DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 9-10, 14, 17 have been amended. Claims 18-20 are newly presented for examination. The status of claim 1-20 remains pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that Huang does not disclose nor suggest “transmitting a first frame to one or more peer communication apparatuses, the one or more peer communication apparatuses being associated with another communication apparatus different from the communication apparatus.”
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments because Huang under the broadest reasonable interpretation does disclose the applicant claim invention. Huang discloses coordination between multiple access points where a master AP transmits trigger frame/announcement (NDPA) frame to slave AP to solicit response from the slave AP. What is disclosed by the Huang’s reference is the functional equivalent of the applicant claim invention.
With respect to the amended claim features to each of the respective independent claims, the Examiner has decided to make a new ground of rejection.
Moreover, the new ground of rejection does not mean that Examiner is acquiescing to the Applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 17, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2021/0051722 A1, Provisional Application No. 62/927,840, filed on October 30, 2019) in view of in view Oteri et al (US 2024/0040531 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Huang et al (US 2021/0051722 A1, Provisional Application No. 62/927,840, filed on October 30, 2019) discloses a communication apparatus (see, the first AP in the multiple AP coordination being an apparatus which transmits a trigger frame, section 0180, 0082, fig. 5, EHT AP 502 coupled to EHT STAs in the basic service set (BSS),section 0074-0078) comprising: circuity (see, the apparatus of the access pint comprises a memory and processing circuitry coupled to the memory, section 0190, noted: the AP with transmitting means to transmit and receive, section 0074-075, 0082, noted: peer-to-peer, section 0086), which, in operation (see, multiple APs simultaneous transmissions wherein AP1 and AP2 are triggered to transmit to different STAs, section 0117-0118), generates a first frame (see, the master AP sends a polling trigger frame to the slave APs to solicit responses from the slave APs, section 0158) to initiate a null data packet (NDP) feedback report procedure (see, the polling trigger may solicit null-data packet (NDP) short feedbacks from the slaves APs, section 0158); and a transmitter (see, the apparatus of the access point comprises a memory and processing circuitry coupled to the memory, section 0190, noted: the AP with transmitting means to transmit and receive, section 0074-075, 0082, fig. 5, front-end module circuitry, section 0085-0088), which, in operation, transmits the first frame to one or more peer communication apparatuses (see, the polling trigger frame that is sent by the master AP to the slave APs, the polling trigger frame may solicit null-data packet (NP) short feedbacks from the slave APs, section 0158, 0168, noted: the slave forwards to the STAs in form of allocation or to solicit STA to transmit, section 0173-0174, 0175) wherein the first frame comprises a first field (see, field in the multiple-AP trigger frames, section 0136, 0138-0139) indicating an intended type of NDP feedback report procedure (see, NDP short feedbacks from the slave APs based on receiving the polling trigger frame, section 0158, 0168, noted: trigger frame include fields for coordination that configure the APs and STAs for PHY level synchronization, measurements, section 0151).
Huang ‘722 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: the one or more per communication apparatuses being associated with another communication apparatus different from the communication apparatus, wherein the first frame comprises a first field indicating an intended type of NDP feedback report procedure.
However, Oteri et al (US 2024/0040531 A1) from a similar field of endeavor (see, multiple access points coordination in WLAN where an AP sends NDP feedback report poll frame to request information, section 0181-0183) discloses: the one or more peer communication apparatuses (see, the STA1 and STA2 my each respond, section 0199-0200)to NDPAs/NDP frames from AP 1 and AP 2, section 0199-0200, noted: the stations may operate in peer-to-peer configuration, section 0082) being associated with another communication apparatus different from the communication apparatus (noted: STA1, STA2 is associated both AP (AP1, AP 2) with respect to receive trigger frame and sending the measurement of the NDP frames in a report, section 0199-0200, see, more than two APs (i.e., AP1, AP2, AP3, AP4) may participate in the multi AP coordination, section 0140-0141).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to modify the multiple access points coordination in which the master AP sends polling trigger frame to the slave APs of Huang ‘722 by incorporating the multiple AP coordination for coordinated beamforming and coordinated nulling as disclosed by Oteri ‘531. The motivation would have been to provide multiple AP operation based on the coordinated capability (section 0003).
