DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 13-24 are pending. Claims 3, 6, and 11-12 are cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I encompassing claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 19 (note that claim 19 was unintentionally grouped with method claims in the requirement for restriction) in the reply filed on September 15, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Ahrenhold (US20200071785) discloses a carbon content of 0.10-0.3%, whereas the claimed carbon content is 0.03-.010%. This is not found persuasive because a range of 0.10-0.3% meets a range of 0.03-0.10% at 0.10%; therefore, a steel having a content of 0.10% is encompassed by both present claim 1 and Ahrenhold. When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Arguments that Ahrenhold discloses Mo as optional and arguments that the specific examples of Ahrenhold do not meet the claimed composition is not persuasive in showing a feature shared with product steel and method claims is a special technical feature because Ahrenhold is relevant prior art for all the reference discloses including a steel comprising Mo, and the overall composition ranges [0013-29]. Further, Ahrenhold’s disclosure of exemplary steels which do not meet claim features do no amount to a teaching away from the ranges which Ahrenhold discloses which do overlap claimed ranges. See MPEP 2123.
Arguments that the process of making disclosed by Ahrenhold is different from the process of making the inventive steel sheet is not persuasive because the common technical feature is directed to structure of a product for which the determination of whether a feature defines over the prior art is determined by the structure and not by manipulation of the process to obtain the structure. This argument further is not persuasive because Ahrenhold does disclose immediately quenching following hot rolling [0060], which performs the function of the air cooling from hot rolling which applicant argues Ahrenhold does not disclose.
Arguments traversing on the grounds of the independent and distinct restriction and/or search burden standards are not persuasive because for applications filed under 35 USC 371, the standard for restriction is unity of invention. The independent distinct analysis with corresponding search burden requirement does not apply to US national stage PCT applications filed under 35 USC 371. The present application is a US national stage PCT filing under 35 USC 371.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-18, and 20-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 15, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Please change every instance of “having a tensile strength of 980MP or more” to “having a tensile strength of 980 MPa or more”. This limitation is found at least in: claim 1 line 2, claim 2 line 2, claim 2 lines 3-4, claim 2 lines 8-9, claim 4 line 2, claim 4 line 3, claim 5 line 2, claim 5 line 3, claim 5 lines 11-12, claim 7 line 2, claim 8 line 2, claim 10 line 2, and claim 19 line 2. This list is not necessarily exhaustive, and all instances of “having a tensile strength of 980MP or more” require correction. Note that should withdrawn claims be rejoined instances of “having a tensile strength of 980MP or more” would require correction in order to avoid objection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 claims “the low carbon martensitic high hole expansion steel having a tensile strength of 980MP or more described in (1) has one or more of the following characteristics: the content of C is 0.04- 0.055%… and the low carbon martensitic high hole expansion steel having a tensile strength of 980MP or more described in (2) has one or more of the following characteristics: the content of C is 0.07-0.09%”. As options (1) and (2) recite a mutually exclusive composition, it is not clear how a steel can meet both condition (1) and condition (2). It appears the “and” linking condition (1) and condition (2) should be an “or”. Please change the “and” linking condition (1) and (2) to “or” or link with a semicolon “;” as shown in claim 9 and claim 10.
Claim 19 recites “the content of Nb, V is
≤
0
.03%, respectively; and/or the content of Cu, Ni is
≤
0
.3%, respectively”. It is not clear if the content of Nb, V is
≤
0
.03% respectively claims that the sum of Nb and V is
≤
0
.03% in combination or if Nb or V is
≤
0
.03%, and it is not clear if the content of Cu, Ni is
≤
0
.3% respectively claims that the sum of Cu and Ni is
≤
0
.3% or if Cu or Ni is
≤
0
.3%. While the word “respectively” suggests the ranges apply to elements individually and not in combination, “respectively” could also refer to a combination with respect to the alloy as a whole. The composition ranges of the disclosure as filed encompass either interpretation. Please state amounts for each individual composition if applicant intends amounts in claim 16 to refer to alloying elements individually.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiessen (US20190119774).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, and 19, Thiessen discloses low carbon (0.05%-0.20% C abstract, [0016]), martensitic (not less than 90 area % of martensite [0041]) high hole expansion (“steel product of the invention, in the hole expanding test according to ISO 16630, regularly achieves hole expansion ratios of at least 30%” [0043]) steel (abstract, [0016], [0043]) having a tensile strength (Rm) of
