DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 have been examined.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The invention relates to…,” etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in the claims:
Claim 1: the motion, the polygon effect
Claim 2: the vibrations…, the exerted force
Claim 4: the measured signal
Claim 7: the amount of force, the travel
Claim 11: the signal processor
Claim 13: the number, the distance of travel, the length
Claim 15: the measured signal
Claim 16: the hard- and/or software, the amount of work or energy, the location
Regarding claims 5, 6, 11, and 13, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0351283) in view of Liu Duxi et al (“Long-Range automatic precision displacement measuring of winding system using double timing belt transmission”).
1-3. Smith et al disclose a motion detection module suitable for detecting motion of a retractable handle or grip (301) at a distal end of a flexible power transfer (302), wherein the flexible power transfer runs over a rotating body, wherein the rotating body comprises a circumference comprising one or more segments of a polygon (Par. 0176: “the handle is connected by a cable to a spool or sprocket that turns on an axle with resistance provided by the resistance engine”).
Smith et al also disclose that “the rowing machine has at least one sensor to measure the angular velocity of one or more of the disk eddy current brake, flywheel, and motor-generator. A temperature sensor can be included to track the temperature of at least one of the eddy current brake disk and the motor-generator. In some cases, the rowing machine can have other sensors to provide input to the controller or to provide rowing performance data to the server or to the rower or both. The types of sensors include load cells, Hall effect sensors, optical sensors, and electrodes. Other types of sensors useful for measuring force, deformation, weight, position, speed, and other physical and human performance parameters can also be used. One or more sensors can be located on the rail or the seat to measure seat travel direction, speed, acceleration and rower weight. One or more sensors can be located on the handle to measure applied force, position, speed, acceleration, heart rate, or travel direction. One or more sensors can be located on the footrest to measure the contribution of the legs to the power stroke” (Par. 0173).
However, Smith et al do not explicitly disclose that the motion detection module is configured for capturing the motion of the flexible power transfer by sensing the polygon effect.
Liu Duxi et al disclose that there are many factors with regards to force transmission that affect the accuracy of chains or timing belt transmissions, among which the polygon effect (or chordal action) is the main source of errors (item 2.2.1). As advanced above, Smith et al contemplate the implementation of a motion detection module for a rowing machine (Par. 0044: “sensors to measure a variety of parameters associated with the machine, shell, or rower and sensor electronics to drive the sensors” and Par. 0173 cited above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the module of Smith et al to take into account the losses/error resulting from the polygon effect as taught by Liu Duxi et al such that the accuracy of the sensed force transmission can be more precise.
5. Smith et al disclose the motion detection module according to claim 3 wherein the force sensor is mounted in a handle or a grip of a fitness device (Par. 0173: “one or more sensors can be located on the handle to measure applied force, position, speed, acceleration, heart rate, or travel direction”), such as a rowing machine.
6. Smith et al disclose the motion detection module according to claim 5, wherein the force sensor is mounted between the handle or grip and the flexible power transfer, such as a cable or chain (302; Par. 0179: “We use the term “cable” broadly to include, for example, any entity for transmitting tensile force from the handle to the resistance engine. The cable can be a cable, such as a braided steel cable. The cable can be a rope, a cord, a belt, a toothed belt, a v-belt, or webbing, or combinations of them. The cable can also be a chain with links. The cable must be able to deform less than 5% under a tensile load of 1000 N. The cable should be essentially unable to transmit compressive force. The cable should be able to wrap around wheels (such as pulley wheels, or sprockets in case the cable is a chain) to change the direction of the transmitted force”), wherein the flexible power transfer is configured to be retractably connected to a base of a rowing machine at its proximal end (Fig 11).
8. Smith et al disclose the motion detection module according to claim 1, wherein the module is equipped with a wireless transmission (304) to a computer or mobile device (103).
9-10. Smith et al disclose the motion detection module significantly as claimed, but do not disclose wherein the module is equipped with an electronic on switch to power its signal processor or wherein the module is equipped with an automatic off switch, configured to switch off when e.g. over a prolonged time, no force is detected. Examiner takes Official Notice that is well-understood, routine, conventional activity engaged in by those in the relevant art, in that the additional elements are widely prevalent or in common use in the art to provide an electronic device with a physical on/off switch or wherein the controller is configured to enter a sleep mode when a predetermined amount of time has elapsed is well known within the art to save energy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the exercise machine of Smith et al to include an on/off switch or a wake/sleep function thereon as these are one of a number ways known in the art to power on or power of an electronic device. Such a modification is merely a design consideration to one of ordinary skill in the art and would produce expected and predictable results.
