DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang et al. Pub. No. US 20230216990 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Fang teaches a call transfer method (Fig. 3 and 4 and abstract, the electronic device may interact with another device in a same local area network, for example, switch a video call from the electronic device to a smart television, or perform projection on a smart television i.e., call transfer method), applied to a system comprising a main terminal device and a first auxiliary terminal device (Fig. 1 and Para 117, an electronic device 100, a smart television 102, a smart speaker 103, and other devices form a device group, and all devices in the device group may communicate with each other i.e., a system comprising a main terminal device and a first auxiliary terminal device) wherein the main terminal device and the first auxiliary terminal device are connected to a same local area network and log in with a same user account (Para 118, he user logs in to the mobile phone, the tablet computer, the smart speaker, the smartwatch, and the notebook computer by using a same account, the mobile phone, the tablet computer, the smart speaker, and the notebook computer are in one local area network (Local Area Network, LAN), and all devices in the local area network may communicate with each other i.e., the main terminal device and the first auxiliary terminal device are connected to a same local area network and log in with a same user account), the method comprising:
displaying (Para 193, The phone manager is configured to provide a communications function of the electronic device 100, for example, management of a call status (including answering, declining, or the like) i.e., current call status is displayed), by the first auxiliary terminal device (Para 224 and Fig. 3(b), he graphical user interface may include a status bar, a navigation bar, a hang-up control 201, a voice switching control 202, an answering control 206, first information 203, second information 204, and third information 205) a first window (Para 215 and Fig. 3(a) to FIG. 3(d) show an example of graphical user interfaces during multi-device interaction according to an embodiment of this application. FIG. 3(a) and FIG. 3(b) respectively show user interfaces when a user makes and answers a video call by using a video call application. As shown in FIG. 3(a), the user interface may include a status bar 21, a navigation bar 22, a hang-up control 201, a voice switching control 202, first information 203, second information 204, and third information 205 i.e., a first window is displaying) in response to a current call being in an answer state (Para 225, The answering control 206 is configured to answer the video call. The mobile phone may detect a touch operation performed on the answering control 206 (for example, a tap operation performed on the answering control 206). In response to the operation, the mobile phone may answer the video call, and start to display data collected by a camera of the other party)
wherein the first window is used to displays a contact and a call state of a current call (Para 224, As shown in FIG. 3(b), the graphical user interface may include a status bar, a navigation bar, a hang-up control 201, a voice switching control 202, an answering control 206, first information 203, second information 204, and third information 205 where the first information 203 is the contact information and second information is the call state of the current call); and
sending, by the first auxiliary terminal device, a first call transfer indication message to the main terminal device (Para 235 and Fig. 3d Unit 210, the mobile phone may display the dialog box 210 when the video call is established. In other words, the graphical user interface is updated from the interface shown in FIG. 3(a) or FIG. 3(b) to the interface shown in FIG. 3(d) i.e., sending, by the first auxiliary terminal device, a first call transfer indication message to the main terminal device) in response to a user operation on the first window, wherein the first call transfer indication message is used to instructs to transfer the current call (Para 234, The mobile phone may detect whether the mobile phone is in a video call state. If it is determined that the mobile phone is in a video call state, the mobile phone displays, on the graphical user interface shown in FIG. 3(c), a dialog box 210 shown in FIG. 3(d). This dialog box is used to guide the user to interact with other devices in the device group. Prompt information 211 may be displayed in the dialog box 210, and the prompt information may be used to prompt the user to interact with a device. As shown in FIG. 3(d), the prompt information 211 may be text information “Continue the video call on a living room television”, to prompt the user that the current video call may be switched to the living room television. In this way, experience of a video call on a device with a large screen can be obtained. In addition, the dialog box may further include a control 212 and a control 213. The control 212 may display “OK”. If the mobile phone detects a touch operation on the control, the mobile phone triggers switching of the current video call to the living room television for continuing. The control 213 may display “Cancel”. If the mobile phone detects a touch operation on the control, the mobile phone may not display the dialog box 210, and continue to display the video call interface shown in FIG. 3(c) i.e., in response to a user operation on the first window, wherein the first call transfer indication message is used to instructs to transfer the current call).
Regarding Claim 2, Fang teaches wherein the system further comprises a second auxiliary terminal device, and wherein the second auxiliary terminal device, the main terminal device, and the first auxiliary terminal device are connected to a same local area network and log in with a same user account (Para 118-119 and Fig. 1), the method further comprising sending, by the first auxiliary terminal device, the first call transfer indication message to the second auxiliary terminal device in response to a the user operation on the first window (Para 249 and Fig. 7b).