≥
950
MPa (abstract, [0015]), which encompasses a range of tensile strength of 980MPa or more. When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Thiessen discloses that the steel comprises a chemical composition based on weight percentage of amounts provided in the table below:
Element
Thiessen
Present Invention
C
[0016] 0.05%-0.20%
0.03-0.10% (claim 1)
0.03-0.06% (claim 2 option(1))
0.06-0.10% (claim 2 option(2))
0.04- 0.055% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (1))
0.07-0.09% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (2))
Si
[0017] 0.2%-1.5%
0.5-2.0% (claim 1)
0.8-2.0% (claim 2 option (2))
0.8-1.4% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (1))
1.0-1.4% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (2))
Mn
[0019] 1.0%-3.0%
1.0-2.0% (claim 1)
1.5-2.0% (claim 2 option (2))
1.4-1.8% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (1))
1.6-1.9% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (2))
P
[0020] up to 0.02%
≤
0.02
% (claim 1)
S
[0021] up to 0.005%
≤
0.003
% (claim 1)
0.0015% or lower (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (1))
0.0015% or lower (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (2))
Al
[0018] 0.01%-1.5%
0.02-0.08% (claim 1)
0.02-0.05% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (1))
0.02-0.05% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (2))
N
[0022] up to 0.008%
≤
0.004
% (claim 1)
0.003% or lower (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (1))
0.003% or lower (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (2))
Mo
[0025] 0.05%-0.2%
0.1-0.5% (claim 1)
0.15-0.35% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (1))
0.15-0.35% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (2))
Ti
[0026] 0.005%-0.2%
0.01-0.05% (claim 1)
0.01-0.03% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (1))
0.01-0.03% (one alternative condition of claim 5 option (2))
O
—
≤
0.0030
% (claim 1)
Fe and Impurities
[0015] Balance (as well as)
Balance (claim 1)
Cr
[0024] Cr: 0.05%-1.0%
≤
0
.
5% (claim 4)
Cr is 0.2-0.4% (claim 16 one of Cr, B, Ca, Nb, V, Cu, Ni)
B
[0028] B: 0.0001%-0.005%
≤
0
.
002% (claim 4)
0.0005-0.0015% (claim 16 one of Cr, B, Ca, Nb, V, Cu, Ni)
Ca
—
≤
0.0
05% (claim 4)
≤
0
.002% (claim 16 one of Cr, B, Ca, Nb, V, Cu, Ni)
Nb
[0027] Nb: 0.001%-0.05%
≤
0.06
% (claim 4)
≤
0
.03% (claim 16 one of Cr, B, Ca, Nb, V, Cu, Ni)
V
—
≤
0.05
% (claim 4)
≤
0
.03% (claim 16 one of Cr, B, Ca, Nb, V, Cu, Ni)
Cu
—
≤
0.5
% (claim 4)
≤
0
.3% (claim 16 one of Cr, B, Ca, Nb, V, Cu, Ni)
Ni
—
≤
0
.5% (claim 4)
(claim 16 one of Cr, B, Ca, Nb, V, Cu, Ni)
The composition disclosed by Thiessen [0015-28] overlaps composition ranges recited by present claims 1-2, 4-5, and 19. Within the present claims, O, Ca, V, Cu, and NI are either claimed with a lower limit of zero or as an alternative. When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Thiessen discloses that the steel has a yield strength of
≥
8
00 MPa (abstract, [0015], [0043]). Thiessen discloses a tensile strength of
≥
950
MPa (abstract, [0015]) and more narrowly 950-1300 MPa [0043], which overlaps a tensile strength of 980 MPa. Thiessen discloses an elongation at break (A50) of at least 8% [0015], and a typical elongation of 8-20% [0043] which encompasses/meets the claimed A50. Thiessen discloses a hole expansion ratio of at least 30% [0043], which meets/encompasses the claimed hole expansion ratio. Thiessen discloses that the material optimized formability irrespective of the direction of forming (transverse vs. rolling) [0012]; therefore, the elongation disclosed by Thiessen [0015], [0043] would apply to the material in both transverse and rolling directions. When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, Thiessen discloses that the steel has a microstructure of martensite or tempered (annealed) martensite and residual austenite [0039-41] wherein the content of residual austenite in the microstructure is not more than 2% by volume [0039], which lies within the claimed range of <5% by volume.
Regarding claim 8, Thiessen discloses that the types of steels disclosed are suitable for the production of safety-relevant components of automobile bodywork which are to absorb deformation energy in the event of a crash [0010]. As impact toughness is a property which indicates the amount of energy a material absorbs upon impact, Thiessen’s disclosure of a material to absorb deformation energy in the event of a crash [0010] suggests that the material has a favorable impact toughness. Thiessen is silent on a numerical value of the impact toughness of the material. An impact toughness at a given temperature is a material property that is inseparable from the chemical composition and microstructure of the material. See MPEP2112.01(II). When the claimed and prior art products are substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP.2112.01(I). The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer See MPEP2112(I). Considering the chemical composition [0015-28], mechanical properties [0015], [0043], and microstructure [0037-41] of the steel material disclosed by Thiessen, Thiessen establishes a sound basis for believing that impact toughness of range of steels encompassed by the steel materials disclosed by Thiessen [0015-28], [0037-43], which Thiessen suggests is tough [0010], would meet or overlap an impact toughness at