Note: Applicant may challenge the examiner's position of Official notice, specifically stating that such elements are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity by amending the claim, e.g., to add additional elements or modify existing elements, present persuasive arguments based on a good faith belief as to why the rejection is in error and/or submit evidence traversing the rejection. If Applicant does not traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice, the examiner’s common knowledge or well-known in the art statement will be taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of Official Notice.
11. Smith et al disclose the motion detection module according to claim 1, wherein the signal processor can be configured to perform various other functions, such as a gaming console, radio or television operation (Par. 0194-0198).
12. Smith et al disclose a handle or grip (301) comprising a motion detection module according to claim 1.
13. Smith et al disclose a method of deducing the distance of travel of a flexible power transfer of a fitness device, such as a rowing machine during its use, comprising the following steps, to be executed in any suitable order:
a) providing a fitness device, such as a rowing machine (Fig 11), equipped with a retractable handle or grip (301) at a distal end of a flexible power transfer (302), wherein the flexible power transfer runs over a rotating body (116), wherein the rotating body comprises a circumference comprising one or more segments of a polygon (Par. 0176: “the handle is connected by a cable to a spool or sprocket that turns on an axle with resistance provided by the resistance engine”);
b) motion detection module according to claim 1 (see claim 1above); and
c) using the fitness device, such as a rowing machine (Fig 11).
Smith et al also disclose that “the rowing machine has at least one sensor to measure the angular velocity of one or more of the disk eddy current brake, flywheel, and motor-generator. A temperature sensor can be included to track the temperature of at least one of the eddy current brake disk and the motor-generator. In some cases, the rowing machine can have other sensors to provide input to the controller or to provide rowing performance data to the server or to the rower or both. The types of sensors include load cells, Hall effect sensors, optical sensors, and electrodes. Other types of sensors useful for measuring force, deformation, weight, position, speed, and other physical and human performance parameters can also be used. One or more sensors can be located on the rail or the seat to measure seat travel direction, speed, acceleration and rower weight. One or more sensors can be located on the handle to measure applied force, position, speed, acceleration, heart rate, or travel direction. One or more sensors can be located on the footrest to measure the contribution of the legs to the power stroke” (Par. 0173).
However, Smith et al do not explicitly disclose that the motion detection module is configured for capturing the motion of the flexible power transfer by sensing the polygon effect by counting the number of phases in a signal comprising variations due to the calculating the distance of travel of flexible power transfer by multiplying the counted number of phases in the signal with the length of the segments of the polygon of the rotating body.
Liu Duxi et al disclose that there are many factors with regards to force transmission that affect the accuracy of chains or timing belt transmissions, among which the polygon effect (or chordal action) is the main source of errors (item 2.2.1). As advanced above, Smith et al contemplate the implementation of a motion detection module for a rowing machine (Par. 0044: “sensors to measure a variety of parameters associated with the machine, shell, or rower and sensor electronics to drive the sensors” and Par. 0173 cited above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the module of Smith et al to take into account the losses/error resulting from the polygon effect as taught by Liu Duxi et al such that the accuracy of the sensed force transmission can be more precise.
14. Smith et al the method according to claim 13, wherein the motion detection module comprises a force sensor (Par. 0173).
16. Smith et al disclose the method according to wherein the signals of the sensor can be calculated and processed within the hard- and/or software of the signal processor of the motion detection module, and the obtained data about the amount of work or energy exerted by a user can be transmitted to a centralised or distributed application for competition rowing, either real time or in a specific time delay period independent of the location of the users (Par. 0194-0198; Figs 7-10).
Claims 4, 17, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Liu Duxi et al as applied to Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-14, and 16 above, and further in view of Ghaffari et al (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0095670).
4, 7, and 15. Smith in view of Liu Duxi et al disclose the motion detection module significantly as claimed including processors which “can provide features, functions, and any other kind of services through a communication network to one or more rowing machines” (Par. 047), but do not explicitly disclose wherein the signal processor is configured to deduce the amount of force exerted by a user from the first relative low frequency repetitive force signal, and the signal processor is further configured to deduce the travel of the handle from the second relative high frequency repetitive force signal.
Ghaffari et al disclose a similar therapeutic device and system having a sensor and a signal processor which uses a band pass filter associated with the sensor to derive different categories of sensed information (Par. 0070-0071) such that the differentiated signal my be processed by the signal processor. As it is the goal of Smith et al to process force signals, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Smith et al to include the signal processor/ filter as taught by Ghaffari et al to differentiate signals detected by a sensor to derive different categories of sensed information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Radow et al, Machovina et al, Schaefer et al, and Hall all disclose similar exercise devices having handles connected to a resistance via a cable/chain and sensors to derive sensed information regarding a performed exercise.
/JOSHUA T KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 4/9/2026