DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be changed to “at least two second connector head which has a function different from those of the first connector heads” since claim 1 later states “both connector heads of the second pair of the connector heads positioned between the first pair of the connector heads”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 7 “the connector heads each are either a first connector head capable of supplying electric power or a second connector head for signal transmission” is unclear.
Fig. 3, shows connector heads 22a, 22b that are only for signal transmission (terminals 26) and connector heads 21a, 21b that are capable of suppling electric power (terminals 25) and for signal transmission (terminals 26).
The limitation is unclear since connector heads 21a-b are capable of both suppling electric power and for signal transmission. Connector heads 21a-b satisfy both functions and therefore can not be only for power supply or only for signal transmission, as the claim requires. Claims 10 and 14-15 are rejected since they depend on claim 7.
In claim 14 “a terminal capable of supplying electric power and a terminal for signal transmission are integrated into the first connector head.” is unclear.
Claim 7 recites the connector heads are either a first connector head capable of supplying electric power or a second connector head for signal transmission.
It is unclear how the first connector head has terminals for electric power supply and signal transmission when claim 7 requires the connector head is for power supply or signal transmission.
In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the limitation as terminals for power supply or signal transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akutsu (US20210111659, “Akutsu”).
Re claim 1, Akutsu discloses an electric motor drive control device comprising:
an electric motor having a plurality of independent windings (fig 3);
an electronic control unit 3 configured to control driving of the electric motor (figs 1-3);
a plurality of first connector heads 6a-b to which external terminals are attached (figs 1-3, [0019]); and
at least one second connector head 5a-b which has a function different from those of the first connector heads 6a-b (figs 1-3, [0017]), and to which an external terminal is attached (figs 1-3, [0017]),
wherein one of the plurality of first connector heads 6a forms a first pair of connector heads with another of the plurality of first connector head 6b or with the second connector head (fig 2), the first pair of the connector heads facing each other with an axial line of a motor rotation shaft 2 of the electric motor therebetween (figs 1-2),
wherein one of the plurality of first connector heads or the second connector head 5a forms a second pair of the connector heads with another of the plurality of first connector heads or the second connector head 5b (fig 2, claim 1 recites “at least one second connector head”), both connector heads 5a-b of the second pair of the connector heads positioned between the first pair of the connector heads so as to face each other with the axial line of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor therebetween (figs 1-2), and
wherein a terminal of at least one of the second pair of the connector heads 5a-b positioned between the first pair of the connector heads 6a-b is arranged at a position facing the first pair of the connector heads 6a-b (figs 2 & below, [0020], at least a corner of the terminals of 5a-b as indicated below).
Re claim 2, Akutsu discloses claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the plurality of first connector heads 6a-b and the second connector head 5a-b each have a rectangular outer shape in cross section (fig 2), and wherein the plurality of first connector head or the second connector 5a-b head positioned between the pair of the connector heads 6a-b is arranged such that different surfaces thereof face the respective pair of the connector heads 6a-b (fig 2).
Re claim 6, Akutsu discloses an electric motor drive control device comprising:
an electric motor having a plurality of independent windings (fig 3);
an electronic control unit 3 configured to control driving of the electric motor (figs 1-3);
at least four connector heads 5a-b, 6a-b to which external terminals are attached (figs 1-3, [0017 & [0019]);
a first connector head group 6a-b which is a group of a pair of the connector heads which face each other with an axial line of a motor rotation shaft 2 of the electric motor therebetween (figs 1-2); and
a second connector head group 5a-b which is a group of the connector heads which are different from those of the first connector head group 6a-b and face each other with the axial line of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor therebetween (fig 2, [0017] & [0019]),
wherein the connector heads of the second connector head group 5a-b are arranged such that at least a part of each of them faces at least one of the connector heads of the first connector head group 6a-b (fig 2),
wherein each of connector heads of the second connector head group 5a-b is positioned between the first connector head group 6a-b, and
wherein a terminal of at least one of the connector heads of the second connector head group 5a-b positioned between the first connector head group 6a-b is arranged at a position facing the connector heads of the first connector head group 6a-b (figs 2 & above for claim 1, [0020], at least a corner of the terminals of 5a-b as indicated above in claim 1).
