DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group I and II include overlapping technical features of providing a battery material powder and a solvent to a reaction vessel to form a first slurry, combining the first slurry with reagents to produce a second slurry that includes coated battery material particles. This is not found persuasive because claim 26 in Group II positively recites a system, a reaction vessel, a rotating agitation device, a first inlet pipe, a second inlet pipe, a third inlet pipe, and a fourth inlet pipe. The liquid-phase deposition process, battery material powder, solvent, first reagent, and second reagent are not positively recited within the claim and therefor provide no overlapping technical feature with claim 1 of Group I. And even if these components were positively recited, they do not make contribution over Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019) which teaches Regarding claim 1, Monnier teaches a method (ALD procedure, see [pg. 1, para. 5]) comprising a liquid-phase deposition process (ALD procedure done in liquid phase, see [pg. 1, para. 5] and [pg. 2, para. 1]) for producing a monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer) on battery material powders (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1], further see Fig. 3 where examples of the particles used in powder substrate is silica which is a battery materials as evidenced by *Murakami below), the method (ALD procedure, see [pg. 1, para. 5]) comprising: providing a battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) to a reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) comprising a number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); providing a solvent (solvent, [pg. 2, para. 1]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) to produce a first slurry (dispersion of powder substrate in solvent, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) comprised of the solvent (solvent, [pg. 2, para. 1]) and the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); providing a first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) comprising at least a first substance (Aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4 shows the silica is covered in a layer of aluminum, see Fig. 2 shows reaction mechanism of aluminum coating on surface) that reacts with the first slurry dispersion of powder substrate in solvent, see [pg. 2, para. 1], see [pg. 2, para. 4] the aluminum reacts on surface of silica) to produce an intermediate slurry (mixture of precursor-saturated surface, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising intermediate battery material particles (particles with precursor-saturated surface, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) having an adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4]), the adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4]) comprising the first substance (Aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4 shows the silica is covered in a layer of aluminum, see Fig. 2 shows reaction mechanism of aluminum coating on surface) adsorbed to surfaces (see [pg. 2, para. 3-4] where the surface is saturated with precursor) of the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); and providing a second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising at least a second substance (material which reacts with aluminum to form coating on silica, see [pg. 2, para. 4 where an example is hydroxyl groups) that reacts with the adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4], see reaction mechanism examples shown in Fig. 2) to produce a second slurry (mixture after both precursor and counter-reactant have been added and mixed, see [pg. 2, para. 3]), the second slurry (mixture after both precursor and counter-reactant have been added and mixed, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material) coated with the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1]). See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
*Murakami et al. (Pub. No. US 20200266440 A1) provides evidence that silica is a battery material as seen in [0262] SiO.sub.2 is a negative electrode active material.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 26-27 and 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Claims 31-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/28/2023, 11/02/2023, and 12/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 26-27 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims have an incorrect status identified and should be listed as withdrawn. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-4, 7-15, 17-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “producing a monolayer film on battery material powders, the method comprising: providing a battery material powder” in claim 1, lines 2-3 is indefinite because it is unclear if the battery material powders first recited are the same or different from the battery material powder later recited. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “producing a monolayer film on a battery material powder, the method comprising: providing the battery material powder”.
Regarding claim(s) 2-4, 7-15, 17-21, and 23, the claim(s) is/are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Monnier teaches a method (ALD procedure, see [pg. 1, para. 5]) comprising a liquid-phase deposition process (ALD procedure done in liquid phase, see [pg. 1, para. 5] and [pg. 2, para. 1]) for producing a monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer) on battery material powders (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1], further see Fig. 3 where examples of the particles used in powder substrate is silica which is a battery materials as evidenced by *Murakami below), the method (ALD procedure, see [pg. 1, para. 5]) comprising: providing a battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) to a reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) comprising a number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); providing a solvent (solvent, [pg. 2, para. 1]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) to produce a first slurry (dispersion of powder substrate in solvent, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) comprised of the solvent (solvent, [pg. 2, para. 1]) and the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); providing a first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) comprising at least a first substance (Aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4 shows the silica is covered in a layer of aluminum, see Fig. 2 shows reaction mechanism of aluminum coating on surface) that reacts with the first slurry dispersion of powder substrate in solvent, see [pg. 2, para. 1], see [pg. 2, para. 4] the aluminum reacts on surface of silica) to produce an intermediate slurry (mixture of precursor-saturated surface, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising intermediate battery material particles (particles with precursor-saturated surface, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) having an adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4]), the adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4]) comprising the first substance (Aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4 shows the silica is covered in a layer of aluminum, see Fig. 2 shows reaction mechanism of aluminum coating on surface) adsorbed to surfaces (see [pg. 2, para. 3-4] where the surface is saturated with precursor) of the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); and providing a second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising at least a second substance (material which reacts with aluminum to form coating on silica, see [pg. 2, para. 4 where an example is hydroxyl groups) that reacts with the adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4], see reaction mechanism examples shown in Fig. 2) to produce a second slurry (mixture after both precursor and counter-reactant have been added and mixed, see [pg. 2, para. 3]), the second slurry (mixture after both precursor and counter-reactant have been added and mixed, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material) coated with the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1]). See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
*Murakami et al. (Pub. No. US 20200266440 A1) provides evidence that silica is a battery material as seen in [0262] SiO.sub.2 is a negative electrode active material.
