DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mody et al. (US 2020/0074287 A1), hereinafter “Mody”.
As per claim 1, Mody teaches an edge device (Figs. 1-2) configured to perform industrial control operations within a production environment that define a physical location, the edge device comprising:
“a plurality of neural network layers that define a deep neural network” at [0035] and Fig. 4A;
(Mody teaches an autonomous processing module 212 (i.e., “the edge device”) comprise a neural network 400, which is utilized for classifying objects. The neural network 400 includes a plurality of neural network layers)
“a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the edge device to: obtain data from one or more sensors at the physical location defined by the production environment” at [0030] and Figs. 1-2;
(Mody teaches the autonomous processing module 212 connected to the sensor fusion module 210 to perform autonomous processing needed for vehicle operation. The autonomous processing module obtains data from a plurality of sensors 106, 108)
“perform one or more matrix operations on the data using the plurality of neural network layers so as to generate a large scale matrix computation at the physical location defined by the production environment” at [0036] and Fig. 4C;
(Mody teaches the neural network operations may be computed by performing matrix operations on the input to simulate the neurons in the various layers. For example, a matrix multiplier 424 multiplies matrices A and B, the result of the multiplication is accumulated in an accumulator 426)
“train the deep neural network of the edge device to predict outputs of nonlinear matrix operations” at [0036];
(Mody teaches the neural network includes a nonlinear activation block 428 which is trained to perform nonlinear matrix operations and predict output matrix C)
“based on the training, generate an approximation of a nonlinear matrix operation on the data, the approximation defining the large scale matrix computation” at [0036].
(Mody teaches the nonlinear activation block 428 performs nonlinear matrix operations on the accumulated matrix and provides an output matrix C to the memory 422)
As per claim 2, Mody teaches the device of claim 1, further cause the edge device to: perform a plurality of linear matrix operations on the data so as to generate the large scale matrix computation, each linear matrix operations performed on a respective layer of the plurality of neural network layers” at [0035]-[0036].
As per claim 3, Mody teaches the device of claim 2, further cause the edge device to “encoding an algorithm associated with the data into the plurality of linear matrix operation” at [0038]-[0042].
Claims 7-9, 13-14 recite similar limitations as in claims 1-3 and are therefore rejected by the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mody as applied to claims 1-3, 7-9, 13-14 above, and in view of Kwon et al. (US 2020/0364558 A1), hereinafter “Kwon”.
As per claims 4, 10, Mody teaches the device of claim 2 discussed above. Mody does not explicitly teach: “based on the data, decompose a matrix so as to define a matrix decomposition; and perform the one or more matrix operations on the matrix decomposition across multiple layers of the plurality of neural network layers” as claimed. However, Kwon teaches method for performing matrix operation using a neural network including the steps of “based on the data, decompose a matrix so as to define a matrix decomposition; and perform the one or more matrix operations on the matrix decomposition across multiple layers of the plurality of neural network layers” at [0010]-[0016], [0058]-[0067]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kwon with Mody’s teaching by utilizing the matrix decomposing method as suggested by Kwon to compress the matrix data so that “a compression ratio of a deep learning model may be improved without degrading the performance” and “when running a deep learning model utilizing the compressed deep learning model, power consumption may be reduced and delay in response time may be reduce”, as suggested by Kwon at [0030].
Claims 6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mody as applied to claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-15 above, and in view of Filippov et al. (US 2021/0404328 A1), hereinafter “Filippov”
As per claims 6, 12, Mody teaches the device of claim 1 discussed above. Filippov does not teach “send the large scale matrix computation to a digital twin simulation model associated with the production environment, so as to update the digital twin simulation model in real time” as claimed. However, Filippov teaches a method for implementing self-adapting digital twins includes the step of “send the large scale matrix computation to a digital twin simulation model associated with the production environment, so as to update the digital twin simulation model in real time” at [0049]-[0056]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Filippov with Mody’s teaching in order to provide a digital twin model which can be updated in real-time, and therefore can be used to “minimize a process target function, such as the process time, total cost of the process”, as suggested by Filippov at [0010]-[0016].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/01/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/KHANH B PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166
May 21, 2026