NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
This non-final Office action addresses U.S. Application Serial No. 18/043,145, entitled WINDING SUPPORT FOR A MAGNETIC COMPONENT OF AN ELECTRICAL ASSEMBLY.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
I. PRIORITY
Examiner recognizes the Applicant’s claim that this application is a 35 U.S.C. §371 of PCT/EP2021/073752, filed August 27, 2021, which claims priority to France Patent Application No. FR2008809 filed August 31, 2020.
II. INVENTORS’ OATH/DECALRATION
35 U.S.C. §115 (in part)
(a) NAMING THE INVENTOR; INVENTOR’S OATH OR DECLARATION.—An application for patent that is filed under section 111(a) or commences the national stage under section 371 shall include, or be amended to include, the name of the inventor for any invention claimed in the application. Except as otherwise provided in this section, each individual who is the inventor or a joint inventor of a claimed invention in an application for patent shall execute an oath or declaration in connection with the application.
Examiner recognizes and accepts the inventor’s declaration filed on April 2, 2024 and signed by Yannick Sohier. However, Examiner does not find inventor’s declarations from the other inventors, Boris Bouchez and Stephane Fontaine, filed in the present application as required in 35 U.S.C. §115. Accordingly, Examiner suggests all inventors provide inventor’s declarations.
III. CLAIM INTERPRETATION
After careful review of the original specification, the prosecution history, and unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiners, the Examiners find that they are unable to locate any lexicographic definitions (either express or implied) with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision with regard to pending and examined claims. Because the Examiners are unable to locate any lexicographic definitions with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision, the Examiners conclude that Applicant is not his own lexicographer for the pending and examined claims. See MPEP §2111.01(IV).
The Examiners further find that because the pending and examined claims herein recite neither “step for” nor “means for” nor any substitute therefore, the examined claims fail Prong (A) as set forth in MPEP §2181(I). Because all examined claims fail Prong (A) as set forth in MPEP §2181(I), the Examiners conclude that all examined claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f). See also Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1215-16 (B.P.A.I. 2008)(precedential)(where the Board did not invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because “means for” was not recited and because applicant still possessed an opportunity to amend the claims).
Because of the Examiners’ findings above that Applicant is not his own lexicographer and the pending and examined claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f) the pending and examined claims will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification since patentee has an opportunity to amend claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP §2111.01(I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See MPEP §2111.01(II).
IV. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 U.S.C. §102
IV.A. Anticipation Rejections Applying Chen
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0278646 to Yi-Lin Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses:
1. A winding support comprising
See Chen FIG. 4, reprinted below:
Chen FIG. 4
a tube intended to receive one of the legs of a ferromagnetic core of a magnetic component, such that half-legs of said leg are facing in the tube, the magnetic component further comprising windings which correspond to said leg and which are wound on the tube; wherein the winding support comprises:
See Chen FIG. 4, reprinted above, winding support/tube 21a. Note also this winding support/tube 21a meets the “intended” uses recited to receive a ferromagnetic core of a magnetic component. See also Chen FIG. 6, reprinted below, which shows the windings wound in the spaces 214 and 214 of the winding support/tube 21a.
Chen FIG. 6
a wedging protrusion formed on an internal surface of the tube, so as to define an air gap between said facing half-legs; and
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.”
at least one spacing wall, formed facing the wedging protrusion and on an external surface of said tube, and configured to space apart at least one of the windings from said air gap.
See Chen FIG. 4 above, note at least one spacing wall 212 facing the wedging protrusion 219.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the support of claim 1 as evidenced above, and further wherein
2. The winding support as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wedging protrusion, having a thickness parallel to a longitudinal axis of said tube, is formed orthogonally with respect to said internal surface of the tube; the dimension of said air gap being defined as a function of the thickness of the wedging protrusion.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.”