Regarding claim 2, Monnier teaches wherein a rotating agitation device (magnetic stirrer, see [pg. 6, para. 2]) is disposed within the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), and the method (ALD procedure, see [pg. 1, para. 5]) comprises: activating the rotating agitation device (magnetic stirrer, see [pg. 6, para. 2]) to mix the solvent (solvent, [pg. 2, para. 1]) and the battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) to produce the first slurry (dispersion of powder substrate in solvent, see [pg. 2, para. 1], see [pg. 6, para. 2] the magnetic stirrer is added and stirring is initiated, therefore it is activated to complete the stirring); activating the rotating agitation device (magnetic stirrer, see [pg. 6, para. 2]) to mix the first slurry (dispersion of powder substrate in solvent, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) with the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) to produce the intermediate battery material particles (particles with precursor-saturated surface, see [pg. 2, para. 3], see [pg. 6, para. 2] the magnetic stirrer is added and stirring is initiated, therefore it is activated to complete the stirring); and activating the rotating agitation device (magnetic stirrer, see [pg. 6, para. 2]) to mix the intermediate battery material particles (particles with precursor-saturated surface, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) with the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) to produce the second slurry the second slurry (mixture after both precursor and counter-reactant have been added and mixed, see [pg. 2, para. 3], see [pg. 6, para. 2] the magnetic stirrer is added and stirring is initiated, therefore it is activated to complete the stirring).
Regarding claim 17, Monnier teaches wherein the monolayer film coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) comprises a compound (compound formed by reaction between precursor and counter-reactant, see Fig. 3e-3g, shows examples of compounds of Al.sub.2O.sub.3, AlPO.sub.4, and ZnS) produced by a reaction (see Fig. 2 for example of reaction mechanism) of the adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4], see reaction mechanism examples shown in Fig. 2) and the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]).
Regarding claim 18, Monnier teaches wherein the compound (compound formed by reaction between precursor and counter-reactant, see Fig. 3e-3g, shows examples of compounds of Al.sub.2O.sub.3, AlPO.sub.4, and ZnS) is selected from the list consisting of: (a) binary oxides of type A.sub.xO.sub.y (Al.sub.2O.sub.3, see Fig. 3e), where A is an alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal (see Fig. 3e, Al is a metal), semimetal, metal or metalloid and x and y are stoichiometric coefficients (see Fig. 3e, 2 and 3 are stoichiometric coefficients); (b) ternary oxides of type A.sub.xB.sub.yO.sub.z, where A and B are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (c) quaternary oxides of type A.sub.wB.sub.xC.sub.yO.sub.z, where A, B and C are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and w, x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (d) binary halides of type A.sub.xB.sub.y, where A is an alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid, B is a halogen and x and y are stoichiometric coefficients; (e) ternary halides of type A.sub.xB.sub.yC.sub.z, where A and B are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid, C is a halogen and x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (f) quaternary halides of type A.sub.wB.sub.xC.sub.yD.sub.z, where A, B and C are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid, D is a halogen and w, x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (g) binary nitrides of type A.sub.xN.sub.y, where A is an alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and x and y are stoichiometric coefficients; (h) ternary nitrides of type A.sub.xB.sub.yN.sub.z, where A and B are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (i) quaternary nitrides of type A.sub.wB.sub.xC.sub.yN.sub.z, where A, B and C are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and w, x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (j) binary chalcogenides of type A.sub.xB.sub.y (ZnS, see Fig. 3g), where A is an alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal (see Fig. 3g, Zn is a metal) or metalloid, B is a chalcogen (see Fig. 3g, S is a chalcogen) and x and y are stoichiometric coefficients (see Fig. 3g, the coefficients are 1 and 1 making them stoichiometric coefficients); (k) ternary chalcogenides of type A.sub.xB.sub.yC.sub.z, where A and B are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid, C is a chalcogen and x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (l) quaternary chalcogenides of type A.sub.wB.sub.xC.sub.yD.sub.z, where A, B and C are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid, D is a chalcogen and w, x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (m)binary carbides of type A.sub.xC.sub.y, where A is an alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and x and y are stoichiometric coefficients; (n) binary oxyhalides of type A.sub.xB.sub.yO.sub.z, where A is an alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid, B is a halogen and x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (o) binary arsenides of type A.sub.xAs.sub.y, where A is an alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and x and y are stoichiometric coefficients; (p) ternary arsenides of type A.sub.xB.sub.yAs.sub.z, where A and B are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (q) quaternary arsenides of type A.sub.wB.sub.xC.sub.yAs.sub.z, where A, B and C are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and w, x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; (r) binary phosphates of type A.sub.x(PO.sub.4)y (AlPO.sub.4, see Fig. 3f), where A is an alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal (see Fig. 3f, Aluminum is a metal) or metalloid and x and y are stoichiometric coefficients (see Fig. 3f, the coefficients are 1 and 1 are stoichiometric coefficients); (s) ternary phosphates of type A.sub.xB.sub.y(PO.sub.4).sub.z, where A and B are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients; and (t) quaternary phosphates of type A.sub.wB.sub.xC.sub.y(PO.sub.4).sub.z, where A, B and C are any combination of alkali metal, alkali-earth metal, transition metal, semimetal, metal or metalloid and w, x, y and z are stoichiometric coefficients.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 4 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019).
