DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed June 05, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-12, 14, and 18-20 are pending in the application. Claims 3, 5-7, 13, and 15-17 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ura (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0329474 A1) in view of Janse et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0026437 A1, hereinafter "Janse") in view of Hansen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0222990 A1, hereinafter "Hansen"), and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0007907 A1, hereinafter "Park").
Regarding Claim 1, Ura teaches a low complexity howling suppression method (howling suppression operation, Paras. [0045] - [0056]) for a portable karaoke system (the method and system can be incorporated in a karaoke apparatus, Para. [0116]), the method comprising the steps of:
capturing, by at least one microphone, an input signal which comprises a source signal and an acoustic feedback (microphone is used to capture input signal and into input terminal 101, Fig. 1, Para. [0047]; the input signal will comprise of a source signal and an acoustic feedback since the method suppress howling under an acoustic feedback loop environment, Para. [0026]);
then feeding to an output signal after being amplified (input signal is fed into howling suppression unit 106 and is then output to the output terminal 108 connected to an amplifier, Para. [0049]);
playing back, by the loudspeaker, the output signal which is propagated through environment (the method is useful as a howling suppression device or the like which suppresses, in various electroacoustic apparatuses which include a microphone and a speaker, howling which is caused by acoustic coupling that occurs between the speaker and the microphone, Para. [0127]; for a karaoke apparatus disclosed in Para. [0116] the output to the output terminal 108 connected to an amplifier disclosed in Para. [0049] will be played back by a loudspeaker and propagated through the environment);
estimating the acoustic feedback using multi-band IIR filters (howling detection unit 105 estimates howling [acoustic feedback] with a band division unit 401 using filter bank made up infinite impulse response (IIR) filters, band level calculation unit 402 and howling determination unit 403, Fig. 6, Paras. [0081]-[0086]); and
cancelling out the estimated acoustic feedback from the input signal (subtractor 112 suppresses the howling by subtracting the signal output from the suppression filter 111, from the signal input from the A/D converter 102, Fig. 1, Para. [0062]).
Ura fails to explicitly teach decorrelating a loudspeaker signal of a loudspeaker from the input signal;
compressing and equalizing, in an electro-acoustic path, the input signal, and
estimating the acoustic feedback by modeling, using a plurality of second order multi-band infinite impulse response (IIR) filters, an environmental transfer function, wherein modeling the environmental transfer function comprises measuring and estimating the environmental transfer function offline and approximating the environmental transfer function using the plurality of second order multi-band IIR filters.
However, Janse teaches decorrelating a loudspeaker signal of a loudspeaker from the input signal (decorrelator 9 decorrelates loudspeaker signal from the input signal, Fig. 1, Paras. [0033] and [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the howling suppression method (as taught by Ura) to include the decorrelating the loudspeaker signal from the input signal (as taught by Janse). Doing so will ensure perceptual quality remains good and helps keep the total system stable in situations where the acoustic path is suddenly changed (Janse Para. [0033]).
However, Hansen teaches compressing and equalizing, in an electro-acoustic path, the input signal (a loudspeaker system LSS with an input unit IU providing an electric input audio signal eIN based on input signal IN, an equalization unit EQ which receives normalized input audio signal Ein2, and comprises a further intermediate processing unit OP2, a digital to analogue converter DAC, and an amplifier unit AMP between the equalization unit EQ and the speaker unit SPK. The processing unit OP2 is configured to provide optional further processing of the equalized audio input signal eINeq (e.g. to apply digital gain, noise reduction or compression, if relevant) and to provide processed digital output signal dO, Fig. 1B, Para. [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the howling suppression (as taught by Ura in view of Janse) to include compressing and equalizing the input signal (as taught by Hansen). Doing so will enable attenuating the normalized input signal to a varying degree depending on frequency and volume level and mode of operation (Hansen Para. [0074]).
However, Park teaches estimating the acoustic feedback by modeling, using a plurality of second order multi-band infinite impulse response (IIR) filters, an environmental transfer function (acoustic feedback is estimated by the feedback ANC filters AF20 implemented as second order IIR filter which can be implemented as a series of two or more second order IIR filters [multi-band second order IIR filters]; an IIR implementation of filter may include any number of filter stages (i.e., any number of filter coefficients) on the feedback side (i.e., the denominator of the transfer function) [i.e., the second order IIR multi-band filters models the environmental transfer function], Figs. 1B, 3 and 11, Para. [0078]), wherein modeling the environmental transfer function comprises measuring and estimating the environmental transfer function offline and approximating the environmental transfer function using the plurality of second order multi-band IIR filters(transfer function Sest(z), which may be calculated offline, estimates the secondary acoustic path S(z) between loudspeaker LS10 and error microphone ME10, Fig. 11, Para. [0095]; as seen in Fig. 11, the ANC filter structure FS10 uses the offline environmental transfer function Sest(z) to approximate the environmental transfer function in a feedback arrangement; the second order multi-band IIR filters of feedback ANC filters AF20 can be incorporated into the ANC filter structure FS10 in a feedback arrangement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the howling suppression method (as taught by Ura in view of Janse in view of Hansen) to include estimating acoustic feedback by modeling an environmental transfer function using second order multi-band IIR filters, modeling offline the environmental transfer function and approximating the environmental transfer function (as taught by Park). Doing so, better noise cancellation results are achieved (Park Para. [0079]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ura in view of Janse in view of Hansen, and further in view of Park teach wherein the acoustic feedback comprises howling generated in a closed signal loop caused by acoustic coupling between the loudspeaker and the at least one microphone (Ura, the method is useful as a howling suppression device or the like which suppresses, in various electroacoustic apparatuses which include a microphone and a speaker, howling which is caused by acoustic coupling that occurs between the speaker and the microphone, Para. [0127]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ura in view of Janse in view of Hansen, and further in view of Park teach wherein relative position of the at least one microphone and the loudspeaker is fixed (Park, Figs. 32A-32C, 37A and 37B show microphone ME10 and loudspeaker LS10 in fixed positions).