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the support of claim 2 as evidenced above, and further wherein
3. The winding support as claimed in claim 2, wherein a section of the wedging protrusion, said section being transverse to the longitudinal axis of said tube of the wedging protrusion, is in the form of a ring; said height being perpendicular to said internal surface of the tube.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.” Thus, Examiners find this disclosure describes the pacer 219 as a ring extending from the inner of the channel 213.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the support of claim 1 as evidenced above, and further wherein
4. The winding support as claimed in claim 1, comprising a receiving cavity defined by the wedging protrusion such that an adhesive used during the manufacture of the magnetic component can spread out into said receiving cavity; said receiving cavity being a space between facing portions of the wedging protrusion.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.” Thus, Examiners find this disclosure describes the pacer 219 as a ring extending from the inner of the channel 213. This ring thus would provide a cavity that “an adhesive used during manufacture of the magnetic component can spread…” (emphasis added by Examiner).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the support of claim 2 as evidenced above, and further wherein
5. The winding support as claimed in claim 2, wherein the at least one spacing wall, having a thickness parallel to the longitudinal axis of said tube, is formed perpendicularly with respect to the external surface of the tube.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.” Thus, Examiners find this disclosure describes the pacer 219 as a ring extending from the inner of the channel 213.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the support of claim 5 as evidenced above, and further wherein
6. The winding support as claimed in claim 5, wherein a section of the at least one spacing wall, said section being transverse to the longitudinal axis of said tube, is in the form of a ring.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.” Thus, Examiners find this disclosure describes the pacer 219 as a ring extending from the inner of the channel 213.
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the support of claim 1 as evidenced above, and further wherein
7. The winding support as claimed in claim 1, wherein the thickness of the wedging protrusion and/or the thickness of the at least one spacing wall are uniform.
See Chen FIG. 4 above, note uniform wedging protrusion 219 and spacing walls 212.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the support of claim 1 as evidenced above, and further wherein
8. The winding support as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wedging protrusion and/or the at least one spacing wall are formed at an intermediate plate; said intermediate plate separating the windings that are wound on the tube of the winding support.
See Chen FIG. 4 above, note pair of spacing walls 212, one spacing wall can read on the at least one claimed spacing wall while the other can read on the intermediate plate. Both the spacing wall/intermediate plates 212 and the wedging protrusion 219 are located near each other.
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses the support of claim 1 as evidenced above, and further wherein
9. The winding support as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wedging protrusion and/or the at least one spacing wall are formed integrally with the winding support.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027 wherein the winding support 21a, the wedging protrusion 219 and the spacing walls 212 are shown or are disclosed be integrated together.
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the support of claim 1 as evidenced above, and further wherein
10. The winding support as claimed in claim 1, being a single piece manufactured by molding.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027 wherein the winding support 21a, the wedging protrusion 219 and the spacing walls 212 are shown or are disclosed be integrated together. Examiners further find this claim is a product-by-process claim, defined only by how the winding support is made. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Since Chen otherwise discloses all the features of the winding support as evidenced above, the winding support of Chen reads on the product-by-process limitation.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the support of claim 1 as evidenced above, and further wherein
11. The winding support as claimed in claim 1, being made of plastics material.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶¶0027-0028 wherein the winding support 21a, the wedging protrusion 219 and the spacing walls 212 are shown or are disclosed be integrated together, and are further disclosed to be made from plastic.
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses the support of claim 1 as evidenced above, and further wherein
12. The winding support as claimed in claim 1, configured to be housed in a cavity of a frame comprising mechanical upright portions, such that said mechanical upright portions are placed in a spacing between two adjacent legs of the ferromagnetic core.
Examiner finds this limitation is merely a “configuration” limitation and thus the frame and the upright portions are not required. As long as the winding support of Chen could perform the function implied by the “configuration” it meets the claim. Thus, see Chen FIG. 4 above.
Assuming the frame and upright portions are required, Examiner finds Chen in FIG. 8, reprinted below, discloses a frame housing 28 with upright supports 286.
Chen FIG. 8
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses
13. An electrical assembly comprising a magnetic component and winding supports,
See FIGS. 4, 6 and 8 above, showing the transformer comprising a magnetic core 22, windings 23 and winding supports 21a and 22b.
said winding supports each comprising a tube configured to receive half-legs of one of a plurality of legs of a ferromagnetic core of said magnetic component; for each of said legs, the magnetic component further comprising windings which correspond to said leg and which are wound on the tube in which the half-legs of the leg are facing; the electrical assembly being wherein each of the winding supports comprises:
See Chen FIG. 4, reprinted above, winding support/tube 21a. See also Chen FIGS. 2 and 6 (above) which shows the windings wound in the spaces 214 and 214 of the winding support/tube 21a. Finally note cores 22 which are provided in windings supports 21a and 21b.
a wedging protrusion formed on an internal surface of the tube, so as to define an air gap between two facing half-legs of the leg; and
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.”
at least one spacing wall, formed facing the wedging protrusion and on an external surface of said tube, and configured to space apart at least one of the windings from said air gap.
