DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 13-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakuuchi et al. (hereinafter “Kakuuchi” US 2004 / 0095555) in view of Tsunoda (JP-2010273920A).
(It should be noted that the Tsunoda reference was provided by the applicant via Information Disclosure Statement on 07 January 2026. Further, all relevant portions of the Tsunoda reference are cited with respect to the English Language Translation of JP-2010273920A provided herein.)
As pertaining to Claim 1, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a medical examination device (1; see Page 1, Para. [0018]-[0019]) having a grip portion (30) that is grippable by an operator (i.e., an observer viewing observation section (20); see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0020]-[0021]) in such a manner as to be sandwiched between a thumb and at least one of four index finger-side fingers (i.e., corresponding to a hand of the observer gripping the grip portion (30)) including an index finger, a middle finger, a ring finger, and a little finger on an index finger side of one hand (i.e., according to the anatomical structure of a hand), to examine a subject (3) by performing operation in a state where the grip portion (30) is gripped with the one hand (i.e., the hand of the observer viewing observation section (20)), the medical examination device (1) comprising:
a finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34)) provided on the grip portion (30), the finger hook portion (30, 34) protruding outward from an intermediate portion (i.e., a middle portion) of the grip portion (30) that extends in an up-down direction in a reference state (i.e., a central state) of the grip portion (30) to be hooked on any of the index finger-side fingers when the grip portion (30) is gripped by the operator (i.e., the observer viewing observation section (20)) with the one hand (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and [0027]-[0029]; and note that the observer gripping the grip portion (30) to observe the subject (3) grips the grip portion (30) with a finger-side at an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3) and a thumb-side at an exterior of (30) farthest from the subject (3)).
Kakuuchi suggests a finger hook portion (30, 34) provided on the grip portion (30) that protrudes outward from an intermediate portion of the grip portion (30). However, Kakuuchi does not explicitly show that the finger hook portion (30, 34) has a flange shape.
Still, in a similar field of endeavor, Tsunoda discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 6) a medical device (1) having a grip portion (10, 40) that is grippable by an operator in such a manner as to be sandwiched between a thumb and at least one of four index finger-side fingers (see Fig. 6), wherein the medical device (1) comprises a finger hook portion (43) provided on the grip portion (10, 40), the finger hook portion (43) having a flange shape protruding outward from an intermediate portion of the grip portion (10, 40), wherein the hook portion (43) is disposed to be hooked on any of the index finger-side fingers when the grip portion (10, 40) is gripped by the operator with one hand (see the tenth full paragraph on Page 4). Like Kakuuchi, it is a general goal of Tsunoda to provide a medical device that is efficiently grippable with one hand of an operator and can effectively perform its intended function. In this regard, Tsunoda explicitly suggests a grip portion for such a medical device that comprises a finger hook portion having a flange shape protruding outward from an intermediate portion of the grip portion to allow for more stable holding of the medical device (see the second full paragraph on Page 6). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have readily appreciated that the grip portion suggested by Tsunoda, in a similar field of endeavor to that of Kakuuchi, provides design incentives, such as more stable holding of the medical examination device of Kakuuchi, that would have prompted adaption of the medical examination device of Kakuuchi.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakuuchi with the teachings of Tsunoda, such that the medical examination device of Kakuuchi comprises a finger hook portion provided on the grip portion, wherein the finger hook portion has a flange shape, as suggested by Tsunoda, in order to allow for more stable holding of the medical examination device of Kakuuchi.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) an index finger-side operation unit (34, 35) used for examination operation is provided at a position that is reachable by a finger to be used for the operation in advance as a finger of which a position is fixed by the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34)) when the operator (i.e., the observer viewing observation section (20)) grips the grip portion (30) with the one hand among the index finger-side fingers (see Page 2, Para. [0022] and [0027]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) that a finger (i.e., any arbitrary finger) closer to the thumb than a finger receiving a load from the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34)) is an operation finger, and wherein the index finger-side operation unit (34, 35) is provided at a position that is reachable by the operation finger (i.e., the arbitrary finger; see Page 2, Para. [0022] and [0027]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a thumb-side operation unit (27) used for examination operation is provided at a position that is reachable by the thumb of which a position is fixed by