DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment of Papers Received: Amendment/Response dated 6/12/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103771390A hereafter 390 in view of KR 20130122585A hereafter 585 and Singh et al (Probing carbohydrate metabolism using hyperpolarized 13C-labeled molecules, NMR Biomed 2019, October, 32(1) hereafter Singh).
390 discloses a method for synthesizing carbon quantum dot comprising preparing a saccharide solution comprising carbon, microwaving the solution and creating a contrast medium containing the graphene quantum dots [Example 2]. By definition the resulting quantum dots measure from 1-10 nm [Background]. The saccharide is glucose and the solution is acidic due to the inclusion of citric acid [Example 2]. The saccharide is present in 1g/ml [Example 2]. The powder of the microwave is 200- 1000W for 1-20 minutes [claim 6-7, Example 2]. The resulting quantum dots consist of carbon and oxygen [Example 3]. Gastric cancers can be imaged and monitored by application of the contrast medium of the 390[ Examples]. The contrast medium can be used to image tumors, a trait of T1 contrast medium [Figure 4a, 4b]. The method results in fluorescent carbon quantum dots [claims].
While the 390 discloses a method of synthesizing carbon quantum dots using a microwave, the reference does not disclose the same carbon source as the instant claims. The use of ¹³C quantum dots for magnetic resonance imaging medium is known in the art as seen in the 585 patent.
The 585 patent discloses magnetic resonance contrast agents comprising ¹³C quantum dots [abstract]. 13C has been found to be harmless to the human body and water-soluble [Disclosure]. The MRI contrast agents is used to acquire imagines in the retinal endothelium system including the liver and spleen [claims]. The quantum dots measure from size 0.1-100 nm, preferably about 6 nm [claims]. The dots are formed in a method require high heat, combing the cooled material with water forming a solution and filtering through a dialysis bag [Examples]. The method requires a CVD chamber, vacuum, and corrosive acids [Example]. It would have been obvious to use the readily available and simple to use microwave of the 390 patent, while increasing the yield of dots.
While the dots of 390 and 585 combination are used in MRI imaging as a contrast medium, the reference are silent to specific T1 limitations. The specific spin of similar contrast a medium are known in the art as seen in the Singh study.
Singh discloses a method for probing an monitoring carbohydrate metabolism with 13C labeled molecules (abstract). These labeled molecules are used to image tumors where glycolysis occurs (Figures). The 13C contrast medium is a T1 contrast medium for magnetic resonance imaging (page 5-6).It would have been obvious that the medium formed by the combination of 390 and 585 would be a T1 contrast medium as seen in the Singh as it comprises the same components.
With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combin3e the prior art in order to produce stable means of forming an imaging solution. It would have been obvious to apply the ¹³C of 585 to the high yield, low-cost process of the 390 patent in order to produce more quantum dots for a lower cost. The microwave does not require corrosive acids or additional machinery of the CVD or vacuum of 585 patent, while producing a high yield of quantum dots, useful for the same purpose of contrast medium formation. It would have been obvious that the combination of the 390 and 585 would be a T1 contrast medium for magnetic resonance imaging as seen in Singh as they comprise similar component and are used for imaging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art with an expected result of a stable process for making and using carbon quantum dots.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/12/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 and 11-13 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the above recited rejection.
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618