DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 25th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 5, and 7-11, and 13-19 remain pending in the application. New claim 20 is also pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the blade accommodating portion of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 8-11, 13-15, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Kevin Wain (U.S. PGPub No 2010/0101092 A1 – hereinafter Wain) in
view of Oliver Oglesby et al. (US 20140026424 A1– hereinafter Oglesby), Stanislaw
Kozikowski (US 5236439 A - hereinafter Kozikowski), and Vincent Walker JR. et al. (US 20180071929 A1 – hereinafter Walker).
Regarding claim 1, Wain teaches a razor cartridge (Fig. 1, Cartridge 15) comprising: a blade accommodating portion (Fig. 1, rectangular opening where all Shaving Blades 3 are located); at least one shaving blade (Shaving Blade 3) accommodated in the blade accommodating portion (Fig. 1), the at least one shaving blade having a cutting edge (Fig. 1, it is known in the art that any razor blade such as Shaving Blade 3 has a cutting edge) extending in a longitudinal direction, the at least one shaving blade comprising a first side end part and a second side end part (Fig. 1, the leftmost and rightmost edges of the blades) opposite to the first side end part in the longitudinal direction; an upper surface (Fig. 1, Upper Face 2) on which the cutting edge is exposed; a bottom surface (Fig. 2, surface opposite of Upper Face 2 through which Locating Hole 33 is formed) opposite to the upper surface; a first side wall portion (Fig. 1, material on the edge of Locating Hole 33 that is on the side opposite that of the leftmost side end part) disposed adjacent to and facing the first side end part of the at least one shaving blade; a second side wall portion (Fig. 1, material on the edge of Locating Hole 33 that is on the side opposite that of the rightmost side end part) disposed adjacent to and facing the second side end part of the at least one shaving blade; a first opening portion (Fig. 1, leftmost Locating Hole 33) formed between the first side end part of the at least one shaving blade and the first side wall portion and extending from the upper surface to the bottom surface; and a second opening portion (Fig. 1, rightmost Locating Hole 33) formed between the second side end part of the at least one shaving blade and the second side wall portion and extending from the upper surface to the bottom surface.
Wain fails to teach the blade accommodating portion comprising: a first side end facing the first opening portion, the first side end configured to communicate fluid and shaving residue in the at least one shaving blade with the first opening portion in the longitudinal direction, and a second side end of the blade accommodating portion facing the second opening portion, the second side end configured to communicate fluid and shaving residue in the at least one shaving blade with the second opening portion in the longitudinal direction, that the first side end part and the second side end part of the at least one shaving blade are connected to the first opening portion and the second opening portion, respectively, without an additional element interposed therebetween, to enable rinsing water to be introduced through the first opening portion, pass through the first side end, pass by the at least one shaving blade, pass through the second side end, arrive at the second opening portion, and be discharged to an outside of the razor cartridge through the second opening portion along with shaving residue.
However, Oglesby teaches a razor where the first side end part (Fig. 1, leftmost edge of
Blades 36) and the second side end part (Fig. 1, rightmost edge of Blades 36) of the at least one
shaving blade are connected to the first opening portion (Fig. 1, leftmost hole in blade housing
defined by Side Wall 22) and the second opening portion (Fig. 1, rightmost hole in blade housing
defined by Side Wall 22), respectively, without an additional element interposed therebetween, to enable rinsing water to be introduced through the first opening portion, pass by the at least one
shaving blade, and be discharged to an outside of the razor cartridge through the second opening portion along with shaving residue (Examiner interprets that water is capable of being introduced through the first opening portion, passing by the at least one shaving blade, and being discharged through the second opening portion). Oglesby does not explicitly disclose why the addition of this structure is beneficial, however Kozikowski teaches that structure which allows the flow of water helps to remove debris (Kozikowski; Col 4, lines 6-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the date of
filing to modify the razor cartridge of Wain to include the features of claim 1 above as taught by
Oglesby and Kozikowski. Doing so is beneficial as it allows any debris in the cartridge to be rinsed out (Kozikowski; Col 4, lines 6-11 – structure which allows the flow of water helps to remove debris).
