DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6 & 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takaki (EP1033771) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on February 24th, 2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Takaki discloses a battery lid module (integrated sealed secondary battery, [001], plurality of cells with integrated lid structure, [001]) comprising:
A frame (frame includes end plates-6, restraining bands-7, jacket member-3, and cover-5, Fig. 1, [0031]) having:
A first end and a second end (end plates-6 define first and second end, Fig. 1, [0031]);
A plurality of lids wherein each of the plurality of lids is formed by a body enclosing a flow channel and having at least one first lid opening and at least one second lid opening (each battery cell-2 comprises a case with lid, Fig. 2, cooling medium passages-21, inlet/outlet orifice define the first and second lid openings, [0025]);
At least one inlet and at least one outlet (inlet orifice acts as one inlet, [0025], outlet orifice acts as one outlet, [0025]);
A first channel for fluidically coupling the at least one inlet and the at least one first lid opening of each of the plurality of lids when the first channel, in use, is arranged along the longitudinal direction of the frame (inlet orifice-10 is connected to a cooling medium channel, [0020], passages are arranged longitudinally, Fig. 7, cooling medium passages arranged horizontality, [0024]); and
A second channel for fluidically coupling the at least one outlet and the at least one second lid opening of each of the plurality of lids when the second channel, in use is arranged along the longitudinal direction of the frame (outlet orifice-11 is connected to cooling medium channel, [0020], passages are arranged horizontally, [0024]).
Regarding Claim 2, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses wherein the at least one inlet is provided at one or more of the: the first end, the second end, the first channel (inlet orifice-10, provided at first or second end, and first channel defined by cooling medium passage, Fig. 1-3) and wherein the at least one outlet is provided at one or more of the first end, the second end and the second channel (outlet orifice-11 provided at opposite end of inlet orifice-10, and second channel defined by cooling medium passage, Fig. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 5, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses wherein each of the plurality of lids is provided with a first terminal and second terminal and wherein the plurality of lids are arranged in a manner that different terminals of adjacent lids lie next to each other (positive electrode terminals and negative electrode terminals project upwards form the cells-2, [0031], Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses wherein a plurality of busbars are employed for electrically coupling terminals of the plurality of lids (connectors-12 act as busbars, [0031[, Fig. 2/3).
Regarding Claim 8, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses wherein each of the plurality of lids is provided with a pressure vent with predetermined breaking region of reduced thickness, the pressure vent being arranged on an upper side of the body (safety valve mounting holes-9 act as pressure vents, [0031],[0050]), and wherein the first channel and the second channel are arranged on the upper side of the body in a manner that the pressure vent is unobstructed (cooling passages are arranged to not protrude beyond the planar external shape of the cover, [0059] and not obstructer the vents, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses wherein the frame also has two main terminals of the battery lid module (terminal mounting holes-8 have two main terminals on frame, Fig. 1, [0031]).
Regarding Claim 10, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses a battery cell arrangement comprising a battery lid module according to claim 1 (integrated sealed secondary battery with plurality of cells, [0012], see Claim 1 rejection above) and a battery cell housing module ([0018-0019], [0030]) having:
At least one second partition defining a plurality of compartments in the battery cell housing module (cooling medium passages-18 formed from frames-32 are formed from partitions that split the battery cells into separator compartments, Fig. 13, [0055]), wherein the battery lid module is adapted to be mounted on the battery cell housing module to cover an open end of the battery cell housing module such that one lid covers one compartment (Fig. 13 shows how integrated cover-5 covers all battery cell openings); and
At least one fifth opening and at least on sixth opening, wherein the when the battery lid module is mounted on the battery cell housing module, at least one inlet and at least one outlet of the battery lid module extend outwards from the at least one fifth opening and the at least on sixth opening (distribution headers-35 act ad fifth and sixth opening that are positioned where the inlet orifice and outlet orifice extend outwards from the distribution headers, Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 11, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses wherein a cover plate that in use, is attached to the battery lid module to cover the battery lid module (integrated lid has a cover-5 that acts as a cover plate, [0047], Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 12, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses wherein a frame of the battery lid module has two main terminals of the battery lid module and the cover plate has through recess that are adapted to allow the two main terminals to extend outwards from the cover plate when the cover plate is in used (two terminal mounting holes-8 in integrates cover, provide through recesses for two main terminals to extend outward from cover plate, Fig. 1-).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaki (EP1033771) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on February 24th, 2023).
Regarding Claim 3, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses wherein the first channel comprises at least one first opening, a plurality of second openings, and network of first conduits extending between the at least one first opening and the plurality of second openings (Fig. 7A-7C show wherein the first channel-21 has a first opening-22 and a plurality of second openings and conduits formed by flow-alignment projecting strips-41, [0038]), wherein the first opening is aligned with the at least one inlet (inlet orifice is connected to flow channel-21, [0037]) and the plurality of second openings are aligned with the at least one first lid opening of the plurality of lids (Fig. 7A-7C).
Takaki does not directly disclose wherein the when the first channel is in use, the first channel is fluidically coupled to a fluid source. However, Takaki discloses wherein a cooling medium flows through the cooling medium passage-21, [0033], inside the cooling jacket member-3, [0033]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Takaki to have wherein the when the first channel is in use, the first channel is fluidically coupled to a fluid source.
Regarding Claim 4, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Takaki discloses wherein a cooling medium passage is connected to the outlet orifice ([0042]), where the cooling medium passage for the outlet is a mirrored structure of the inlet orifice cooling structure.