-
40
°C of
≥
6
0 J.
Regarding claim 9, Thiessen discloses that the steel has a yield strength of
≥
8
00 MPa (abstract, [0015], [0043]), which directly meets the yield strength range of claim 9 option (1) and encompasses the yield strength range of claim 9 option (2). Thiessen discloses a tensile strength of
≥
950
MPa (abstract, [0015]) and more narrowly 950-1300 MPa [0043], which overlaps/encompasses the yield strength ranges of both claim 9 option (1) and claim 9 option (2). Thiessen discloses an elongation at break (A50) of at least 8% [0015], and a typical elongation of 8-20% [0043] which encompasses/meets the claimed A50 of claim 9 option (1) and claim 9 option (2). Thiessen discloses a hole expansion ratio of at least 30% [0043], which meets/encompasses the claimed hole expansion ratios of claim 9 option (1), and claim 9 option (2). When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Note that both impact toughness and cold bending test are both recited as optional in claim 9 option (2), and impact toughness is recited as optional in claim 9 option (1).
Thiessen discloses that the steel has very good deformability [0042], thereby suggesting that the steel material disclosed by Thiessen would be expected to pass a cold bending test, but Thiessen is silent as to whether or not the disclosed steel material would pass a specific cold bending test. The ability of a material to pass a cold bending test is a material property that is inseparable from the chemical composition of the material. See MPEP2112.01(II). When the claimed and prior art products are substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP.2112.01(I). The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer See MPEP2112(I). Considering the chemical composition [0015-28], mechanical properties [0015], [0043], and microstructure [0037-41] of the steel material disclosed by Thiessen, Thiessen establishes a sound basis for believing that the steel material which Thiessen discloses has very good deformability [0042] would pass a cold bending test (d
≤
4a,
180
°
) as claimed in claim 9 option (1) and optionally in claim 9 option (2).
Regarding the impact toughness limitations which both options of claim 9 indicate as optional, Thiessen discloses that the types of steels disclosed are suitable for the production of safety-relevant components of automobile bodywork which are to absorb deformation energy in the event of a crash [0010]. As impact toughness is a property which indicates the amount of energy a material absorbs upon impact, Thiessen’s disclosure of a material to absorb deformation energy in the event of a crash [0010] suggests that the material has a favorable impact toughness. Thiessen is silent on a numerical value of the impact toughness of the material. An impact toughness at a given temperature is a material property that is inseparable from the chemical composition and microstructure of the material. See MPEP2112.01(II). When the claimed and prior art products are substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP.2112.01(I). The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer See MPEP2112(I). Considering the chemical composition [0015-28], mechanical properties [0015], [0043], and microstructure [0037-41] of the steel material disclosed by Thiessen, Thiessen establishes a sound basis for believing that impact toughness of range of steels encompassed by the steel materials disclosed by Thiessen [0015-28], [0037-43], which Thiessen suggests is tough [0010], would meet or overlap an impact toughness at
-
40
°C of
≥
14
0 J (claim 9 option (1)) or the broader
≥
6
0 J (claim 9 option (2)).
Regarding claim 10, Thiessen discloses that the steel has a yield strength of
≥
8
00 MPa (abstract, [0015], [0043]), which encompasses the yield strength range of claim 10 option (1), the first claim 10 option (2) and the second claim 10 option (2). Thiessen discloses a tensile strength of
≥
950
MPa (abstract, [0015]) and more narrowly 950-1300 MPa [0043], which overlaps/encompasses the yield strength ranges of all three of claim 10 option (1), the first recited claim 10 option (2) and the second recited claim 10 option (2). Thiessen discloses an elongation at break (A50) of at least 8% [0015], and a typical elongation of 8-20% [0043] which encompasses/overlaps all three of the claimed A50 of claim 10 option (1), the first recited claim 10 option (2) and the second recited claim 10 option (2). Thiessen discloses a hole expansion ratio of at least 30% [0043], which meets/encompasses the claimed hole expansion ratios of all three of claim 10 option (1), the first recited claim 10 option (2), and the second recited claim 10 option (2). When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding the impact toughness limitations, Thiessen discloses that the types of steels disclosed are suitable for the production of safety-relevant components of automobile bodywork which are to absorb deformation energy in the event of a crash [0010]. As impact toughness is a property which indicates the amount of energy a material absorbs upon impact, Thiessen’s disclosure of a material to absorb deformation energy in the event of a crash [0010] suggests that the material has a favorable impact toughness. Thiessen is silent on a numerical value of the impact toughness of the material. An impact toughness at a given temperature is a material property that is inseparable from the chemical composition and microstructure of the material. See MPEP2112.01(II). When the claimed and prior art products are substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP.2112.01(I). The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer See MPEP2112(I). Considering the chemical composition [0015-28], mechanical properties [0015], [0043], and microstructure [0037-41] of the steel material disclosed by Thiessen, Thiessen establishes a sound basis for believing that impact toughness of range of steels encompassed by the steel materials disclosed by Thiessen [0015-28], [0037-43], which Thiessen suggests is tough [0010], would meet or overlap an impact toughness at
-
40
°C of
14
0-185 J (claim 10 option (1)), 60-100 J (claim 10 first option (2)) and/or 80-110 J (claim 10 second recited option (2)).
