DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 40,42,44-50,55,57 and 59 under Mockus have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mockus in view of Arora.
Mockus does not disclose that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area.
Arora teaches that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area (‘customer's camera ... overall vending machine’ col 17-18 lines 65-12, figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 40,42-51, 55 and 57-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mockus et al. US 2012/0029691 in view of Arora et al. US 9,898,884.
Mockus discloses a method, comprising:
(Re claim 40) “detecting, by an electronic device, a first operation performed by a user on a target application on the electronic device” (‘use a mobile application’ para 0137). “obtaining, by the electronic device, an image of a to-be-operated device using the target application in response to the first operation” (‘camera … picture of matrix code’ para 0137). “obtaining the image of the to-be- operated device using the target application comprises: invoking, by the electronic device, a camera in the electronic device by using the target application to photograph the to-be-operated device, to obtain the image of the to-be-operated device; OR invoking, by the electronic device, a camera in the electronic device by using the target application to scan the to-be-operated device, to obtain a 3D image visual sparse point cloud of the to-be-operated device” (‘camera … picture of matrix code’ para 0137). “sending, by the electronic device, the image of the to-be-operated device obtained to a server corresponding to the target application, the image of the to-be-operated device including the photograph of the to-be-operated device OR the 3D image visual sparce point cloud of the to-be-operated device” (1111, 1112 figure 11). “the image of the to-be-operated device enabling the server to obtain an operation model of the to-be-operated device” (1104 figure 11). “receiving, by the electronic device, the operation model of the to-be-operated device that is sent by the server” (1117, 1119, 1121 figure 11). “displaying, by the electronic device, a user operation interface corresponding to the operation model” (800 figure 8, para 0120). “sending, in response to detecting a second operation of the user on the user operation interface, an operation event corresponding to the second operation to the server for processing” (para 0117, figure 6).
Mockus does not disclose that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area.
Arora teaches that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area (‘customer's camera ... overall vending machine’ col 17-18 lines 65-12, 61 figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system to include that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area because it is an art recognized alternative and can provide additional information about the vending machine not contained in QR or bar code.
(Re claim 42) “after detecting, by the electronic device, the first operation performed by the user on the target application on the electronic device, the method further comprises: obtaining, by the electronic device, location information of the electronic device; and sending, by the electronic device, the location information of the electronic device to the server corresponding to the target application, the location information enabling the server to obtain the operation model of the to-be-operated device based on the location information of the electronic device and an identification result of the server identifying the to-be-operated device comprised in the image of the to-be-operated device” (‘current location’, ‘GPS coordinates’ para 0035).
(Re claim 43) “receiving the operation model of the to-be-operated device that is sent by the server, the method further comprises: receiving, by the electronic device, device identifiers of at least two to-be-operated devices that are sent by the server; displaying, by the electronic device, the device identifiers of the at least two to-be- operated devices; obtaining, by the electronic device, a device identifier selected by the user from the device identifiers of the at least two to-be-operated devices; and sending, by the electronic device to the server, the device identifier selected by the user; and wherein receiving the operation model of the to-be-operated device that is sent by the server comprises: receiving, by the electronic device, an operation model that corresponds to the device identifier selected by the user and that is sent by the server” (‘any applicable machines close to their location’ para 0012).
Mockus does not clearly disclose that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device.
Arora teaches that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device (col 4 lines 27-39).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Mockus to include that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device because it allows the user to select their preferred machine.
(Re claim 44) “the to-be-operated device comprises a vending machine, and before displaying the user operation interface corresponding to the operation model, the method further comprises: receiving, by the electronic device, inventory information of the vending machine that is sent by the server; and wherein the displayed user operation interface corresponding to the operation model comprises the inventory information of the vending machine” (‘inventory information’ abstract, ‘contents’, ‘inventory status’ para 0144).
(Re claim 45) “detecting the second operation of the user on the user operation interface comprises: detecting, by the electronic device, the second operation of the user for selecting and purchasing a commodity on the user operation interface; and sending the operation event corresponding to the second operation to the server comprises: submitting, by the electronic device to the server in response to the second operation, an order of the user for purchasing the selected commodity, wherein the order comprises information about a payment channel selected by the user” (602-604, 614 figure 6).
