DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending, and claims 1-6, 8-9, 16-17, and 21 are currently under review.
Claim 7 is cancelled.
Claims 10-15 and 18-20 are withdrawn.
Claim 21 is newly added.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/17/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 8-20, and newly submitted claim(s) 21, remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 8/20/2025.
Claim Interpretation
The term “ultra-high yield ratio” recited in claim 1 is interpreted to merely require a yield ratio of at least 0.9 as further recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 16-17, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 2016/0076124).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki et al. discloses a steel having a bainitic microstructure and tensile strength of 980 MPa or higher (ie. bainitic), wherein said steel has a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, 0145-0164]. Yamazaki et al. further teaches that the steel have a microstructure including at least 95% of lathe bainite, which one of ordinary skill would understand to be acicular bainite that forms at lower temperatures (ie. lower bainite) [abstract]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the steel composition and microstructure of Yamazaki et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Yamazaki et al. teaches a tensile strength of at least 980 MPa as stated above, in addition to a hole expansion of 60% or more, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [abstract, 0214]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Yamazaki et al. does not expressly teach a broad range of yield strengths or a yield ratio as claimed. However, Yamazaki et al. suggests a range of yield strengths of up to approximately 1082 MPa as encompassed by specific examples, wherein the examiner submits that a range of exemplary yield strength values disclosed by Yamazaki et al. would reasonably suggest an encompassing yield strength range to one of ordinary skill [table7]. Alternatively, Yamazaki et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and microstructure as stated above, wherein one of ordinary skill would understand that yield strength and yield ratio are mechanical properties which are directly influenced by steel composition and microstructure and so the disclosure of Yamazaki et al. would naturally achieve a substantially similar, overlapping yield strength range and yield ratio range in view of the overlapping steel composition and microstructure of Yamazaki et al. absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Yamazaki et al. (wt.%)
C
0.12 – 0.24
0.1 – 0.2
Si
0.2 – 0.5
0 – 1
Mn
1.3 – 2
1.5 – 2.5
B
0.001 – 0.004
0.0002 – 0.002
Al
0.01 – 0.05
0 – 0.1
At least one of
Cr
Nb
Ti
Mo
0 – 0.4
0 – 0.06
0 – 0.1
0 – 0.4
0.005 – 0.3
0.005 – 0.1
0.07 – 0.2
0.005 – 0.3
Fe & Impurities
Present
Balance
Regarding claims 2-5 and 16, Yamazaki et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Yamazaki et al. further overlaps with the claimed ranges. Yamazaki et al. further teaches controlling P to be 0.05 weight percent or less, S to be 0.005 weight percent or less, and inclusion of Cu in an amount of 0.005 to 0.3 weight percent for example, which also overlaps with the claimed ranges [0151-0154, 0163]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Yamazaki et al. discloses the steel of claim 5 (see previous). Yamazaki et al. does not expressly teach any of the relations as claimed. However, the examiner notes that the claim relations merely further limit the composition of Yamazaki et al., which still overlaps with the claimed ranges and is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 8, Yamazaki et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Yamazaki et al. further teaches that the microstructure further includes cementite (ie. carbide precipitates) dispersed in the bainitic microstructure having a size on the nanometer scale [abstract, 0178-0182]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the microstructure of Yamazaki et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 9, Yamazaki et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Yamazaki et al. does not expressly teach yield strengths or yield ratios as claimed. However, since Yamazaki et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition and overlapping steel microstructure as explained above, the disclosure of Yamazaki et al. would naturally achieve a substantially similar, overlapping yield strength range and yield ratio range in view of the overlapping steel composition and microstructure of Yamazaki et al. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 21, Yamazaki et al. discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). Yamazaki et al. further teaches that the cementite (ie. carbide precipitates) have a maximum size of 150 nanometers or less, which falls within the claimed range [0182].
Response to Arguments
The previous 103 rejections over Becker et al. have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 regarding the rejections over Yamazaki et al. have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the lathe bainite of Yamazaki et al. is different from acicular lower bainite as claimed. The examiner cannot concur. As stated above, one of ordinary skill would understand that “lathe” and “acicular” both refer to elongated shapes of bainite and therefore the lathe bainite of Yamazaki et al. meets the instant claims according to broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant then argues that the lathe bainite of Yamazaki et al. is different from the instant claims because the processing steps of Yamazaki et al. are different from the instant application. The examiner cannot concur. It is noted that the instant claims are directed to a product, not a process, wherein the particular method of manufacturing is irrelevant. See MPEP 2113. If applicant is of the position that the claimed structure can only be formed exclusively by the processing of the instant application, the examiner cannot concur absent concrete evidence to the contrary which has not been provided.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734