The combination of Wain, Oglesby, and Kozikowski fails to teach the blade accommodating portion comprising: a first side end facing the first opening portion, the first side end configured to communicate fluid and shaving residue in the at least one shaving blade with the first opening portion in the longitudinal direction, and a second side end of the blade accommodating portion facing the second opening portion, the second side end configured to communicate fluid and shaving residue in the at least one shaving blade with the second opening portion in the longitudinal direction, and that water can pass through the first side end and pass through the second side end.
However, Walker teaches a blade accommodating portion comprising: a first side end (Fig. 4, Clip 32b) facing the first opening portion (when Clip 32b is integrated into the combination of Wain, Oglesby, and Kozikowski, it would have a side which faces the first opening), the first side end configured to communicate fluid and shaving residue in the at least one shaving blade with the first opening portion in the longitudinal direction (when Clip 32b is integrated into the combination of Wain, Oglesby, and Kozikowski, it will allow fluid and residue to flow from the blades to the opening portion as it lies above, in front of, and behind the blades, and would therefore not obstruct the flow of these materials that already occurs between the opening portion and the blades in Wain, Oglesby, and Kozikowski), and a second side end (Fig. 4, Clip 32a) of the blade accommodating portion facing the second opening portion (when Clip 32b is integrated into the combination of Wain, Oglesby, and Kozikowski, it would have a side which faces the first opening), the second side end configured to communicate fluid and shaving residue in the at least one shaving blade with the second opening portion in the longitudinal direction (when Clip 32b is integrated into the combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski, it will allow fluid and residue to flow from the blades to the opening portion as it lies above, in front of, and behind the blades, and would therefore not obstruct the flow of these materials that already occurs between the opening portion and the blades in Wain and Oglesby), and that water can pass through the first side end and pass through the second side end (Fig. 4, the clips 32b and 32a form a hollow arc shape which would allow water and shaving residue to pass through).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the date of
filing to modify the razor cartridge of the combination of Wain, Oglesby, and Kozikowski to include the features of claim 1 above as taught by Walker. Doing so is beneficial as the clips work to secure the blades to the housing of the razor ([0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, further
comprising a cap portion (Fig. 1, Shaving Aid Member 26) disposed behind the cutting edge
(Fig. 1, it is known in the art that any razor blade such as Shaving Blade 3 has a cutting edge),
wherein each of the first opening portion (Fig. 1, leftmost Locating Hole 33) and the second
opening portion (Fig. 1, rightmost Locating Hole 33) is formed in a region adjacent to one of
both side end parts (Fig. 1, side end parts interpreted by the examiner to be the longitudinal ends
of each Shaving Blade 3) in a longitudinal direction of the cap portion (Fig. 1, Shaving Aid
Member 26).
Regarding claim 5, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, further
comprising a guard portion (Fig. 1, Guard Member 22) disposed in front of the cutting edge (Fig.
1, it is known in the art that any razor blade such as Shaving Blade 3 has a cutting edge), wherein
each of the first opening portion (Fig. 1, leftmost Locating Hole 33) and the second opening
portion (Fig. 1, rightmost Locating Hole 33) is formed in a region adjacent to one of both side end parts (Fig. 1, side end parts interpreted by the examiner to be the longitudinal ends of each
Shaving Blade 3) in a longitudinal direction of the guard portion (Fig. 1, Guard Member 22).
Regarding claim 8, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, further
comprising a rubber portion ([0025], the entire cartridge is formed of rubber, therefore examiner
interprets the portion of Upper Frame 6 of Fig. 1 immediately surrounding Locating Hole 33 to
be the rubber portion) formed outside one of the first opening portion or the second opening
portion (Fig. 1, either of Locating Hole 33).
Regarding claim 9, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 8, wherein the
rubber portion ([0025], the entire cartridge is formed of rubber, therefore examiner interprets the
portion of Upper Frame 6 of Fig. 1 immediately surrounding Locating Hole 33 to be the rubber
portion) is formed along a thickness direction of the razor cartridge (Fig. 1, Cartridge 15).
Regarding claim 10, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 9, further
comprising a rubber support portion (Fig. 1, Blade Frame 1; [0033], Blade Frame 1 is integrated
into and therefore supporting Upper Frame 6, examiner interprets it is also formed parallel to
Upper Frame 6, which includes the rubber portion) formed on a plane parallel to the bottom
surface and configured to support the bottom of the rubber portion ([0025], the entire cartridge is
formed of rubber, therefore examiner interprets the portion of Upper Frame 6 of Fig. 1
immediately surrounding Locating Hole 33 to be the rubber portion).
