DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 14, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maniktala et al. (US 2017/0353061 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, a wireless power apparatus (100, 120), comprising: a power receiver (100) having an elongated core member (110) with a long axis (118) and a receiver conductor (112, 114) wound spirally around the elongated core member (110) to form an elongated receiver coil (Par 0020), the power receiver (100) configured to receive power from a power transmitter (120) having a transmitter conductor (122) being wound circularly around a center point (center point axis 116 of transmitter coil 122) and disposed in a plane to form a planar transmitter coil (Par 0021), the planar transmitter coil (122) configured to be connected to an alternating current power source (not shown) to wirelessly transmit power (Par 0021; “A power circuit (not shown) provides an alternating current 126 to transmitter coil 122” thus an alternating current power source (not shown) provides alternating current 126 to transmitter coil 122), the planar transmitter coil (122) having a transmitter coil radial axis (radial axis of planar transmitter coil 122) starting at the center point (center point axis 116 of transmitter coil 122) and defining a transmitting region from an inner edge of the planar transmitter coil (inner edge of transmitter coil 122) to an outer edge of the planar transmitter coil (outer edge of transmitter coil 122) along the transmitter coil radial axis (radial axis of planar transmitter coil 122) (Par 0021).
In regards to claim 2, Maniktala discloses, in figure 2B, the wireless power apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a load (not shown) (Par 0024; “Voltage regulator 274 defines an output voltage magnitude and maintains the voltage under load. The voltage generated by voltage regulator 274 can be used to charge a battery or power a device (e.g., a smart phone, laptop, drone, or any other electronic device”) connected to the elongated receiver coil (Fig. 2B; 212, 214) and configured to receive power from the planar transmitter coil (Fig. 2B; 224) when the elongated receiver coil (Fig. 2B; 212, 214) is in proximity to the transmitting region (Par 0023-0024).
In regards to claim 4, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, the wireless power apparatus of claim 1, wherein the elongated core member long axis (118) is aligned with the transmitter coil radial axis (radial axis of planar transmitter coil 122) (Par 0021; the elongated core member long axis 118 is aligned with the planar transmitter coil 122 radial axis).
In regards to claim 5, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, the wireless power apparatus of claim 4, wherein the elongated core member (110) includes one of a ferrous material and a non-ferrous material (Par 0020).
In regards to claim 14, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, a method for constructing a wireless power apparatus (100, 120), the method comprising: forming a power receiver (100) having an elongated core member (110) with a long axis (118) and a receiver conductor (112, 114) wound spirally around the elongated core member (110) to form an elongated receiver coil (Par 0020), the power receiver (100) configured to receive power from a power transmitter (120) having a transmitter conductor (122) being wound circularly around a center point (center point axis 116 of transmitter coil 122) and disposed in a plane to form a planar transmitter coil (Par 0021), the planar transmitter coil (122) configured to be connected to an alternating current power source (not shown) to wirelessly transmit power (Par 0021; “A power circuit (not shown) provides an alternating current 126 to transmitter coil 122” thus an alternating current power source (not shown) provides alternating current 126 to transmitter coil 122), the planar transmitter coil (122) having a transmitter coil radial axis (radial axis of planar transmitter coil 122) starting at the center point (center point axis 116 of transmitter coil 122) and defining a transmitting region from an inner edge of the planar transmitter coil (inner edge of transmitter coil 122) to an outer edge of the planar transmitter coil (outer edge of transmitter coil 122) along the transmitter coil radial axis (radial axis of planar transmitter coil 122) (Par 0021).
