DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This non-final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 13 December 2025, regarding application number 18/043,355.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 16-34 remain pending in the application, while claims 1-15 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9-11, filed 13 December 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 16-34 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of newly cited references Biren et al. (US 10782134 B1) and Stritzel et al. (US 20130179073 A1). See full details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 21-22, 24-28, 30-32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cidonio et al. (US 20220084217 A1 and Cidonio hereinafter), in view of Tchilian et al. (US 11851217 B1 and Tchilian hereinafter), Biren et al. (US 10782134 B1 and Biren hereinafter) and Stritzel et al. (US 20130179073 A1 and Stritzel hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 16
Cidonio teaches a method for determining the position and orientation of a spacecraft in space (see all Figs.; [0002]), the method comprising at least one of:
cyclically repeatedly acquiring distorted star images with at least one star camera (Fig. 1, step S11; Figs. 3-5, all; [0058] and [0113 "FIG. 4 shows a second synthetic star image (indicated, as a whole, by the number 40) where the angular velocity is greater than 1 degree per second and in which the stars appear as strips. Here, the number 41 indicates first strips related to stars observed at a first time instant tk and the number 42 indicates second strips related to the same stars observed at a second time instant tk+1."]);
processing the distorted star images of a current cycle with a computer to form rectified star group data (see Fig. 1, steps S12-S13; [0059]-[0062] and [0114], especially [0059 "...b) identifying, based on pixel intensities in the first image acquired, first clusters of pixels related, each, to a respective star (block 12 in FIG. 1);..."]-[0060 "...c) determining, for each first cluster of pixels, a respective first centroid (conveniently, by means of a weighted average taking into account the positions and intensities of the pixels belonging to said first cluster—block 13 in FIG. 1);..."]);
determining orientation information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see [0002], [0008 "...comparing the geometric patterns identified with a predefined, stored star catalogue, in order to determine the stars actually observed; and…"]-[0009 "...computing the satellite's attitude in relation to the stars actually observed...."], [0074] and [0086]-[0090]);
transmitting the orientation information to a position control system of the spacecraft (see [0094]-[0096 "On the other hand, the present invention makes it possible to control the attitude and/or guidance and/or navigation of a space platform (e.g. a satellite, space vehicle, a spacecraft, or space station) even without the use of gyroscopes, since the angular velocity is estimated directly based on information provided by one or more star trackers (or, more generally, one or more optical sensors) installed on board the space platform."] and [0128]); and
navigating the spacecraft based on the determined orientation information (see [0094]-[0096 "On the other hand, the present invention makes it possible to control the attitude and/or guidance and/or navigation of a space platform (e.g. a satellite, space vehicle, a spacecraft, or space station) even without the use of gyroscopes, since the angular velocity is estimated directly based on information provided by one or more star trackers (or, more generally, one or more optical sensors) installed on board the space platform."] and [0128]).
Cidonio is silent regarding determining position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database and transmitting the position information;
wherein determining the position information of the spacecraft comprises:
converting star positions of a star group that has been matched in the star group catalog into a coordinate system of the star camera,
matching successive images of star groups to star group data in the catalog, and
determining position based on comparisons of star vectors in the coordinate system of the star camera to star vectors in an inertial coordinate system of the star catalog.
Tchilian teaches a method for determining the position and orientation of a spacecraft in space (see all Figs., especially Fig. 1, platform 104; Col. 2, lines 19-22 and 38-67; Col. 4, lines 17-24, especially "As used herein, a platform 104 can include, but is not limited to, a satellite, a manned spacecraft, an interplanetary spacecraft, an interstellar spacecraft..."), the method comprising at least one of:
acquiring distorted star images with at least one star camera (see Fig. 3, steps 320-324; Fig. 5, all; Col. 9, lines 26-60, especially "The star tracker 108 can then be operated to obtain a frame of star tracker image data (step 324). The star tracker image data is defocused image data 500, and contains blurred images 504 of point sources or stars 112 having centroids and forming intersections 508.");
processing the distorted star images with a computer to form rectified star group data (see Fig. 3, step 328; Col. 9, line 61 - Col. 10, line 51, especially "The frame of blurred or defocused image 500 data is then processed to classify and localize features 504 and 508 within the data (step 328). In accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure, features that are classified and localized can include point sources, such as star 112 points within the image frame, or the centroid of a blurred image 504 of a star point.");
determining position and orientation information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see Fig. 3, step 332; Col. 4, lines 32-35; Col. 9, lines 28-32 "Deployment of the star tracker 108 can include placing a platform 104 carrying the star tracker 108 at a location or in an area in which operation of the star tracker 108 to determine the attitude and/or location of the star tracker 108 and the associated platform 104 is desired"; Col. 10, lines 1-8, especially "Thus, embodiments of the present disclosure enable features in addition to the relative locations of star points 112 to be utilized in determining the attitude or pose of the star tracker 108."; Col. 10, lines 47-58 "...the features that have been classified and localized can be applied to a star catalog stored in data storage 220 to determine the attitude of the star tracker 108 ... Moreover, the output can include the attitude of the star tracker 108, and/or the location of the star tracker 108 within a reference frame.");
