RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Request for Continued Examination
The Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.53 (d) filed on October 6, 2025 is acceptable and a RCE has been established. An action on the RCE follows.
Claims 1-17 are pending in the application, claims 13-15 are withdrawn from consideration.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection over Lorenzzi et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2018/0194675), made of record in office action mailed June 5, 2025 has been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 17 now recites the “first dielectric coating consisting of … a layer of silicon nitride and a layer of titanium nitride” which is deemed to be new matter. Claim 1 claims “a titanium nitride layer located in contact with one of the two blocking layers and separated from the one of the at least one silver-based functional layer by said one of the two blocking layers.” Thus, the titanium nitride layer can be above or below the functional layer. Thus, when the titanium nitride layer is on the same side of functional layer with the “first dielectric coating,” that side of the stack will have two (2) titanium nitride layers. The instant specification does not disclose an embodiment with two (2) titanium nitride layers will be on the same side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Reymond et al (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2011/0300319).
Regarding Applicant’s claims 1 and 2, Reymond discloses a material comprising a transparent substrate (ref. #10/30, para. [0068]) coated with a stack (fig. #4).
The stack comprises the following layers in order: a dielectric layer (ref. #122, para. [0069]), a titanium nitride layer (ref. #123, para. [0039] and [0123]), blocking layer (ref. #130, para. [0070]), silver-based functional metallic layer (ref. #140, para. [0068]), blocking layer (ref. #150, para. [0070]), a titanium nitride layer (ref. #165, para. [0039] and [0129]) and a dielectric layer (ref. #168, para. [0069]).
The blocking layers are chosen from metallic layers based on a metal or a metal alloy of one or more elements chosen from titanium or nickel (para. [0046]).
Reymond discloses that each dielectric layer is made of a material having an n/k ratio, over the whole visible wavelength range from 380 nm to 780 nm of equal to or greater than 5, wherein n denotes a real refractive index of the material at a given wavelength and k represents an imaginary part of the refractive index at a given wavelength, the n/k ratio being calculated at a given wavelength which is identical for n and for k.
Regarding Applicant’s claims 3 and 4, Reymond discloses the titanium nitride layer has a thickness greater than or equal to 2 nm and between 5 and 15 nm (0.5-10 nm, para. [0040]).
Regarding Applicant’s claim 6, Reymond discloses the two blocking layers each have a thickness of between 0.1 and 5.0 nm (0.2-2.5 nm, para. [0046]).
Regarding Applicant’s claims 7 and 17, Reymond discloses the first and second dielectric layers consist of silicon nitride doped with aluminum (para. [0085]).
Regarding Applicant’s claims 8 and 9, the sum of thicknesses of all layers comprising silicon and/or aluminum in each dielectric coating of the at least two dielectric coatings is deemed to be greater than 50% of a total thickness of the dielectric coating, since the dielectric coating is deemed to only comprise the silicon nitride layer 122 or 166. The sum of thicknesses of all oxide-based layers in each dielectric coating of the at least two dielectric coatings is less than 20% of a total thickness of the dielectric coating, since the dielectric coating does not comprise an oxide based layer.
Regarding Applicant’s claims 11-12, Reymond discloses the transparent substrate coated with the stack is bent and/or tempered (para. [0054]). The transparent substrate is made of glass (para. [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond et al (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2011/0300319).
Reymond is relied upon as described above.
Reymond fails to disclose wherein the one of the two blocking layers in contact with the titanium nitride layer has a thickness less than a thickness of the other one of the two blocking layers which is not in contact with the titanium nitride layer.
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the thicknesses of the blocking layers are not considered to confer patentability to the claims. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2011/0300319) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, 12 and 17above, and further in view of Lorenzzi et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0194675).
Reymond is relied upon as described above.
Regarding Applicant’s claim 10, Reymond discloses the coating furthest from the transparent substrate comprises a protective layer based on an oxide (ref. #168, para. [0071])
Reymond fails to disclose that the protective layer is based on an oxide of titanium, zirconium, hafnium, silicon, zinc and/or tin and mixtures thereof.
Lorenzzi discloses a similar glazing coating for solar protection (para. [0001]). Lornzzi also discloses that the coating furthest from the transparent substrate comprises a protective layer which is chosen from a layer based on titanium, zirconium, hafnium, zinc and/or tin and mixtures thereof, which is/are in metallic, oxidized or nitride form (para. [0141]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use one of the specific oxides from Lorenzzi as the protective oxide layer in Reymond, since they are well known materials for protective layers in solar protection glazings.
Reymond further fails to that the glass substrate is soda-lime-silica glass.
Lorenzzi further discloses that the glass is made of soda-lime-silica glass, which is extra-clear glass (para. [0170]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use soda-lime-silica glass as the glass substrate in Reymond as taught by Lorenzzi in order to provide an extra-clear glass.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed October 6, 2025 regarding the previous rejections of record have been considered but are moot since the rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. You et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,161,780) and Misra et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,053,164) disclose similar solar control glazing coatings.
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788 1/9/2026