Re claim 7, Akutsu discloses claim 6 as discussed above and further discloses the connector heads each are either a first connector head capable of supplying electric power (figs 2-3, [0017], 5a-b; “a first connector head” indicates the 1st connector head can be different from a connector head of the 1st connector head group) and a second connector head for signal transmission (figs 2-3, [0019], 6a-b, “a second connector head” indicates the 2nd connector head can be different from a connector head of the 2nd connector head group), and
wherein the connector heads of each of the first connector head group 6a-b and the second connector head group 5a-b are formed by any of a combination of the first connector head and the second connector head, a combination of only the first connector heads 5a-b and a combination of only the second connector heads 6a-b (fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akutsu in view of Yamamoto (US20190312491, “Yamamoto”).
Re claim 10, Akutsu discloses claim 7 as discussed above but is silent with respect to each of the first connector head and the second connector head has a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, and positions of the respective coupling parts of a plurality of the first connector heads along an axial line direction of the rotation shaft of the electric motor are different from each other.
Yamamoto discloses each of the first connector head 355, 356 and the second connector head 357, 358 has a coupling part 395-398 which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals (figs 2-4, [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure each of the first connector head and the second connector head of Akutsu to have a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, as disclosed by Yamamoto, in order to engage and/or lock the external terminals to the first and second connector heads, as taught by Yamamoto ([0060]).
It is pointed out that Akutsu in view of Yamamoto disclose the positions of the respective coupling parts of a plurality of the first connector heads along an axial line direction of the rotation shaft of the electric motor are different from each other since: Akutsu discloses first connector head 5a has a height along an axial line direction of the rotation shaft of the electric motor that is different from the height of first connector head 5b; and Yamamoto discloses providing the coupling parts 395-398 near the top of the first and second connector heads (figs 2 & 4).
Re claim 13, Akutsu discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to a connector head member provided with the first connector heads and the second connector head, wherein the first connector heads and the second connector head each include a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, and wherein the coupling part is provided at a part of each of the first connector heads or a part of the second connector head, the part facing an outer peripheral edge side of the connector head member.
Yamamoto discloses a connector head member 350 provided with the first connector heads 357, 358 and the second connector heads 355, 356 (figs 2-3, [0051]),
wherein the first connector head and the second connector head each include a coupling part 395-398 which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals (figs 2-4, [0060]), and
wherein the coupling part 395-398 is provided at a part of each of the first connector head 357, 358 or a part of the second connector head 355, 356, the part facing an outer peripheral edge side of the connector head member 350 (fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second connector head of Akutsu with a connector head member provided with the first connector head and the second connector head, wherein the first connector head and the second connector head each include a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, and wherein the coupling part is provided at a part of each of the first connector head or a part of the second connector head, the part facing an outer peripheral edge side of the connector head member, as disclosed by Yamamoto, in order to reduce the space needed for the connectors ([0066]); and to engage and/or lock the external terminals to the first and second connector heads, as taught by Yamamoto ([0060]), as taught by Yamamoto.
Re claim 15, Akutsu discloses claim 7 as discussed above but is silent with respect to a connector head member provided with the first connector head and the second connector head, the first connector head and the second connector head each include a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, and wherein the coupling part is provided at a part of each of the first connector head or a part of the second connector head, the part facing an outer peripheral edge side of the connector head member.