the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34)) when the operator (i.e., the observer viewing observation section (20)) grips the grip portion (30) with the one hand (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0021] and [0032]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a load balance (see (12, 13)) is configured so that a center of the balance of the entire device is located on the index finger side (i.e., see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)) when the grip portion (30) is divided into a thumb side (i.e., see an exterior of (30) farthest from the subject (3)) and the index finger side (i.e., again, see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)), by a reference plane (i.e., an imaginary plane) that is a virtual plane parallel to a central axis of the grip portion (30) and passes a position of the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34); see Page 1, Para. [0019] and Page 2, Para. [0022]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a base portion (31) having a grounded surface that is grounded to a location at which the medical examination device is placed, with one end portion (i.e., a right-side portion) thereof being attached to a lower side of the grip portion (30), wherein
a grip end (i.e., a bottom of (30)), which is a lower end of the grip portion (30), has a shape to protrude from a rear end (i.e., a right-side end) of the base portion (31; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0020] and [0028]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a thumb-side operation unit (27) used for examination operation is provided at a position that is reachable by the thumb of which a position is fixed by the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34)) when the operator (i.e., the observer viewing observation section (20)) grips the grip portion (30) with the one hand (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0021] and [0032]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a thumb-side operation unit (27) used for examination operation is provided at a position that is reachable by the thumb of which a position is fixed by the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34)) when the operator (i.e., the observer viewing observation section (20)) grips the grip portion (30) with the one hand (see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0021] and [0032]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a load balance (see (12, 13)) is configured so that a center of the balance of the entire device is located on the index finger side (i.e., see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)) when the grip portion (30) is divided into a thumb side (i.e., see an exterior of (30) farthest from the subject (3)) and the index finger side (i.e., again, see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)), by a reference plane (i.e., an imaginary plane) that is a virtual plane parallel to a central axis of the grip portion (30) and passes a position of the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34); see Page 1, Para. [0019] and Page 2, Para. [0022]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a load balance (see (12, 13)) is configured so that a center of the balance of the entire device is located on the index finger side (i.e., see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)) when the grip portion (30) is divided into a thumb side (i.e., see an exterior of (30) farthest from the subject (3)) and the index finger side (i.e., again, see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)), by a reference plane (i.e., an imaginary plane) that is a virtual plane parallel to a central axis of the grip portion (30) and passes a position of the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34); see Page 1, Para. [0019] and Page 2, Para. [0022]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a load balance (see (12, 13)) is configured so that a center of the balance of the entire device is located on the index finger side (i.e., see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)) when the grip portion (30) is divided into a thumb side (i.e., see an exterior of (30) farthest from the subject (3)) and the index finger side (i.e., again, see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)), by a reference plane (i.e., an imaginary plane) that is a virtual plane parallel to a central axis of the grip portion (30) and passes a position of the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34); see Page 1, Para. [0019] and Page 2, Para. [0022]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a base portion (31) having a grounded surface that is grounded to a location at which the medical examination device is placed, with one end portion (i.e., a right-side portion) thereof being attached to a lower side of the grip portion (30), wherein
a grip end (i.e., a bottom of (30)), which is a lower end of the grip portion (30), has a shape to protrude from a rear end (i.e., a right-side end) of the base portion (31; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0020] and [0028]).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a base portion (31) having a grounded surface that is grounded to a location at which the medical examination device is placed, with one end portion (i.e., a right-side portion) thereof being attached to a lower side of the grip portion (30), wherein
a grip end (i.e., a bottom of (30)), which is a lower end of the grip portion (30), has a shape to protrude from a rear end (i.e., a right-side end) of the base portion (31; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0020] and [0028]).
