DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-21, and 23-32 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 21, and 27 are amended.
Claims 2 and 22 are canceled.
Claims 31 and 32 are new.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the claims has been withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-21, and 23-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern-Berkowitz et al., (hereinafter Stern), U.S. Publication No. 2019/0075001, in view of Tsai et al., (hereinafter Tsai), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0053798.
As per claim 1, Stern discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1A, paragraphs 0031, 0035, 0038, 0055, a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 115/116/117, which may be any suitable wireless communication link)], comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a grant including information for triggering a clear channel assessment based sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0090,0220, 0238, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0318, receiving, from a base station, a grant including information for triggering a clear channel assessment based sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (an eNB may inform the WTRU of the timing of a UL grant assignment; an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA); WTRU may perform LBT/CCA during the SRS resources periods)];
performing the clear channel assessment for a channel based at least in part on receiving the grant [paragraphs 0080, 0084, 0248, 0295, 0311, 0318, performing the clear channel assessment for a channel based at least in part on receiving the grant (a WTRU receives a UL grant for a UL transmission in an UL subframe, WTRU may perform LBT/CCA)]; and
Stern discloses transmitting, to the base station, the SRS based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment [paragraphs 0240-0242, 0248, transmitting, to the base station, the SRS based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment (WTRU may transmit SRS in the SRS resources in subframe, for example when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA evaluation prior to the transmission time))].
Stern does not explicitly disclose initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment; and receiving, from the base station, downlink data transmitted on the channel in the shared COT.
However, Tsai teaches initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment [fig. 17, 20-23, 26 paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0066, 0076, 0086, 0088, 0135, initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment (performing a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure on an unlicensed carrier; determining that the UE occupies the unlicensed carrier for a predetermined channel occupancy time; gNB-initiated COT; direction for each subframe may be dynamically switched; switch-over from DL communication to UL communication)]; and receiving, from the base station, downlink data transmitted on the channel in the shared COT [fig. 17, paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0066, 0076, 0086, 0088, 0135, 0150, receiving, from the base station, downlink data transmitted on the channel in the shared COT (share this COT for downlink transmission; receiving, from a base station, a downlink signal)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Stern by including initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment as taught by Tsai because it would provide the Stern’s method with the enhanced capability of mitigating the impact of listen-before-talk (LBT) failure [Tsai, paragraph 0106, 0139].
As per claim 3, Stern discloses the method of claim 1, Stern does not explicitly disclose wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment.
However, Tsai teaches wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0063, 0066, wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment (the downlink CCA procedure 345 or the uplink CCA procedure 365 may include the performance of an extended CCA procedure)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Stern by including wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment as taught by Tsai because it would provide the Stern’s method with the enhanced capability of mitigating the impact of listen-before-talk (LBT) failure [Tsai, paragraph 0106, 0139].
As per claim 4, Stern discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the clear channel assessment is a listen-before- talk (LBT) procedure [paragraphs 0076, 0080, 0084, 0088, 0226, 0248, wherein the clear channel assessment is a listen-before- talk (LBT) procedure (WTRU may perform LBT/CCA; channel evaluation and/or monitoring may be referred to as Listen-Before-Talk (LBT), Clear Channel Assessment (CCA))].
As per claim 5, Stern discloses the method of claim 4, Stern does not explicitly disclose wherein the LBT procedure is a Category 4 LBT procedure.
However, Tsai teaches wherein the LBT procedure is a Category 4 LBT procedure [paragraphs 0110, 0130, 0153, 0160, wherein the LBT procedure is a Category 4 LBT procedure (the LBT parameters specifies a particular category of LBT operation; category 4 LBT)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Stern by including wherein the LBT procedure is a Category 4 LBT procedure as taught by Tsai because it would provide the Stern’s method with the enhanced capability of mitigating the impact of listen-before-talk (LBT) failure [Tsai, paragraph 0106, 0139].
As per claim 6, Stern discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission includes downlink control information (DCI) including an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and an indication of a type of the clear channel assessment [paragraphs 0240-0242, wherein the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission includes downlink control information (DCI) including an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and an indication of a type of the clear channel assessment (WTRU transmission in response to DCI; DCI may include an SRS indication; WTRU may make a transmission (e.g., only make a transmission) in an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA evaluation))].