transmitting the position and orientation information to a position control system of the spacecraft (see Fig. 3, step 332; Col. 10, lines 52-58 "The determined attitude solution can then be provided as an output (step 332). The output can be provided to a navigational module included in the platform 104, to an external vehicle or center, and/or stored for later use. Moreover, the output can include the attitude of the star tracker 108, and/or the location of the star tracker 108 within a reference frame."); and
navigating the spacecraft based on the determined position and orientation information (see Fig. 3, step 332; Col. 10, lines 52-58 "The determined attitude solution can then be provided as an output (step 332). The output can be provided to a navigational module included in the platform 104, to an external vehicle or center, and/or stored for later use. Moreover, the output can include the attitude of the star tracker 108, and/or the location of the star tracker 108 within a reference frame.");
wherein determining the position information of the spacecraft comprises:
matching successive images of star groups to star group data in the catalog (see Col. 10, lines 47-58 "...the features that have been classified and localized can be applied to a star catalog stored in data storage 220 to determine the attitude of the star tracker 108 ... Moreover, the output can include the attitude of the star tracker 108, and/or the location of the star tracker 108 within a reference frame.").
Biren teaches a method for determining the position of a spacecraft in space (see all Figs.; Col. 2, lines 8-33), the method comprising:
cyclically repeatedly acquiring star images with at least one star camera (see Fig. 3, steps 301 and 303; Col, 2, lines 8-15 "Embodiments of the present invention are directed to methods for use in celestial navigation system in which multiple star and orbiting satellite observations are performed from an unknown observer location using an observer camera with an observational field of view along a boresight axis and a focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis."; Col. 3, line 66 - Col. 4, line 17 " First, step 301, star sightings are taken by the observer camera of background star images in the focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis. For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). ... Multiple optical observations over time of the trajectory of an observable object in low-Earth orbit against the background star images, step 303, allows determination of a local curvature 402 of the elliptical arc of the object orbit that is projected onto the camera focal plane, step 304, by angular displacement of the object images from the star image positions.");
determining position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see Fig. 3, steps 302 and 312; Col. 2, lines 8-33, "An observer local coordinate system is determined from the star observations as measured on the focal plane, the time of measurement, and the star catalog … From the estimated position of the center of the Earth, a radius vector is determined from the center of the Earth to the observer that represents the observer location in Earth-centered fixed coordinates."; Col. 4, lines 1-9, "For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). From the star data catalog these star sightings establish the observer's local coordinate system, (but not origin) of an Earth-centered inertial reference (ECI) frame, step 302. FIG. 4 shows the camera field of view 401 in ECI coordinates."; Col. 5, lines 29-31, "From that, the absolute position of the observer in the Earth's coordinate system is calculated as a vector 207 from the Earth's center 408 to the observer position, step 312.");
wherein determining the position information of the spacecraft comprises:
converting star positions of a star group that has been matched in the star group catalog into a coordinate system of the star camera (see Fig. 3, step 302; Col. 2, lines 15-17, "An observer local coordinate system is determined from the star observations as measured on the focal plane, the time of measurement, and the star catalog."; Col. 4, lines 1-9, "For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). From the star data catalog these star sightings establish the observer's local coordinate system, (but not origin) of an Earth-centered inertial reference (ECI) frame, step 302."),
matching successive images of star groups to star group data in the catalog (see Fig. 3, steps 301 and 303; Col, 2, lines 8-17 "Embodiments of the present invention are directed to methods for use in celestial navigation system in which multiple star and orbiting satellite observations are performed from an unknown observer location using an observer camera with an observational field of view along a boresight axis and a focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis. An observer local coordinate system is determined from the star observations as measured on the focal plane, the time of measurement, and the star catalog."; Col. 3, line 66 - Col. 4, line 17 " First, step 301, star sightings are taken by the observer camera of background star images in the focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis. For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). ... Multiple optical observations over time of the trajectory of an observable object in low-Earth orbit against the background star images, step 303, allows determination of a local curvature 402 of the elliptical arc of the object orbit that is projected onto the camera focal plane, step 304, by angular displacement of the object images from the star image positions."), and
determining position based on star vectors in the coordinate system of the star camera (see Fig. 3, steps 302 and 312; Col. 2, lines 30-33, "From the estimated position of the center of the Earth, a radius vector is determined from the center of the Earth to the observer that represents the observer location in Earth-centered fixed coordinates."; Col. 4, lines 1-9, "For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). From the star data catalog these star sightings establish the observer's local coordinate system, (but not origin) of an Earth-centered inertial reference (ECI) frame, step 302. FIG. 4 shows the camera field of view 401 in ECI coordinates."; Col. 5, lines 29-31, "From that, the absolute position of the observer in the Earth's coordinate system is calculated as a vector 207 from the Earth's center 408 to the observer position, step 312.").
