DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2020/0193590 to Schafer et al. “Schafer”, in view of US2014/0163403 to Lenox et al. “Lenox”, and further in view of Non-Patent Literature (NPL): “Comparison of blood flow models and acquisitions for quantitative myocardial perfusion estimation from dynamic CT”, Bindschadler et al. “Bindschadler”.
Regarding claim 1, Schafer discloses a computer implemented method (Paragraph 0026, “present technology implemented in various forms of hardware, software, firmware, special purpose processors, or a combination thereof, either as part of the microinstruction code or as part of an application program or software product, or a combination thereof, which is executed via the operating system”) for blood flow imaging (acquiring 4D DSA, Digital Subtraction Angiography, dataset for assessing quantitative metrics such as blood flow, Paragraph 0022) comprising:
acquiring a CT or MRI image data using a CT or MRJ scanner (Paragraph 0018, “CT imaging data (e.g., cone-beam CT imaging data) may be used herein as an exemplary imaging modality. It will be appreciated, however, that data from any type of imaging modality including but not limited to x-ray radiographs, MRI, PET (positron emission tomography”; Paragraph 0034, “imaging device 102 may include a rotating CT gantry covering at least one pair of X-ray source and X-ray detector. In other implementations, imaging device 102 is an MR scanner”), the CT or MRJ image data comprising a plurality of corresponding images capturing at least a portion of both an increase phase and a decline phase of a contrast agent (Paragraph 0032, reconstruction of time-varying image data, wherein each voxel of the image dataset represents the injected contrast flow in the vasculature at a particular three-dimensional location and a particular time; Paragraph 0032, wherein the time-varying image data allows for observing the propagation over time of the contrast agent or medium; Paragraph 0045, the propagation includes a contrast inflow phase, and an outflow phase as depicted in the time-contrast-concentration curve of Fig. 4) in a cardiovasculature of interest (vessel structures, Paragraph 0032; vessel tree, Paragraph 0044);
selecting a target voxel within a lumen of the cardiovasculature of interest in the CT or MRI image data (Paragraph 0042, the user selects one or more points for interrogation along the volume of interest, Paragraph 0042, wherein the point of interest is a voxel along the centerline of a reconstructed vessel tree; wherein the reconstructed vessel tree is from the reconstructed time-varying image data, See Fig. 2, Ref. 202, and Paragraph 0032);
generating a time-enhancement curve of the contrast agent in the target voxel based on the CT or MRJ image data (Paragraphs 0044-0045, and Fig. 4, time-contrast-concentration curve, TCC, for a selected voxel, wherein the Y axis is intensity and would be interpreted as the intensity based on the flow of the contrast agent/medium through the voxel, which is interpreted as an time-enhancement curve since the contrast agent provides a contrast-enhancement to the imaging data, Paragraph 0033).
Schafer additionally discloses obtaining quantitative measures of blood dynamics from a single point in the volume using the TCC curve (Paragraph 0044).
However, Schafer does not explicitly disclose selecting first and second time points from the time-enhancement curve; determining a time rate of change of enhancement between the selected first and second time points based on subtraction of CT or MRI image data at the selected first and second time points; and determining a blood flow characteristic through the target voxel based on the time rate of change of contrast agent mass.
Lenox teaches a similar method of perfusion analysis (Abstract) using imaging data from MRI or CT (Paragraph 0050). Lenox teaches selecting first and second time points from the time-enhancement curve of CT image data (Paragraph 0064-0066, and Fig. 4A, selecting time points T1 and T2 on the time-attenuation curve in Fig. 4A).