As per claim 7, Stern discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the grant is a downlink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is downlink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, wherein the grant is a downlink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is downlink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) assignment (DCI or UL grant may include an SRS indication; a subframe may be defined as a non-PDSCH supportable subframe; resource allocations (e.g., grants) for UL, DL transmission)].
As per claim 8, Stern discloses the method of claim 7, wherein transmitting the SRS the initiates the shared COT on the channel comprises:
transmitting that SRS without transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) communication based at least in part on the downlink grant DCI that includes the indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid PDSCH assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, 0308, transmitting that SRS without transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) communication based at least in part on the downlink grant DCI that includes the indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid PDSCH assignment (DCI or UL grant may include an SRS indication; a subframe may be defined as a non-PDSCH supportable subframe; resource allocations (e.g., grants) for UL, DL transmission; configurable resources (e.g., PUCCH resources, MAC CE, etc.) using a bit when it received a UL grant)].
As per claim 9, Stern discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the grant is an uplink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is uplink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0230, 0231, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, 0264, 0324, 0308, wherein the grant is an uplink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is uplink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) assignment (WTRU may determine a channel condition and/or availability; WTRU may not transmit a UL signal (e.g., granted PUSCH) and/or may not use a busy channel; WTRU may make the determination based on the availability (e.g., non-availability) of PUSCH)].
As per claim 10, Stern discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the channel is in an unlicensed spectrum [paragraphs 0069, 0121, 0135, 0237, wherein the channel is in an unlicensed spectrum (using unlicensed spectrum or LBT/CCA to transmissions)].
As per claim 11, Stern discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the grant includes an indication of a time offset between the UE receiving the grant and the UE transmitting the SRS [paragraphs 0076, 0204, 0210, 0215, 0251, 0278, wherein the grant includes an indication of a time offset between the UE receiving the grant and the UE transmitting the SRS (a UL grant for UL data transmission in subframe n; UL RTT timer)].
As per claim 12, Stern discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a base station [fig. 1A, paragraphs 0031, 0035, 0038, 0055, a method of wireless communication performed by a base station (base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 115/116/117, which may be any suitable wireless communication link)], comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a grant including information for triggering a clear channel assessment based sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0090,0220, 0238, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0318, transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a grant including information for triggering a clear channel assessment based sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (an eNB may inform the WTRU of the timing of a UL grant assignment; an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA); WTRU may perform LBT/CCA during the SRS resources periods)];
transmitting downlink data to the UE [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0090,0220, 0238, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0318, transmitting downlink data to the UE (an eNB may inform the WTRU of the timing of a UL grant assignment; an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA); WTRU may perform LBT/CCA during the SRS resources periods)].
Stern discloses receiving, from the UE, the SRS [paragraphs 0240-0242, 0248, receiving, from the UE, the SRS (WTRU may transmit SRS in the SRS resources in subframe, for example when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA evaluation prior to the transmission time))].
Stern does not explicitly disclose initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on the grant; and transmitting downlink data to the UE on the channel in the shared COT.
However, Tsai teaches initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on the grant [fig. 17, 20-23, 26 paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0066, 0076, 0086, 0088, 0125, 0135, 0136, 0144, initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on the grant (performing a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure on an unlicensed carrier; determining that the UE occupies the unlicensed carrier for a predetermined channel occupancy time; gNB-initiated COT; direction for each subframe may be dynamically switched; switch-over from DL communication to UL communication; acquire a channel occupancy time (COT) for transmitting the UL grant to the UE)]; and transmitting downlink data to the UE on the channel in the shared COT [fig. 12, 17, paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0060, 0066, 0076, 0086, 0088, 0120, 0135, 0150, transmitting downlink data to the UE on the channel in the shared COT (share this COT for downlink transmission; one or more base stations that successfully contend for access to the channel of the contention-based shared radio frequency spectrum band to transmit the downlink signal)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Stern by including initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel as taught by Tsai because it would provide the Stern’s method with the enhanced capability of mitigating the impact of listen-before-talk (LBT) failure [Tsai, paragraph 0106, 0139].