Stritzel teaches a method for determining the position of a spacecraft in space (see all Figs.; [0008]), the method comprising:
Acquiring star images with at least one star camera (see [0008 "The present invention provides a method for determining the position of a flying object, using a sensor system with several star sensors that detect sky sections by means of an optical system and a light-sensitive matrix detector, said sensors having the same or different fields of view and different viewing directions..."]);
determining position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see [0008 "The present invention provides a method for determining the position of a flying object, using a sensor system with several star sensors that detect sky sections by means of an optical system and a light-sensitive matrix detector, said sensors having the same or different fields of view and different viewing directions, and with an evaluation device for computing position information of the flying object by comparing the detected sky sections to a star catalog..."], [0016 "The 3×3 matrix B and the vector Z contain the measured star vectors vi and the associated reference vectors wi from the star catalog."] and [0018 "The resulting position of the flying object, relative to the master coordinate system, can then be computed by averaging the appertaining Euler angles or the elements of the quaternion vector."]);
wherein determining the position information of the spacecraft comprises:
determining position based on comparisons of star vectors in the coordinate system of the star camera to star vectors in an inertial coordinate system of the star catalog (see Equations (1)-(7); [0013 "A first data processing level relates, for example, to the measured star vectors; these are unit vectors in the sensor coordinate system that are detected by the matrix detector."], [0015 "The elements of a quaternion vector q that indicates the position of a sensor system result from the eigen values of the 4×4 matrix K:.."]-[0016 "The 3×3 matrix B and the vector Z contain the measured star vectors vi and the associated reference vectors wi from the star catalog. Due to the additive combination of the star vectors in Equations (2) and (5), the matrix B and the vector Z can be used as interface quantities of the second data processing level as preprocessed star vectors and can be transmitted via the bus system:..."] and [0018 "The resulting position of the flying object, relative to the master coordinate system, can then be computed by averaging the appertaining Euler angles or the elements of the quaternion vector."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cidonio to further determine position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database and to transmit the position information to a position control system of the spacecraft, as taught by Tchilian, in order to accurately determine the spacecrafts position for improved navigation.
It further would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cidonio to determine the position information by converting star positions of a star group that has been matched in the star group catalog into a coordinate system of the star camera, matching successive images of star groups to star group data in the catalog, and determining position based on comparisons of star vectors in the coordinate system of the star camera to star vectors in an inertial coordinate system of the star catalog, as taught by Biren and Stritzel, in order to determine the spacecrafts position while attaining improved precision and compensating for or reducing malfunctions due to failures of individual star trackers or components of the system.
Regarding Claim 17
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio further teaches further comprising:
cyclically repeatedly (see Fig. 1, step S11; Figs. 3-5, all; [0058] and [0113]) performing:
processing the acquired distorted star images on the computer to form distorted star group data (see Fig. 1, steps S12-S13; [0059]-[0062] and [0114]), and
storing the distorted star group data (see [0062]-[0063] and [0128]; the distorted star group data is inherently stored);
determining a current rotation rate of the spacecraft by comparing the distorted star group data of two consecutive cycles (see Fig. 1, steps S14-S18; [0063]-[0074] and [0083]); and
transmitting the current rotation rate to the position control system (see [0094]-[0096] and [0128]).
Regarding Claim 18
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio further teaches wherein:
the computer is carried onboard the spacecraft (see claims 11-12; [0094]).
Tchilian additionally teaches wherein:
the database in which the star group catalog data is stored is carried onboard the spacecraft (see Fig. 2, data storage 220; Col. 10, lines 47-51 "As can be appreciated by one of skill in the art after consideration of the present disclosure, the features that have been classified and localized can be applied to a star catalog stored in data storage 220 to determine the attitude of the star tracker 108."); or
the computer is carried onboard the spacecraft (see Fig. 2, processor 212 and memory 216).
Regarding Claim 21
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio further teaches further comprising statistically filtering the position and orientation information (see [0087] and [0130]-[0133]).
Regarding Claim 22
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 21 (as discussed above in claim 21),
Cidonio further teaches wherein the position and orientation information is filtered over at least one of several cycles, or over several star cameras (see [0087] and [0130]-[0133]).