Regarding claim 2, Huang ‘722 discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first field of the first frame indicates that a second frame of the communication apparatus and respective frame(s) of the one or more peer communication apparatuses are to be simultaneously transmitted (see, the EHT AP may transmit a trigger frame, which may include a schedule for simultaneous UL transmissions, section 0082), the first frame comprising a second field (see, based on the reception of the trigger frame, AP1 and AP2 are triggered to transmit to different STAs, section 0117, see, fields in the trigger frame, and fields to transmit a trigger frame to STAS, claim 8, section 0189) indicating an intended manner to assign a plurality of tones to one or more basic service sets (BSSs) (see, the trigger frame includes Rus, resource allocations, section 0179, noted: fig. 5, the AP and Stations as BSSs using different BSSIDS, and the HE APs may control more than one BSS, assign primary channels, colors, section 0074-0075, noted: tones that are directly related to the bandwidth of the channels, section 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 3, Huang ‘722 discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuity, in operation, generates a second frame (see, the second AP to transmit a trigger frame to solicit the a STA to transmit , section 0175) to solicit a NDP feedback report (see, soliciting NDP short feedbacks based on polling trigger frame, section 0158, 0170, 0174).
Regarding claim 4, Huang ‘722 discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the second frame comprises a first field indicating an alignment of the NDP feedback report (see, short frame to align the timing with the first AP sending the trigger frame in relation to a response, section 0169-0170, 0171).
Regarding claim 5, Huang ‘722 discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the second frame comprises a second field indicating an index of tones assigned to one or more BSSs (see, the trigger frame includes Rus, resource allocations, section 0179, noted: fig. 5, the AP and Stations as BSSs using different BSSIDS, and the HE APs may control more than one BSS, assign primary channels, colors, section 0074-0075, noted: tones that are directly related to the bandwidth of the channels, section 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 6, Huang ‘722 discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, prior to the generation of the first frame (see, set-up operational parameters that are exchanged prior to the transmission of the AP trigger frame, section 0174), the circuity, which, in operation, generates a coordination frame (see, multi APs coordination in which the trigger frame indicates which APs should respond, section 0129-0131) indicating a range of identifiers of intended communication apparatuses corresponding to one or more BSSs (see, specific association identifier (AID) assignment for each station where the specific address can be used in the solicited MU-RTS trigger frame, section 0143-0144, noted: list of AP addresses provided by each AP to associated STA); and the transmitter, which, in operation, transmits the coordination frame to the one or more peer communication apparatuses (see, which STAs that are to join, section 0129-0131, noted: the use of the trigger frame by the master AP to configure the slave APs and STAs to coordinate, the trigger included field for coordination, section 0150-0151).
Regarding claim 7, Huang ‘722 discloses the communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of tones assigned to an intended communication apparatus in one of the one or more BSSs (noted: fig. 5, the AP and Stations as BSSs using different BSSIDS, and the HE APs may control more than one BSS, assign primary channels, colors, section 0074-0075) belongs to one or more 20 MHz frequency segments (see, the subcarriers or the tones are spaced by 20 MHz, section 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Huang ‘722 discloses a peer communication apparatus (see, the apparatus of the access point comprises a memory and processing circuitry coupled to the memory, section 0190, noted: the AP with transmitting means to transmit and receive, section 0074-075, 0082, noted: peer-to-peer, section 0086-0087), comprising: a receiver (see, the apparatus of the access point comprises a memory and processing circuitry coupled to the memory, section 0190, noted: the AP with transmitting means to transmit and receive, section 0074-075, 0082, fig. 1 to fig. 5, see, front-end module circuitry, the radio IC circuitry, section 0085-089), , which, in operation, receives a first frame (see, the master AP sends a polling trigger frame to the slave APs to solicit responses from the slave APs, section 0158) from a first communication apparatus (see, the master AP sends a polling trigger frame to the slave APs to solicit responses from the slave APs, section 0158) to initiate a null data packet (NDP) feedback report procedure (see, the polling trigger may solicit null-data packet (NDP) short feedbacks from the slaves APs, section 0158); and circuitry, which, in operation, processes the first frame (see, the slave AP forwards its allocation to its STAs such that its STAs know where to operate to the subsequent data communication or APs receives the multi-AP trigger frame and transmits MU-RTS to STAs, section 0158, 0125-0126), wherein the first frame comprises a first field (see, field in the multiple-AP trigger frames, section 0136, 0138-0139) indicating an intended type of NDP feedback report procedure (see, NDP short feedbacks from the slave APs based on receiving the polling trigger frame, section 0158, 0168, noted: trigger frame include fields for coordination that configure the APs and STAs for PHY level synchronization, measurements, section 0151).