Regarding claim 4, Monnier fails to teach wherein: at least one of the first reagent or the second reagent has a vapor pressure at 1 atmosphere and at 25° C. from about 1 Pascal (Pa) to about 3000 Pa; and at least one of the first reagent or the second reagent has a decomposition temperature of at least about 50° C.
However, Monnier does teach wherein the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) is trimethylaluminum (TMA, see [pg. 5, para. 6]) and the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) is phosphoric acid (phosphoric acid, see [pg. 5, para. 6]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier such that the precursor is TMA and the counter-reagent is phosphoric acid as Monnier teaches it is known in the art to do so.
Therefore Monnier teaches wherein at least one of the first reagent or the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) has a vapor pressure at 1 atmosphere and at 25° C. from about 1 Pascal (Pa) to about 3000 Pa (about 4 pascals as evidenced by *NIOSH Pocket Guide, see below, this value is taken at 20oC and assumed 1 atm, therefore the Examiner expects the vapor pressure to be slightly above 4 pascals, but the evidence provided by NIOSH Pocket Guide shows it is well within the range); and at least one of the first reagent or the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) has a decomposition temperature of at least about 50° C (>50oC, evidenced by *NIOSH Pocket Guide, the boiling point of phosphoric acid is 415oF or 212oC therefore it is expected the decomposition temperature is above 50oC as the boiling point alone is far above this temperature).
*Evidence provided by NIOSH Pocket Guide (NIOSH Phosphoric Acid, 2019).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1], further see Fig. 3 where examples of the particles used in powder substrate is silica) is a solid electrolyte powder (evidenced by [0044] of *Li et al., SiO.sub.2 nanoparticles are known in the art to be used as a solid electrolyte material, therefore it is considered a solid electrolyte powder) but fails to teach wherein the monolayer film possesses a bulk water diffusivity of <10.sup.-5 cm.sup.2/s, thereby providing a barrier to prevent water from interacting with the number of battery material particles.
However, Monnier does teach wherein the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) is trimethylaluminum (TMA, see [pg. 5, para. 6]) and the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) is phosphoric acid (phosphoric acid, see [pg. 5, para. 6]), and the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer) is aluminum phosphate (aluminum phosphate, see [pg. 5, para. 5]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier such that the precursor is TMA and the counter-reagent is phosphoric acid to form a coating of aluminum phosphate as Monnier teaches it is known in the art to do so.
Therefore Monnier teaches wherein the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer, see modification above where the coating is aluminum phosphate) possesses a bulk water diffusivity of <10.sup.-5 cm.sup.2/s (it is the examiner’s position that aluminum phosphate has a bulk water diffusivity of <10.sup.-5 cm.sup.2/s as evidenced by **Sambasivan et al., see Table 1 shows the oxygen diffusivity of aluminum phosphate is 10.sup.-12 cm.sup.2/s @1400oC, therefore at a lower temperature the diffusivity is expected to be even lower, and therefore if the oxygen diffusivity is 10.sup.-12 cm.sup.2/s @1400oC the water diffusivity is expected to be even less), thereby providing a barrier to prevent water from interacting with the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material, since the diffusivity of water is so low, and the coating is uniform, the coating acts as a barrier preventing water form interacting).
*Evidence provided by Li et al. (Pub. No. US 20200036053 A1).
**Evidence provided by Sambasivan et al. (Pub. No. US 20090064893 A1), Table 1.
Regarding claim 12, Monnier teaches wherein the battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1], further see Fig. 3 where examples of the particles used in powder substrate is silica) is an electrode active material powder (evidenced by [0262] of *Murakami et al., SiO.sub.2 is known in the art to act as a negative electrode active material, therefore it is considered an electrode active material powder) but fails to teach wherein the monolayer film possesses a bulk water diffusivity of <10.sup.-5 cm.sup.2/s, thereby providing a barrier to prevent water from interacting with the number of battery material particles.
However, Monnier does teach wherein the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) is trimethylaluminum (TMA, see [pg. 5, para. 6]) and the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) is phosphoric acid (phosphoric acid, see [pg. 5, para. 6]), and the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer) is aluminum phosphate (aluminum phosphate, see [pg. 5, para. 5]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier such that the precursor is TMA and the counter-reagent is phosphoric acid to form a coating of aluminum phosphate as Monnier teaches it is known in the art to do so.