Regarding Claim 24
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 17 (as discussed above in claim 17),
Cidonio further teaches wherein processing the distorted star images comprises processing the images with the aid of the at least one star camera to form the distorted star group data (see Fig. 1, steps S12-S13; [0059]-[0062] and [0114]).
Regarding Claim 25
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 17 (as discussed above in claim 17), wherein:
Cidonio further teaches the at least one star camera has image elements (see Figs. 4-5, all, especially "clusters" and points 511-524; [0059]-[0064]); and
several mutually-adjacent image elements are combined to form an image element module, in order to increase a rotation rate limit (see [0059]-[0064], [0113] and [0120]-[0123]).
Regarding Claim 26
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio further teaches further comprising:
detecting different image fields using one or more star cameras in a combined manner (see Figs. 7-9, all; [0092] and [0137]-[0138]).
Regarding Claim 27
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio further teaches wherein at least one of:
the method is carried out with the aid of at least one separate processor device (see claims 11-12; [0094]); or
the method is carried out with the aid of a processor device of the spacecraft (see claims 11-12; [0094]).
Regarding Claim 28
Cidonio teaches a device for determining the position and orientation of a spacecraft in space from repeatedly acquired distorted star images (see all Figs.; [0002]), the device comprising:
at least one star camera configured for acquiring distorted star images (see Fig. 7, star trackers 71-73; Figs. 4-5, all; [0002], [0055] and [0113 "FIG. 4 shows a second synthetic star image (indicated, as a whole, by the number 40) where the angular velocity is greater than 1 degree per second and in which the stars appear as strips. Here, the number 41 indicates first strips related to stars observed at a first time instant tk and the number 42 indicates second strips related to the same stars observed at a second time instant tk+1."]); and
at least one processor device (see claims 11-12; [0094]);
wherein the at least one processor device comprises:
a first processing block configured for processing the distorted star images of a current cycle to form rectified star group data (see Fig. 1, steps S12-S13; [0059]-[0062] and [0114], especially [0059 "...b) identifying, based on pixel intensities in the first image acquired, first clusters of pixels related, each, to a respective star (block 12 in FIG. 1);..."]-[0060 "...c) determining, for each first cluster of pixels, a respective first centroid (conveniently, by means of a weighted average taking into account the positions and intensities of the pixels belonging to said first cluster—block 13 in FIG. 1);..."]), and
a second processing block configured for determining orientation information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see [0002], [0008 "...comparing the geometric patterns identified with a predefined, stored star catalogue, in order to determine the stars actually observed; and…"]-[0009 "...computing the satellite's attitude in relation to the stars actually observed...."], [0074] and [0086]-[0090]);
wherein the at least one processor device is configured to communicate the orientation information to a position control system of the spacecraft for navigating the spacecraft (see [0094]-[0096 "On the other hand, the present invention makes it possible to control the attitude and/or guidance and/or navigation of a space platform (e.g. a satellite, space vehicle, a spacecraft, or space station) even without the use of gyroscopes, since the angular velocity is estimated directly based on information provided by one or more star trackers (or, more generally, one or more optical sensors) installed on board the space platform."] and [0128]).
Cidonio is silent regarding determining position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database and communicate the position information;
wherein determining the position information of the spacecraft comprises:
converting star positions of a star group that has been matched in the star group catalog into a coordinate system of the star camera,
matching successive images of star groups to star group data in the catalog, and
determining position based on comparisons of star vectors in the coordinate system of the star camera to star vectors in an inertial coordinate system of the star catalog.
Tchilian teaches a device for determining the position and orientation of a spacecraft in space from acquired distorted star images (see all Figs., especially Fig. 1, platform 104; Col. 2, lines 19-22 and 38-67; Col. 4, lines 17-24, especially "As used herein, a platform 104 can include, but is not limited to, a satellite, a manned spacecraft, an interplanetary spacecraft, an interstellar spacecraft..."), the device comprising:
at least one star camera configured for acquiring the distorted star images (see Fig. 1, star tracker 108; Col. 2, lines 38-67; Col. 4, lines 17-67); and
at least one processor device (see Fig. 2, processor 212);
wherein the at least one processor device comprises:
a first processing block configured for processing the distorted star images to form rectified star group data (see Fig. 3, step 328; Col. 9, line 61 - Col. 10, line 51, especially "The frame of blurred or defocused image 500 data is then processed to classify and localize features 504 and 508 within the data (step 328). In accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure, features that are classified and localized can include point sources, such as star 112 points within the image frame, or the centroid of a blurred image 504 of a star point."), and
a second processing block configured for determining position and orientation information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see Fig. 3, step 332; Col. 4, lines 32-35; Col. 9, lines 28-32 "Deployment of the star tracker 108 can include placing a platform 104 carrying the star tracker 108 at a location or in an area in which operation of the star tracker 108 to determine the attitude and/or location of the star tracker 108 and the associated platform 104 is desired"; Col. 10, lines 1-8, especially "Thus, embodiments of the present disclosure enable features in addition to the relative locations of star points 112 to be utilized in determining the attitude or pose of the star tracker 108."; Col. 10, lines 47-58 "...the features that have been classified and localized can be applied to a star catalog stored in data storage 220 to determine the attitude of the star tracker 108 ... Moreover, the output can include the attitude of the star tracker 108, and/or the location of the star tracker 108 within a reference frame.");
wherein the at least one processor device is configured to communicate the position and orientation information to a position control system of the spacecraft for navigating the spacecraft (see Fig. 3, step 332; Col. 10, lines 52-58 "The determined attitude solution can then be provided as an output (step 332). The output can be provided to a navigational module included in the platform 104, to an external vehicle or center, and/or stored for later use. Moreover, the output can include the attitude of the star tracker 108, and/or the location of the star tracker 108 within a reference frame.").
