CTFR 18/042,627 CTFR 80103 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 have been amended. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5, 10-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 11523465) . Regarding claim1, Yang discloses a management device (Fig. 2, “AMF” comprising: a reception unit that receives circuitry configured to: receive (col. 2, ll. 3, “ a terminal, a registration request message to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity” [e.g., received by the “management device,” that is the AMF]) from a wireless communication device, a request (e.g., col. 2, ll. 25-27: “ the first information includes information for requesting to establish a PDU session ”) for updating first information for selecting a service provided by a public wireless communication service from a wireless communication device , wherein the receive request is to update first information, the update of the first information is for selection of a first service (col. 2, ll. 5-13, and receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message sent by the AMF entity, where the registration accept message includes the network slice selection policy such that in a process in which the terminal subsequently establishes a PDU session, the terminal can accurately determine corresponding S-NSSAI based on an NSSP in a current VPLMN or an NSSP in a current HPLMN. ) provided by a public wireless communication service (Fig. 2, “UE” “wireless communication device, col. 2, ll. 22-27, “sending, by a terminal, a first message to an AMF entity, where the first message includes first information, first network slice selection information, and second network slice selection information, the first information includes information for requesting to establish a PDU session” ) in which the first information is configured in advance (Fig. 2, “UE” “wireless communication device, col. 2, ll. 22-27, “sending, by a terminal, a first message to an AMF entity, where the first message includes first information, first network slice selection information, and second network slice selection information, the first information includes information for requesting to establish a PDU session.” The Examiner submits that the " first information is configured in advance” is broadly interpreted as where the first message includes first information, first network slice selection information, and second network slice selection information ) and second information (col. 2, ll. 5-13, and receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message sent by the AMF entity, where the registration accept message includes the network slice selection policy such that in a process in which the terminal subsequently establishes a PDU session, the terminal can accurately determine corresponding S-NSSAI based on an NSSP in a current VPLMN or an NSSP in a current HPLMN. ); an addition processing unit that generates, generate based on in response to the received request from the wireless communication device , third information, wherein the third information includes addition of in which the second information for selecting the service provided by the local wireless communication service is added to the first information (col. 2, ll. 27-37, the first network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a first session management function (SMF) entity, and the second network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a second SMF entity such that in a PDU session establishment process, the AMF entity accurately determines S-NSSAI, and completes PDU session establishment; and receiving, by the terminal, a second message sent by the AMF entity, where the second message includes second information, and the second information includes PDU session establishment accept information. ) ; and a transmission unit that transmits transmit , to the wireless communication device, an instruction to update the first information to the third information (col. 5, ll. 65-67-col. 6, ll. 1-6, the first network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a first SMF entity, and the second network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a second SMF entity; and a receiver configured to receive a second message sent by the AMF entity, where the second message includes second information, and the second information includes PDU session establishment accept information). Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the management device according to claim 1, wherein the transmission unit transmits circuitry is further configured to transmit a non- access stratum (NAS) message, and including the NAS message includes the instruction to the wireless communication device (col. 1, ll. 67- col. 2, ll. 1-5, where the registration method includes: sending, by a terminal, a registration request message to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, …). Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the management device according to claim 1, wherein the addition processing unit generates the third information in which t he second information is specified based on fourth information, the fourth information is regarding associated with a location of the wireless communication device is added to the first information , and the circuitry is further configured to generate the third information based on the specified second information added to the first information (col. 2, ll. 27-37, the first network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a first session management function (SMF) entity, and the second network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a second SMF entity such that in a PDU session establishment process, the AMF entity accurately determines S-NSSAI, and completes PDU session establishment; and receiving, by the terminal, a second message sent by the AMF entity, where the second message includes second information, and the second information includes PDU session establishment accept information) . Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the management device according to claim 3, wherein the reception unit receives circuitry is further configured to receive the request that includes including the fourth information, and regarding the location of the wireless communication device, and the addition processing unit generates the third information in which the second information is specified based on the received request including the fourth information (col. 2, ll. 27-37, the first network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a first session management function (SMF) entity, and the second network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a second SMF entity such that in a PDU session establishment process, the AMF entity accurately determines S-NSSAI, and completes PDU session establishment; and receiving, by the terminal, a second message sent by the AMF entity, where the second message includes second information, and the second information includes PDU session establishment accept information. ) regarding the location received by the reception unit is added to the first information . Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the management device according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to reception unit receives the receive the fourth information from regarding the location of the wireless communication device measured by a device other than different from the wireless communication device, information (col. 2, ll. 5-13, and receiving, by the terminal, a registration accept message sent by the AMF entity, where the registration accept message includes the network slice selection policy such that in a process in which the terminal subsequently establishes a PDU session, the terminal can accurately determine corresponding S-NSSAI based on an NSSP in a current VPLMN or an NSSP in a current HPLMN. ) and the addition processing unit generates the third information obtained in which the second information is specified based on the received fourth information from the device (col. 2, ll. 27-37, the first network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a first session management function (SMF) entity, and the second network slice selection information is used by the AMF entity to select a second SMF entity such that in a PDU session establishment process, the AMF entity accurately determines S-NSSAI, and completes PDU session establishment; and receiving, by the terminal, a second message sent by the AMF entity, where the second message includes second information, and the second information includes PDU session establishment accept information. ) regarding the location measured by the another device is added to the first information . Claim 10 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Yang, Abstract, “A registration method, a session establishment method,”). Claim 11 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Yang, col. 1, 1l. 1-2 “this application provide a registration method for a terminal,”). Claim 12 contains subject matter similar to claim 3, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. Claim 13 contains subject matter similar to claim 2, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. Claim 20 contains subject matter similar to claim 1, and thus, is rejected under similar rationale. (Yang, col. 1, 1l. 1-5 “Embodiments of this application provide a registration method for a terminal, a session establishment method, a terminal, and an AMF entity such that the terminal obtains an NSSP in a VPLMN or an HPLMN in which the terminal is located,”) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6-9, 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JULIO R PEREZ whose telephone number is (571)272-7846. The examiner can normally be reached 10Am - 6PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 5712705371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JULIO R PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/042,627 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/042,627 Page 3 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/042,627 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/042,627 Page 5 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/042,627 Page 6 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/042,627 Page 7 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/042,627 Page 8 Art Unit: 2644