top of each subcarrier, the front-loaded DMRS to the third symbol (SB 3), and, in the first slot, the additional DMRS to the ninth symbol (SB 9). [0097] User terminal 20 (radio base station 10) serving as a receiver performs channel estimation using the front-loaded DMRS mapped to each slot and the additional DMRS in the top slot.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Saito in order to perform channel estimation (Saito; [0097]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak-Ge as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Ren et al. (Ren hereafter) (US 20190386801 A1).
Regarding claim 27 You-Kwak -Ge teaches, the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the one or more instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, determine that the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria is not satisfied for the second channel state information reference resource slot
identify a first channel state information reference resource slot corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource based at least part on the first channel state information reference resource slot satisfying the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria, satisfying the first channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria, and occurring in a closest prior slot to the second channel state information reference resource slot.
derive a demodulation reference signal configuration assumption for channel state feedback evaluation based at least in part on a physical downlink shared channel allocation on the first channel state information reference resource slot
However, in the same field of endeavor Ren teaches, determine that the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria is not satisfied for the second channel state information reference resource slot (Ren; [0005] when the PUSCH duration is seven symbols, whether the additional DMRS is configured on the eighth or the tenth symbol in the resource unit cannot be distinguished. Consequently, a terminal device cannot determine a time domain position occupied by a DMRS in a resource unit, affecting communication between the network device and the terminal device.);
identify a first channel state information reference resource slot corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource based at least part on the first channel state information reference resource slot satisfying the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria, satisfying the first channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria, and occurring in a closest prior slot to the second channel state information reference resource slot (Ren; [0100] The position index of the last symbol occupied by the physical shared channel in the resource unit corresponds to the first type, and the quantity of symbols occupied by the physical shared channel in the resource unit corresponds to the second type); and
derive a demodulation reference signal configuration assumption for channel state feedback evaluation based at least in part on the physical downlink shared channel allocation on the first channel state information reference resource slot (Ren; [0152] the actual quantity of symbols of the front-loaded DMRS is the single-symbol DMRS, and the quantity of additional DMRSs is 2. In this case, the terminal device may select time domain positions being 6 and 9 of the additional DMRSs from Table 3. A specific DMRS pattern is shown in FIG. 8. FIG. 8 shows an example in which the front-loaded DMRS is located at 3 (the fourth symbol of the slot). Assuming that the mapping type of the PDSCH is the PDSCH mapping type B, the terminal device selects Table 4 and determines that the PDSCH duration in the symbols is 7, the actual quantity of symbols of the front-loaded DMRS is the single-symbol DMRS, and the quantity of additional DMRSs is 1. In this case, the terminal device may select a time domain position being 4 of the additional DMRS from Table 4. )..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak-Ge to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ren in order to improve performance of data transmission (Ren; [0105]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak-Ge-Ren as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Xu.
Regarding claim 28 teaches, The apparatus of claim 27,
You-Kwak-Ge-Ren fails to explicitly teach, derive one or more parameters corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource, defining explicitly or implicitly the one or more parameters comprising a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols, a number of additional demodulation reference signal symbols, locations of all demodulation reference signal symbols relative to a first symbol of the physical downlink shared channel allocation, a demodulation reference signal type, or a combination thereof
Xu further teaches, derive one or more parameters corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource, defining explicitly or implicitly the one or more parameters comprising a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols, a number of additional demodulation reference signal symbols, locations of all demodulation reference signal symbols relative to a first symbol of the physical downlink shared channel allocation, a demodulation reference signal type, or a combination thereof (Xu; [0047] In (a) to (c) of FIG. 3, the PDSCH occupies different number of OFDM symbols in a time slot. The front-loaded DMRS is located at a third OFDM symbol, and first two OFDM symbols are used for control. The additional DMRS is located at a seventh OFDM symbol and a tenth OFDM symbol. In (d) and (e) of FIG. 3, the PDSCH occupies different number of OFDM symbols in a time slot, the location of the front-loaded DMRS is the same as that in (a) to (c) of FIG. 3, and the additional DMRS is located at an eighth OFDM symbol and a twelfth OFDM symbol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak-Ge-Ren to include the above recited limitations as taught by Xu in order to provide support for correct demodulation (Xu; [0042]).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Yum et al. (Yum hereafter) (US 20210409174 A1).
Regarding claim 34 You-Kwak teaches, The apparatus of claim 24,
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, wherein the periodic channel state feedback report comprises a periodic joint channel state feedback and demodulation reference signal report.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yum teaches, wherein the periodic channel state feedback report comprises a periodic joint channel state feedback and demodulation reference signal report (Yum; [0155] RS type—BRS, BRRS, RRM-RS, DMRS, etc. [0156] Cell-specific/UE-specific RS [0157] Frequency feedback aspect [0158] Periodic/aperiodic CSI feedback [0162] In each CSI stage, a UE may calculate CSI on a designated feedback type using a designated RS and report it to a BS using a designated feedback resource (e.g., time-frequency resource.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yum in order to determine a data transmission scheme (Yum; [0141]).