Therefore Monnier teaches wherein the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer, see modification above where the coating is aluminum phosphate) possesses a bulk water diffusivity of <10.sup.-5 cm.sup.2/s (it is the examiner’s position that aluminum phosphate has a bulk water diffusivity of <10.sup.-5 cm.sup.2/s as evidenced by **Sankar et al., see Table 1 shows the oxygen diffusivity of aluminum phosphate is 10.sup.-12 cm.sup.2/s @1400oC, therefore at a lower temperature the diffusivity is expected to be even lower, and therefore if the oxygen diffusivity is 10.sup.-12 cm.sup.2/s @1400oC the water diffusivity is expected to be even less), thereby providing a barrier to prevent water from interacting with the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material, since the diffusivity of water is so low, and the coating is uniform, the coating acts as a barrier preventing water form interacting).
*Murakami et al. (Pub. No. US 20200266440 A1) provides evidence that silica is a battery material as seen in [0262] SiO.sub.2 is a negative electrode active material.
**Evidence provided by Sankar et al. (Pub. No. US 20090064893 A1), Table 1.
8. Claim(s) 3, 8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (Pub. No. JP 2012033482 A).
Regarding claim 3, Monnier fails to teach wherein at least one of: the number of battery material particles have a d.sub.50 no greater than about 20 micrometers to at least about 0.01 micrometers; or the number of battery material particles have an aspherical geometry.
However, Hwang teaches wherein at least one of: the number of battery material particles (electrode active material particles, see [0035]) have a d.sub.50 no greater than about 20 micrometers to at least about 0.01 micrometers (1 micrometer to 20 micrometers, see [0035]); or the number of battery material particles have an aspherical geometry.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier such that the silica particles have a diameter of 1 micrometer to 20 micrometers as taught by Hwang to ensure the particles are uniformly and continuously coated and prevent non-uniform adsorption to each other (see [0012] of Hwang).
Regarding claim 8, Monnier fails to teach applying one or more heat treatments to the second slurry to generate an additional powder that comprises the number of battery material particles coated with the monolayer film; and forming at least one electrode layer or at least one electrolyte layer of a battery from the additional powder.
However, Monnier does teach wherein the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) is trimethylaluminum (TMA, see [pg. 5, para. 6]) and the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) is phosphoric acid (phosphoric acid, see [pg. 5, para. 6]), and the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer) is aluminum phosphate (aluminum phosphate, see [pg. 5, para. 5]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier such that the precursor is TMA and the counter-reagent is phosphoric acid to form a coating of aluminum phosphate as Monnier teaches it is known in the art to do so.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches applying one or more heat treatments (heat-treated, see [0040]) to the second slurry (particles from step 13 are heated, see [0040], see [0039] the second slurry is electrode material particles coated in aluminum phosphate in solution) to generate an additional powder (particles formed after heat treatment, see [0040] the remaining solvent and reaction products are removed during heat treatment, therefore what remains is a powder of the coated particles) that comprises the number of battery material particles (electrode material particles, see [0040]) coated with the monolayer film (aluminum phosphate layer, see [0040], see [0038] where the coating layer is atomic grade coating layer); and forming at least one electrode layer (negative electrode active material layer, see [0042]) or at least one electrolyte layer of a battery (lithium ion battery, see [0041]) from the additional powder (particles formed after heat treatment, see [0040], see [0042] where the negative electrode active material layer includes negative electrode active material, see [0030] the negative electrode active material is the coated material particles) and wherein the number of battery material particles (electrode material particles, see [0040]) are Li4Ti5O12 (Li4Ti5O12, see [0031]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier to substitute the silica particles as taught by Monnier for the Li4Ti5O12 as taught by Hwang as an art effective equivalent active material particle for using as a negative electrode active material particle coated with aluminum phosphate (see [0042] of Hwang) and exhibiting excellent stability even at high temperatures (see [0012] of Hwang).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier to add a heat treatment step to form a powder of coated particles and use the particles to form an electrode for a lithium ion battery as taught by Hwang to ensure adhering the aluminum phosphate coating to the surface of the electrode active material particles (see [0040] of Hwang) and exhibit excellent stability even at high temperatures (see [0012] of Hwang).
Regarding claim 13, Monnier fails to teach wherein the battery material powder is a cathode active material powder and the monolayer film possesses a bulk oxygen diffusivity of <10.sup.-8 cm.sup.2/s, thereby providing a barrier to prevent oxygen from interacting with the number of battery material particles.
However, Monnier does teach wherein the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) is trimethylaluminum (TMA, see [pg. 5, para. 6]) and the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) is phosphoric acid (phosphoric acid, see [pg. 5, para. 6]), and the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer) is aluminum phosphate (aluminum phosphate, see [pg. 5, para. 5]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier such that the precursor is TMA and the counter-reagent is phosphoric acid to form a coating of aluminum phosphate as Monnier teaches it is known in the art to do so.
