DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In applicant’s reply on 07/09/2026, the claims were amended. Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been amended, as well as new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112. Revised rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 can be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein viscosity of the beverage is at least 80% of the viscosity of 100% orange juice”. It is unclear what the viscosity of 100% orange juice is. The viscosity of orange juice can vary based on production method and pulp content, so it is unclear what viscosity one would use to meet this limitation. Claims 3-10 and 12 are similarly rejected as they depend from claim 1.
Claims 3-10 recite “wherein the puree of palm or palm heart before inclusion in the beverage has” followed by properties of the puree. As the invention is drawn to a beverage comprising the puree, it is unclear how one would determine the properties of a single component within the given final product prior to addition to the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giuseppin (US 2019/0082715 A1) in view of Nussinovitch (US 2017/0245524 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Giuseppin teaches a beverage (root or tuber juice Abstract)
comprising: a puree of palm or palm heart (juice is liquid derived from grinding Par. 0030; sago palm Par. 0028)
the puree of palm or palm heart is substantially free from palm shell and palm stem (removal of root or tuber fibers Par. 0041).
Giuseppin does not teach the beverage comprises homogenized pulp, orange juice, or wherein viscosity of the beverage is at least 80% of the viscosity of 100% orange juice at a sheer rate between 30 s-1 and 100 s-1 as measured by an Anton Paar Rheometer at 7.2°C.
Nussinovitch, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a beverage comprising homogenized pulp (washed citrus pulp Par. 0012; pulp may be ground Par. 0076)
orange juice (citrus juice selected from orange juice Par. 0058)
and a viscosity of below 10 mPa∙s at a sheer rate of 40 s-1 (below 10 cp Par. 0138).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify they invention of Giuseppin with the invention of Nussinovitch. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a beverage enriched with fiber (Par. 0001).
Regarding the viscosity of the beverage is at least 80% of the viscosity of 100% orange juice at a sheer rate between 30 s-1 and 100 s-1 as measured by an Anton Paar Rheometer at 7.2°C, the provided data for a mixture of orange juice, pulp, and heart of palm by looking at Fig. 5A filed 02/24/2023 shows a viscosity of somewhere between 5 and 10 mPa∙s (examiner will call it approximately 7) at a sheer rate of 40 s-1. Nussinovitch teaches a viscosity of below 10 mPa∙s at a sheer rate of 40 s-1 (Par. 0138, see above). As Nussinovitch teaches a range which overlaps with the claimed viscosity, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Nussinovitch to have a viscosity of approximately 7 mPa∙s. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping range (i.e. approximately 7 mPa∙s) from the taught range (below 10 mPa∙s, as seen above). In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 3, Giuseppin teaches the limitations of claim 1. Giuseppin further teaches the beverage is filtered to a particle size of below 500 microns (filtration using filters of 10-500 microns resulting in the juice product Par. 0085-0086). As this is the filtration of the beverage, the particles of the puree within the beverage exist within the range of 0-500 and therefore the average of these particles is within this range as well, overlapping with the claimed range.
Regarding the puree has an average particle size from about 50 micron to about 1,000 micron, or from about 100 micron to about 800 micron, or from about 200 micron to about 600 micron, or from about 300 micron to about 500 micron, Giuseppin teaches an average particle size of below 500 microns (Par. 0085-0086, see above rejection). As Giuseppin discloses an overlapping range, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Giuseppin to have from an average particle size of about 50 micron to about 1,000 micron. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping range (i.e. about 50 micron to 500 micron) from the taught range (below 500 microns, as seen above). In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 5, Giuseppin teaches the beverage comprises an acid selected from the group consisting of citric acid, acetic acid, fumaric acid, lactic acid, phosphoric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, ascorbic acid, any derivatives thereof, or any combinations thereof (pH adjustment with acetic acid, citric acid, malic acid or tartaric acid Par. 0042). As the puree is within the beverage, it would be difficult to distinguish if the acid is part of the beverage as a whole or just the puree, so the examiner’s stance is that the acid as a component of the beverage is also a component of the puree.
Regarding claim 10, Giuseppin does not teach the puree has a reduced vegetable flavor compared with raw palm. However, Giuseppin teaches the same invention as that of claim 1 and therefore one would expect the inventions to have the same properties, including taste.
Regarding claim 12, Giuseppin does not teach the beverage further comprising a fruit juice, wherein the fruit is selected from the group consisting of citrus fruits, lemons, grapefruits, pomelos, limes, various true or hybrid cultivars thereof, and any combinations thereof.