Regarding claim 11, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 8, further
comprising a guard portion (Fig. 1, Guard Member 22) disposed in front of the cutting edge (Fig.
1, it is known in the art that any razor blade such as Shaving Blade 3 has a cutting edge), wherein
the rubber portion ([0025], the entire cartridge is formed of rubber, therefore examiner interprets
the portion of Upper Frame 6 of Fig. 1 immediately surrounding Locating Hole 33 to be the rubber portion) is formed to be connected to the guard portion ([0033], Guard Member 22 is part
of Upper Frame 6, and therefore is connected to it).
Regarding claim 13, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, further
comprising a structure (Fig. 1, Guard Member 22; examiner interprets that Guard Member 22 is
formed on a peripheral portion of Locating Hole 33) is formed on at least one of a peripheral
portion or an inner surface of each of the first opening portion and second portion (Fig. 1,
rightmost and leftmost Locating Hole 33), wherein the structure includes a protrusion portion, a
protuberance portion, a recess, a concave portion, or a combination of two or more thereof (Fig.
1, Guard Member 22; Ribs 23 of Guard Member 22 are interpreted by the examiner to define a
plurality of protrusions and recesses).
Regarding claim 14, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, further
comprising an elastic coating portion ([0018], lubricating strip of Guard Member 22 in Fig. 1
interpreted by examiner to be an elastic coating portion) formed in at least one of a peripheral
portion (Fig. 1, Guard Member 22 is interpreted by the examiner to be a peripheral portion of the
Locating Hole 33) or an inner surface of each of the first opening portion (Fig. 1, leftmost
Locating Hole 33) and second opening portion (Fig. 1, rightmost Locating Hole 33).
Regarding claim 15, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 14, further
comprising a structure (Fig. 1, Guard Member 22 is interpreted to be formed in the elastic
coating portion) is formed in the elastic coating portion ([0018], lubricating strip of Guard Member 22 in Fig. 1 interpreted by examiner to be an elastic coating portion), wherein the
structure includes a protrusion portion, a protuberance portion, a recess, a concave portion, or a
combination of two or more thereof (Fig. 1, Guard Member 22; Ribs 23 of Guard Member 22 are
interpreted by the examiner to define a plurality of protrusions and recesses).
Regarding claim 16, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, wherein the at
least one shaving blade (Fig. 1, Shaving Blade 3) includes a first shaving blade (Fig. 1, Shaving
Blade 3 closest to Guard Member 22) having a cutting edge (Fig. 1, it is known in the art that any
razor blade such as Shaving Blade 3 has a cutting edge) and a second shaving blade (Fig. 1,
Shaving Blade 3 furthest from Guard Member 22) having a cutting edge (Fig. 1, it is known in
the art that any razor blade such as Shaving Blade 3 has a cutting edge).
The existing combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski, and Walker does not teach wherein the razor cartridge further comprises a lubricating member positioned between the first shaving blade and the second shaving blade.
However, Walker teaches wherein the razor cartridge further comprises a lubricating
member (Fig. 1, Secondary Guard surface 30; [0031]) positioned between the first shaving blade
(Fig. 1, Blade 18) and the second shaving blade (Fig. 1, Blade 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
time of filing to modify the razor cartridge of the combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski and Walker to include a lubricating member positioned between the first shaving blade and the
second shaving blade. Doing so provides the benefit of improving comfort during shaving
(Walker [0031]).
Regarding claim 17, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, wherein the
first opening portion (Fig. 1, leftmost Locating Hole 33) comprises an entrance at the upper
surface and an exit at the bottom surface, wherein the first side wall portion (Fig. 1, material
on the edge of leftmost Locating Hole 33 that is on the side opposite that of the side end parts )
comprises an inner surface (Fig. 1, inner surface of the edge of leftmost Locating Hole 33 that is
on the side opposite that of the side end parts) facing the first side end part of the at least one
blade, wherein the inner surface comprises a vertical portion (Fig. 1, all inner surfaces of the
leftmost locating hole are vertical).
The existing combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski, and Walker fails to teach that there is also an inclined portion located closer to the entrance at the upper surface than the vertical portion, and wherein the inclined portion gradually approaches the first side end part of the at least one shaving blade as the inclined portion nears the vertical portion such that the entrance is greater than the exit.
