DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 10, 11, and 13-16 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Amendment
2. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 5/27/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 10 and 14-16 have been amended, claim 17 has been canceled, and no new matter appears to be included.
3. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 5/27/2026, the rejections of claims 10, 11, and 13-17 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner addresses each of the Applicant’s concerns in the following response.
a) Applicant argues GaoP does not provide sufficient support for paragraphs [0072-0073] and [0087-0088] of Gao, particularly, Applicant argues GaoP does not disclose “a first symbol in time of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH that starts at a same time or later in time” (Remarks, pages 7-9).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gao is cited to disclose the feature of a reference time that allows for processing multiple PDCCHs (repetitions) and includes a time for identifying a start of a PDCCH repetition. That is to say, Yang discloses a processor (Yang: Figure 16 – 1604, processor) that controls to use either a PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or a PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to a time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.).
Yang is deficient with respect to the time being a starting time for PDCCH repetitions.
Gao is cited at [0072-0073] and [0087-0088] to disclose this starting of a PDCCH repetition. GaoP supports this feature in at least [0035-0036] and [0067-0068], wherein GaoP at least explicitly discloses a starting symbol of a PDCCH repetition is a reference point that may or may not be a first symbol of a slot. In particular, GaoP at [0067] discloses “When the use of reference S₀ is enabled via higher layer signaling, the starting symbol for a PDSCH scheduled by DCI format 1_2 with K₀=0 (i.e., slot offset 0) is defined with respect to S₀ where So is the starting symbol of the PDCCH monitoring occasion in which the DL assignment is detected. If the PDSCH is scheduled with DCI format 1_2 via multiple PDCCH transmission occasions, then the reference S₀ is defined as starting symbol of the latest PDCCH transmission occasion among the multiple PDCCH transmission occasions. In an alternative embodiment, the reference S₀ is defined as starting symbol of the PDCCH transmission occasion corresponding to the lowest CORESET ID.” That is, GaoP discloses a starting symbol of a PDCCH repetition is a reference point.
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejection in view of Gao.
b) Applicant argues the combination of Yang, Gao, and Khoshnevisan fail to disclose or teach a reception of multiple PDCCH repetitions/occasions (Remarks, page 10-11). In support of this argument, Applicant contends that although the description of Gao allows for the repetition of PDCCH, Gao does not explicitly disclose, nor Yang or Khoshnevisan, that there is any reception of the PDCCH repetitions.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gao is not cited to disclose this feature. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Yang is cited for disclosing the feature of receiving, and Gao is cited for disclosing the features of what is transmitted/received as far as what is included in a signal. For example, in order to monitor for a PDCCH, a PDCCH must be transmitted, and in a monitoring occasion for a PDCCH, and PDCCH must be received. However, Examiner respectfully brings to the attention of the Applicant Yang discloses receiving PDCCHs (Yang: [0093-0095]), and Gao discloses a configuration comprising at least a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs including a starting time of a PDCCH repetition (Gao: [0072-0073], [0087-0088]), which necessarily includes the means for determining a reference time including a starting time for PDCCH reception, based on a configuration received in a DCI, or higher-layer signaling. This allows the receiving unit to quickly identify a reference point of a PDCCH, as described by Gao in at least [0064-0067].
Examiner respectfully maintains the rejections in view of Gao and GaoP.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10, 11, 12, and 13-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner notes the independent claims have been narrowed in consideration of the newly-amended feature “wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0171787 A1 to Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”), claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally-filed application No. 62/933,243, filed November 9, 2019, in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0156738 A1 to Gao et al. (hereinafter “Gao”), in further view of United States Patent Application Publication United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0053468 A1 to Chen (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses a terminal (Yang: Figure 16 with [0133] – scheduled entity as a user equipment.) comprising:
a receiver (Yang: Figure 16 – 1610, transceiver) that receives multiple Physical Downlink Control Channels (PDCCHs) allocated to different time domains (Yang: [0093-0095] – UE receives a plurality of slots (different time domains) comprising a plurality of different PDCCH candidates.); and
a processor (Yang: Figure 16 – 1604, processor) that controls to use either a PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or a PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to a time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.).
Yang does not expressly disclose a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Gao. Gao is similarly concerned with monitoring PDCCH repetitions (Gao: [0022-0024]). Gao discloses a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition (Gao: [0072-0073] – “In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH that starts at a same time or later in time. In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH in one of the first and the second CORESETs having a lowest CORESET index.”. See also [0087-0088].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Gao to include a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition for the reasons of improving the reliability of PDCCH transmission and reception by efficiently identifying a reference point of a PDCCH (Gao: [0064-0067]).
Yang does not expressly disclose wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Chen. Chen is similarly concerned with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions (Chen: [0047], [0082-0084]). Chen further discloses multiple PDCCHs are linked between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain (Chen: [0097] – corresponds to at least two PDCCHs, one PDCCH in a first search space and a second PDCCH in a second search space, and the frequency domain resources occupied by the first and second PDCCHs are the same.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Chen to include multiple PDCCHs that are linked between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain for the reasons of accurately determining the physical resource location for detecting a PDCCH, thus improving reliability of PDCCH transmission (Chen: [0047], [0051-0052]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Yang, Gao, and Chen discloses the terminal according to claim 10, wherein Yang further discloses the multiple PDCCHs are allocated into a same slot (Yang: [0099] – “In one example, a scheduling entity may configure eight PDCCH candidates in one search space set. For example, in a search space set occasion (e.g., within a control/PDCCH region of a single slot)…”).