Claims 37, 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak -Ren as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Ge et al. (Ge hereafter) (US 20190349023 A1).
Regarding claim 37 You-Kwak-Ren teaches, The apparatus of claim 36,
You-Kwak-Ren fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: identify an additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria for the identified slot for the first channel state information reference resource, wherein the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria comprises a minimum threshold number of symbols for a physical downlink shared channel allocation on the identified slot for the first channel state information reference resource
However, in the same field of endeavor Ge teaches, identify an additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria for the identified slot for the first channel state information reference resource, wherein the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria comprises a minimum threshold number of symbols for a physical downlink shared channel allocation on the identified slot for the first channel state information reference resource (Ge; [0083], [0216] FIG. 6 shows a situation in which M=1 and K=1, but this embodiment of the present disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, M and K may be further equal to 2, 3, or the like. Optionally, this embodiment of this application is not limited to a case in which a DMRS occupies two groups of symbols, and L may alternatively be equal to 3. To be specific, the DMRS further occupies P consecutive symbols in the one resource scheduling unit without frequency hopping. Optionally, L may be further equal to 4, 5, or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Park-Xu-Ren to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ge in order to ensure enabling of frequency hopping (Ge; [0372]).
Regarding claim 38 You-Kwak-Ren-Ge teaches, The apparatus of claim 37,
You-Kwak-Ge fails to explicitly teach, identify a second channel state information reference resource based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource time condition
determine that the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria is not satisfied for the second channel state information reference resource
identify the first channel state information reference resource based at least part on the first channel state information reference resource satisfying the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria and occurring prior to the second channel state information reference resource
derive the demodulation reference signal configuration based at least in part on the first channel state information reference resource
Ren further teaches, identify a second channel state information reference resource based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource time condition (Ren; [0008] the terminal device can select the corresponding parameter based on the mapping type of the physical shared channel, to help the terminal device accurately determine the time domain positions occupied by DMRSs in the resource unit);
determine that the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria is not satisfied for the second channel state information reference resource (Ren; [0005] in a case of same PDSCH duration or same PUSCH duration, an additional DMRS occupies different time domain positions in a resource unit. For example, when the PUSCH duration is seven symbols, whether the additional DMRS is configured on the eighth or the tenth symbol in the resource unit cannot be distinguished. Consequently, a terminal device cannot determine a time domain position occupied by a DMRS in a resource unit);
identify the first channel state information reference resource based at least part on the first channel state information reference resource satisfying the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria and occurring prior to the second channel state information reference resource (Ren; [0109] A time domain position of the first DMRS is decoupled from the time domain position of the additional DMRS, and there is no association relationship between the time domain position of the first DMRS and the time domain position of the additional DMRS. The time domain position of the first DMRS may be predefined in a protocol, or may be configured by the network device for the terminal device by using signaling.); and
derive the demodulation reference signal configuration based at least in part on the first channel state information reference resource (Ren; [0085] 1. First DMRS (first DMRS), also referred to as a front-loaded DMRS (front-loaded DMRS): occupying at least one consecutive symbol in the resource unit. A position index of the first symbol in the at least one symbol is a minimum value of a symbol index occupied by the DMRS pattern in the resource unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Park-Xu-Ge to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ren in order to improve performance of data transmission (Ren; [0105]).
Regarding claim 40 You-Kwak-Ren-Ge the apparatus of claim 37,
You-Kwak-Ge fails to explicitly teach, identify a second channel state information reference resource based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource time condition
determine that the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria is not satisfied for the second channel state information reference resource
derive the demodulation reference signal configuration based at least in part on the first channel state information reference resource
Ren further teaches, identify a second channel state information reference resource based at least in part on a channel state information reference resource time condition (Ren; [0008] the terminal device can select the corresponding parameter based on the mapping type of the physical shared channel, to help the terminal device accurately determine the time domain positions occupied by DMRSs in the resource unit);
determine that the additional channel state information reference resource slot validity criteria is not satisfied for the second channel state information reference resource (Ren; [0005] in a case of same PDSCH duration or same PUSCH duration, an additional DMRS occupies different time domain positions in a resource unit. For example, when the PUSCH duration is seven symbols, whether the additional DMRS is configured on the eighth or the tenth symbol in the resource unit cannot be distinguished. Consequently, a terminal device cannot determine a time domain position occupied by a DMRS in a resource unit,);
derive the demodulation reference signal configuration based at least in part on the first channel state information reference resource (Ren; [0085] 1. First DMRS (first DMRS), also referred to as a front-loaded DMRS (front-loaded DMRS): occupying at least one consecutive symbol in the resource unit. A position index of the first symbol in the at least one symbol is a minimum value of a symbol index occupied by the DMRS pattern in the resource unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Park-Xu-Ge to include the above recited limitations as taught by Ren in order to improve performance of data transmission (Ren; [0105]).