In regards to claim 23, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, a wireless power system (100, 120), comprising: an alternating current power source (not shown) configured to provide electrical power (Par 0021; “A power circuit (not shown) provides an alternating current 126 to transmitter coil 122” thus an alternating current power source (not shown) provides alternating current 126 to transmitter coil 122); a power transmitter (120) having a transmitter conductor (122) being wound circularly around a center point (center point axis 116 of transmitter coil 122) and disposed in a plane to form a planar transmitter coil (Par 0021), the planar transmitter coil (122) configured to be connected to the alternating current power source (not shown) to wirelessly transmit power (Par 0021), the planar transmitter coil (122) having a transmitter coil radial axis (radial axis of planar transmitter coil 122) starting at the center point (center point axis 116 of transmitter coil 122) and defining a transmitting region from an inner edge of the planar transmitter coil (inner edge of transmitter coil 122) to an outer edge of the planar transmitter coil (outer edge of transmitter coil 122) along the transmitter coil radial axis (radial axis of planar transmitter coil 122) (Par 0021); a power receiver (100) having an elongated core member (110) with a long axis (118) and a receiver conductor (112, 114) wound spirally around the elongated core member (110) to form an elongated receiver coil (Par 0020); and a load (not shown) (Par 0024; “Voltage regulator 274 defines an output voltage magnitude and maintains the voltage under load. The voltage generated by voltage regulator 274 can be used to charge a battery or power a device (e.g., a smart phone, laptop, drone, or any other electronic device”) connected to the elongated receiver coil (Fig. 2B; 212, 214) and configured to receive power from the planar transmitter coil (Fig. 2B; 224) when the elongated receiver coil (Fig. 2B; 212, 214) is in proximity to the transmitting region (Par 0023-0024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maniktala et al. (US 2017/0353061 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Maniktala discloses, in figure 6A, the wireless power apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the elongated receiver coil is positioned to at least partially overlap the transmitting region.
However, Maniktala discloses, in another embodiment, in figure 6A, wherein the elongated receiver coil (612, 614, 616) is positioned to at least partially overlap the transmitting region (640) (Par 0032-0033; “third coil 616 is shown spaced apart from both first coil 612 and second coil 614, an embodiment of coil structure 600 where third coil 616 partially or completely overlaps first coil 612 and second coil 614 is within the scope of the invention”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maniktala’s coil structure by including wherein the elongated receiver coil is positioned to at least partially overlap the transmitting region as taught by Maniktala in order to provide inductive wireless power transfer and more specifically to coil structures for alignment and inductive wireless power transfer (Maniktala; Par 0002).
Claims 6-7, 15-16, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maniktala et al. (US 2017/0353061 A1) in view of Satoh et al. (US 2007/0222441 A1).
In regards to claim 6, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, the wireless power apparatus of claim 5, wherein the elongated core member (110) includes ferrous material (Par 0020) and the elongated receiver coil (112, 114) but does not disclose further comprises: a first end member connected to a first end of the elongated core member; the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the first end of the elongated core member, the first end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member.
However, Satoh discloses, in figure 3, a first end member (first end member of 15 and 17) connected to a first end (left end side of magnetic core 8) of the elongated core member (8); the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion (middle portion between 15 and 17) that is attached to the first end of the elongated core member (left end side of magnetic core 8), the first end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member (Par 0061-0062).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maniktala’s coil structure by including a first end member connected to a first end of the elongated core member; the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the first end of the elongated core member, the first end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member as taught by Satoh in order to achieve further miniaturization of the conventional magnetic sensor element there occurs an idea of shortening the length of the element in the longitudinal direction (Satoh; Par 0019).
In regards to claim 7, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, the wireless power apparatus of claim 6, wherein the elongated receiver coil (112, 114) but does not disclose further comprises: a second end member connected to a second end of the elongated core member opposite the first end; the second end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the second end of the elongated core member, the second end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member.
However, Satoh discloses, in figure 3, a second end member (second end member of 16 and 18) connected to a second end of the elongated core member opposite the first end (right end side of magnetic core 8); the second end member being an elongated member having a middle portion (middle portion between 16 and 18) that is attached to the second end of the elongated core member (right end side of magnetic core 8), the second end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member (Par 0061-0062).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maniktala’s coil structure by including a second end member connected to a second end of the elongated core member opposite the first end; the second end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the second end of the elongated core member, the second end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member as taught by Satoh in order to achieve further miniaturization of the conventional magnetic sensor element there occurs an idea of shortening the length of the element in the longitudinal direction (Satoh; Par 0019).
In regards to claim 15, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, the method for constructing a wireless power apparatus of claim 14, wherein the elongated core member (110) includes ferrous material (Par 0020) and the elongated receiver coil (112, 114), but does not disclose further comprises: forming a first end member connected to a first end of the elongated core member; the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the elongated core member, the first end member including a ferrous material being magnetically coupled to the elongated core member.