Regarding Claim 3, Fang teaches wherein the current call is in the answered state, and the first window comprises a call transfer key and a hang- up key, and wherein sending, the first call transfer indication message to the main terminal device comprises sending, by the first auxiliary terminal device, the first call transfer indication message to the main terminal device in response to a user operation on the call transfer key (Fig. 3d Para 235 and Fig. 4a and Para 239).
Regarding Claim 4, Fang teaches wherein the call transfer key is an independent key, or the call transfer key is a key reused with other function keys (Para 225-228 and Fig. 3b-c).
Regarding Claim 5, Fang teaches wherein before displaying, the first window, the method further comprises: displaying, by the first auxiliary terminal device, a second window, wherein the second window is a displayed window corresponding to a case that the current call is in an unanswered state, and the second window comprises an answer key and a hang-up key; and answering, by the first auxiliary terminal device, the current call, and updating the displayed window from the second window to the first window, in response to a user operation on the answer key (Fig. 4d and 5g and Para 240).
Regarding Claim 6, Fang teaches wherein the current call is in the unanswered state, and the first auxiliary terminal device displays the second window, the method further comprising updating, by the first auxiliary terminal device in a case that the main terminal device connects to the current call, the second window to a third window, wherein the third window indicates to a user that the current call is connected to the main terminal device (Para 247 and Fig. 7b).
Regarding Claim 7, Fang teaches further comprising: displaying, by the first auxiliary terminal device, a fourth window in response to a user operation on the third window, wherein the fourth window to displays a contact and a call state of the current call, and the fourth window comprises a call transfer key; and sending, by the first auxiliary terminal device, a second call transfer indication message to the main terminal device in response to the user operation on the call transfer key, wherein the second call transfer indication message is used to instructs to transfer the current call to the first auxiliary terminal device (fig. 7b and Para 247 and 248).
Regarding Claim 8, Fang teaches wherein sending the first call transfer indication message to the main terminal device in response to a the user operation on the call transfer key comprises: displaying, by the first auxiliary terminal device, a candidate device list in response to the user operation on the call transfer key, wherein the candidate device list comprises a device that is located in the same local area network and logs in with the same user account as the first auxiliary terminal device (Para 237); and sending, by the first auxiliary terminal device, the first call transfer indication message to the main terminal device in response to a user operation of choosing the main terminal device from the candidate device list (Para 238-239 and fig. 4a-c).
Regarding Claim 9, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and 8.
Regarding Claim 10, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 11, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 12, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 13, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
Regarding Claim 14, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 15, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
Regarding Claim 16, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. Pub. No. US 20230216990 A1 in view of Official Notice
Regarding Claim 17, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and further teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor (Fig. 2 Unit 110, processor; and a memory coupled to the processor (Fig. 2 Unit 120 and 121 where memory coupled to the processor), wherein the memory is configured to stores a code instructions that, when executed by the processor is configured to execute the code instruction (Para 159, The internal memory 121 may be configured to store one or more computer programs, and the one or more computer programs include instructions. The processor 110 may run the instructions stored in the internal memory 121, so that the electronic device 100 is enabled to perform the data sharing method provided in some embodiments of this application);
and
wherein the first call transfer indication message causes the main terminal device to update a displayed window from a window indicating that the current call is answered on the terminal device to a window indicating that the current call is answered on the main terminal device (Para 240, After the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone returns to the user interface before the video call is generated. For example, the mobile phone displays a home screen before receiving a video call request. As shown in FIG. 4(d), after the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone returns to the home screen. In some embodiments, the graphical user interface may include a first notification message 214. The first notification message 214 may display text information, for example, “The video call is being performed on the living room television”, to prompt the user that the video call is being performed on the living room television. The graphical user interface may further include a control 215. If the mobile phone detects an operation performed on the control, the mobile phone may send a third switching message to the smart television 102. In response to the third switching message, the mobile phone may continue the video call and display data collected by the camera of the other party, and the smart television 102 may display an interface displayed before a moment at which the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102. In some other embodiments, if the mobile phone displays an interface of another application (such as gallery or reading) or an interface of a video call application before receiving the video call request, after the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone may display a corresponding interface before the switching. For a video call initiator, an interface displayed by the video call initiator before the video call request is initiated may include information about a called contact, a chat window with the called contact, or the like. After the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television, the mobile phone may display a response interface before the switching i.e., the first call transfer indication message causes the main terminal device to update a displayed window from a window indicating that the current call is answered on the terminal device to a window indicating that the current call is answered on the main terminal device).
Fang does not specifically teach wherein the main terminal device is a device that receives calls from a telecommunications network operator via a subscriber identity module.