Yamamoto discloses a connector head member 350 provided with the first connector head 355, 356 and the second connector head 357, 358 (figs 2-3, [0051]),
wherein the first connector head and the second connector head each include a coupling part 395-398 which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals (figs 2-4, [0060]), and
wherein the coupling part 395-398 is provided at a part of each of the first connector head 355, 356 or a part of the second connector head 357, 358, the part facing an outer peripheral edge side of the connector head member 350 (fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second connector head of Akutsu with a connector head member provided with the first connector head and the second connector head, wherein the first connector head and the second connector head each include a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, and wherein the coupling part is provided at a part of each of the first connector head or a part of the second connector head, the part facing an outer peripheral edge side of the connector head member, as disclosed by Yamamoto, in order to reduce the space needed for the connectors ([0066]); and to engage and/or lock the external terminals to the first and second connector heads, as taught by Yamamoto ([0060]), as taught by Yamamoto.
Claims 1, 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (US20210339794, “Kawaguchi”) in view of Akutsu.
Re claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses an electric motor drive control device comprising:
an electric motor having a plurality of independent windings (figs 2-5);
an electronic control unit 10 configured to control driving of the electric motor (figs 1-6);
a plurality of first connector heads to which external terminals are attached (figs 1-3, 7, 10 & below, [0053] & [0069], embodiment of fig 10 discloses “the connector portion 381 is not limited to two, and may be three or four or more”; employing embodiment of fig 10 with four connector portions/connector heads but has same configuration as figs 1-7 except for 3rd & 4th connectors; first connector heads are the two radially outer connector heads-similar to 382 & 384 in fig 10),
at least one second connector head (figs 10 & below, [0069], two connector heads radially inside first connector heads), and to which an external terminal is attached (inherent for connector),
wherein one of the plurality of first connector heads forms a first pair of connector heads with another of the plurality of first connector head or with the second connector head (figs 10 & below), the first pair of the connector heads facing each other with an axial line Ax of a motor rotation shaft 87 of the electric motor therebetween (figs 2, 10 & below), and
wherein one of the plurality of first connector heads or the second connector head forms a second pair of the connector heads with another of the plurality of first connector heads 383 or the second connector head (figs 10 & below), both connector heads of the second pair of the connector heads positioned between the first pair of the connector heads so as to face each other with the axial line of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor therebetween (figs 10 & below).
Kawaguchi discloses claim 1 except for:
the at least one second connector head has a function different from those of the first connector heads; and
a terminal of at least one of the second pair of the connector heads positioned between the first pair of the connector heads is arranged at a position facing the first pair of the connector heads.
Specifically Kawaguchi does not disclose how the terminals of the embodiment of fig. 10 with four connectors are configured.
Kawaguchi discloses one motor electrical configuration (figs 5-7, two motor windings connected to separate batteries) with two sets of power terminals (121, 131 & 312, 322), two sets of communication terminals (311 & 312) and two sets of steering torque signal terminals (331 & 332). So one in the art would have to configure the terminals of fig. 7 within a four connector configuration.
Akutsu discloses a plurality of first connector heads 5a-b forming two sets of power terminals (figs 2-3, [0017] & [0019]); and
a plurality of second connector heads 6a-b forming two sets of steering torque terminals (figs 2-4, [0026]) and two sets of communication terminals (figs 2-4, [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the terminals of the first and second connector heads of Kawaguchi so two connector heads have electric power supply terminals and the other two connector heads have communication/torque signal terminals, as disclosed by Akutsu, in order to position all the terminals of Kawaguchi within four connector heads, as is known in the art as demonstrated by Akutsu.
Specifically Kawaguchi only discloses two sets of power terminals, two sets of communication terminals and two sets of steering torque signal terminals. Since Kawaguchi does not specify how the terminals are positioned within four connector heads, one in the art would look to other prior art, such as Akutsu for ways of configuring the terminals of Kawaguchi within four connector heads.
Additionally It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to at least try positioning the power terminals in one of the first pair or the second pair of connector heads and the torque sensor/communication terminals in the other of the first pair or second pair of connector heads, as one of a limited number of positions for the terminals within four connector heads.
