DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 10, 11, and 13-17 have been examined and are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10, 11, and 13-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 10, 11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Independent claims 10 and 14-16 recite the limitation “wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets”. It is unclear how the double preposition “to between” is being used. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted to correspond to multiple PDCCHs are linked between multiple search space sets.
b) Claims 11, 13 and 17, dependent upon a rejected base claim, do not satisfy the deficiencies of the rejected base claim and are therefore also rejected.
c) Claim 17 recites “wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain”. It is unclear how the double preposition “to between” is being used. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted to correspond to multiple PDCCHs are linked between multiple search space sets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 10 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0171787 A1 to Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”), claiming benefit to and fully supported by provisionally-filed application No. 62/933,243, filed November 9, 2019, in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0156738 A1 to Gao et al. (hereinafter “Gao”), in further view of United States Patent Application Publication United States Patent Application Publication 2021/0195559 A1 to Khoshnevisan et al. (hereinafter “Khoshnevisan”).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses a terminal (Yang: Figure 16 with [0133] – scheduled entity as a user equipment.) comprising:
a receiver (Yang: Figure 16 – 1610, transceiver) that receives multiple Physical Downlink Control Channels (PDCCHs) allocated to different time domains (Yang: [0093-0095] – UE receives a plurality of slots (different time domains) comprising a plurality of different PDCCH candidates.); and
a processor (Yang: Figure 16 – 1604, processor) that controls to use either a PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or a PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to a time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.).
Yang does not expressly disclose a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Gao. Gao is similarly concerned with monitoring PDCCH repetitions (Gao: [0022-0024]). Gao discloses a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition (Gao: [0072-0073] – “In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH that starts at a same time or later in time. In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH in one of the first and the second CORESETs having a lowest CORESET index.”. See also [0087-0088].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Gao to include a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition for the reasons of improving the reliability of PDCCH transmission and reception by efficiently identifying a reference point of a PDCCH (Gao: [0064-0067]).
Yang does not expressly disclose wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Khoshnevisan. Khoshnevisan is similarly concerned with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions (Khoshnevisan: [0001]). Khoshnevisan further discloses multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets (Khoshnevisan: [0114] – “In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Khoshnevisan to include linking multiple PDCCHs between multiple search space sets for the reasons of increasing flexibility between control signaling in a wireless communication system (Khoshnevisan: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Yang, Gao, and Khoshnevisan discloses the terminal according to claim 10, wherein Yang further discloses the multiple PDCCHs are allocated into a same slot (Yang: [0099] – “In one example, a scheduling entity may configure eight PDCCH candidates in one search space set. For example, in a search space set occasion (e.g., within a control/PDCCH region of a single slot)…”).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Yang, Gao, and Khoshnevisan discloses the terminal according to claim 10, wherein Khoshnevisan further discloses the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets in a same frequency domain (Khoshnevisan: [0114] – “In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets.” Since the multiple PDCCHs may be repeated, these multiple PDCCHs are assumed to be in the same frequency domain. See also [0083-0085].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Khoshnevisan to include linking multiple PDCCHs between multiple search space sets for the reasons of increasing flexibility between control signaling in a wireless communication system (Khoshnevisan: [0005]).
Claim 14, directed to a method embodiment of claim 10, recites similar features as claim 10 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 10. Please see above rejection of claim 10.
Regarding Claim 15, Yang discloses a base station (Yang: Figure 13 with [0109] – scheduling entity as a base station.) comprising:
a transmitter (Yang: Figure 13 – 1310 transceiver) that transmits multiple Physical Downlink Control Channels (PDCCHs) allocated to different time domains (Yang: [0093-0095] – UE receives a plurality of slots (different time domains) from a base station comprising a plurality of different PDCCH candidates.); and
a processor (Yang: Figure 13 – 1304 processor) that indicates a terminal to use either a PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or a PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to a time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.).
Yang does not expressly disclose a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Gao. Gao is similarly concerned with monitoring PDCCH repetitions (Gao: [0022-0024]). Gao discloses a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition (Gao: [0072-0073] – “In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH that starts at a same time or later in time. In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH in one of the first and the second CORESETs having a lowest CORESET index.”. See also [0087-0088].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Gao to include a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition for the reasons of improving the reliability of PDCCH transmission and reception by efficiently identifying a reference point of a PDCCH (Gao: [0064-0067]).