Nussinovitch teaches addition of a fruit juice, wherein the fruit is selected from the group consisting of citrus fruits, lemons, grapefruits, pomelos, limes, various true or hybrid cultivars thereof, and any combinations thereof (citrus juices, lemon juice, lime juice, and mixtures thereof Par. 0058).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to further modify the invention of modified Giuseppin with the fruit juice of Nussinivitch. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a beverage enriched with fiber (Par. 0001).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giuseppin and Nussinovitch in view of Lange (WO 2004/084652).
Regarding claim 4, modified Giuseppin teaches the limitations of claim 1. Giuseppin and Nussinovitch do not teach the puree has a viscosity from about 100 centipoises to about 5,000 centipoises, or from about 300 centipoises to about 4,000 centipoises, or from about 600 centipoises to about 3,000 centipoises, or from about 900 centipoises to about 2,000 centipoises, or from about 1,500 centipoises to about 2,500 centipoises.
Lange, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a puree having a viscosity from about 100 centipoises to about 5,000 centipoises, or from about 300 centipoises to about 4,000 centipoises, or from about 600 centipoises to about 3,000 centipoises, or from about 900 centipoises to about 2,000 centipoises, or from about 1,500 centipoises to about 2,500 centipoises (692 and 109 cP Pg. 8 Table 1; 222, 333, and 396 Pg. 9 Table 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of modified Giuseppin with the puree viscosity of Lange. One would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the need for a thickening agent in the final product (Lange Pg. 2 lines 34-36).
Regarding claim 5, Giuseppin does teach the limitations of claim 5 above.
Additionally, Lange teaches a puree comprising an acid selected from the group consisting of citric acid, acetic acid, fumaric acid, lactic acid, phosphoric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, ascorbic acid, any derivatives thereof, or any combinations thereof (acidifying agent, e.g. citric acid, lactic acid, tartaric acid, malic acid, phosphoric acid, or acetic acid Pg. 5 lines 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of modified Giuseppin with the acid of Lange. One would have been motivated to make this modification to use a suitable agent to adjust the pH (Lange Pg. 2 lines 34-36; Giuseppin Par. 0042).
Regarding claim 6, Giuseppin teaches the limitations of claim 1. Giuseppin teaches pH adjustment by dilution with a solvent having a pH between 4 and 8 (Par. 0034; Par. 0042), however, it does not teach the puree has a pH from about 2 to about 8, or from about 3 to about 7, or from about 4 to about 6, or from about 4 to about 5 (dilute with solvent having a pH between 4 and 8.
Nussinovitch does not teach the puree has a pH from about 2 to about 8, or from about 3 to about 7, or from about 4 to about 6, or from about 4 to about 5 (dilute with solvent having a pH between 4 and 8.
Lange teaches the puree has a pH from about 2 to about 8, or from about 3 to about 7, or from about 4 to about 6, or from about 4 to about 5 (pH adjusted to within the range of 3 to 5 Pg. 5 lines 3-6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of modified Giuseppin with the pH of Lange. One would have been motivated to make this modification to produce a product with better storage stability improved organoleptic properties (Lange Pg. 2 lines 34-36; Giuseppin Par. 0042).
Claims 3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giuseppin and Nussinovitch in view of Gupta (US 2019/0364939 A1), found in applicant’s IDS filed 08/01/2025.
Regarding claim 3, modified Giuseppin teaches the limitations of claim 3 above.
Giuseppin and Nussinovitch do not teach an average particle size from about 50 micron to about 1,000 micron, or from about 100 micron to about 800 micron, or from about 200 micron to about 600 micron, or from about 300 micron to about 500 micron.
Gupta further teaches a puree having an average particle size of below 300 microns (Claim 18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of modified Giuseppin with the particle size of Gupta. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a product with desirable consistence, texture, and mouthfeel (Gupta Abstract).
Regarding the puree has an average particle size from about 50 micron to about 1,000 micron, or from about 100 micron to about 800 micron, or from about 200 micron to about 600 micron, or from about 300 micron to about 500 micron, Gupta teaches an average particle size of below 300 microns (Claim 18, see above rejection). As Gupta discloses an overlapping range, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta to have from an average particle size of about 50 micron to about 1,000 micron. It would have been prima facie case of obviousness to have selected the overlapping range (i.e. about 50 micron to 300 micron) from the taught range (below 300 microns, as seen above). In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 7, modified Giuseppin teaches the limitations of claim 1. Giuseppin and Nussinovitch do not teach the puree has a total carbohydrates from about 2 g/100g to about 20 g/100g, or from about 3 g/100g to about 18 g/100g, or from about 4 g/100g to about 16 g/100g, or from about 5 g/100g to about 14 g/100g, or from about 5 g/100g to about 10 g/100g, or from about 5 g/100g to about 8 g/100g, or from about 5 g/100g to about 6 g/100g.