Mockus discloses a method comprising:
(Re claim 46) “receiving, by a server corresponding to a target application, an image of a to-be-operated device that is sent by an electronic device, wherein the image of the to-be-operated device is obtained by using the target application after the electronic device detects a first operation performed by a user using the electronic device on the target application the image of the to-be-operated device comprises: obtaining, by the server, a device identifier of the to-be-operated device based on the image of the to-be-operated device, and obtaining, by the server, the operation model of the to- be-operated device based on the device identifier of the to-be-operated device” (1108, 1111 figure 11; ‘camera … picture of matrix code’ para 0137). “obtaining, by the server, an operation model of the to-be-operated device based on the image of the to-be-operated device; sending, by the server, the operation model of the to-be-operated device to the electronic device” (1117, 1119, 1121 figure 11). “the operation model enabling the electronic device to display a user operation interface corresponding to the operation model” (800 figure 8). “receiving, by the server, an operation event that corresponds to a second operation and that is sent by the electronic device, wherein the operation event corresponding to the second operation is received from the electronic device after the electronic device detects the second operation of the user on the user operation interface; and processing, by the server, the operation event corresponding to the second operation” (571,570 figure 5, 600 figure 6).
Mockus does not disclose that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area.
Arora teaches that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area (‘customer's camera ... overall vending machine’ col 17-18 lines 65-12, 61 figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system to include that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area because it is an art recognized alternative and can provide additional information about the vending machine not contained in QR or bar code.
(Re claim 47) “wherein the obtaining the operation model of the to-be-operated device based on the image of the to-be-operated device comprises: obtaining, by the server, a device identifier of the to-be-operated device based on the image of the to-be-operated device, and obtaining, by the server, the operation model of the to- be-operated device based on the device identifier of the to-be-operated device” (‘camera … picture of matrix code’ para 0137).
(Re claim 48) “wherein the image of the to-be-operated device comprises an electronic information code of the to-be-operated device; and obtaining the device identifier of the to-be-operated device based on the image of the to- be-operated device comprises: identifying, by the server, the electronic information code of the to-be-operated device comprised in the image, to obtain the device identifier of the to-be-operated device.” (1104 figure 11).
(Re claim 49) “wherein before obtaining the device identifier of the to-be-operated device based on the image of the to-be-operated device, the method further comprises: receiving, by the server, location information of the electronic device that is sent by the electronic device; and obtaining the device identifier of the to-be-operated device based on the image of the to- be-operated device comprises: identifying, by the server based on the location information of the electronic device, the to-be-operated device comprised in the image of the to-be-operated device; and obtaining, by the server, the device identifier of the to-be-operated device based on an identification result of the server identifying the to-be-operated device” (‘current location’, ‘GPS coordinates’ para 0035).
(Re claim 50) “wherein identifying, based on the location information of the electronic device, the to-be-operated device comprised in the image of the to- be-operated device comprises: obtaining, by the server based on the location information of the electronic device and from pre-stored deployment data of the to-be-operated device, an image model, a model number, and an operator that are of a to-be-operated device deployed at a current location of the electronic device; and comparing, by the server, the image of the to-be-operated device with the image model, to obtain a model number of the to-be-operated device comprised in the image and to obtain an operator to which the to-be-operated device comprised in the image belongs; and obtaining the device identifier of the to-be-operated device based on the identification result comprises: obtaining, by the server, the device identifier of the to-be-operated device from the pre-stored deployment data based on the model number and the operator to which the to-be- operated device belongs” (‘current location’, ‘GPS coordinates’ para 0035, para 0012).
(Re claim 51) “wherein after identifying, based on the location information of the electronic device, the to-be-operated device comprised in the image of the to-be-operated device, the method further comprises: when at least two to-be-operated devices of a same model number are identified at the current location of the electronic device, obtaining, by the server, device identifiers of the at least two to-be-operated devices based on the model number of the at least two to-be-operated devices and operators to which the at least two to-be-operated devices belong; sending, by the server, the device identifiers of the at least two to-be-operated devices to the electronic device; receiving, by the server, a device identifier of a to-be-operated device that is selected by the user from device identifiers of the at least two to-be-operated devices and that is sent by the electronic device; and sending, by the server to the electronic device, an operation model corresponding to the device identifier selected by the user” (‘any applicable machines close to their location’ para 0012).