Claim 14, directed to a method embodiment of claim 10, recites similar features as claim 10 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 10. Please see above rejection of claim 10.
Regarding Claim 15, Yang discloses a base station (Yang: Figure 13 with [0109] – scheduling entity as a base station.) comprising:
a transmitter (Yang: Figure 13 – 1310 transceiver) that transmits multiple Physical Downlink Control Channels (PDCCHs) allocated to different time domains (Yang: [0093-0095] – UE receives a plurality of slots (different time domains) from a base station comprising a plurality of different PDCCH candidates.); and
a processor (Yang: Figure 13 – 1304 processor) that indicates a terminal to use either a PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or a PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to a time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.).
Yang does not expressly disclose a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Gao. Gao is similarly concerned with monitoring PDCCH repetitions (Gao: [0022-0024]). Gao discloses a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition (Gao: [0072-0073] – “In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH that starts at a same time or later in time. In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH in one of the first and the second CORESETs having a lowest CORESET index.”. See also [0087-0088].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Gao to include a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition for the reasons of improving the reliability of PDCCH transmission and reception by efficiently identifying a reference point of a PDCCH (Gao: [0064-0067]).
Yang does not expressly disclose wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Chen. Chen is similarly concerned with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions (Chen: [0047], [0082-0084]). Chen further discloses multiple PDCCHs are linked between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain (Chen: [0097] – corresponds to at least two PDCCHs, one PDCCH in a first search space and a second PDCCH in a second search space, and the frequency domain resources occupied by the first and second PDCCHs are the same.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Chen to include multiple PDCCHs that are linked between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain for the reasons of accurately determining the physical resource location for detecting a PDCCH, thus improving reliability of PDCCH transmission (Chen: [0047], [0051-0052]).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang discloses a system (Yang: Figure 1) comprising:
a terminal (Yang: Figure 16 with [0133] – scheduled entity as a user equipment.); and
a base station (Yang: Figure 13 with [0109] – scheduling entity as a base station.), wherein the base station comprises:
a transmitter (Yang: Figure 13 – 1310 transceiver) that transmits multiple Physical Downlink Control Channels (PDCCHs) allocated to different time domains (Yang: [0093-0095] – UE receives a plurality of slots (different time domains) from a base station comprising a plurality of different PDCCH candidates.); and
a processor (Yang: Figure 13 – 1304 processor) that indicates the terminal to use either a PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or a PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to a time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.), and
the terminal (Yang: Figure 16 with [0133] – scheduled entity as a user equipment.) comprises:
a receiver (Yang: Figure 16 – 1610, transceiver) that receives the PDCCHs (Yang: [0093-0095] – UE receives a plurality of slots (different time domains) comprising a plurality of different PDCCH candidates.); and
a processor (Yang: Figure 16 – 1604, processor) that controls to use either the PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or the PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to the time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.).
Yang does not expressly disclose a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Gao. Gao is similarly concerned with monitoring PDCCH repetitions (Gao: [0022-0024]). Gao discloses a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition (Gao: [0072-0073] – “In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH that starts at a same time or later in time. In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH in one of the first and the second CORESETs having a lowest CORESET index.”. See also [0087-0088].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Gao to include a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition for the reasons of improving the reliability of PDCCH transmission and reception by efficiently identifying a reference point of a PDCCH (Gao: [0064-0067]).
Yang does not expressly disclose wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Chen. Chen is similarly concerned with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions (Chen: [0047], [0082-0084]). Chen further discloses multiple PDCCHs are linked between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain (Chen: [0097] – corresponds to at least two PDCCHs, one PDCCH in a first search space and a second PDCCH in a second search space, and the frequency domain resources occupied by the first and second PDCCHs are the same.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Chen to include multiple PDCCHs that are linked between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain for the reasons of accurately determining the physical resource location for detecting a PDCCH, thus improving reliability of PDCCH transmission (Chen: [0047], [0051-0052]).
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yang, Gao, and Chen, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0224898 A1 to Ling et al. (hereinafter “Ling”).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Yang, Gao, and Chen discloses the terminal according to claim 10, wherein Yang further discloses the receiver receives multiple Downlink Control Information (DCI) transmitted respectively on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0099-0101] – corresponds to multiple PDCCHs within a plurality of slots having assigned a plurality of DCIs.), but the combination does not explicitly disclose the processor controls counting of Downlink Assignment Indicators (DAIs) included respectively in the multiple DCI, based on a specific PDCCH among the multiple PDCCHs.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Ling. Ling is similarly concerned with multiple PDCCH transmission/reception in communication scenarios utilizing multiple Transmit Receive Points (TRPs; Ling: [0005-0007]). Ling discloses controlling counting of Downlink Assignment Indicators (DAIs) included respectively in multiple DCI, based on a specific PDCCH among multiple PDCCHs (Ling: [0009] – “…a processor that generates a common Downlink Assignment Indicator (DAI) value for a set of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) transmissions, where the set of PDCCH transmissions are used to transmit first Downlink Control Information (DCI) that schedules a common Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmission, and the common DAI value is generated based on a first reference PDCCH, where the first reference PDCCH is one of the PDCCH transmissions”. See also [0069-0074] describing scenarios for controlling counting of DAI in multiple DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the terminal of Yang, Gao, and Chen in view of the terminal of Ling (see Figure 2) to control counting of DAI for the reasons of enhancing HARK-ACK codebook feedback (Ling: [0006]).
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 June 29, 2026