DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ott et al. (US 2017/0298236, “Ott”).
Regarding claim 1, Ott teaches a low solvent (or volatile organic compound) coating composition ([0007]) containing a bisphenol epoxy compound ([0092], [0009]) that may have an epoxy equivalent of 200 or less ([0092]), and a liquid amine curing agent (e.g., [0011] – [0014]). Ott further teaches the inclusion of a dioxolane derivative having a formula reading on that of formula (1) ([0065], 2,2 dimethyl-1,3-dioxolane-4-methanol).
Regarding claim 5, Ott additionally teaches that the composition may be solventless and thus have a VOC content of less than 200 g/L ([0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Ott additionally teaches that the composition may be used to form a film ([0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Zheng et al. (US 2015/0094400, “Zheng”).
Regarding claim 2, Ott fails to specifically teach the type of liquid amine curing agent to be included. However, in the same field of endeavor of coating composition (e.g., [0002]), Zheng teaches a common and useful curing agent for epoxy compositions include methylene crosslinked poly(cyclohexyl-aromatic)amine and Zheng teaches these compounds help to provide improved chemical resistance and good mechanical properties (e.g., [0015], [0016], [0066], [0071]). It therefore would have been obvious to have substituted or used the curing agents of Zheng for those of Ott for the benefit of their ability to provide improved chemical resistance and good mechanical properties (e.g., [0015], [0016]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Denilson et al. (US 2010/0137480, “Denilson”).
Regarding claim 3, Ott fails to specifically teach the amount of dioxolane to include. However, in the same field of endeavor of coating compositions (e.g., [0001] – [0003], architectural paints), Denilson teaches to include a dioxolane in an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight and that this is a suitable amount for use in various coating applications, including architectural paints ([0027]). As it would be necessary to use the dioxolane of Ott in some amount it would have been obvious and necessary to search the prior art for a suitable amount and thus would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the dioxolane in an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight as a suitable amount in a coating ([0090], [0091], [0027]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ott as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Denilson in view of Furui et al. (US 2010/0165460, “Furui”).
Regarding claim 4, Ott fails to specifically teach the amount of dioxolane and liquid amine curing agent to include. In the same field of endeavor of coating compositions (e.g., [0001] – [0003], architectural paints), Denilson teaches to include a dioxolane in an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight and that this is a suitable amount for use in various coating applications, including architectural paints ([0027]). As it would be necessary to use the dioxolane of Ott in some amount it would have been obvious and necessary to search the prior art for a suitable amount and thus would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the dioxolane in an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight as a suitable amount in a coating ([0090], [0091], [0027]). Further, in the same field of endeavor of films epoxy-based films made by coating ([0108], [0048]), Furui teaches that a suitable amount of an amine curing agent to use is on the range of from 0.1 to 20 parts by weight ([0111]). It therefore would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan, in the absence of a specific teaching by Ott, to have included the amine curing agent of Ott in such an amount in order to effectively create a film from the resin composition (Furui, [0048], [0111]). Therefore, modified Ott would have an amount of dioxolane derivative on the range of from 0.1 to 1.4 parts by mass based on 1 part by mass of the content of the liquid amine curing agent. The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the bisphenol-A component described by Ott as having an EEW of 86 g/eq does not read on that presently claimed because it is not part of a “final or intermediate composition” (e.g., Remarks 11/11/25, pp. 2-5). However, the present claims do not require such a limitation. Ott appears to describe a composition comprising a bisphenol epoxy component having the claimed epoxy equivalent weight ([0009], [0092]). Applicant argues that because the bisphenol-A described in paragraph 0092 of Ott is reacted and the resultant composition has a higher EEW that the bisphenol-A should not be considered part of the dispersion. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Please see MPEP §2123. In this case, Ott teaches a dispersion including a bisphenol epoxy component having the claimed epoxy equivalent weight ([0009], [0092]) and therefore the Examiner maintains the above-described rejections.
Applicant argues that the ordinarily skilled artisan would not look to Denilson to provide a dioxolane film forming agent because Denilson teaches that such film forming agents are useful in combination with epoxy compounds that are dissolved in organic solvents (e.g., Remarks 11/11/25, p. 5; Denilson, [0025]). But Denilson is not so limited and therefore the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As Applicant notes, Denilson is generally directed towards use with either water-based or organic solvent-based coating systems (e.g., Denilson [0001], [0002]). Denilson teaches that the application of dioxolane derivatives as a film former in water-based systems improves film-forming and drying times ([0013]). Denilson does not provide any teaching that a dioxolane should not be used in water-based compositions that also include epoxy compounds. Rather, Denilson teaches to include a dioxolane in an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight and that this is a suitable amount for use in various coating applications, including architectural paints ([0027]). As it would be necessary to use the dioxolane of Ott in some amount it would have been obvious and necessary to search the prior art for a suitable amount and thus would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the dioxolane in an amount of from 0.1 to 10% by weight as a suitable amount in a coating ([0090], [0091], [0027]). In response to applicant's argument that Denilson does not specifically describe water-based coatings containing an epoxy compound, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Therefore, claims 1-6 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782