Yang does not expressly disclose wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Khoshnevisan. Khoshnevisan is similarly concerned with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions (Khoshnevisan: [0001]). Khoshnevisan further discloses multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets (Khoshnevisan: [0114] – “In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Khoshnevisan to include linking multiple PDCCHs between multiple search space sets for the reasons of increasing flexibility between control signaling in a wireless communication system (Khoshnevisan: [0005]).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang discloses a system (Yang: Figure 1) comprising:
a terminal (Yang: Figure 16 with [0133] – scheduled entity as a user equipment.); and
a base station (Yang: Figure 13 with [0109] – scheduling entity as a base station.), wherein the base station comprises:
a transmitter (Yang: Figure 13 – 1310 transceiver) that transmits multiple Physical Downlink Control Channels (PDCCHs) allocated to different time domains (Yang: [0093-0095] – UE receives a plurality of slots (different time domains) from a base station comprising a plurality of different PDCCH candidates.); and
a processor (Yang: Figure 13 – 1304 processor) that indicates the terminal to use either a PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or a PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to a time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.), and
the terminal (Yang: Figure 16 with [0133] – scheduled entity as a user equipment.) comprises:
a receiver (Yang: Figure 16 – 1610, transceiver) that receives the PDCCHs (Yang: [0093-0095] – UE receives a plurality of slots (different time domains) comprising a plurality of different PDCCH candidates.); and
a processor (Yang: Figure 16 – 1604, processor) that controls to use either the PDCCH that is earlier in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is earlier in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs (later).) or the PDCCH that is later in time among the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – corresponds to a PDCCH candidate assigned to a slot and DCI that is later in time than one or more other PDCCH candidates assigned to one or more other slots and DCIs that are earlier in time.) with reference to the time for terminal processing on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0103-0108] – a UE may use a candidate PDCCH-to-PDSCH/PUSCH slot based on “The minimum PDCCH-to-PDSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH) refer[ring] to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PDSCH. The minimum PDCCH-to-PUSCH delay (ΔPDCCH-to-PUSCH) refers to the minimum time gap between the end of a PDCCH and the beginning of a PUSCH. The scheduling entity needs to make sure that a scheduled PDSCH/PUSCH does not violate the minimum ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH and ΔPDCCH-to-PDSCH”. That is, a PDCCH candidate slot is selected based on the processing time of the terminal, wherein the first slot in time (earlier) may be selected for processing before a second slot in time (later), or vice-versa.).
Yang does not expressly disclose a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Gao. Gao is similarly concerned with monitoring PDCCH repetitions (Gao: [0022-0024]). Gao discloses a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition (Gao: [0072-0073] – “In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH that starts at a same time or later in time. In one embodiment, the reference symbol is a first symbol of one of the first repetition of the PDCCH and the second repetition of the PDCCH in one of the first and the second CORESETs having a lowest CORESET index.”. See also [0087-0088].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Gao to include a reference time for processing multiple PDCCHs includes a time for starting of a PDCCH repetition for the reasons of improving the reliability of PDCCH transmission and reception by efficiently identifying a reference point of a PDCCH (Gao: [0064-0067]).
Yang does not expressly disclose wherein the multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Khoshnevisan. Khoshnevisan is similarly concerned with physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions (Khoshnevisan: [0001]). Khoshnevisan further discloses multiple PDCCHs are linked to between multiple search space sets (Khoshnevisan: [0114] – “In some examples, the base station 105 may configure the UE 115 to support one or multiple PDCCH candidates between multiple (e.g., two or more) search space sets.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the device for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Yang in view of the method for receiving a plurality of PDCCHs of Khoshnevisan to include linking multiple PDCCHs between multiple search space sets for the reasons of increasing flexibility between control signaling in a wireless communication system (Khoshnevisan: [0005]).
8. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yang, Gao, and Khoshnevisan, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0224898 A1 to Ling et al. (hereinafter “Ling”).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Yang, Gao, and Khoshnevisan discloses the terminal according to claim 10, wherein Yang further discloses the receiver receives multiple Downlink Control Information (DCI) transmitted respectively on the multiple PDCCHs (Yang: [0099-0101] – corresponds to multiple PDCCHs within a plurality of slots having assigned a plurality of DCIs.), but the combination does not explicitly disclose the processor controls counting of Downlink Assignment Indicators (DAIs) included respectively in the multiple DCI, based on a specific PDCCH among the multiple PDCCHs.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Ling. Ling is similarly concerned with multiple PDCCH transmission/reception in communication scenarios utilizing multiple Transmit Receive Points (TRPs; Ling: [0005-0007]). Ling discloses controlling counting of Downlink Assignment Indicators (DAIs) included respectively in multiple DCI, based on a specific PDCCH among multiple PDCCHs (Ling: [0009] – “…a processor that generates a common Downlink Assignment Indicator (DAI) value for a set of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) transmissions, where the set of PDCCH transmissions are used to transmit first Downlink Control Information (DCI) that schedules a common Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) transmission, and the common DAI value is generated based on a first reference PDCCH, where the first reference PDCCH is one of the PDCCH transmissions”. See also [0069-0074] describing scenarios for controlling counting of DAI in multiple DCI.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the terminal of Yang, Gao, and Khoshnevisan in view of the terminal of Ying (see Figure 2) to control counting of DAI for the reasons of enhancing HARK-ACK codebook feedback (Ling: [0006]).
Conclusion
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 February 25, 2026