Huang ‘722 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the first communication apparatus is different from a second communication apparatus associated with the peer communication apparatus.
However, Oteri et al (US 2024/0040531 A1) from a similar field of endeavor (see, multiple access points coordination in WLAN where an AP sends NDP feedback report poll frame to request information, section 0181-0183) discloses: wherein the first communication apparatus (see, the STA1 and STA2 my each respond, section 0199-0200)to NDPAS/NDP frames from AP 1 and AP 2, section 0199-0200, noted: the stations may operate in peer-to-peer configuration, section 0082) is different from a second communication apparatus associated with peer communication apparatus (noted: STA1, STA2 is associated both AP (AP1, AP 2) with respect to receive trigger frame and sending the measurement of the NDP frames in a report, section 0199-0200, see, more than two APs (i.e., AP1, AP2, AP3, AP4) may participate in the multi AP coordination, section 0140-0141).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to modify the multiple access points coordination in which the master AP sends polling trigger frame to the slave APs of Huang ‘722 by incorporating the multiple AP coordination for coordinated beamforming and coordinated nulling as disclosed by Oteri ‘531. The motivation would have been to provide multiple AP operation based on the coordinated capability (section 0003).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 11, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 as discussed above because the claim substantially comprises the same limitations.
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Huang ‘722 discloses a communication method (see, multiple APs simultaneous transmissions wherein AP1 and AP2 are triggered to transmit to different STAs, section 0117-0118, noted: peer-to-peer, section 0086-0087), comprising: generating a first frame (see, the master AP sends a polling trigger frame to the slave APs to solicit responses from the slave APs, section 0158) to initiate a null data packet (NDP) feedback report procedure (see, the polling trigger may solicit null-data packet (NDP) short feedbacks from the slaves APs, section 0158); wherein the first frame comprises a first field (see, field in the multiple-AP trigger frames, section 0136, 0138-0139) indicating an intended type of NDP feedback report procedure (see, NDP short feedbacks from the slave APs based on receiving the polling trigger frame, section 0158, 0168, noted: trigger frame include fields for coordination that configure the APs and STAs for PHY level synchronization, measurements, section 0151, noted: the slave forwards to the STAs in form of allocation or to solicit STA to transmit, section 0173-0174, 0175).
Huang ‘722 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: the one or more peer communication apparatuses being associated with a second communication apparatus different from the first communication apparatus.
However, Oteri et al (US 2024/0040531 A1) from a similar field of endeavor (see, multiple access points coordination in WLAN where an AP sends NDP feedback report poll frame to request information, section 0181-0183) discloses: the one or more peer communication apparatuses (see, the STA1 and STA2 may each respond, section 0199-0200)to NDPAS/NDP frames from AP 1 and AP 2, section 0199-0200, noted: the stations may operate in peer-to-peer configuration, section 0082) being associated with a second communication apparatus different from the communication apparatus (noted: STA1, STA2 is associated both AP (AP1, AP 2) with respect to receive trigger frame and sending the measurement of the NDP frames in a report, section 0199-0200, see, more than two APs (i.e., AP1, AP2, AP3, AP4) may participate in the multi AP coordination, section 0140-0141).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to modify the multiple access points coordination in which the master AP sends polling trigger frame to the slave APs of Huang ‘722 by incorporating the multiple AP coordination for coordinated beamforming and coordinated nulling as disclosed by Oteri ‘531. The motivation would have been to provide multiple AP operation based on the coordinated capability (section 0003).