Lenox further teaches determining a time rate of change of enhancement between the selected first and second time points based on subtraction of CT or MRI image data at the selected first and second time points (Paragraph 0064-0066, and Fig. 4A, determining the maximum slope using the time points T1 and T2, and their corresponding attenuation value, with the resulting formula shown in Paragraph 0066: Maximum slope = (HU1 – HU2)/(T1-T2); as seen in the maximum slope formula, the subtraction operation would read on the claimed subtraction of CT imaging data at the selected first and second time points; additionally, when the maximum slope formula is rewritten as Max slope = ΔHU/Δt, wherein ΔHU is the change in HU between the two points, and Δt is the change in time between the two points, ΔHU/Δt would read on the time rate of change of enhancement between the first and second time points.
Additionally, Lenox teaches using the time rate of change of tracer [i.e. contrast agent] mass to determine the myocardial blood flow (MBF) (Paragraph 0123, MBF can be represented as the ratio of the maximum slope of [myocardial] tissue time attenuation curves to the maximum arterial concentration, wherein in the equation shown in Paragraph 0123, Q(t) is the mass accumulation of tracer in the myocardium, and dQ(t)/dt would read on the time rate of change of contrast agent mass). This reads on determining a blood flow characteristic based on the time rate of change of contrast agent mass. Further, the maximum slope is calculated from the time-attenuation curve of each pixel (Paragraph 0064), wherein a plurality of pixels are used to determine a 2D MBF map, which are then reconstructed in a series to determine a perfusion volume (Paragraph 0124). In this respect, the singular pixel used to determine the time-attenuation curve, with respect to the perfusion volume, would now read as a single voxel (See Paragraphs 0005, 0045).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schafer's invention, wherein the method includes selecting first and second time points from the time-enhancement curve; determining a time rate of change of enhancement between the selected first and second time points based on subtraction of CT or MRI image data at the selected first and second time points; and determining a blood flow characteristic through the target voxel based on the time rate of change of contrast agent mass, as taught by Lenox, in order to determine myocardial blood flow to assess myocardial physiological conditions (Paragraph 0124).
However, the modifications of Schafer and Lenox do not teach converting the time rate of change of enhancement to a time rate of change of contrast agent mass.
Bindschadler teaches a similar method of determining MBF (Page 1538). Bindschadler teaches using the maximum instantaneous slope of the myocardial iodine enhancement curve and the maximum value of the arterial input function, and the ratio of the maximum slope to the maximum input function, multiplied by the reciprocal of the tissue density would provide a good estimate of the MBF (Page 1538, Section: flow estimation models).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as described by Schafer and Lenox, wherein the time rate of change of enhancement is converted to a time rate of change of contrast agent mass, as taught by Lenox, in order to provide a simple estimation of the MBF, which would read on determining a blood flow characteristic. Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Lenox, in view of Bindschadler since as disclosed above, Lenox teaches determining a maximum slope of the time attenuation/enhancement curve which would read on the time rate of change of enhancement, and additionally teaches using a maximum slope analysis, wherein the slope (Lenox, Paragraph 0123, “dQ(t)/dt”) is the time rate of change of contrast agent mass and is used to determine the MBF. Bindschadler also uses a maximum slope analysis , using a formula that is very similar to Lenox’s formula in Paragraph 0123, to determine MBF (Bindschadler, Page 1538), where the maximum slope is maximum instantaneous slope of the myocardial iodine enhancement curve , measured in Hounsfield Units over time (Page 1538, CROI is measured in Hounsfield Units for “dCROI(t)/dt”). Therefore, since Lenox’s maximum instantaneous slope of the time attenuation curve reads on a time rate of change of enhancement, and this same slope is taught by Bindschadler to determine the MBF, the MBF equation of Bindschadler, could then be related back to the MBF equation of Lenox, and therefore it would be safe to conclude the slope of the MBF equation of Lenox (dQ(t)/dt) is directly related to the slope of Bindschadler (dCROI(t)/dt), wherein Q is the contrast agent mass and C is the concentration of contrast agent, and conversion between the contrast agent mass and concentration is well known unit conversion (using the volume and molecular weight of the contrast agent) to one of ordinary skill in the art. The use of contrast agent mass instead of contrast agent concentration to determine MBF, would then merely be a simple substitution of one known method to calculate MBF, with another known method to yield predictable results (i.e. calculating MBF). See MPEP 2143.I.A
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler disclose all the features of claim 1 above.