However, examiner would like to take official notice as it is well known in the art of communication that mobile device 100 of Fang inherently has a subscriber identity module that receives the call from a telecommunication network operator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to come to conclusion with the method of Fang so user can fully use capabilities of each intelligent device and can obtain better user experience during the video call.
Regarding Claim 20, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 21, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 22, Fang teaches wherein sending the first call transfer indication message to the main terminal device in response to the user operation on the call transfer key comprises: displaying, by the terminal device, a candidate device list in response to the user operation on the call transfer key, wherein the candidate device list comprises a device that is located in the same local area network and logs in with the same user account as the terminal device; and sending, by the terminal device, the first call transfer indication message to the main terminal device in response to a user operation of choosing the main terminal device from the candidate device list (Para 247 and Fig. 7b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant is arguing with regards to claim 1, that the first window is displayed in response to the call being in an answer state and suggest that Fang does not teach the current limitation. However, examiner disagrees and applicant would like to bring it to the attention of the applicant that during patent examination, claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation (See MPEP 2111).
Having said that, Fang teaches from Para 193, The phone manager is configured to provide a communications function of the electronic device 100, for example, management of a call status (including answering, declining, or the like) i.e., current call status is displayed and then Para 224 and Fig. 3(b), the graphical user interface may include a status bar, a navigation bar, a hang-up control 201, a voice switching control 202, an answering control 206, first information 203, second information 204, and third information 205 i.e., by the first auxiliary terminal device and then disclose from Para 215 and Fig. 3(a) to FIG. 3(d) show an example of graphical user interfaces during multi-device interaction according to an embodiment of this application. FIG. 3(a) and FIG. 3(b) respectively show user interfaces when a user makes and answers a video call by using a video call application. As shown in FIG. 3(a), the user interface may include a status bar 21, a navigation bar 22, a hang-up control 201, a voice switching control 202, first information 203, second information 204, and third information 205 i.e., a first window is displaying. Fang teaches from Para 225, The answering control 206 is configured to answer the video call. The mobile phone may detect a touch operation performed on the answering control 206 (for example, a tap operation performed on the answering control 206). In response to the operation, the mobile phone may answer the video call, and start to display data collected by a camera of the other party. It is noted that applicant is claiming that the current call being in the answering state i.e., in response to a current call being in an answer state. It is noted that applicant is claiming that the current call “being” in an answer state which mean that “to be” in the answering state and therefore, Fig. 3b reads on applicant claimed invention and for those reasons, rejection is maintained.
Applicant is further arguing that since claim 9 is rejected based on combination of claim 1 and 8 and the current feature is not present in claim 1 and 8, therefore, applicant is requesting withdrawal of the rejection. However, examiner disagree. As explained above Fang clearly disclose all limitation of claim 1. Therefore, for at least the above reasons applicant argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant is further arguing that amended independent claim 17 require the first call transfer indication message causes the main terminal device to update a displayed window from a window indicating that the current call is answered on the terminal device to a window indicating that the current call is answered on the main terminal device and suggest that Fig. 4(b) that there is no window on the television displaying that the call is being answered on the mobile phone. The television has no awareness of or UI indication of the mobile phone's call state prior to receiving the switching message. However, examiner disagree. First of according to claim language it suggests that the main terminal device to update a displayed window from a window indicating that the current call is answered on the terminal device to a window indicating that the current call is answered on the main terminal device. Fang clearly teaches that limitation. Fang teaches from Para 240, After the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone returns to the user interface before the video call is generated. For example, the mobile phone displays a home screen before receiving a video call request. As shown in FIG. 4(d), after the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone returns to the home screen. In some embodiments, the graphical user interface may include a first notification message 214. The first notification message 214 may display text information, for example, “The video call is being performed on the living room television”, to prompt the user that the video call is being performed on the living room television. The graphical user interface may further include a control 215. If the mobile phone detects an operation performed on the control, the mobile phone may send a third switching message to the smart television 102. In response to the third switching message, the mobile phone may continue the video call and display data collected by the camera of the other party, and the smart television 102 may display an interface displayed before a moment at which the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102. In some other embodiments, if the mobile phone displays an interface of another application (such as gallery or reading) or an interface of a video call application before receiving the video call request, after the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television 102, the mobile phone may display a corresponding interface before the switching. For a video call initiator, an interface displayed by the video call initiator before the video call request is initiated may include information about a called contact, a chat window with the called contact, or the like. After the mobile phone switches the video call to the smart television, the mobile phone may display a response interface before the switching i.e., the first call transfer indication message causes the main terminal device to update a displayed window from a window indicating that the current call is answered on the terminal device to a window indicating that the current call is answered on the main terminal device For at least the above reasons applicant argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NIZAR N. SIVJI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/NIZAR N SIVJI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647