wherein determining the position information of the spacecraft comprises:
matching successive images of star groups to star group data in the catalog (see Col. 10, lines 47-58 "...the features that have been classified and localized can be applied to a star catalog stored in data storage 220 to determine the attitude of the star tracker 108 ... Moreover, the output can include the attitude of the star tracker 108, and/or the location of the star tracker 108 within a reference frame.").
Biren teaches a device for determining the position of a spacecraft in space from repeatedly acquired distorted star images (see all Figs.; Col. 2, lines 8-33), the device comprising:
at least one star camera configured for acquiring distorted star images (see Col. 2, lines 8-15, "Embodiments of the present invention are directed to methods for use in celestial navigation system in which multiple star and orbiting satellite observations are performed from an unknown observer location using an observer camera with an observational field of view along a boresight axis and a focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis."); and
at least one processor device (see Col. 6, lines 17-46);
wherein the at least one processor device comprises:
a first processing block configured for processing the star images of a current cycle to form star group data (see Fig. 3, steps 301 and 303; Col, 2, lines 8-15 "Embodiments of the present invention are directed to methods for use in celestial navigation system in which multiple star and orbiting satellite observations are performed from an unknown observer location using an observer camera with an observational field of view along a boresight axis and a focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis."; Col. 3, line 66 - Col. 4, line 17 " First, step 301, star sightings are taken by the observer camera of background star images in the focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis. For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). ... Multiple optical observations over time of the trajectory of an observable object in low-Earth orbit against the background star images, step 303, allows determination of a local curvature 402 of the elliptical arc of the object orbit that is projected onto the camera focal plane, step 304, by angular displacement of the object images from the star image positions."), and
a second processing block configured for determining position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see Fig. 3, steps 302 and 312; Col. 2, lines 8-33, "An observer local coordinate system is determined from the star observations as measured on the focal plane, the time of measurement, and the star catalog … From the estimated position of the center of the Earth, a radius vector is determined from the center of the Earth to the observer that represents the observer location in Earth-centered fixed coordinates."; Col. 4, lines 1-9, "For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). From the star data catalog these star sightings establish the observer's local coordinate system, (but not origin) of an Earth-centered inertial reference (ECI) frame, step 302. FIG. 4 shows the camera field of view 401 in ECI coordinates."; Col. 5, lines 29-31, "From that, the absolute position of the observer in the Earth's coordinate system is calculated as a vector 207 from the Earth's center 408 to the observer position, step 312.");
wherein determining the position information of the spacecraft comprises:
converting star positions of a star group that has been matched in the star group catalog into a coordinate system of the star camera (see Fig. 3, step 302; Col. 2, lines 15-17, "An observer local coordinate system is determined from the star observations as measured on the focal plane, the time of measurement, and the star catalog."; Col. 4, lines 1-9, "For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). From the star data catalog these star sightings establish the observer's local coordinate system, (but not origin) of an Earth-centered inertial reference (ECI) frame, step 302."),
matching successive images of star groups to star group data in the catalog (see Fig. 3, steps 301 and 303; Col, 2, lines 8-17 "Embodiments of the present invention are directed to methods for use in celestial navigation system in which multiple star and orbiting satellite observations are performed from an unknown observer location using an observer camera with an observational field of view along a boresight axis and a focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis. An observer local coordinate system is determined from the star observations as measured on the focal plane, the time of measurement, and the star catalog."; Col. 3, line 66 - Col. 4, line 17 " First, step 301, star sightings are taken by the observer camera of background star images in the focal plane perpendicular to the boresight axis. For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). ... Multiple optical observations over time of the trajectory of an observable object in low-Earth orbit against the background star images, step 303, allows determination of a local curvature 402 of the elliptical arc of the object orbit that is projected onto the camera focal plane, step 304, by angular displacement of the object images from the star image positions."), and
determining position based on star vectors in the coordinate system of the star camera (see Fig. 3, steps 302 and 312; Col. 2, lines 30-33, "From the estimated position of the center of the Earth, a radius vector is determined from the center of the Earth to the observer that represents the observer location in Earth-centered fixed coordinates."; Col. 4, lines 1-9, "For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). From the star data catalog these star sightings establish the observer's local coordinate system, (but not origin) of an Earth-centered inertial reference (ECI) frame, step 302. FIG. 4 shows the camera field of view 401 in ECI coordinates."; Col. 5, lines 29-31, "From that, the absolute position of the observer in the Earth's coordinate system is calculated as a vector 207 from the Earth's center 408 to the observer position, step 312.").