The connector head configuration of Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu would result in one of the combinations below. As can be understood from the connector head configuration of Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu (positioning connectors of Akutsu in a manner of Kawaguchi):
there are only two positions where the function of the second connector head has a function different from those of the first connector heads (circled combination below); and
a terminal of at least one of the connector heads of the second connector head group positioned between the first connector head group is arranged at a position facing the connector heads of the first connector head group for all possible positions.
Re claim 3, Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu disclose claim 1 as discussed above and further disclose each of the plurality of first connector heads is a connector head capable of supplying electric power (fig above for claim 1, as discussed above for claim 1 one of a limited number of positions for the terminals within four connector heads), and the second connector head is a connector head for signal transmission (fig above for claim 1, as discussed above for claim 1 one of a limited number of positions for the terminals within four connector heads).
Re claim 6, Kawaguchi discloses an electric motor drive control device comprising:
an electric motor having a plurality of independent windings (figs 2-5);
an electronic control unit 10 configured to control driving of the electric motor (figs 1-6);
at least four connector heads to which external terminals are attached (figs 1-3, 7, 10 & above for claim 1, [0053] & [0069], embodiment of fig 10 discloses “the connector portion 381 is not limited to two, and may be three or four or more”; employing fig 10 with four connectors for rejection but has same configuration as figs 1-7 except for 3rd & 4th connectors; first connector heads are the two radially outer connector heads-similar to 382 & 384 in fig 10);
a first connector head group which is a group of a pair of the connector heads which face each other with an axial line Ax of a motor rotation shaft 87 of the electric motor therebetween (figs 2, 10 & above for claim 1-1st pair),
a second connector head group which is a group of the connector heads which are different from those of the first connector head group (fig above for claim 1, different w/ respect to position) and face each other with the axial line Ax of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor therebetween (figs 2, 10 & above for claim 1-2nd pair), and
wherein the connector heads of the second connector head group are arranged such that at least a part of each of them faces at least one of the connector heads of the first connector head group (figs 10 & above for claim 1),
wherein each of the connector heads of the second connector head group is positioned between the first connector head group (figs 10 & above for claim 1).
Kawaguchi discloses claim 6 except for a terminal of at least one of the connector heads of the second connector head group positioned between the first connector head group is arranged at a position facing the connector heads of the first connector head group.
Specifically Kawaguchi does not disclose how the terminals of fig. 7 are distributed within four connectors.
Kawaguchi further discloses one motor electrical configuration (figs 5-7, two motor windings connected to separate batteries) with two sets of power terminals (121, 131 & 312, 322), two sets of communication terminals (311 & 312) and two sets of steering torque signal terminals (331 & 332).
Akutsu discloses a first connector head group 5a-b forming two sets of power terminals (figs 2-3, [0017] & [0019]); and
a second connector head group 6a-b forming two sets of steering torque terminals (figs 2-4, [0026]) and two sets of communication terminals (figs 2-4, [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the terminals of the first and second connector head group of Kawaguchi so one connector head group has electric power supply terminals and the other connector head group has communication/torque signal terminals, as disclosed by Akutsu, in order to position all the terminals of Kawaguchi within four connector heads, as is known in the art as demonstrated by Akutsu.
Specifically Kawaguchi only discloses two sets of power terminals, two sets of communication terminals and two sets of steering torque signal terminals. Since Kawaguchi does not specify how the terminals are positioned within four connector heads, one in the art would look to other prior art, such as Akutsu for ways of configuring the terminals of Kawaguchi within four connector heads.
The connector head configuration of Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu would result in one of the combinations below. As can be understood from the connector head configuration of Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu (positioning connectors of Akutsu in a manner of Kawaguchi), a terminal of at least one of the connector heads of the second connector head group positioned between the first connector head group is arranged at a position facing the connector heads of the first connector head group for all possible positions.
Additionally it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to at least try positioning the power terminals and the torque sensor/communication terminals in one of the terminal configurations shown above, as one of a limited number of positions for the terminals within four connector heads.