Therefore Monnier teaches wherein the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer, see modification above where the coating is aluminum phosphate) possesses a bulk oxygen diffusivity of <10.sup.-8 cm.sup.2/s (it is the examiner’s position that aluminum phosphate has a bulk oxygen diffusivity of <10.sup.-8 cm.sup.2/s as evidenced by *Sankar et al., see Table 1 shows the oxygen diffusivity of aluminum phosphate is 10.sup.-12 cm.sup.2/s @1400oC, therefore at a lower temperature the diffusivity is expected to be even lower), thereby providing a barrier to prevent oxygen from interacting with the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material, since the diffusivity of oxygen is so low, and the coating is uniform, the coating acts as a barrier preventing oxygen form interacting).
In a similar field of endeavor, Hwang teaches wherein the battery material powder (electrode active material particles, see [0036] where the particles are added to mixture, therefore the plurality of particles is considered a powder) is a cathode active material powder (positive electrode active material particles, see [0015-0016] where the electrode active material particles are positive electrode active material particles).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier to substitute the silica particles for a positive electrode active material particle as taught by Hwang as an art effective equivalent electrode active material particle for being coated with aluminum phosphate (see [0015] where the positive electrode active material composite material is positive electrode active material particles coated in aluminum phosphate) and exhibiting excellent stability even at high temperatures (see [0012] of Hwang).
*Evidence provided by Sankar et al. (Pub. No. US 20090064893 A1), Table 1.
9. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mettler Toledo (In Situ Process FTIR, 2017).
Regarding claim 7, Monnier fails to teach monitoring formation of non-volatile byproducts that are at least partially soluble in the solvent during the liquid phase deposition process with an in-situ reaction probe.
However, Mettler Toledo teaches monitoring formation of non-volatile byproducts (follows formation and consumption of key species, see Fast Quantitative Analysis on pg. 1 where the ReactIRTM 45P is able to monitor products, intermediates, and reactions processes, therefore it is the examiner’s position it would be able to monitor formation of non-volatile byproducts) that are at least partially soluble in the solvent (can monitor virtually any reaction, see Any Reaction at Any Scale, the probes can monitor virtually any reaction therefore formation of any byproduct) during the liquid phase deposition process (can monitor virtually any reaction, see Any Reaction at Any Scale, the probes can monitor virtually any reaction therefore formation of any byproduct) with an in-situ reaction probe (Real-time in situ IR analysis, see Fast Quantitative Analysis, see Any Reaction at Any Scale, the monitoring is done using probes).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier to add a ReactIRTM 45P and probes as taught by Mettler Toledo for a comprehensive understanding and control of reactions (see Fast Quantitative Analysis of Mettler Toldeo).
10. Claim(s) 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No. US 20190148716 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Monnier fails to teach recovering a portion of the solvent after the second slurry is formed with an efficiency of at least about 90%.
However, Zhang teaches recovering a portion of the solvent (organic solvent is recovered to recycle, see [0066]) after the second slurry (mixed liquor, see [0065]) is formed with an efficiency of at least about 90% (100%, see [0076] where solvent was volatilized completely, see [0066] the organic solvent is recovered after volatilization).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier to add a step of volatilization and filtering as taught by Zhang to recycle the solvent and reduce production cost (see [0066] of Zheng).
Regarding claim 15, Monnier teaches wherein a pressure (pressure, [pg. 2, para. 1]) within the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) is about 1 atm (room temperature and pressure, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), but fails to teach wherein at least one of the first slurry, the intermediate battery material particles, or the second slurry are heated in the reaction vessel to a temperature from about 30° C. to about 300° C. during the liquid-phase deposition process.
However Zhang teaches wherein at least one of the first slurry, the intermediate battery material particles, or the second slurry (mixed liquor, see [0065]) are heated (volatilization by heating, see [0064]) in the reaction vessel (see [0064] the container the material is heated in is the reaction vessel) to a temperature from about 30° C. to about 300° C (40-60oC, see [0064]). during the liquid-phase deposition process (see [0024] the method is coating a sulfur material in a liquid mixture on a host material, therefore it is a liquid phase deposition process), and recovering a portion of the solvent (organic solvent is recovered to recycle, see [0066]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier to heat the second slurry to 40-60oC and recycling the solvent as taught by Zhang to reduce the production cost (see [0066] of Zhang).
11. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chemical Book (Chemical Book Trimethylaluminum, 2018).
Regarding claim 1, Monnier teaches wherein at least one of the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) or the second reagent include a solution (TMA solution, see [pg. 6, para. 2] where the TMA precursor is added as a TMA solution of TMA diluted with DBE) comprising a material (TMA, see [pg. 6, para. 2]) including a metal (aluminum, see [pg. 6, para. 2] where the solution comprises TMA which includes aluminum) and an organic moiety (trimethyl, see [pg. 6, para. 2] where the solution comprises TMA, which includes an organic moiety of trimethyl), the solution being diluted (see [pg. 6, para. 2] where the solution is diluted by adding DBE) and an undiluted form of the solution does ignite when in contact with ambient air (TMA is a known pyrophoric component, therefore undiluted/pure TMA would ignite in ambient air), but fails to teach the solution being diluted such that the solution does not ignite when in contact with ambient air.