Regarding claim 18 (New), Huang ‘722 as modified by Oteri ‘531 discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein, the one or more peer communication apparatuses: are not associated with the communication apparatus (Oteri ‘531, see, multiple AP systems, the APs may be from different BSSs, section 0125-0126, 0141-the APs may not belong to the multiple AP service set); and are within reachable range of the communication apparatus (see, one or more APs within a range that are members, section 0158).
Regarding claim 19 (New), Huang ‘722 as modified by Oteri ‘531 discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the communication apparatus and the another communication apparatus are access points which perform multiple access point (multi-AP) coordination (Oteri ‘531, multiple AP negotiation frame between a master AP and a slave APs, section 0169, 0171-0172, 0140-041).
Regarding claim 20 (New), Huang ‘722 as modified by Oteri ‘531 discloses the communication apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein, the transmitter, in operation, transmits the first frame (see, coordination between AP 1 an AP 2 where the AP1/master AP sends coordination request frame and null data packet announcement (DNAP) frame to the AP and STAs in tis BSS, section 0171-0172): to the one or more peer communication apparatuses which are associated with the another communication apparatus (see, coordination between AP 1 an AP 2 where the AP1/master AP sends coordination request frame and null data packet announcement (DNAP) frame to the AP and STAs in tis BSS, section 0171-0172); and to one or more peer communication apparatus which are associated with the communication apparatus (see, coordination between AP 1 and AP 2, probe response frame transmitted by AP 3, section 0141-0142).
Claims 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 2021/0051722 A1, Provisional Application No. 62/927,840, filed on October 30, 2019) in view of Oteri et al (US 2024/0040531 A1) as applied to claims 3, 11 above and further in view of Deng et al (IEEE 802.11be-Wi-Fi 7: New Challenges and Opportunities, August 3, 2020, IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Huang ‘722 as modified Oteri ‘531 discloses the communication apparatus (see, soliciting NDP short feedbacks based on polling trigger frame, section 0158, 0170, 0174).. according to claim 3, wherein, when the second frame is suitable to be transmitted to one or more intended communication apparatuses associated with one of the one or more peer communication apparatuses (see, the second AP to transmit a trigger frame to solicit the STAs to transmit , section 0175) but fails to explicitly discloses: the second frame is generated without the generation of the first frame to solicit the NDP feedback report from the one or more intended communication apparatuses.
However, Deng et al from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the second frame (see, b) In the reciprocal system, multiple STAs transmit NDP sounding frame simultaneously/sequentially in response to the soliciting NDP Trigger frame containing information indicating the timing at which the STAs respectively to transmit NDP sounding frames) is generated without the generation of the first frame (fig. 16b shows the S-AP which receives the NDPA frame the multi-AP transmits NDP trigger without feedback, page 20).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to modify the multiple access points coordination in which the master AP sends polling trigger frame to the slave APs of Huang ‘722 and Oteri ‘531 by incorporating the Wi-Fi 7 multiple AP coordination as disclosed by Deng et al. The motivation would have been to provide low signaling overhead associated with multi-AP coordination.
Regarding claim 16, the peer communication apparatus (see, soliciting NDP short feedbacks based on polling trigger frame, section 0158, 0170, 0174).. according to claim 11, wherein, when the second frame is suitable to be transmitted to one or more intended communication apparatuses associated with the peer communication apparatus (see, the second AP to transmit a trigger frame to solicit the STAs to transmit , section 0175) but fails to explicitly discloses: without the receipt of the first frame, the second frame is received to solicit the NDP feedback report from the one or more intended communication apparatuses.
However, Deng et al from a similar field of endeavor discloses: without the receipt of the first frame (see, b) In the reciprocal system, multiple STAs transmit NDP sounding frame simultaneously/sequentially in response to the soliciting NDP Trigger frame containing information indicating the timing at which the STAs respectively to transmit NDP sounding frames), the second frame is received to solicit the NDP feedback report from the one or more intended communication apparatuses (fig. 16b shows the S-AP which receives the NDPA frame the multi-AP transmits NDP trigger without feedback, page 20).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention to modify the multiple access points coordination in which the master AP sends polling trigger frame to the slave APs of Huang ‘722 and Oteri ‘531 by incorporating the Wi-Fi 7 multiple AP coordination as disclosed by Deng et al. The motivation would have been to provide low signaling overhead associated with multi-AP coordination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473