As per claim 13, Stern discloses the method of claim 12, Stern does not explicitly disclose wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment.
However, Tsai teaches wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0063, 0066, wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment (the downlink CCA procedure 345 or the uplink CCA procedure 365 may include the performance of an extended CCA procedure)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Stern by including wherein the clear channel assessment is an extended clear channel assessment as taught by Tsai because it would provide the Stern’s method with the enhanced capability of mitigating the impact of listen-before-talk (LBT) failure [Tsai, paragraph 0106, 0139].
As per claim 14, Stern discloses the method of claim 12,
wherein the clear channel assessment is a listen-before- talk (LBT) procedure [paragraphs 0076, 0080, 0084, 0088, 0226, 0248, wherein the clear channel assessment is a listen-before- talk (LBT) procedure (WTRU may perform LBT/CCA; channel evaluation and/or monitoring may be referred to as Listen-Before-Talk (LBT), Clear Channel Assessment (CCA))].
As per claim 15, Stern discloses the method of claim 14, Stern does not explicitly disclose wherein the LBT procedure is a Category 4 LBT procedure.
However, Tsai teaches wherein the LBT procedure is a Category 4 LBT procedure [paragraphs 0110, 0130, 0153, 0160, wherein the LBT procedure is a Category 4 LBT procedure (the LBT parameters specifies a particular category of LBT operation; category 4 LBT)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Stern by including wherein the LBT procedure is a Category 4 LBT procedure as taught by Tsai because it would provide the Stern’s method with the enhanced capability of mitigating the impact of listen-before-talk (LBT) failure [Tsai, paragraph 0106, 0139].
As per claim 16, Stern discloses the method of claim 12,
wherein the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission includes downlink control information (DCI) including an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and an indication of a type of the clear channel assessment [paragraphs 0240-0242, wherein the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission includes downlink control information (DCI) including an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and an indication of a type of the clear channel assessment (WTRU transmission in response to DCI; DCI may include an SRS indication; WTRU may make a transmission (e.g., only make a transmission) in an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA evaluation))].
As per claim 17, Stern discloses the method of claim 12,
wherein the grant is a downlink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is downlink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, wherein the grant is a downlink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is downlink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) assignment (DCI or UL grant may include an SRS indication; a subframe may be defined as a non-PDSCH supportable subframe; resource allocations (e.g., grants) for UL, DL transmission)].
As per claim 18, Stern discloses the method of claim 12,
wherein the grant is an uplink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is uplink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0230, 0231, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, 0264, 0324, 0308, wherein the grant is an uplink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is uplink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) assignment (WTRU may determine a channel condition and/or availability; WTRU may not transmit a UL signal (e.g., granted PUSCH) and/or may not use a busy channel; WTRU may make the determination based on the availability (e.g., non-availability) of PUSCH)].
As per claim 19, Stern discloses the method of claim 12,
wherein the channel is in an unlicensed spectrum [paragraphs 0069, 0121, 0135, 0237, wherein the channel is in an unlicensed spectrum (using unlicensed spectrum or LBT/CCA to transmissions)].
As per claim 20, Stern discloses the method of claim 19,
wherein the grant includes an indication of a time offset between the UE receiving the grant and the UE transmitting the SRS [paragraphs 0076, 0204, 0210, 0215, 0251, 0278, wherein the grant includes an indication of a time offset between the UE receiving the grant and the UE transmitting the SRS (a UL grant for UL data transmission in subframe n; UL RTT timer)].
As per claim 21, Stern discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [fig. 1A, paragraphs 0031, 0035, 0038, 0055, a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 115/116/117, which may be any suitable wireless communication link)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors [fig. 1B, paragraphs 0039, 0044, a memory; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors (WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132)] configured to:
receive, from a base station, a grant including information for triggering a clear channel assessment based sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0090,0220, 0238, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0318, receive, from a base station, a grant including information for triggering a clear channel assessment based sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (an eNB may inform the WTRU of the timing of a UL grant assignment; an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA); WTRU may perform LBT/CCA during the SRS resources periods)];
perform the clear channel assessment for a channel based at least in part on receiving the grant [paragraphs 0080, 0084, 0248, 0295, 0311, 0318, perform the clear channel assessment for a channel based at least in part on receiving the grant (a WTRU receives a UL grant for a UL transmission in an UL subframe, WTRU may perform LBT/CCA)];
Stern discloses transmit, to the base station, the SRS based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment [paragraphs 0240-0242, 0248, transmit, to the base station, the SRS based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment (WTRU may transmit SRS in the SRS resources in subframe, for example when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA evaluation prior to the transmission time))].