However, Chemical Book teaches the solution (TMA in hydrocarbon solvent, see [pg. 2 Outline]) being diluted (diluted below 25%, see [pg. 2, Outline]) such that the solution (TMA in hydrocarbon solvent, see [pg. 2 Outline]) does not ignite when in contact with ambient air (see [pg. 2, Outline] where a solution of TMA in hydrocarbon diluted to 25% loses its spontaneous combustion).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier such that the TMA solution is diluted to 25% as taught by Chemical Book to prevent trimethylaluminum from spontaneously combusting (see [pg. 2, Outline] of Chemical Book).
12. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schramm (Pub. No. DE 102019203548 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Monnier teaches wherein: the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) includes a metalorganic (TMA, see [pg. 6, para. 2] gives a specific example where the precursor includes TMA) comprising an organic moiety (trimethyl, see [pg. 6, para. 2] gives a specific example where the precursor includes TMA, which includes an organic moiety of trimethyl) and a metal (Aluminum, see [pg. 6, para. 2] gives a specific example where the precursor includes TMA, which includes aluminum) comprising at least one of Al (Aluminum, see [pg. 6, para. 2] gives a specific example where the precursor includes TMA, which includes aluminum), Zn, Si, Ti, Zr, Hf, Mn, or V; but fails to teach the compound is composed of at least one or more metalcone polymers; and the second reagent includes one or more organic molecules comprising at least one of ethylene glycol, glycerol, erythritol, xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, butanediol, pentanediol, penterythritol, hydroquinone, phloroglucinol, hexanediol, lactic acid, triethanolamine, p-phenylenediamine, glycidol, caprolactone, fumaric acid, aminophenol, ethylene diamine, 4,4′-oxydianiline, diethylenetriamine, ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA), tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane, melamine, or diamino diphenyl ether.
However, Schramm teaches the second reagent (precursor, see [0028], further see [0031] gives specific combination of TMA and ethylene glycol) includes one or more organic molecules (ethylene glycol, see [0031]) comprising at least one of ethylene glycol (ethylene glycol, see [0031], further see [0040]), glycerol, erythritol, xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, butanediol, pentanediol, penterythritol, hydroquinone, phloroglucinol, hexanediol, lactic acid, triethanolamine, p-phenylenediamine, glycidol, caprolactone, fumaric acid, aminophenol, ethylene diamine, 4,4′-oxydianiline, diethylenetriamine, ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA), tris(hydroxymethyl)aminomethane, melamine, or diamino diphenyl ether.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Monnier such that the counter-reactant as taught by Schramm as an art effective equivalent counter-reactant for the similar purpose of forming a coating on a silicon based material (see [0026] of Schramm) and reduce capacity loss and enhance charging capacity (see [0024] of Schramm).
Therefore, Monnier in view of Schramm teaches wherein the compound (compound formed by reaction between precursor and counter-reactant) is composed of at least one or more metalcone polymers (combination of TMA and ethylene glycol is expected to form an alucone polymer as evidenced by Fig. 1 of *Dameron et al.).
*Additional Evidence provided by Dameron et al. (Chemistry of Material, 2008).
13. Claim(s) 1, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Pub. No. US 20170338490 A1) in view of Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao teaches a method comprising producing a monolayer film (polymeric ultrathin conformal coating, see [0051] where the process is formed through ALD or MLD, therefore it is a monolayer film, the examiner would like to note the film is multiple layers, but each layer is a monolayer film so the mapping is for a single layer) on battery material powders (negative electrode material, see [0051], see [0045] the active material is a plurality of particles of nanometers size, therefore it is the examiners opinion the material is a powder form), the method comprising: providing a battery material powder (negative electrode material, see [0051]) to a reaction vessel (ALD reactor, see [0052] where the process takes place in a reactor, therefore the negative electrode material must be introduced to the reactor), the battery material powder (negative electrode material, see [0051]) comprising a number of battery material particles (individual particles that make up the negative electrode material, see [0051], see [0045] where it is made of a plurality of individual particles); providing a first reagent to the reaction vessel (first precursor/initiator, see [0052], see [0056] the first precursor is the initiator, see [0051] all the processes can be completed via ALD), the first reagent (first precursor/initiator, see [0052], see [0056] the first precursor is the initiator) comprising at least a first substance (portion of first precursor that reacts with surface of negative electrode material, see [0053]) that reacts with the battery material particles (negative electrode material, see [0051]) to produce intermediate battery material particles (negative electrode material with first precursor reacted with active groups on surface, see [0053]) having an adsorbed partial layer (first precursor reacted on surface, see [0053]), the adsorbed partial layer (first precursor reacted on surface, see [0053]) comprising the first substance (portion of first precursor that reacts with surface of negative electrode material, see [0053]) adsorbed to surfaces (see [0053] where the first precursor reacts with surface, therefore adsorbed to surface) of the number of battery material particles (individual particles that make up the negative electrode material, see [0051], see [0045] where it is made of a plurality of individual particles); and providing a second reagent (second precursor/monomer, see [0052], see [0056] where the second precursor is also called a monomer, see [0051] where the polymerization can be completed in ALD) to the reaction