Stritzel teaches a device for determining the position of a spacecraft in space from acquired distorted star images (see all Figs.; [0008]), the device comprising:
at least one star camera configured for acquiring distorted star images (see Fig. 1, star sensors 2-4); and
at least one processor device (see [0030]);
a second processing block configured for determining position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see [0008 "The present invention provides a method for determining the position of a flying object, using a sensor system with several star sensors that detect sky sections by means of an optical system and a light-sensitive matrix detector, said sensors having the same or different fields of view and different viewing directions, and with an evaluation device for computing position information of the flying object by comparing the detected sky sections to a star catalog..."], [0016 "The 3×3 matrix B and the vector Z contain the measured star vectors vi and the associated reference vectors wi from the star catalog."] and [0018 "The resulting position of the flying object, relative to the master coordinate system, can then be computed by averaging the appertaining Euler angles or the elements of the quaternion vector."]);
wherein determining the position information of the spacecraft comprises:
determining position based on comparisons of star vectors in the coordinate system of the star camera to star vectors in an inertial coordinate system of the star catalog (see Equations (1)-(7); [0013 "A first data processing level relates, for example, to the measured star vectors; these are unit vectors in the sensor coordinate system that are detected by the matrix detector."], [0015 "The elements of a quaternion vector q that indicates the position of a sensor system result from the eigen values of the 4×4 matrix K:.."]-[0016 "The 3×3 matrix B and the vector Z contain the measured star vectors vi and the associated reference vectors wi from the star catalog. Due to the additive combination of the star vectors in Equations (2) and (5), the matrix B and the vector Z can be used as interface quantities of the second data processing level as preprocessed star vectors and can be transmitted via the bus system:..."] and [0018 "The resulting position of the flying object, relative to the master coordinate system, can then be computed by averaging the appertaining Euler angles or the elements of the quaternion vector."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Cidonio to determine position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database and to transmit the position information to a position control system of the spacecraft, as taught by Tchilian, in order to accurately determine the spacecrafts position for improved navigation.
It further would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Cidonio to determine the position information by converting star positions of a star group that has been matched in the star group catalog into a coordinate system of the star camera, matching successive images of star groups to star group data in the catalog, and determining position based on comparisons of star vectors in the coordinate system of the star camera to star vectors in an inertial coordinate system of the star catalog, as taught by Biren and Stritzel, in order to determine the spacecrafts position while attaining improved precision and compensating for or reducing malfunctions due to failures of individual star trackers or components of the system.
Regarding Claim 30
Modified Cidonio teaches the device of claim 28 (as discussed above in claim 28),
Cidonio further teaches comprising:
a plurality of star cameras (see Figs. 7-9, all; [0092] and [0137]-[0138]); and
a common processor device for a group of star cameras (see [0094] and [0137]).
Regarding Claim 31
Modified Cidonio teaches the device of claim 28 (as discussed above in claim 28),
Cidonio further teaches wherein the at least one processor device is at least one of:
a processor device separate from the spacecraft (see claims 11-12; [0094]); or
a processor device of the spacecraft (see claims 11-12; [0094]).
Regarding Claim 32
Cidonio teaches a computer program product comprising program code stored on a non-transient, computer-readable medium (see claim 12; [0094]), the program code, when executed by a computer, causing the computer to carry out the method of claim 16 (modified Cidonio as discussed above in claim 16).
Regarding Claim 34
Modified Cidonio teaches the device of claim 28 (as discussed above in claim 28),
Cidonio further teaches wherein the at least one processor device further comprises:
a third processing block configured for cyclically repeatedly (see Fig. 1, step S11; Figs. 3-5, all; [0058] and [0113]):
acquiring distorted star images, processing the distorted star images to form distorted star group data (see Fig. 1, steps S12-S13; [0059]-[0062] and [0114]), and
storing the distorted star group data (see [0062]-[0063] and [0128]; the distorted star group data is inherently stored); and
a fourth processing block configured for determining a current rotation rate by comparing the distorted star group data of two consecutive cycles (see Fig. 1, steps S14-S18; [0063]-[0074] and [0083]).