However, Satoh discloses, in figure 3, forming a first end member (first end member of 15 and 17) connected to a first end (left end side of magnetic core 8) of the elongated core member (8); the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion (middle portion between 15 and 17) that is attached to the elongated core member (left end side of magnetic core 8), the first end member including a ferrous material being magnetically coupled to the elongated core member (Par 0061-0062).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maniktala’s coil structure by including forming a first end member connected to a first end of the elongated core member; the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the elongated core member, the first end member including a ferrous material being magnetically coupled to the elongated core member as taught by Satoh in order to achieve further miniaturization of the conventional magnetic sensor element there occurs an idea of shortening the length of the element in the longitudinal direction (Satoh; Par 0019).
In regards to claim 16, Maniktala and Satoh disclose the method for constructing a wireless power apparatus of claim 15. Satoh further discloses, in figure 3, wherein the elongated receiver coil (3) further comprises: forming a second end member (second end member of 16 and 18) connected to a second end of the elongated core member opposite the first end (right end side of magnetic core 8); the second end member being an elongated member having a middle portion (middle portion between 16 and 18) that is attached to the second end of the elongated core member (right end side of magnetic core 8), the second end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member (Par 0061-0062).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maniktala’s coil structure by including wherein the elongated receiver coil further comprises: forming a second end member connected to a second end of the elongated core member opposite the first end; the second end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the second end of the elongated core member, the second end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member as taught by Satoh in order to achieve further miniaturization of the conventional magnetic sensor element there occurs an idea of shortening the length of the element in the longitudinal direction (Satoh; Par 0019).
In regards to claim 24, Maniktala discloses, in figure 1, the wireless power system of claim 23, wherein at least one of: the elongated core member long axis (118) is aligned with the transmitter coil radial axis (radial axis of planar transmitter coil 122) (Par 0021; the elongated core member long axis 118 is aligned with the planar transmitter coil 122 radial axis), the elongated core member (110) includes one of a ferrous material and a non-ferrous material (Par 0020), the elongated core member (110) includes ferrous material (Par 0020).
Maniktala does not disclose the elongated receiver coil is positioned to at least partially overlap the transmitting region.
However, Maniktala discloses, in another embodiment, in figure 6A, wherein the elongated receiver coil (612, 614, 616) is positioned to at least partially overlap the transmitting region (640) (Par 0032-0033; “third coil 616 is shown spaced apart from both first coil 612 and second coil 614, an embodiment of coil structure 600 where third coil 616 partially or completely overlaps first coil 612 and second coil 614 is within the scope of the invention”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maniktala’s coil structure by including wherein the elongated receiver coil is positioned to at least partially overlap the transmitting region as taught by Maniktala in order to provide inductive wireless power transfer and more specifically to coil structures for alignment and inductive wireless power transfer (Maniktala; Par 0002).
Further, Maniktala does not disclose the elongated receiver coil further comprises: a first end member connected to a first end of the elongated core member; the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the first end of the elongated core member, wherein the first end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member, and the elongated receiver coil further comprises: a second end member connected to a second end of the elongated core member opposite the elongated core member first end; the second end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the second end of the elongated core member, wherein the second end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member.
However, Satoh discloses, in figure 3, the elongated receiver coil (3) further comprises: a first end member (first end member of 15 and 17) connected to a first end (left end side of magnetic core 8) of the elongated core member (8); the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion (middle portion between 15 and 17) that is attached to the first end of the elongated core member (left end side of magnetic core 8), wherein the first end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member (Par 0061-0062), and the elongated receiver coil (3) further comprises: a second end member (second end member of 16 and 18) connected to a second end of the elongated core member opposite the elongated core member first end (right end side of magnetic core 8); the second end member being an elongated member having a middle portion (middle portion between 16 and 18) that is attached to the second end of the elongated core member (right end side of magnetic core 8), wherein the second end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member (Par 0061-0062).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maniktala’s coil structure by including a first end member connected to a first end of the elongated core member; the first end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the first end of the elongated core member, wherein the first end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member, and the elongated receiver coil further comprises: a second end member connected to a second end of the elongated core member opposite the elongated core member first end; the second end member being an elongated member having a middle portion that is attached to the second end of the elongated core member, wherein the second end member includes a ferrous material and is magnetically coupled to the elongated core member as taught by Satoh in order to achieve further miniaturization of the conventional magnetic sensor element there occurs an idea of shortening the length of the element in the longitudinal direction (Satoh; Par 0019).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13, 17-22, 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836