Stern does not explicitly disclose initiates shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment; and receive, from the base station, downlink data transmitted on the channel in the shared COT.
However, Tsai teaches initiates shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment [fig. 17, 20-23, 26 paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0066, 0076, 0086, 0088, 0135, initiates shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment (performing a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure on an unlicensed carrier; determining that the UE occupies the unlicensed carrier for a predetermined channel occupancy time; gNB-initiated COT; direction for each subframe may be dynamically switched; switch-over from DL communication to UL communication)]; and receive, from the base station, downlink data transmitted on the channel in the shared COT [fig. 17, paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0066, 0076, 0086, 0088, 0135, 0150, receive, from the base station, downlink data transmitted on the channel in the shared COT (share this COT for downlink transmission; receiving, from a base station, a downlink signal)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the UE described in Stern by including initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment as taught by Tsai because it would provide the Stern’s UE with the enhanced capability of mitigating the impact of listen-before-talk (LBT) failure [Tsai, paragraph 0106, 0139].
As per claim 23, Stern discloses the UE of claim 21,
wherein the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission includes downlink control information (DCI) including an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and an indication of a type of the clear channel assessment [paragraphs 0240-0242, wherein the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission includes downlink control information (DCI) including an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and an indication of a type of the clear channel assessment (WTRU transmission in response to DCI; DCI may include an SRS indication; WTRU may make a transmission (e.g., only make a transmission) in an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA evaluation))].
As per claim 24, Stern discloses the UE of claim 21,
wherein the grant is a downlink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is downlink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, wherein the grant is a downlink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is downlink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) assignment (DCI or UL grant may include an SRS indication; a subframe may be defined as a non-PDSCH supportable subframe; resource allocations (e.g., grants) for UL, DL transmission)].
As per claim 25, Stern discloses the UE of claim 24, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit the SRS without transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) communication based at least in part on the downlink grant DCI that includes the indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid PDSCH assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, 0308, transmit the SRS without transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) communication based at least in part on the downlink grant DCI that includes the indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid PDSCH assignment (DCI or UL grant may include an SRS indication; a subframe may be defined as a non-PDSCH supportable subframe; resource allocations (e.g., grants) for UL, DL transmission; configurable resources (e.g., PUCCH resources, MAC CE, etc.) using a bit when it received a UL grant)].
As per claim 26, Stern discloses the UE of claim 21,
wherein the grant is an uplink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is uplink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0230, 0231, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, 0264, 0324, 0308, wherein the grant is an uplink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is uplink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) assignment (WTRU may determine a channel condition and/or availability; WTRU may not transmit a UL signal (e.g., granted PUSCH) and/or may not use a busy channel; WTRU may make the determination based on the availability (e.g., non-availability) of PUSCH)].
As per claim 27, Stern discloses a base station for wireless communication [fig. 1A, paragraphs 0031, 0035, 0038, 0055, a base station for wireless communication (base stations 114a, 114b may communicate with one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d over an air interface 115/116/117, which may be any suitable wireless communication link)], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors [paragraphs 0029, 0031, 0035, 0039, 0334, a memory; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, the memory and the one or more processors (a Node-B, an access point (AP), a home node-B, an evolved home node-B (eNodeB), may include some or each of the elements, a processor, memory)] configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a grant including information for triggering a clear channel assessment based sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0090,0220, 0238, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0318, transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a grant including information for triggering a clear channel assessment based sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (an eNB may inform the WTRU of the timing of a UL grant assignment; an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA); WTRU may perform LBT/CCA during the SRS resources periods)];
transmit downlink data to the UE [fig. 3, 5, paragraphs 0090,0220, 0238, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0318, transmit downlink data to the UE (an eNB may inform the WTRU of the timing of a UL grant assignment; an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA); WTRU may perform LBT/CCA during the SRS resources periods)].