vessel (ALD reactor, see [0052]), the second reagent (second precursor/monomer, see [0052], see [0056] where the second precursor is also called a monomer) comprising at least a second substance (portion of second precursor that reacts with first precursor on surface of negative electrode material to polymerize to form the coating, see [0053]) that reacts with the adsorbed partial layer (first precursor reacted on surface, see [0053]) to produce the number of battery material particles (individual particles that make up the negative electrode material, see [0051], see [0045] where it is made of a plurality of individual particles) coated with the monolayer film (polymeric ultrathin conformal coating, see [0051] where the process is formed through ALD or MLD, therefore it is a monolayer film, the examiner would like to note the film is multiple layers, but each layer is a monolayer film so the mapping is for a single layer), however Xiao fails to teach wherein the method comprises a liquid-phase deposition process, providing a solvent to the reaction vessel to produce a first slurry comprised of the solvent and the number of battery material particles; the first substance reacting with the battery material particles to produce a first slurry to produce an intermediate slurry comprising intermediate battery material particles, and the second substance reacting with the absorbed partial layer to produce a second slurry, the second slurry comprising the number of battery material particles coated with the monolayer film.
However, Monnier teaches a method (ALD procedure, see [pg. 1, para. 5]) comprising a liquid-phase deposition process (ALD procedure done in liquid phase, see [pg. 1, para. 5] and [pg. 2, para. 1]) for producing a monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1], these coatings are ALD coatings, therefore create monolayers, further see [pg. 2, para. 4] describes a monolayer) on battery material powders (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1], further see Fig. 3 where examples of the particles used in powder substrate is silica which is a battery materials as evidenced by *Murakami below), the method (ALD procedure, see [pg. 1, para. 5]) comprising: providing a battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) to a reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the battery material powder (powder substrate, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) comprising a number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); providing a solvent (solvent, [pg. 2, para. 1]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) to produce a first slurry (dispersion of powder substrate in solvent, see [pg. 2, para. 1]) comprised of the solvent (solvent, [pg. 2, para. 1]) and the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); providing a first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the first reagent (precursor, see [pg. 2, para. 3) comprising at least a first substance (Aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4 shows the silica is covered in a layer of aluminum, see Fig. 2 shows reaction mechanism of aluminum coating on surface) that reacts with the first slurry dispersion of powder substrate in solvent, see [pg. 2, para. 1], see [pg. 2, para. 4] the aluminum reacts on surface of silica) to produce an intermediate slurry (mixture of precursor-saturated surface, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising intermediate battery material particles (particles with precursor-saturated surface, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) having an adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4]), the adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4]) comprising the first substance (Aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4 shows the silica is covered in a layer of aluminum, see Fig. 2 shows reaction mechanism of aluminum coating on surface) adsorbed to surfaces (see [pg. 2, para. 3-4] where the surface is saturated with precursor) of the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material); and providing a second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) to the reaction vessel (round-bottom flask, see [pg. 2, para. 1]), the second reagent (counter-reactant, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising at least a second substance (material which reacts with aluminum to form coating on silica, see [pg. 2, para. 4 where an example is hydroxyl groups) that reacts with the adsorbed partial layer (monolayer of aluminum, see [pg. 2, para. 4], see reaction mechanism examples shown in Fig. 2) to produce a second slurry (mixture after both precursor and counter-reactant have been added and mixed, see [pg. 2, para. 3]), the second slurry (mixture after both precursor and counter-reactant have been added and mixed, see [pg. 2, para. 3]) comprising the number of battery material particles (silica, [pg. 2, para. 2], further see Fig. 3 the examples given show silica particles make up the powder material) coated with the monolayer film (coating, see [pg. 2, para. 1]). See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
*Murakami et al. (Pub. No. US 20200266440 A1) provides evidence that silica is a battery material as seen in [0262] SiO.sub.2 is a negative electrode active material.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xiao such that the ALD process is performed through liquid phase atomic layer deposition method as taught by Monnier to avoid excess of precursors (see [pg. 1, para. 5] of Monnier), while achieving similar coating qualities to gas-phase ALD and ensure high quality coatings (see [pg. 2, para. 1]). Further Xiao teaches that modifications can be made (see [0067] of Xiao) and completed using wet chemistry (see [0051] of Xiao).
Regarding claim 17, Xiao in view of Monnier teaches wherein the monolayer film (polymeric ultrathin conformal coating, see [0051]) comprises a compound (polymer of the coating, see [0051] where the coating is a polymeric coating) produced by a reaction of the adsorbed partial layer (first precursor reacted on surface, see [0053]) and the second reagent (second precursor/monomer, see [0052], see [0056] where the second precursor is also called a monomer).
