Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 3, the examiner suggests rewriting “the support columns” to --each of the multiple support columns-- to provide a more proper description and to provide consistency in the claim language.
Claim 16, line 2, the examiner suggests rewriting “the beam” to --a beam-- to avoid an obvious antecedent issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 10, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rastegar (US2013/0049538 A1, Cited by Applicant).
In regards to claim 9, Rastegar teaches in Figs. 2a and 2b a vibration power generation device comprising:
A weight (unlabeled center mass);
A beam/cable (210) being in contact with the weight, and extending in a direction parallel to a virtual plane;
A piezoelectric member (202) on the beam;
A fixation member comprising: multiple portions (two clamps 208); and
An inner space (everything between the two fixation clamps 208) inside the fixation member;
Wherein the multiple portions are located along a circumferential direction around an axis perpendicular to the virtual plane;
The weight (unlabeled center mass) and the piezoelectric member (202) are in the inner space; each of the multiple portions is fixed to the beam; and
The beam (210) has tension (see paragraph [0027], in which the beam is disclosed to provided with “preloaded in tension”).
In regards to claim 10, based on Fig. 2B, wherein each of the multiple portions (208) comprises a recess (bore 208a), and at least a part of the beam (210) is in the recess.
In regards to claim 12, based on Fig. 2B and paragraph [0024], each of the multiple portions (208) comprises a first engaging portion (crimp);
The beam (210) comprises a second engaging portion (surface of beam within the bore 208a); and the first engaging portion and the second engaging portion are configured to engage with each other in a direction in which the beam is extending.
In regards to claim 16, Rastegar teaches in Figs. 2a and 2b a vibration power generation device manufacturing method comprising:
Making a beam (210) extend radially on a plane;
applying tension to the beam (see paragraph [0027], in which the beam is disclosed to provided with “preloaded in tension”) in a direction of extension of the beam; and
fixing the beam to a fixation member (208) in multiple portions located in directions in which the beam is extending while maintaining the tension on the beam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegar (US2013/0049538 A1, Cited by Applicant) in view of Kurihara (US2014/0311544 A1).
As discussed above, Rastegar teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 9. However, Rastegar does not teach: In regards to claim 14, a sensor module comprising: the vibration power generation device according to claim 9; a sensor configured to be driven by power supplied from the vibration power generation device; a communication unit configured to be driven by power supplied from the vibration power generation device and to communicate with an external device; and a controller configured to be driven by power supplied from the vibration power generation device and to control the sensor and the communication unit; and in regards to claim 15, wherein the sensor module is configured to be used in a bridge, a train, a vehicle, a power plant, outdoor machinery, or factory equipment.
Kurihara teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 a wireless sensor module (20) comprising:
A vibration power generation device (14);
A communication/wireless unit (12) configured to be driven by power supplied from the vibration power generation device and to communicate with an external device; and
A controller (13) configured to be driven by power supplied from the vibration power generation device and to control the sensor and the communication unit. Based on Paragraph [0031], Kurihara discloses that the sensor module is configured to be used in a motor (i.e. type of factory equipment).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Rastegar and have used the vibration power generation device of Rastegar in a wireless sensor module, which is part of a motor, as exemplary taught by Kurihata (See Figs. 1 and 2) because such a modification would have provided the benefit of powering a wireless sensor module as exemplary taught by Kurihata.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843