Stern discloses receive, from the UE, the SRS [paragraphs 0240-0242, 0248, receive, from the UE, the SRS (WTRU may transmit SRS in the SRS resources in subframe, for example when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA evaluation prior to the transmission time))].
Stern does not explicitly disclose initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on the grant; and transmit downlink data to the UE on the channel in the shared COT.
However, Tsai teaches initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on the grant [fig. 17, 20-23, 26 paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0066, 0076, 0086, 0088, 0125, 0135, 0136, 0144, initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on the grant (performing a clear channel assessment (CCA) procedure on an unlicensed carrier; determining that the UE occupies the unlicensed carrier for a predetermined channel occupancy time; gNB-initiated COT; direction for each subframe may be dynamically switched; switch-over from DL communication to UL communication; acquire a channel occupancy time (COT) for transmitting the UL grant to the UE)]; and transmit downlink data to the UE on the channel in the shared COT [fig. 12, 17, paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0060, 0066, 0076, 0086, 0088, 0120, 0135, 0150, transmit downlink data to the UE on the channel in the shared COT (share this COT for downlink transmission; one or more base stations that successfully contend for access to the channel of the contention-based shared radio frequency spectrum band to transmit the downlink signal)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Stern by including initiates an uplink to downlink shared channel occupancy time (COT) on the channel based at least in part on performing the clear channel assessment as taught by Tsai because it would provide the Stern’s station with the enhanced capability of mitigating the impact of listen-before-talk (LBT) failure [Tsai, paragraph 0106, 0139].
As per claim 28, Stern discloses the base station of claim 27,
wherein the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission includes downlink control information (DCI) including an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and an indication of a type of the clear channel assessment [paragraphs 0240-0242, wherein the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission includes downlink control information (DCI) including an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and an indication of a type of the clear channel assessment (WTRU transmission in response to DCI; DCI may include an SRS indication; WTRU may make a transmission (e.g., only make a transmission) in an SRS subframe when the WTRU determines that the channel is not busy (e.g., based on LBT/CCA evaluation))].
As per claim 29, Stern discloses the base station of claim 27,
wherein the grant is a downlink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is downlink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, wherein the grant is a downlink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is downlink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) assignment (DCI or UL grant may include an SRS indication; a subframe may be defined as a non-PDSCH supportable subframe; resource allocations (e.g., grants) for UL, DL transmission)].
As per claim 30, Stern discloses the base station of claim 27,
wherein the grant is an uplink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is uplink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) assignment [paragraphs 0098, 0103, 0230, 0231, 0240, 0241, 0248, 0252, 0254, 0264, 0324, 0308, wherein the grant is an uplink grant, and the information for triggering the clear channel assessment based SRS transmission is uplink grant downlink control information (DCI) that includes an indication for triggering transmission of the SRS and does not include a valid physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH) assignment (WTRU may determine a channel condition and/or availability; WTRU may not transmit a UL signal (e.g., granted PUSCH) and/or may not use a busy channel; WTRU may make the determination based on the availability (e.g., non-availability) of PUSCH)].
As per claim 31, Stern discloses the UE of claim 21,
wherein the clear channel assessment is a listen-before- talk (LBT) procedure [paragraphs 0076, 0080, 0084, 0088, 0226, 0248, wherein the clear channel assessment is a listen-before- talk (LBT) procedure (WTRU may perform LBT/CCA; channel evaluation and/or monitoring may be referred to as Listen-Before-Talk (LBT), Clear Channel Assessment (CCA))].
As per claim 32, Stern discloses the UE of claim 21,
wherein the grant includes an indication of a time offset between the UE receiving the grant and the UE transmitting the SRS [paragraphs 0076, 0204, 0210, 0215, 0251, 0278, wherein the grant includes an indication of a time offset between the UE receiving the grant and the UE transmitting the SRS (a UL grant for UL data transmission in subframe n; UL RTT timer)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tiirola et al., U.S. Publication No. 2017/0318607 discloses providing time for CCA and Tx/Rx switching.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469