Regarding claim 19, Xiao in view of Monnier teaches wherein the compound (polymer of the coating, see [0051] where the coating is a polymeric coating) is composed of one or more of the following polymers: polyethylene oxide (PEO) (polyethylene oxide, see [0057]), poly vinyl alcohol (PVA), poly methyl methacrylate (PMMA), poly dimethyl siloxane (PDMS) (cyclic dimethyl siloxane, see [0056], as it is a coating of this material it is considered a poly cyclic dimethyl siloxane), poly vinyl pyrollidone (PVP) (vinyl pyridine, see [0056], as the coating is a polymer it is considered a poly vinyl pyridine).
14. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Pub. No. US 20170338490 A1) in view of Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Jang (Pub. No. US 20200365880 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Xiao in view of Monnier fails to teach wherein the one or more polymers also include a lithium salt comprising LiClO.sub.4, LiPF.sub.6 or LiNO.sub.3.
However, Jang teaches wherein the one or more polymers (polymer, see [0056]) also include a lithium salt (lithium salt, see [0057], note the lithium salt is dissolved in the polymer electrolyte, but as seen from Example 3, the polymer electrolyte coating is formed with the lithium salt dissolved in the polymer) comprising LiClO.sub.4 (lithium perchlorate (LiClO.sub.4), see [0057]), LiPF.sub.6 (lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF.sub.6), see [0057]) or LiNO.sub.3 (lithium nitrate (LiNO.sub.3), see [0057]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xiao in view of Monnier to add a lithium salt of lithium perchlorate, lithium hexafluorophosphate, and/or lithium nitrate dispersed in the polymer as taught by Jang to achieve an electrical conductivity of 10.sup.−8 S/cm to 10.sup.3 S/cm (see [0058] of Jang) and exhibit a high cycle life, high reversible capacity, low irreversible capacity, and compatibility with commonly used electrolytes (see [0014] of Jang). Further Xiao in view of Monnier teaches that modifications can be made (see [0067] of Xiao).
15. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (Pub. No. US 20170338490 A1) in view of Monnier et al. (Advanced Material, 2019) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang (Pub. No. US 20200365880 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Xiao in view of Monnier fails to teach wherein a bulk resistivity of the monolayer film is less than a bulk resistivity of the battery material powder.
However, Jang teaches wherein the monolayer film (polymer, see [0056], this layer is not specifically a monolayer, however it is a polymer coating such as the one disclosed by Xiao in view of Monnier) also include a lithium salt (lithium salt, see [0057], note the lithium salt is dissolved in the polymer electrolyte, but as seen from Example 3, the polymer electrolyte coating is formed with the lithium salt dissolved in the polymer) comprising LiClO.sub.4 (lithium perchlorate (LiClO.sub.4), see [0057]), LiPF.sub.6 (lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF.sub.6), see [0057]) or LiNO.sub.3 (lithium nitrate (LiNO.sub.3), see [0057]), and wherein the battery material powder (anode active material, see [0024]) is lithium titanate (lithium titanate, see [0024]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xiao in view of Monnier to add a lithium salt of lithium perchlorate, lithium hexafluorophosphate, and/or lithium nitrate dispersed in the polymer of the polymeric ultrathin coating as taught by Jang to achieve an electrical conductivity of 10.sup.−8 S/cm to 10.sup.3 S/cm (see [0058] of Jang) and exhibit a high cycle life, high reversible capacity, low irreversible capacity, and compatibility with commonly used electrolytes (see [0014] of Jang). Further Xiao in view of Monnier teaches that modifications can be made (see [0067] of Xiao).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Xiao in view of Monnier to substitute the negative electrode material as taught by Xiao in view of Monnier for lithium titanate as taught by Jang as an art effective equivalent anode active material to address the issue of rapid capacity decay of lithium battery (see [0015] of Jang). Further Xiao in view of Monnier teaches that modifications can be made (see [0067] of Xiao).
Therefore, Xiao in view of Monnier and further in view of Jang teaches wherein a bulk resistivity (100000000 – 0.001 Ohm*cm, see [0021] of Jang, see modification above where the polymer coating with lithium salt has an electrical conductivity of 10.sup.-8 to 10.sup.3 S/cm, therefore inverse gives resistivity) of the monolayer film (polymeric ultrathin conformal coating, see [0051], see modification above where the monolayer film comprises a lithium salt) is less than a bulk resistivity (inverse of 10.sup.-13 S/cm, as evidenced by [0006-0008] of *Firoz where the conductivity of Lithium titanate is 10.sup.-13 S/cm) of the battery material powder (negative electrode material, see [0051], see [0045] the active material is a plurality of particles of nanometers size, therefore it is the examiners opinion the material is a powder form, see modification above where the negative electrode material is lithium titanate).
*Additional Evidence provided by Firoz et al. (Pub. No. US 20200381717 A1).
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723