Re claim 7, Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu discloses claim 6 as discussed above and further discloses the connector heads each are either a first connector head capable of supplying electric power (Akutsu, [0017] & [0019) or a second connector head for signal transmission (Akutsu, [0019] & [0026]), and
wherein the connector heads of each of the first connector head group and the second connector head group are formed by any of a combination of the first connector head and the second connector head (fig above for claim 6, as discussed above for claim 6 another of a limited number of positions for the terminals within four connector heads), a combination of only the first connector heads (fig above for claim 6, as discussed above for claim 6 one of a limited number of positions for the terminals within four connector heads) and a combination of only the second connector heads (fig above for claim 6, as discussed above for claim 6 one of a limited number of positions for the terminals within four connector heads).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu.
Re claim 8, Kawaguchi discloses an electric motor drive control device comprising:
an electric motor having a plurality of independent windings (figs 2-5);
an electronic control unit 10 configured to control driving of the electric motor (figs 1-6);
a plurality of connector heads to which external terminals are attached (figs 1-3, 7, 10 & above for claim 1, [0053] & [0069], embodiment of fig 10 discloses “the connector portion 381 is not limited to two, and may be three or four or more”; employing fig 10 with four connectors for rejection but has same configuration as figs 1-7 except for 3rd & 4th connectors),
wherein the plurality of the connector heads forms two pairs of the connector heads (fig above for claim 1),
wherein a first pair of the connector heads faces each other with the axial line of the motor rotation shaft Ax of the electric motor therebetween (figs 10 & above for claim 1), and a second pair of the connector heads is positioned between the first pair of the connector heads so as to face each other with the axial line Ax of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor therebetween figs 10 & above for claim 1).
Kawaguchi discloses claim 8 except for:
each of the connector heads includes a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals;
positions of the respective coupling parts of the connector heads are different from each other along an axial line direction of a rotation shaft of the electric motor; and
a terminal of the second pair of the connector heads is arranged at a position facing the first pair of the connector heads.
Togawa discloses each of the connector heads 61a-b includes a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals (figs 1-2 & below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure each of the connector heads of Kawaguchi to include a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, as disclosed by Togawa, in order to fixed the external connector to the first connector heads.
Akutsu discloses the connector heads 5a, 5b have different heights along an axial line direction of the motor rotation shaft 2 of the electric motor (figs 1-2, [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the connector heads of Kawaguchi in view of Togawa to have different heights along an axial line direction of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor, as disclosed by Akutsu, in order to have two power supplies for the motor without increasing the size of the device, as taught by Akutsu ([0007] & [0020]).
It is pointed out that Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu disclose positions of the respective coupling parts of the connector heads are different from each other along an axial line direction of a rotation shaft of the electric motor since: Togawa discloses the coupling parts of the connector heads are near the top of the first connector heads (figs 1-2); and Akutsu discloses the connector heads are different heights (figs 1-2).
Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu disclose claim 8 except for a terminal of the second pair of the connector heads is arranged at a position facing the first pair of the connector heads.
Specifically Kawaguchi does not disclose how the terminals of the embodiment of fig. 10 with four connectors are configured.
Kawaguchi discloses one motor electrical configuration (figs 5-7, two motor windings connected to separate batteries) with two sets of power terminals (121, 131 & 312, 322), two sets of communication terminals (311 & 312) and two sets of steering torque signal terminals (331 & 332). So one in the art would have to configure the terminals of fig. 7 within a four connector configuration.
Akutsu discloses the first pair of connector heads 5a-b forming two sets of power terminals (figs 2-3, [0017] & [0019]); and
the second pair of connector heads 6a-b forming two sets of steering torque terminals (figs 2-4, [0026]) and two sets of communication terminals (figs 2-4, [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the terminals of the first and second pairs of connector heads of Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu so the first pair of connector heads have electric power supply terminals and the other pair of connector heads have communication/torque signal terminals, as disclosed by Akutsu, in order to position all the terminals of Kawaguchi within four connector heads, as is known in the art as demonstrated by Akutsu.