Regarding Claim 8, Ura in view of Jansen in view of Hansen, and further in view of Park teach wherein decorrelating the output signal from the input signal can be implemented by frequency shifting the input signal (Janse, decorrelator 9 is embodied as a frequency shifter, Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ura in view of Janse in view of Hansen, and further in view of Park teach further comprising the step of arranging the at least one microphone in different directivities as a microphone array for beamforming (Park, information from signals more than one instance of microphone may be used to produce noise signal (e.g., via a filter configured to perform a spatially selective processing operation, such as beamforming), Para. [0071]).
Regarding Claim 11, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The portable karaoke system with howling suppression can be found in Ura (Paras. [0040] - [0044], and Para. [0116]).
Regarding Claim 12, it is similarly rejected as Claim 2. The portable karaoke system with howling suppression can be found in Ura (Paras. [0040] - [0044], and Para. [0116]).
Regarding Claim 14, it is similarly rejected as Claim 4. The portable karaoke system with howling suppression can be found in Ura (Paras. [0040] - [0044], and Para. [0116]).
Regarding Claim 18, it is similarly rejected as Claim 8. The portable karaoke system with howling suppression can be found in Ura (Paras. [0040] - [0044], and Para. [0116]).
Regarding Claim 19, it is similarly rejected as Claim 9. The portable karaoke system with howling suppression can be found in Ura (Paras. [0040] - [0044], and Para. [0116]).
4. Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ura (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0329474 A1) in view of Janse et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2003/0026437 A1, hereinafter "Janse") in view of Hansen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0222990 A1, hereinafter "Hansen") in view of Park et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0007907 A1, hereinafter "Park"), and further in view of Ansai et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0373362 A1, hereinafter "Ansai").
Regarding Claim 10, Ura in view of Janse in view of Hansen, and further in view of Park fail to explicitly teach wherein the microphone array forms a cardioid directivity pattern.
However, Ansai teaches wherein the microphone array forms a cardioid directivity pattern (microphone 300 comprising a plurality of microphone clusters 302a,b, 304a,b, 306a,b arranged in nested pairs 302, 304, 306, respectively, along a first axis 308 (e.g., x-axis) of the microphone 300, Fig. 3, Para. [0043]; appropriate beamforming techniques can form a unidirectional or cardioid polar pattern pointed toward the end of each axis, or a total of four polar patterns pointing in four different planar directions, to maximize pickup all around the microphone 300, Para. [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify howling suppression method (as taught by Ura in view of Janse in view of Hansen, and further in view of Park) to include microphone array forming a cardioid directivity pattern (as taught by Ansai). Doing so will maximize pickup all around the microphone (Ansai Para. [0048]).
Regarding Claim 20, it is similarly rejected as Claim 10. The portable karaoke system with howling suppression can be found in Ura (Paras. [0040] - [0044], and Para. [0116]).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remark pages 5-10, filed June 05, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ura in view of Janse in view of Hanse, and further in view of Hera have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amended independent Claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being over Ura in view of Janse in view of Hanse, and further in view of Park.
Park (US 2011/0007907 A1) is applied in the rejection for its teaching of the feature of estimating acoustic feedback by modeling an environmental transfer using second order multi-band IIR filters, wherein modeling the environmental transfer function comprises measuring and estimating the environmental transfer function offline and approximating the environmental transfer function using the plurality of second order multi-band IIR filters (Figs. 1B, 3 and 11, Paras. [0078] and [0095]).
The combination of the teachings of Ura in view of Janse in view of Hanse, and further in view of Park renders Claims 1 and 11 obvious.
The rejections of Claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being over Ura in view of Janse in view of Hanse, and further in view of Park are maintained.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Janse (U.S. Pat. No. 5,748,751 A) teaches a decorrelator for decorrelating the signal coming from the microphone and the signal transmitted by the loudspeaker.
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691