Regarding claim 10 option (1) and the second recited claim 10 option (2), Thiessen discloses that the steel has a microstructure of martensite or tempered (annealed) martensite and residual austenite [0039-41] wherein the content of residual austenite in the microstructure is not more than 2% by volume [0039], which lies within the claimed range of <5% by volume.
Thiessen discloses that the steel has very good deformability [0042], thereby suggesting that the steel material disclosed by Thiessen would be expected to pass a cold bending test, but Thiessen is silent as to whether or not the disclosed steel material would pass a specific cold bending test. The ability of a material to pass a cold bending test is a material property that is inseparable from the chemical composition of the material. See MPEP2112.01(II). When the claimed and prior art products are substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP.2112.01(I). The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer See MPEP2112(I). Considering the chemical composition [0015-28], mechanical properties [0015], [0043], and microstructure [0037-41] of the steel material disclosed by Thiessen, Thiessen establishes a sound basis for believing that the steel material which Thiessen discloses has very good deformability [0042] would pass a cold bending test (d
≤
4a,
180
°
) as claimed in claim 10 option (1) and in the second recited claim 10 option (2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12-13, and 16 of copending Application No. 18043116 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The reference application claims 980 MPa-grade ultra-low-carbon martensitic-retained austenitic ultra-high-hole-expandability steel (claims 1-8, 12-13). The instantly claimed steel comprises retained austenite (instant claim 7), and the 0.03-0.10% C of instant claim 1 encompasses the 0.03%-0.06% C of the reference application (claim 1); therefore, the 980 MPa-grade ultra-low-carbon martensitic-retained austenitic ultra-high-hole-expandability steel is a low carbon martensitic high hole expansion steel. Reference application claims amounts of C, Si, Mn, P, S, Al, N, Mo, Ti, O, and Fe (claims 1, 3-9) of instant claims 1-2 (both alternatives), and 5 (alternative (1)). The composition claimed in reference application (claim 1) closely approaches the composition of alternative (2) of instant claim 5. Reference application claims a yield strength of
≥
800
MPa (claim 1) and more narrowly
≥
815
MPa (claim 13), which meets the yield strength of instant claim 1 and overlaps/encompasses both yield strength alternatives in instant claims 9 and 10. Reference application claims a tensile strength of
≥
980
MPa (claim 1) and more narrowly
≥
1000
MPa (claim 13) which meets, overlaps, or encompasses values of instant claims 1, 9 and 10. Reference application claims a transverse elongation A50 of
≥
10
%
(claims 1, 13), which meets the transverse elongation A50 of instant claims 1, 9, and 10. Reference application claims a hole expansion ratio of
≥
80
%
which directly meets the hole expansion ratio recited in instant claims 1 and 9 and overlaps the hole expansion ratio for alternative (1) of instant claim 10. Reference application claims amounts of Cr, B, Ca, Nb, V, Cu, and Ni (claims 1, 16) directly meeting amount recited in instant claims 4 and 19. Reference application claims
≤
5
%
retained austenite which directly meets the amount of instant claim 7. Reference application claims an impact toughness at -40
°
C of
≥
150
J (claim 13) which meets the impact toughness of all alternatives in claims 8, 9, and 10. Reference application claims that the steel has passed a cold bending test (d
≤
4a,
180
°
) (claim 13) which meets the test of all alternatives of instant claims 9 and 10. In summary, reference application claims composition, mechanical properties, and microstructures (claims 1-9, 12-13, and 16) which directly meet, overlap, or closely approach composition, properties, and microstructure of each alternative of instant claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, and 19. When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20170183753 discloses a bainitc hot rolled steels with ranges of overlapping compositions and mechanical properties to that of the instantly claimed steel. The present claims directed to a martensitic steel sheet define over the reference steel whose microstructure is primarily bainite.
US20230304121 is a publication of US patent application 18043116. The present office action rejects claims over claims of US patent application 18043116.
/SEAN P. O'KEEFE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/ SPE, Art Unit 1738