Specifically Kawaguchi only discloses two sets of power terminals, two sets of communication terminals and two sets of steering torque signal terminals. Since Kawaguchi does not specify how the terminals are positioned within four connector heads, one in the art would look to other prior art, such as Akutsu for ways of configuring the terminals of Kawaguchi within four connector heads.
The connector head configuration of Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu would result in one of the combinations above for claim 6. As can be understood from the connector head configuration of Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu (positioning connectors of Akutsu in a manner of Kawaguchi), a terminal of the second pair of the connector heads is arranged at a position facing the first pair of the connector heads.
Re claim 9, Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Kawaguchi is silent with respect to the first connector heads each include a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, and positions of the respective coupling parts of the first connector heads along an axial line direction of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor are different from each other.
Togawa discloses the first connector heads 61a-b each include a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals (figs 1-2 & below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first connector heads of Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu to each include a coupling part which restricts separation from a corresponding one of the external terminals, as disclosed by Togawa, in order to fixed the external connector to the first connector heads.
Akutsu discloses the first connector heads have different heights along an axial line direction of the motor rotation shaft 2 of the electric motor (figs 1-2, [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first connector heads of Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu and Togawa to have different heights along an axial line direction of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor, as disclosed by Akutsu, in order to have two power supplies for the motor without increasing the size of the device, as taught by Akutsu ([0007] & [0020]).
It is pointed out that Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu and Togawa disclose positions of the respective coupling parts of the first connector heads along an axial line direction of the motor rotation shaft of the electric motor are different from each other since: Togawa discloses the coupling parts of the first connector heads are near the top of the first connector heads (figs 1-2); and Akutsu discloses the first connector heads are different heights (figs 1-2).
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu and in further view of Saito et al. (WO2022070935, “”, using machine translation).
Re claims 11, Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu disclose claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to a terminal capable of supplying electric power and a terminal for signal transmission are integrated into each of the first connector heads.
Saito discloses a terminal capable of supplying electric power and a terminal for signal transmission are integrated into each of the first connector heads 361, 362 (fig 22 [0045] & [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first connector heads of Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu with a terminal capable of supplying electric power and a terminal for signal transmission are integrated into each of the first connector heads, as disclosed by Saito, in order to simplify the connector, as taught by Saito ([0045]).
Re claim 14, Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu discloses claim 7 as discussed above, but are silent with respect to a terminal capable of supplying electric power and a terminal for signal transmission are integrated into the first connector head.
Saito discloses a terminal capable of supplying electric power and a terminal for signal transmission are integrated into each of the first connector heads 361, 362 (fig 22 [0045] & [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first connector heads of Kawaguchi in view of Akutsu with a terminal capable of supplying electric power and a terminal for signal transmission are integrated into each of the first connector heads, as disclosed by Saito, in order to simplify the connector, as taught by Saito ([0045]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu and in further view of Saito.
Re claim 12, Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu discloses claim 8 as discussed above but are silent with respect to as each of the connector heads, one in which a terminal capable of supplying electric power for signal transmission are integrated is included.
Saito discloses as each of the connector heads, one in which a terminal capable of supplying electric power for signal transmission are integrated is included 361, 362 (fig 22 [0045] & [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure one of the connector heads of Kawaguchi in view of Togawa and Akutsu so as each of the connector heads, one in which a terminal capable of supplying electric power for signal transmission are integrated is included, as disclosed by Saito, in order to simplify the connector, as taught by Saito ([0045]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamasaki et al. (US20120161590) discloses a connector 79 with terminals for suppling power and signal transmission (figs 20-21, [0125]).
Nishikawa et al. (WO2018025378 & US20200220423) discloses one power connector 3, one signal connector 5 and one torque sensor connector 6 (figs 2 & 4).
Akutsu et al. (JP2017192231) discloses various combinations of power and signal connectors (figs 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18 & 21).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834