However, Oglesby teaches a razor cartridge with an inclined portion (Fig. 2, curved
portion of the inner wall of Skin Contact Point 40) located closer to the entrance of an opening at
the upper surface than the vertical portion (Fig. 2, vertical portion of the inner wall of Skin
Contact Point 40 below the inclined portion), and wherein the inclined portion gradually
approaches the first side end part of the at least one shaving blade as the inclined portion nears
the vertical portion such that the entrance is greater than the exit (Fig. 2, the inclined portion gets closer to the side end parts of the blades even though it is not directly facing them. The entrance
at the top is wider than the exit at the bottom, shown in Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
filing to modify the razor cartridge of the existing combination of Wain, Oglesby,
Kozikowski, and Walker to incorporate the features of clam 17 above as taught by Oglesby as it has been held that a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 18, the existing combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski, and Walker fails to teach the razor cartridge of claim 17, wherein the inclined portion has a concave shape in a section taken along the longitudinal direction.
However, Oglesby further teaches an opening (Fig. 1, opening to the immediate right of
Side Wall 22) in a razor cartridge where the inclined portion (Fig. 1, the inside of Side Wall 22
as it extends into the opening can be seen to be an inclined portion) has a concave shape taken
along the longitudinal direction (Fig. 1, the inclined portion forms a C shape on the edge of the
opening).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
filing to modify the inclined portion of the combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski, and Walker to incorporate the features of clam 18 above as taught by Oglesby as it has been held that a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 19, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 17, wherein the
first opening portion (Fig. 1, leftmost Locating Hole 33) and the second opening portion (Fig. 1,
rightmost Locating Hole 33) are respectively aligned with the first side end part (Fig. 1, leftmost edge of the blades) and the second side end part (Fig. 1, rightmost edge of the blades) of the at
least one shaving blade along the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski, and Walker already teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, wherein the first side end part and the second side end part of the at least one shaving blade are further configured to enable the rinsing water to wash the shaving residue in the at least one shaving blade (See Oglesby and Kozikowski in the rejection of claim 1 above), pass through the second side end with the shaving residue (See Walker in the rejection of claim 1 above), arrive at the second opening portion with the shaving residue such that the rinsing water and the shaving residue are discharged to the outside of the razor cartridge through the second opening portion (See Oglesby and Kozikowski in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kevin Wain
(U.S. PGPub No 2010/0101092 A1) in view of Stanislaw Kozikowski (US 5236439 A -
hereinafter Kozikowski), Stanislaw Kozikowski (US 5236439 A - hereinafter Kozikowski), and Vincent Walker JR. et al. (US 20180071929 A1 – hereinafter Walker) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kelly Bridges (U.S. PGPub No US 2011/0067245 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wain further teaches the razor cartridge of claim 1, wherein each of
a first side wall portion (Fig. 1, material on the edge of leftmost Locating Hole 33 that is on the
side opposite that of the side end parts) and a second side wall portion (Fig. 1, material on the
edge of rightmost Locating Hole 33 that is on the side opposite that of the side end parts) extends
from the bottom surface (Fig. 2, surface opposite of Upper Face 2 through which Locating Hole
33 is formed) towards the upper surface (Fig. 1, Upper Face 2).
The combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski, and Walker fails to teach that a height of the first and second side wall portion is smaller than a height between the bottom surface and the upper surface.
However, Bridges teaches a razor cartridge (Fig. 5, Shaving Cartridge 11) with a first and
second side wall portion (Fig. 5, Wall 42 and 40) wherein a height of at least a portion of the side
wall portion (Fig. 5, examiner interprets that the middle portion of Wall 42 and Wall 40 has a
height that is shorter than a height between the top and bottom surface of Razor Cartridge 11) is
smaller than a height between the bottom surface (Fig. 5, surface of Razor Cartridge 11 closest to
Support Member 66) and the upper surface (Fig. 5, surface opposite of the bottom surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the first and second side wall portions of the combination of Wain, Oglesby, Kozikowski, and Walker to have a height that is smaller than a height between the bottom surface and the upper surface as taught by Bridges. Doing so provides the benefit of allowing water to access the blades from the sides of housing, not just from the top and bottom (Bridges [0019]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ELLA L KEENA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724