Claims 19 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cidonio (as modified by Tchilian, Biren and Stritzel) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Quine (US 5935195 A and Quine hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio further teaches wherein:
the star group catalog data includes data on group stars, on star groups (see Fig. 3, all; [0007]-[0008] and [0080]-[0084]).
Cidonio is silent regarding wherein:
the star group catalog data includes a vector index tree;
the data on the star groups include identification vectors and reference data; and
the vector index tree relates to the identification vectors of the star groups.
Quine teaches a method for determining the position and orientation of a spacecraft in space (see all Figs.; Col. 2, lines 12-38), the method comprising at least one of:
acquiring distorted star images with at least one star camera (see Col. 2, lines 14-24);
determining position information of the spacecraft in space by matching the star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see Col. 1, lines 4-7; Col. 2, lines 35-39; Col 7, lines 17-23);
wherein:
the star group catalog data includes data on group stars, on star groups, and on a vector index tree (see Col. 2, lines 24-34; Col. 3, lines 26-31);
the data on the star groups include identification vectors and reference data (see Col. 3, lines 26-31; Col. 5, lines 23-65; Col. 6 line 59 - Col. 7, line 11); and
the vector index tree relates to the identification vectors of the star groups (see Col. 5, lines 58-65; Col. 6 line 59 - Col. 7, line 11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the star group catalog data of the process of modified Cidonio to include a vector index tree and for the data on the star groups to include identification vectors and reference data, where the vector index tree relates to the identification vectors of the star groups, as taught by Quine, in order to allow stars to be identified quickly and efficiently by proceeding down to the roots of the tree by asking relevant split questions.
Regarding Claim 33
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio further teaches further comprising performing one of the following:
i) a star group having 3 to 4 stars that are visible in an image field, wherein each star is defined by 3 coordinates, into representative focal-plane coordinates (see Figs. 2-3, all; [0098] and [0113]), and
ii) a star group having 3 to 4 stars that are visible in an image field, wherein each star is defined by 3 coordinates, into at least one of representative tangent coordinates or representative angular coordinates (see Figs. 2-3, all; [0098] and [0113]).
Cidonio is silent regarding i) coding star group catalog data for a star group and forming a scaling- invariant, translation- invariant, and rotation-invariant star group code based on the focal plane coordinates; or
ii) coding star group catalog data for a star group.
Quine teaches further comprising performing one of the following:
i) coding star group catalog data for a star group having 3 to 4 stars that are visible in an image field, wherein each star is defined by 3 coordinates, into representative focal-plane coordinates (see Fig. 1, all; Col. 2, lines 24-34; Col. 4, lines 10-29; Col. 5, lines 23-56) or
ii) coding star group catalog data for a star group having 3 to 4 stars that are visible in an image field, wherein each star is defined by 3 coordinates, into at least one of representative tangent coordinates or representative angular coordinates (see Fig. 1, all; Col. 2, lines 24-34; Col. 4, lines 10-29; Col. 5, lines 23-56).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Cidonio to further include coding star group catalog data for a star group having 3 to 4 stars that are visible in an image field, where each star is defined by 3 focal-plane or tangent coordinates, as taught by Quine, in order to allow stars to be identified quickly and efficiently by the star camera to determine the spacecrafts position in space.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cidonio (as modified by Tchilian, Biren and Stritzel) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Bender et al. (US 5412574 A and Bender hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 20
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio is silent regarding wherein:
the database in which the star group catalog data is stored is carried onboard the spacecraft; and
star catalog data are carried onboard the spacecraft and is used with additional star data to determine the position and orientation of the spacecraft.
Biren teaches wherein:
star catalog data is used with additional star data to determine the position of the spacecraft (see Fig. 3, steps 302 and 312; Col. 2, lines 8-33, "An observer local coordinate system is determined from the star observations as measured on the focal plane, the time of measurement, and the star catalog … From the estimated position of the center of the Earth, a radius vector is determined from the center of the Earth to the observer that represents the observer location in Earth-centered fixed coordinates."; Col. 4, lines 1-9, "For example, given access to a star data catalog and times of observation, an observer can measure three or more direction vectors with respect to the fixed stars at three or more different times from an unknown position(s). From the star data catalog these star sightings establish the observer's local coordinate system, (but not origin) of an Earth-centered inertial reference (ECI) frame, step 302. FIG. 4 shows the camera field of view 401 in ECI coordinates."; Col. 5, lines 29-31, "From that, the absolute position of the observer in the Earth's coordinate system is calculated as a vector 207 from the Earth's center 408 to the observer position, step 312.").