Schafer discloses the TCC curve has both an upslope and a downslope (See Fig. 4, which has regions of increasing intensity and decreasing intensity, and therefore would have regions of increasing slope and decreasing slope of the time-intensity curve; Also Paragraph 0045 which indicates Fig. 4 has a contrast inflow portion, first 2.5 sec, that has a general up-sloped trend, and a contrast outflow phase, 8+ sec, that has a general downward slope trend).
Regarding claim 4, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler disclose all the features of claim 3 above.
Schafer discloses wherein the image data comprises at least one image capturing the cardiovasculature of interest prior to entry of the contrast agent (time varying data may be based on a contrast enhanced acquisition that is initiated before the injection of X-ray contrast medium into the vessel-like structures, Paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 19, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler disclose all the features of claim 1 above.
Schafer discloses the plurality of corresponding images is greater than 5 images (See Fig. 3A, Paragraph 0035, which depicts an time series of angiographic images which are used to generate the 4D DSA reconstruction of time-varying image data, wherein as seen in Fig. 3A, there are 8 3D angiographic images).
Regarding claim 20, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler, disclose all the features of claim 1 above.
Schafer discloses that the imaging device is a flat-panel based X-ray scanner that includes at least one pair of X-ray source and X-ray detector, or a rotating CT gantry covering at least one pair of X-ray source and X-ray detector, or a MR scanner (Paragraph 0034), wherein reconstruction is performed on the time-varying image data (Paragraph 0032) obtained from the imaging device (Paragraph 0033).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer, in view of Lenox, and further in view of Bindschadler, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US2017/0265829 Adams et al. “Adams”.
Regarding claim 5, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler disclose all the features of claim 3 above.
However, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler do not explicitly disclose determining a baseline value for the time-enhancement curved based on the at least one image capturing the cardiovasculature of interest prior to entry of the contrast agent.
Adams teaches determining a baseline value for the time-enhancement curved based on the at least one image capturing the cardiovasculature of interest prior to entry of the contrast agent (Paragraph 0080, determine baseline intensity from the pre-contrast information which may be used to determine a relative maximum intensity for information acquired during one or more of the contrast phases, which reads on portions of the time-enhancement curve).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler, wherein the method includes determining a baseline value for the time-enhancement curved based on the at least one image capturing the cardiovasculature of interest prior to entry of the contrast agent, as taught by Adams, in order to use the baseline intensity from the pre-contrast information to determine a relative maximum intensity for information acquired during one or more of the contrast phases (Adams, Paragraph 0080).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer, in view of Lenox, further in view of Bindschadler, and further in view of Adams, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US2021/0027502 Abumoussa et al. “Abumoussa”.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Adams disclose all the features of claim 5.
However, Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Adams do not disclose wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining an area under the time-enhancement curve and determining a time duration of the contrast agent passing through the target voxel as a time interval that the signal intensity in the time-enhancement curve is greater than the baseline value; and determining a density of the contrast agent based on the area under the curve, and the time duration.
Abumoussa teaches determining the blood flow characteristic (determining blood flow for perfusion mapping, Paragraph 0014) comprises determining an area under the time-enhancement curve (determining area under the curve for the arterial input and venous output, Paragraph 0025) and determining a time duration of the contrast agent passing through the target voxel as a time interval that the signal intensity in the time-enhancement curve is greater than the baseline value (determining MTT, mean transit time, Paragraph 0025); and
determining a density of the contrast agent based on the area under the curve, and the time duration (see formula in Fig. 17, wherein the integrals are area under the curve, and calculating peak density, in Paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as described by Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler, and Adams, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining an area under the time-enhancement curve and determining a time duration of the contrast agent passing through the target voxel as a time interval that the signal intensity in the time-enhancement curve is greater than the baseline value; and determining a density of the contrast agent based on the area under the curve, and the time duration, as taught by Abumoussa, in order to perform perfusion analysis (Abumoussa, Paragraph 0025).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer, in view of Lenox, further in view of Bindschadler, further in view of Adams, and further in view of Abumoussa, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US2017/0095221 Kato et al. “Kato”.