As pertaining to Claim 19, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a base portion (31) having a grounded surface that is grounded to a location at which the medical examination device is placed, with one end portion (i.e., a right-side portion) thereof being attached to a lower side of the grip portion (30), wherein
a grip end (i.e., a bottom of (30)), which is a lower end of the grip portion (30), has a shape to protrude from a rear end (i.e., a right-side end) of the base portion (31; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0020] and [0028]).
Claims 5, 10-12, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakuuchi in view of Tsunoda and further in view of Yoshimura et al. (hereinafter “Yoshimura” US 6,283,596).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) an irradiation unit (see (11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19)) that irradiates the subject (3) with irradiation light (see Page 1, Para. [0019]).
Neither Kakuuchi nor Tsunoda explicitly discloses an irradiation angle adjustment unit that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit about a rotation shaft; and a scale portion that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshimura discloses (see Fig. 1A) a medical examination device analogous to that disclosed by Kakuuchi, wherein the device comprises an irradiation unit (10) that irradiates a subject (i.e., a patient) with irradiation light; an irradiation angle adjustment unit (see (10, 20, 24)) that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit (10) about a rotation shaft (see a portion along (L)); and a scale portion (23) that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft (again, see a portion along (L); and see Col. 3, Ln. 35-67 through Col. 4, Ln. 1-4). It is a goal of Yoshimura to provide a medical examination device, analogous to that disclosed by Kakuuchi, in which an operator can arbitrarily change an illumination angle of examination light as needed to perform various inspections of a subject’s eye (again, see Col. 3, Ln. 47-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda with the teachings of Yoshimura, such that the medical examination device of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda comprises an irradiation angle adjustment unit that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit about a rotation shaft; and a scale portion that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft, as suggested by Yoshimura, in order to allow an operator to arbitrarily change an illumination angle of examination light as needed to perform various inspections of a subject’s eye.
As pertaining to Claim 10, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) an irradiation unit (see (11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19)) that irradiates the subject (3) with irradiation light (see Page 1, Para. [0019]).
Neither Kakuuchi nor Tsunoda explicitly discloses an irradiation angle adjustment unit that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit about a rotation shaft; and a scale portion that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshimura discloses (see Fig. 1A) a medical examination device analogous to that disclosed by Kakuuchi, wherein the device comprises an irradiation unit (10) that irradiates a subject (i.e., a patient) with irradiation light; an irradiation angle adjustment unit (see (10, 20, 24)) that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit (10) about a rotation shaft (see a portion along (L)); and a scale portion (23) that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft (again, see a portion along (L); and see Col. 3, Ln. 35-67 through Col. 4, Ln. 1-4). It is a goal of Yoshimura to provide a medical examination device, analogous to that disclosed by Kakuuchi, in which an operator can arbitrarily change an illumination angle of examination light as needed to perform various inspections of a subject’s eye (again, see Col. 3, Ln. 47-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda with the teachings of Yoshimura, such that the medical examination device of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda comprises an irradiation angle adjustment unit that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit about a rotation shaft; and a scale portion that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft, as suggested by Yoshimura, in order to allow an operator to arbitrarily change an illumination angle of examination light as needed to perform various inspections of a subject’s eye.
As pertaining to Claim 11, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) an irradiation unit (see (11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19)) that irradiates the subject (3) with irradiation light (see Page 1, Para. [0019]).
Neither Kakuuchi nor Tsunoda explicitly discloses an irradiation angle adjustment unit that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit about a rotation shaft; and a scale portion that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshimura discloses (see Fig. 1A) a medical examination device analogous to that disclosed by Kakuuchi, wherein the device comprises an irradiation unit (10) that irradiates a subject (i.e., a patient) with irradiation light; an irradiation angle adjustment unit (see (10, 20, 24)) that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit (10) about a rotation shaft (see a portion along (L)); and a scale portion (23) that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft (again, see a portion along (L); and see Col. 3, Ln. 35-67 through Col. 4, Ln. 1-4). It is a goal of Yoshimura to provide a medical examination device, analogous to that disclosed by Kakuuchi, in which an operator can arbitrarily change an illumination angle of examination light as needed to perform various inspections of a subject’s eye (again, see Col. 3, Ln. 47-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda with the teachings of Yoshimura, such that the medical examination device of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda comprises an irradiation angle adjustment unit that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit about a rotation shaft; and a scale portion that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft, as suggested by Yoshimura, in order to allow an operator to arbitrarily change an illumination angle of examination light as needed to perform various inspections of a subject’s eye.