Gupta, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a puree having a total carbohydrates from about 2 g/100g to about 20 g/100g, or from about 3 g/100g to about 18 g/100g, or from about 4 g/100g to about 16 g/100g, or from about 5 g/100g to about 14 g/100g, or from about 5 g/100g to about 10 g/100g, or from about 5 g/100g to about 8 g/100g, or from about 5 g/100g to about 6 g/100g (13g carbohydrates/114g puree Table 2). This gives total carbohydrates of 11.4g/100g.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of modified Giuseppin with the carbohydrate content of Gupta. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a product with low sugar content (Gupta Par. 0029).
Regarding claim 8, modified Giuseppin teaches the limitations of claim 1. Giuseppin and Nussinovitch do not teach the puree has a total fiber content from about 0.1 g/100g to about 10 g/100g, or from about 0.3 g/100g to about 8 g/100g, or from about 0.5 g/100g to about 6 g/100g, or from about 1 g/100g to about 4 g/100g, or from about 1.5 g/100g to about 3 g/100g, or from about 2 g/100g to about 2.5 g/100g.
Gupta teaches the puree has a total fiber content from about 0.1 g/100g to about 10 g/100g, or from about 0.3 g/100g to about 8 g/100g, or from about 0.5 g/100g to about 6 g/100g, or from about 1 g/100g to about 4 g/100g, or from about 1.5 g/100g to about 3 g/100g, or from about 2 g/100g to about 2.5 g/100g (1g fiber/114g puree Table 2). This gives a total fiber content of .88g/100g.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of modified Giuseppin with the fiber content of Gupta. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide dietary fiber for children and toddler who are usually lacking (Par. 0030).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giuseppin and Nussinovitch in view of Mann (US 2018/0064130 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Giuseppin teaches the limitations of claim 1. Giuseppin further teaches the beverage has a solid content of at least 25 wt% (root or tuber juice with a dry matter content of at least 25 wt. % Par. 0142), but does not teach the puree has a solid content from about 1 wt% to about 50 wt%, or from about 2 wt% to about 40 wt%, or from about 3 wt% to about 30 wt%, or from about 4 wt% to about 20 wt%, or from about 5 wt% to about 15 wt%, or from about 6 wt% to about 10wt%.
Nussinovitch does not teach the puree has a solid content from about 1 wt% to about 50 wt%, or from about 2 wt% to about 40 wt%, or from about 3 wt% to about 30 wt%, or from about 4 wt% to about 20 wt%, or from about 5 wt% to about 15 wt%, or from about 6 wt% to about 10wt%.
Mann, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a puree having a solid content from about 1 wt% to about 50 wt%, or from about 2 wt% to about 40 wt%, or from about 3 wt% to about 30 wt%, or from about 4 wt% to about 20 wt%, or from about 5 wt% to about 15 wt%, or from about 6 wt% to about 10wt% (puree may have between 9% and 20% or between 20% and 35% Par. 0024).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the invention of modified Giuseppin with the solids content of Mann. One would have been motivated to make this modification to produce a puree with an increased solids content compared to the original component to reduce denaturing or proteins in the final product (Mann Par. 0016).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, applicant argues one would be able to measure properties of the puree prior to inclusion in the beverage product. Applicant is reminded that what is claimed is the beverage product. Therefore, the claims are of the product in its final form. Once combined, there would be no way to isolate the puree to measure its properties.
Regarding prior art rejections, applicant argues the sago palm of Guiseppin is not a “true” palm such as Metroxylon sago. What is claimed is “a palm or palm heart”. As no specific species of palm is claimed, under broadest reasonable interpretation, “a palm” can include any plant which calls itself a palm, of which sago palm is. Applicant’s distinctions between Metroxylon sago and sago palm are not claimed and therefore the sago palm of Guiseppin is considered a palm as claimed.
Applicant argues Giuseppin does not consider adjusting the viscosity to mimic 100% orange juice. The rejection has been amended in light of the amendments, relying on Nussinovitch for this aspect above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goto (US 2017/0119031 A1) discloses a method of producing a beverage from palm fruit (Par. 0027).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792