Regarding claim 8, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, and Abumoussa disclose all the features of claim 7 above.
However, Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, and Abumoussa do not disclose determining the absolute flow velocity using Reynolds transport theorem.
Kato teaches using Reynolds number to calculate the flow velocity in the vessel (Paragraphs 0054-0055, with the step of calculating the flow velocity, Paragraph 0144).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, and Abumoussa, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining an absolute flow velocity using Reynolds transport theorem, as taught by Kato, in order to take into account fluid resistance parameters (Kato, Paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 9, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, Abumoussa, and Kato disclose all the features of claim 8 above.
Kato further discloses determining a heart-induced pulsation of the absolute flow velocity (Paragraphs 0111-0114).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, Abumoussa, and Kato, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a heart-induced pulsation of the absolute flow velocity, as taught by Kato, in order to take into the heart-induced pulsations, which hinders blood flow parameters (Kato, Paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 10, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, Abumoussa, and Kato disclose all the features of claim 8 above.
Kato further teaches determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a laminar flow (See Paragraph 0053, with expression 3, wherein “A” in expression 3 includes a flow velocity as seen in Fig. 4, Paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler, Adams, and Abumoussa, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a laminar flow based on flow velocity, as taught by Kato, in order to take into account fluid resistance parameters (Kato, Paragraph 0058).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer, in view of Lenox, further in view of Bindschadler, further in view of Adams, and further in view of Abumoussa, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Non-Patent Literature: “Assessment of Flow Instabilities in the Healthy Aorta Using Flow-Sensitive MRI” to Stalder et al. “Stalder”.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, and Abumoussa disclose all the features of claim 7 above.
However, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, and Abumoussa do not disclose determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow acceleration using Reynolds transport theorem and electrocardiogram-gating during obtaining the image data and wherein the first time point is at a first phase of a cardiac cycle and the second time point is at a second phase of the cardiac cycle.
Stalder teaches, determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow acceleration using Reynolds transport theorem (determining blood flow velocity using Reynolds numbers, Page 840, left column, last paragraph before Materials and Methods, while taking into account of turbulence, such as that of flow velocity, Page 839, right column) and electrocardiogram-gating during obtaining the image data and wherein the first time point is at a first phase of a cardiac cycle and the second time point is at a second phase of the cardiac cycle (Page 940, Acquisition, “ECG gating”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, and Abumoussa, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow acceleration using Reynolds transport theorem and electrocardiogram-gating during obtaining the image data and wherein the first time point is at a first phase of a cardiac cycle and the second time point is at a second phase of the cardiac cycle, as taught by Stalder, in order to perform a systematic analysis of the existence of flow instabilities in vivo based on flow acceleration and deceleration (Page 840, last paragraph before Materials and Methods).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer, in view of Lenox, further in view of Bindschadler, further in view of Adams, further in view of Abumoussa, and further in view of Kato, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US2016/0358328 to Falahatpisheh et al. “Falahatpisheh”.
Regarding claim 13, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, Abumoussa, and Kato disclose all the features of claim 8 above.
However, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, Abumoussa, and Kato do not disclose wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow pressure by applying Bernoulli's equation.
Falahatpisheh teaches determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow pressure by applying Bernoulli's equation (Paragraphs 0052-0053).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, Adams, Abumoussa, and Kato, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow pressure by applying Bernoulli's equation, as taught by Falahatpisheh, in order to take into account of the pressure drop of cardiovascular valves in determining blood blow (Falahatpisheh, Paragraph 0039).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer, in view of Lenox, and further in view of Bindschadler, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of NPL: “Changes of Time-Attenuation Curve Blood Flow Parameters in Patients with and without Carotid Stenosis” to Lin et al. “Lin”.