As pertaining to Claim 12, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) an irradiation unit (see (11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19)) that irradiates the subject (3) with irradiation light (see Page 1, Para. [0019]).
Neither Kakuuchi nor Tsunoda explicitly discloses an irradiation angle adjustment unit that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit about a rotation shaft; and a scale portion that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoshimura discloses (see Fig. 1A) a medical examination device analogous to that disclosed by Kakuuchi, wherein the device comprises an irradiation unit (10) that irradiates a subject (i.e., a patient) with irradiation light; an irradiation angle adjustment unit (see (10, 20, 24)) that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit (10) about a rotation shaft (see a portion along (L)); and a scale portion (23) that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft (again, see a portion along (L); and see Col. 3, Ln. 35-67 through Col. 4, Ln. 1-4). It is a goal of Yoshimura to provide a medical examination device, analogous to that disclosed by Kakuuchi, in which an operator can arbitrarily change an illumination angle of examination light as needed to perform various inspections of a subject’s eye (again, see Col. 3, Ln. 47-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda with the teachings of Yoshimura, such that the medical examination device of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda comprises an irradiation angle adjustment unit that adjusts an irradiation angle of the irradiation light by rotating the irradiation unit about a rotation shaft; and a scale portion that provides scales each indicating a rotation angle on an upper surface of the rotation shaft, as suggested by Yoshimura, in order to allow an operator to arbitrarily change an illumination angle of examination light as needed to perform various inspections of a subject’s eye.
As pertaining to Claim 16, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a load balance (see (12, 13)) is configured so that a center of the balance of the entire device is located on the index finger side (i.e., see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)) when the grip portion (30) is divided into a thumb side (i.e., see an exterior of (30) farthest from the subject (3)) and the index finger side (i.e., again, see an interior of (30) closest to the subject (3)), by a reference plane (i.e., an imaginary plane) that is a virtual plane parallel to a central axis of the grip portion (30) and passes a position of the finger hook portion (see (30, 34) in Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b and note that the grip portion (30) is shown to be shaped to have an extending finger hook portion at (34); see Page 1, Para. [0019] and Page 2, Para. [0022]; also see Fig. 6 of Tsunoda).
As pertaining to Claim 20, Kakuuchi discloses (see Fig. 1b and Fig. 2b) a base portion (31) having a grounded surface that is grounded to a location at which the medical examination device is placed, with one end portion (i.e., a right-side portion) thereof being attached to a lower side of the grip portion (30), wherein
a grip end (i.e., a bottom of (30)), which is a lower end of the grip portion (30), has a shape to protrude from a rear end (i.e., a right-side end) of the base portion (31; see Page 1 through Page 2, Para. [0020] and [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on a combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, namely Kakuuchi and Yoshimura, teach or fairly suggest the claimed “finger hook portion having a flange shape…” as newly recited in independent Claim 1 (see Remarks at Page 9). Respectfully, the applicant’s argument is moot in so much as the combined teachings of Kakuuchi and Tsunoda, as newly relied upon in the above rejections, plainly disclose all of the features of at least independent Claim 1, including the newly recited “finger hook portion having a flange shape.”
Thus, the rejection of Claims 1-20 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 2021 / 0393124) corresponding to Park (US 11,707,194), at least at Figure 4B, disclose a medical examination device comprising a finger hook portion.
Silbertrust et al. (US 3,315,680) discloses a medical device comprising a finger hook portion.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623