Mockus does not clearly disclose that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device.
Arora teaches that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device (col 4 lines 27-39).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Mockus to include that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device because it allows the user to select their preferred machine.
Mockus discloses an electronic device, comprising:
(Re claim 55) “one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, a plurality of applications, and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs are stored in the memory, the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the electronic device, the electronic device is caused to perform: detecting a first operation performed by a user on a target application on the electronic device;” (‘use a mobile application’ para 0137). “obtaining an image of a to-be-operated device using the target application in response to the first operation, obtaining the image of the to-be-operated device using the target application comprises: invoking a camera in the electronic device by using the target application to photograph the to-be-operated device, to obtain the image of the to-be-operated device; OR invoking a camera in the electronic device by using the target application to scan the to- be-operated device, to obtain an image visual sparse point cloud of the to-be-operated device” (‘camera … picture of matrix code’ para 0137). “sending the image of the to-be-operated device obtained to a server corresponding to the target application, the image of the to-be-operated device enabling the server to obtain an operation model of the to-be-operated device” (1111, 1112 figure 11). “receiving the operation model of the to-be-operated device that is sent by the server” (1117, 1119, 1121 figure 11). “displaying a user operation interface corresponding to the operation model” (800 figure 8, para 0120). “sending, in response to detecting a second operation of the user on the user operation interface, an operation event corresponding to the second operation to the server for processing” (para 0117, figure 6).
Mockus does not disclose that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area.
Arora teaches that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area (‘customer's camera ... overall vending machine’ col 17-18 lines 65-12, 61 figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system to include that the photograph shows at least a commodity placement area because it is an art recognized alternative and can provide additional information about the vending machine not contained in QR or bar code.
(Re claim 57) “wherein when the instructions are executed by the electronic device, after detecting the first operation performed by the user on the target application on the electronic device, the electronic device is further caused to perform: obtaining location information of the electronic device; and sending the location information of the electronic device to the server corresponding to the target application, the location information enables the server to obtain the operation model of the to-be-operated device based on the location information of the electronic device and an identification result of the server identifying the to-be-operated device comprised in the image of the to-be-operated device” (‘current location’, ‘GPS coordinates’ para 0035).
(Re claim 58) “wherein when the instructions are executed by the electronic device, before receiving the operation model of the to-be-operated device that is sent by the server, the electronic device is further caused to perform: receiving device identifiers of at least two to-be-operated devices that are sent by the server; displaying the device identifiers of the at least two to-be-operated devices; obtaining a device identifier selected by the user from the device identifiers of the at least two to-be-operated devices; and sending, to the server, the device identifier selected by the user; and wherein receiving the operation model of the to-be-operated device that is sent by the server comprises: receiving an operation model that is sent by the server and that corresponds to the device identifier selected by the user” (‘any applicable machines close to their location’ para 0012).
Mockus does not clearly disclose that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device.
Arora teaches that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device (col 4 lines 27-39).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Mockus to include that the user selects between two or more machines displayed on their device because it allows the user to select their preferred machine.
(Re claim 59) “wherein the to-be-operated device comprises a vending machine; and when the instructions are executed by the electronic device, before displaying the user operation interface corresponding to the operation model, the electronic device is further caused to perform: receiving inventory information of the vending machine that is sent by the server; and wherein the user operation interface corresponding to the operation model comprises the inventory information of the vending machine” (‘inventory information’ abstract, ‘contents’, ‘inventory status’ para 0144).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 52-54 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: determining, by the server, the commodity placement area of the vending machine from the image of the to-be-operated device; and cropping, by the server, an image of the commodity placement area from the image of the to-be-operated device; or reducing, by the server, a recognition weight of an image of the commodity placement area is not taught or clearly suggested by the present prior art of record.
Conclusion
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655