Therefore, Takaki discloses a second channel comprises at least one third opening, a plurality of fourth openings, and a network of second conduits extending between the at least one third opening and the plurality of fourth openings, wherein the third opening is aligned with the at least one outlet and the plurality of fourth openings are aligned with the at least one second side opening of the plurality of lids.
Takaki does not directly disclose wherein the when the second channel is in use, the second channel is fluidically coupled to a fluid source. However, Takaki discloses wherein a cooling medium flows through the cooling medium passage-21, [0033], inside the cooling jacket member-3, [0033]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Takaki to have wherein the when the second channel is in use, the second channel is fluidically coupled to a fluid source.
Regarding Claim 13, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Takaki does not directly disclose wherein each of the plurality of compartments is dimensioned to accommodate therein at least: terminal writing extending from a first terminal and second terminal of a corresponding lid, covering of the terminal wiring, and electrolyte.
However, Takaki disclose wherein the frame-32 that form the plurality of compartments contain the entire electrode cell (Fig. 13). Takaki further discloses wherein each electrode cell has a positive electrode terminal and negative electrode terminal ([0031]). Takaki further discloses wherein the connector-12 that acts as a busbar contains a connecting shaft-27 that is also housed in the compartment space ([0035], Fig. 13).
Therefore it would be obvious to on of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Takaki to have wherein each of the plurality of compartments is dimensioned to accommodate therein at least: terminal writing extending from a first terminal and second terminal of a corresponding lid, covering of the terminal wiring, and electrolyte.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaki (EP1033771) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on February 24th, 2023) in view of Erhart (US20220077549)
Regarding Claim 7, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki does not directly disclose wherein each of the plurality of lids is provided with a fill port and wherein a given channel comprises at least one through-hole that is in fluid communication with at least one fill port of at least one lid, wherein the at least one through hole provides access to the at least one fill port.
Erhart discloses a battery cell stack ([0096]). Erhart further discloses wherein each cell has an injection port (injection port-13, [0068]). Erhart teaches that this structure provides improved cooling ([0038]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takaki with the teachings of Erhart to have wherein each of the plurality of lids is provided with a fill port and wherein a given channel comprises at least one through-hole that is in fluid communication with at least one fill port of at least one lid, wherein the at least one through hole provides access to the at least one fill port. This modification would yield the expected result of improved cooling.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaki (EP1033771) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on February 24th, 2023) in view of Inoue (US20060169507).
Regarding Claim 14, Takaki discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery cell arrangements according to claim 10 (see claim 10 rejections above).
Takaki does not directly disclose wherein a fluid delivery system for delivering a fluid from a fluid source to the plurality of battery cell arrangements and then from the plurality of battery cell arrangements to a fluid drain.
Inoue discloses a battery pack with a cooling structure ([005]). Inoue further discloses a liquid refrigerant pump to supply the cooling liquid ([0118]). Inoue further discloses wherein the cooling passages are branched to have an inlet and outlet ([0050], [0118]). Inoue further discloses wherein the cooling units are used to cool the battery parts ([0045-0046]). Inoue teaches that this structure provides improved cooling performance ([0097]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Takaki with the teachings of Inoue to have wherein a fluid delivery system for delivering a fluid from a fluid source to the plurality of battery cell arrangements and then from the plurality of battery cell arrangements to a fluid drain. This modification would yield the expected result of improved cooling performance.
Regarding Claim 15, Takaki in view of Inoue discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki does not directly disclose wherein the fluid delivery system is implemented as a fluid supply channel that fluidically couples the fluid source with inlets of a plurality of battery lid modules of the plurality of battery cell arrangements; and a fluid expulsion channel that fluidically couple the fluid drain with outlets of a plurality of battery lid modules of the plurality of battery cell arrangements.
Inoue discloses wherein the cooling units have passage portions that extend to communicate with outlets of the cooling passages between the battery parts and inlets of cooling passages ([0054]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takaki with the teachings of Inoue to have wherein the fluid delivery system is implemented as a fluid supply channel that fluidically couples the fluid source with inlets of a plurality of battery lid modules of the plurality of battery cell arrangements; and a fluid expulsion channel that fluidically couple the fluid drain with outlets of a plurality of battery lid modules of the plurality of battery cell arrangements. This modification would yield the expected result of improved cooling performance.
Regarding Claim 16, Takaki in view of Inoue discloses the limitations as set forth above. Takaki does not directly disclose wherein the fluid delivery system is implements as a plurality of hoses, the plurality of hoses comprising: a first set of hoses, wherein a given hose of the first set fluidically couples an inlet of a given battery lid module of the plurality of battery cell arrangements with an of: an inlet of another battery lid module of the plurality of the battery cell arrangements, the fluid source; and a second set of hoses wherein a given hose of the second set fluidically couples an outlet of the given battery lid module of the plurality of battery cell arrangements with an of: an outlet of another battery lid module of the plurality of battery cell arrangements, the fluid drain.
Inoue discloses wherein the inlet passe portion of the first cooling unit and the outlet passage portion of the second cooling unit have connection hoses ([0052]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Takaki with the teachings of Inoue to have wherein the fluid delivery system is implements as a plurality of hoses, the plurality of hoses comprising: a first set of hoses, wherein a given hose of the first set fluidically couples an inlet of a given battery lid module of the plurality of battery cell arrangements with an of: an inlet of another battery lid module of the plurality of the battery cell arrangements, the fluid source; and a second set of hoses wherein a given hose of the second set fluidically couples an outlet of the given battery lid module of the plurality of battery cell arrangements with an of: an outlet of another battery lid module of the plurality of battery cell arrangements, the fluid drain.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728