See Chen FIG. 4 above, note at least one spacing wall 212 facing the wedging protrusion 219.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the support of claim 13 as evidenced above, and further wherein
14. The electrical assembly as claimed in claim 13, wherein the magnetic component has air gaps respectively defined by one of the winding supports, the air gaps being identical on the legs of the ferromagnetic core.
See Chen FIGS. 4 and 6 above, note wedging protrusions 219 in winding supports 21a and 21b provide a gap between the magnetic cores 22.
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the support of claim 13 as evidenced above, and further wherein
15. The electrical assembly as claimed in claim 13, comprising: a frame comprising a cavity in which the winding supports and the magnetic component are housed; mechanical upright portions placed in a spacing between two adjacent legs of the ferromagnetic core, so as to homogenize the dissipation of heat generated during operation of the magnetic component.
See Chen FIG. 8, reprinted above, showing a frame housing 28 with upright supports 286 placed between the legs of the of the core 22 for isolation.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the support of claim 13 as evidenced above, and further wherein
16. An item of electrical equipment comprising an electrical assembly as claimed in claim 13.
See Chen FIG. 6 above.
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses the support of claim 2 as evidenced above, and further wherein
17. The winding support as claimed in claim 2, comprising a receiving cavity defined by the wedging protrusion such that an adhesive used during the manufacture of the magnetic component can spread out into said receiving cavity; said receiving cavity being a space between facing portions of the wedging protrusion.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.” Thus, Examiners find this disclosure describes the pacer 219 as a ring extending from the inner of the channel 213. This ring thus would provide a cavity that “an adhesive used during manufacture of the magnetic component can spread…” (emphasis added by Examiner).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses the support of claim 3 as evidenced above, and further wherein
18. The winding support as claimed in claim 3, wherein the at least one spacing wall, having a thickness parallel to the longitudinal axis of said tube, is formed perpendicularly with respect to the external surface of the tube.
See Chen FIG. 4 above and ¶0027, wedging protrusion 219, wherein “the pacer 219 is a bulge that has a cross-sectional area smaller than that of the channel 213 and is extended from an inner wall of the channel 213.” Thus, Examiners find this disclosure describes the pacer 219 as a ring extending from the inner of the channel 213.
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses the support of claim 2 as evidenced above, and further wherein
19. The winding support as claimed in claim 2, wherein the thickness of the wedging protrusion and/or the thickness of the at least one spacing wall are uniform.
See Chen FIG. 4 above, note uniform wedging protrusion 219 and spacing walls 212.
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses the support of claim 2 as evidenced above, and further wherein
20. The winding support as claimed in claim 2, wherein the wedging protrusion and/or the at least one spacing wall are formed at an intermediate plate; said intermediate plate separating the windings that are wound on the tube of the winding support.
See Chen FIG. 4 above, note pair of spacing walls 212, one spacing wall can read on the at least one claimed spacing wall while the other can read on the intermediate plate. Both the spacing wall/intermediate plates 212 and the wedging protrusion 219 are located near each other.
V. CLAIM REJECTIONS 35 U.S.C. §103
V.A. Rejections Applying Chen and Bouny
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to 1 and 2 above, and further in view of France Patent Application FR2504719 to Jacques Bouny et al. (hereinafter “Bouny”). Regarding these claims, Chen teaches the features of these claims related to the structures of the winding supports as discussed above. To the extent that these claims also require an adhesive, Examiners further find that Bouny teaches providing an adhesive between the ends of the cores forming a gap. See Bouny FIG. 1, core halves 2 and 3 with gap therebetween having adhesive 4. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to add an adhesive between the core legs as taught in Bouny to the gapped core of Chen. One having ordinary skill in the art would do so to provide the core parts “mechanically joined together by means of a hardening adhesive (in a polymerizing resin) without any metal clamping part.” See Bouny page 2, lines 1-14.
V.B. Rejections Applying Chen and Bouny
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of WO2014103521 to Atsushi Itou et al. (hereinafter “Itou”). Regarding this claim, Examiners find that Chen teaches the features of this claim regarding the structures of the frame and upright portions as a housing for the transformer and further the isolation created by such frame and upright portions. However, Chen does not explicitly teach the material for this housing. Nevertheless, Itou teaches a housing for supporting a magnetic component, wherein the housing is made from aluminum. See Itou ¶¶0076 and 0082. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to make the housing of Chen out of aluminum as taught by Itou. One having skill in the art would do so to provide a material for the housing that has excellent “heat conductivity.” See Itou ¶0076.
VI. CONCLUSION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
/KENNETH WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992