Claims 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park-Xu-Ren-Ge as applied to claim 38 above, and in further view of Lidian et al. (Lidian hereafter) (US 20230254865 A1).
Regarding claim 39 You-Kwak-Ren-Ge teaches, The apparatus of claim 38,
You-Kwak-Ren-Ge fails to explicitly teach, wherein the one or more instructions to derive the demodulation reference signal configuration are executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: derive one or more parameters corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource, the one or more parameters comprising a time density, a frequency density, a boosting value, or a combination thereof
However, in the same field of endeavor Lidian teaches, wherein the one or more instructions to derive the demodulation reference signal configuration are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: derive one or more parameters corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource, the one or more parameters comprising a time density, a frequency density, a boosting value, or a combination thereof (Lidian; [0018] In 5G, CSI-RS is WD specific; thus, it may have a significantly lower time-frequency density. [0020] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS): These reference signals also sometimes referred to as WD-specific reference signals, may be used by terminals for channel estimation for the data channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak-Ren-Ge to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lidian in order to provide channel estimation for the data channel. (Lidian; [0018]).
Regarding claim 41 You-Kwak-Ren-Ge teaches, The apparatus of claim 40,
You-Kwak-Ren-Ge fails to explicitly teach, wherein the default demodulation reference signal configuration comprises one or more default parameters, the one or more default parameters comprising a time density, a frequency density, a boosting value, or a combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lidian teaches, wherein the default demodulation reference signal configuration comprises one or more default parameters, the one or more default parameters comprising a time density, a frequency density, a boosting value, or a combination thereof. (Lidian; [0018] In 5G, CSI-RS is WD specific; thus, it may have a significantly lower time-frequency density. [0020] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS): These reference signals also sometimes referred to as WD-specific reference signals, may be used by terminals for channel estimation for the data channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak-Ren-Ge to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lidian in order to provide channel estimation for the data channel. (Lidian; [0018]).
Claims 42 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Saito et al. (Saito hereafter) (US 20210143961 A1).
Regarding claim 42 You-Kwak teaches, The apparatus of claim 35
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teaches, wherein the one or more instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols from the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a downlink allocation for the first channel state information reference resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor Saito teaches, identify, for a channel state information reference resource definition, a number of front loaded demodulation reference signal symbols from the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a downlink allocation for the first channel state information reference resource (Saito; [0061] FIGS. 3 to 6 user terminal 20) bundles three slots, and maps, for each slot, the control channel to the first two symbols (SB 1 and SB 2) from the top of each subcarrier, the front-loaded DMRS to the third symbol (SB 3), and, in the first slot, the additional DMRS to the ninth symbol (SB 9). [0097] User terminal 20 (radio base station 10) serving as a receiver performs channel estimation using the front-loaded DMRS mapped to each slot and the additional DMRS in the top slot.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Saito in order to perform channel estimation (Saito; [0097]).
Regarding claim 44 You-Kwak teaches, The apparatus of claim 35,
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, wherein a demodulation reference signal type is based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a downlink allocation and the downlink allocation comprises one or more demodulation reference signal symbols
However, in the same field of endeavor Saito teaches, wherein a demodulation reference signal type is based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal configuration associated with a downlink allocation and the downlink allocation comprises one or more demodulation reference signal symbols (Saito; [0050] Demodulation/decoding section 205 outputs the scheduling information (for example, DL/UL resource allocation and mapping configuration of the front-loaded DMRS and additional DMRS) addressed to the user terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Saito in order to perform channel estimation (Saito; [0097]).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You-Kwak as applied to claim 35 above. and further in view of Lidian
Regarding claim 45 You-Kwak teaches, The apparatus of claim 35,
You-Kwak fails to explicitly teach, wherein the demodulation reference signal configuration comprises one or more parameters corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource, the one or more parameters comprising a time density, a frequency density, a boosting value, or a combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lidian teaches, wherein the demodulation reference signal configuration comprises one or more parameters corresponding to the first channel state information reference resource, the one or more parameters comprising a time density, a frequency density, a boosting value, or a combination thereof (Lidian; [0018] In 5G, CSI-RS is WD specific; thus, it may have a significantly lower time-frequency density. [0020] Demodulation reference signals (DMRS): These reference signals also sometimes referred to as WD-specific reference signals, may be used by terminals for channel estimation for the data channel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of You-Kwak to include the above recited limitations as taught by Lidian in order to provide channel estimation for the data channel. (Lidian; [0018]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416