DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 19-20 & 25 are amended. Claims 19-28 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19 & 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yushin (US 2021/0313617 A1).
Regarding claims 19, 21-22, 25 & 27-28, Yushin teaches a lithium ion battery comprising an anode material having a specific surface area of about 1 m2/g to 5 m2/g, and comprising an aggregate comprising a carbon material having a pore volume greater than 0.35 cm3/g; and an active material such as Si and/or SiOx (and further including a dopant such as Mg) filled in pores of the carbon material such that the active material is distributed among the carbon materials or on surface of the carbon material; wherein the carbon material is shown in a Raman spectrum obtained by Raman spectroscopy using a measurement light source having a wavelength of 532 nm that a G band is observed at 1530 cm-1 to 1630 cm-1, and a D band is observed at 1280 cm-1 to 1380 cm-1, and a ratio ID/IG of 0.7 to 2.7, wherein the anode material further comprises a carbon layer having a thickness of 2 nm to 200 nm coated on at least a portion of surface of the aggregate, and wherein a material of the carbon layer comprises amorphous carbon such as a carbonized polymer or resin including petroleum pitch (fig. 2; [0066], [0072]-[0075], [0081]-[0082], [0093] & [0172]).
Regarding claim 23, Yushin teaches the aggregate further comprising a metal oxide such as TiO2 ([0082]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 24, Yushin teaches the aggregate further comprising a conductive enhance such as carbon nanotubes ([0118]-[0119]).
Regarding claim 26, Yushin teaches the anode material further comprising an oxide layer formed on at least a portion of the surface of the active material, wherein the oxide layer has a thickness of 1 nm to 100 nm ([0082]-[0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yushin (US 2021/0313617 A1) in view of Son (US 2019/0207221 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Yushin teaches a lithium ion battery comprising an anode material having a specific surface area of about 1 m2/g to 5 m2/g, and comprising an aggregate comprising a carbon material having a pore volume greater than 0.35 cm3/g; and an active material such as Si or SiOx (and further including a dopant such as Mg) filled in pores of the carbon material such that the active material is distributed among the carbon materials or on surface of the carbon material; wherein the carbon material is shown in a Raman spectrum obtained by Raman spectroscopy using a measurement light source having a wavelength of 532 nm that a G band is observed at 1530 cm-1 to 1630 cm-1, and a D band is observed at 1280 cm-1 to 1380 cm-1, and a ratio ID/IG of 0.7 to 2.7, wherein the anode material further comprises a carbon layer having a thickness of 2 nm to 200 nm coated on at least a portion of surface of the aggregate, and wherein a material of the carbon layer comprises amorphous carbon such as a carbonized polymer or resin including petroleum pitch (fig. 2; [0066], [0072]-[0075], [0081]-[0082], [0093] & [0172]). Yushin is silent as to dopant element being capable of inducing a carbon material to produce a Lewis acid side and at least apportion of the active material being bound to the carbon material through the Lewis acid site, wherein a content of the dopant element in the aggregate is 50 ppm to 20000 ppm. Son teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising an anode material, having a median particle diameter of 0.5 microns to 30 microns and comprising an aggregate including an active material such as Si with an oxide layer having a thickness of about 10 nm or less formed on at least a portion of the surface of the active material ([0055], [0064]-[0065], [0079], [0153] & [0156]); a metal oxide such as titanium oxide (i.e TiO2) ([0174]-[0175]); a carbon material such as graphene ([0064]-[0065]); a dopant element such as N or P in an amount of 50 ppm to 20,000 ppm in the aggregate ([0085]-[0087]); and an amorphous carbon layer coated on at least a portion of the surface of the aggregate ([0108]); wherein the carbon material is shown in a Raman spectrum obtained by Raman spectroscopy using a measurement light source having a wavelength of 532 nm that a G band is observed at 1530 cm-1 to 1630 cm-1, and a D band is observed at 1280 cm-1 to 1380 cm-1 such that a ratio Id/Ig of a peak intensity Id of the D band and peak intensity I-g of the G band is 1 to 2.5 ([0095]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to provide a dopant element such as N or P, wherein a content of the dopant element in the aggregate is 50 ppm to 20,000 ppm because when N is included and incorporated into a defective region of graphene, the stability and quality of graphene may be further improved while efficiently suppressing the formation of the SEI layer as taught by Son ([0092]-[0093]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 19-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendment to claims 19-28 has prompted new grounds of rejection in view of Yushin as cited above. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 19-28 stand rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727