Regarding claim 14, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler disclose all the features of claim 1 above.
However, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler do not disclose determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a relative flow velocity.
Lin discloses calculating a maximal slope or maximal tangential slope between the arrival time of the contrast medium and Tmax of a time density cure (Page 1177, Definition of flow parameters). This would read on a time rate of change between two points of the time-density curve, since slope is calculated as (y2-y1)/(x2-x1), wherein x1 and y1 are the time and density at the arrival time of the contrast medium, and x2 and y3 are the time and density at Tmax. Lin teaches, that the maximal slope is a flow characteristic (conclusion section of Abstract), and acts as a surrogate marker for intravascular velocity because it represents the maximum gradient of x-ray attenuation and therefore reflects the speed of contrast medium (i.e. the blood flow velocity) (Page 1179, Left column, Discussion, bottom paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method as described by Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler, wherein the method includes determining a blood flow characteristic through the target voxel based on the time rate of change of enhancement, as taught by Lin, in order to assess the “real time” peritherapeutic hemodynamics of various vascular disorders using time-attenuation curve (Page 1176, right column).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer, in view of Lenox, and further in view of Bindschadler and Lin, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kato.
Regarding claim 15, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler and Lin disclose all the features of claim 14 above.
However, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, and Bindschadler do not disclose determining a heart-induced pulsation of the relative flow velocity.
Kato further discloses determining a heart-induced pulsation of the relative flow velocity (Paragraphs 0111-0114).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Lin, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a heart-induced pulsation of the relative flow velocity, as taught by Kato, in order to take into the heart-induced pulsations, which hinders blood flow parameters (Kato, Paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 16, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Lin disclose all the features of claim 14 above.
However, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Lin do not disclose determining a heart-induced pulsation of the relative flow velocity.
Kato further determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a laminar flow (See Paragraph 0053, with expression 3).
01 to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Lin, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a laminar flow, as taught by Kato, in order to take into account fluid resistance parameters (Kato, Paragraph 0058).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schafer, in view of Lenox, further in view of Bindschadler, and further in view of Lin, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Falahatpisheh.
Regarding claim 18, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Lin disclose all the features of claim 14 above.
However, the modifications of Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Lin do not disclose wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow pressure by applying Bernoulli's equation.
Falahatpisheh teaches determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow pressure by applying Bernoulli's equation (Paragraphs 0052-0053).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system as described by Schafer, Lenox, Bindschadler, and Lin, wherein determining the blood flow characteristic comprises determining a flow pressure by applying Bernoulli's equation, as taught by Falahatpisheh, in order to take into account of the pressure drop of cardiovascular valves in determining blood blow (Falahatpisheh, Paragraph 0039).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. However, the examiner will address any remaining arguments. Applicant argues (Page 8) in the response filed on 12/08/2025, that Schafer teaches the use of digital subtraction angiography (DSA) is an invasive technique, and the recitation of CT or MRI image data would differentiate over the DSA image data.
The examiner disagrees. Schafer teaches the imaging data for method disclosed, uses the generic description of x-ray image (Paragraph 0018), but that x-ray image descriptor includes CT imaging data (Paragraph 0018), and the imaging data itself is non-limiting, to where it can also include MRI image data (Paragraph 0018). Additionally the DSA reconstruction is applied to 3D angiographic images (Paragraph 0035) that are obtained using an imaging device, such as a rotating optical CT gantry (Paragraph 0034). Therefore, Schafer clearly teaches that the imaging data can for DSA, can be CT imaging data. Therefore, applicant’s argument regarding the imaging data of Schafer being different from the claimed CT imaging data is not convincing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MT/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798