Stritzel teaches wherein:
star catalog data is used with additional star data to determine the position of the spacecraft (see [0008 "The present invention provides a method for determining the position of a flying object, using a sensor system with several star sensors that detect sky sections by means of an optical system and a light-sensitive matrix detector, said sensors having the same or different fields of view and different viewing directions, and with an evaluation device for computing position information of the flying object by comparing the detected sky sections to a star catalog..."], [0016 "The 3×3 matrix B and the vector Z contain the measured star vectors vi and the associated reference vectors wi from the star catalog."] and [0018 "The resulting position of the flying object, relative to the master coordinate system, can then be computed by averaging the appertaining Euler angles or the elements of the quaternion vector."]).
Bender teaches a method for determining the position and orientation of a spacecraft in space (see all Figs.; Col. 2, lines 13-59), the method comprising at least one of:
cyclically repeatedly acquiring star images with at least one star camera (see Col. 2, lines 13-20 and 46-49; claim 1);
determining orientation information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see Col. 2, lines 13-59; Col. 4, lines 16-35; claim 1);
transmitting the orientation information to a position control system of the spacecraft (see Col. 1, lines 8-10; Col. 2, lines 3-10); and
navigating the spacecraft based on the determined orientation information (see Col. 1, lines 8-10; Col. 2, lines 3-10);
wherein:
the database in which the star group catalog data is stored is carried onboard the spacecraft (see Fig. 2., star catalogs 22; Col. 4, lines 16-20); and
star catalog data are carried onboard the spacecraft and is used with additional star data to determine the position and orientation of the spacecraft (see Fig. 2., star catalogs 22; Col. 2, lines 13-59;Col. 4, lines 16-35).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Cidonio to store the database of the star group catalog data onboard the spacecraft and to use the star catalog data to determine the position and orientation of the spacecraft, as taught by Bender, in order to quickly and conveniently access data from the star group catalog.
Claims 23 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cidonio (as modified by Tchilian, Biren and Stritzel) as applied to claims 16 and 28 above, and further in view of Xing et al. (US 20140232867 A1 and Xing hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 23
Modified Cidonio teaches the method of claim 16 (as discussed above in claim 16),
Cidonio further teaches wherein the at least one star camera includes at least one rolling camera (see Figs. 4-5, all; [0112]-[0113]).
Although it may be implied, Cidonio does not explicitly teach the at least one star camera includes at least one rolling shutter star camera.
Xing teaches a method for determining the position and orientation of a spacecraft in space (see all Figs.; [0005]), the method comprising at least one of:
cyclically repeatedly acquiring distorted star images with at least one star camera (see [0005]);
processing the distorted star images of a current cycle with a computer to form rectified star group data (see [0005]);
determining orientation information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see [0005]);
transmitting the orientation information to a position control system of the spacecraft (see [0005]); and
navigating the spacecraft based on the determined orientation information (see [0005]);
wherein the at least one star camera includes at least one rolling shutter star camera (see [0002] and [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the star camera of the process of modified Cidonio to be a rolling shutter star camera, as taught by Xing, in order to achieve accurate separation of the exposure moments of different navigation stars by precisely controlling the imaging moments of different lines in the star map.
Regarding Claim 29
Modified Cidonio teaches the device of claim 28 (as discussed above in claim 28),
Cidonio further teaches wherein the at least one star camera is a rolling camera (see Figs. 4-5, all; [0112]-[0113]).
Although it may be implied, Cidonio does not explicitly teach the at the at least one star camera is a rolling shutter camera.
Xing teaches a device for determining the position and orientation of a spacecraft in space from repeatedly acquired distorted star images (see all Figs.; [0005]), the device comprising:
at least one star camera configured for acquiring the distorted star images (see "star sensor" in [0002] and [0005]); and
at least one processor device (the processor device is inherent);
wherein the at least one processor device comprises:
a first processing block configured for processing the distorted star images of a current cycle to form rectified star group data (see [0005]), and
a second processing block configured for determining orientation information of the spacecraft in space by matching the rectified star group data with star group catalog data stored in a database (see [0005]);
wherein the at least one processor device is configured to communicate the orientation information to a position control system of the spacecraft for navigating the spacecraft (see [0005]);
wherein the at least one star camera is a rolling shutter camera (see [0002] and [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the star camera of the device of modified Cidonio to be a rolling shutter star camera, as taught by Xing, in order to achieve accurate separation of the exposure moments of different navigation stars by precisely controlling the imaging moments of different lines in the star map.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656