DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 15/08/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “ the first second” to “ the first, second”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “ third powder” to “ the third powder”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “ the first second” to “ the first, second”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “ third powder” to “ the third powder”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “ third powder” to “ the third powder”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “ the first second” to “ the first, second”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “the first second” to “the first, second”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the feedstock" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is not clear that “the pretreating” is selected from “iron/steel recovery, recovery of at least one non-ferrous material, sieving, crushing, milling, aging, and thermal treatment” or “the feedstock” is selected from “iron/steel recovery, recovery of at least one non-ferrous material, sieving, crushing, milling, aging, and thermal treatment”. The Examiner treats the claim 1 as “the pretreating” is selected from “iron/steel recovery, recovery of at least one non-ferrous material, sieving, crushing, milling, aging, and thermal treatment”.
Regarding claim 2, the term “UCRM” in the parenthesis is indefinite. It is not clear that the limitations in the parathesis is meant to be a part of the claim or not.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, acronyms used in the claims are indefinite because their broadest reasonable interpretation can change with time.
Regarding claim 13, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “third powder” in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, it is not clear the weight percent of each component. The Examiner treats the Unfired Raw Ceramic Material powder, sand, steelmaking dust and glass waste have relative weights of 50%, 15%, 5% and 30% respectively, each with weight variations of +/- 5 percent of those weights.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2016051053A1
Regarding claim 1, WO2016051053A1 discloses a method for manufacturing a solid element made of ceramic material, suitable for use in particular for storing heat. Clay is crushed and then sieved with a sieve. Ashes are sieved with a sieve. A base mixture is carried out by mixing fly ash from a coal-fired power plant, coal-fired hearth furnace ashes and clay. At least one liquid such as water is added, the mixture obtained is shaped so as to form a green, solid element; said green element obtained is optionally dried; said green element, optionally dried, is subjected to a maximum cooking temperature substantially equal to or greater than 1110 ° C. and substantially equal to or lower than 1200 ° C. so as to consolidate said element; and said element obtained is allowed to cool to room temperature. The shaping can be obtained, for example, by molding, casting, pounding, extrusion, pressing or any other known technique. See abstract and pages 4-6.
Regarding claim 2, clay is read on unfired raw ceramic material and fly ash is read on refractory waste.
Regarding claim 4, WO2016051053A1 discloses that said mixture contains a quantity of clay equal to 10% of the sum of the masses of said ashes and clay. Thus, said mixture contains a quantity of ashes equal to 90% of the sum of the masses of said ashes and clay. See abstract and pages 4-6.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2021/0198151.
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, US2021/0198151 discloses a method of producing a ceramic product comprising:
receiving as a first component material a first feedstock;
receiving as a second component material a second feedstock;
combining the first and second component materials with water to form at least one of (1) an extrudable paste and (2) a granulated mixture;
forming a green body from the at least one of (1) the extrudable paste after extrusion and (2) the granulated mixture;
drying the green body;
firing the green body to form the ceramic product; and
cooling the ceramic product. See claim 1.
FIG. 1 is flowchart showing a number of repeatable pre-treatment steps that may be applied to feed stocks
Regarding claims 2-4, and 7-8, US2021/0198151 (1) URCM comprises about 40 to about 80 wt. % of the mixture weight, (2) Fired Ceramic Materials or Sand comprises about 10 to about 50 wt. % of the mixture weight, and (3) one feedstock comprises about 10 to about 50 wt. % of the mixture weight included in the following feedstocks list: MSWIBA, Glass Waste, Steelmaking dusts, Rock Dust, and Fired Ceramic Materials (if not selected as second powder). Some disclosed construction and technical ceramics are produced wherein an optional fourth feedstock comprises about 3 to about 40 wt. % of the mixture weight selected from the group consisting of: MSWIFA, Alumina Red Mud, Aluminum Dross, Steelmaking dusts, and Biomass Ash. See [0115].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2016051053A1as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of US-20020066233
Regarding claims 13-14, WO2016051053A1 discloses a method for manufacturing a solid element made of ceramic material, suitable for use in particular for storing heath set forth above.
But it is silent about using the ceramic pigment as applicant sets forth in the claim 13.
US-20020066233 discloses that pigment can be used in ceramic substrate. The pigments are typically inorganic materials that tend to affect ceramic aggregate particle properties, such as, for example, color, whiteness, or opacity. Exemplary useful pigments include iron oxides, cobalt oxide, manganese dioxide, titanium oxides. Other exemplary useful pigments include compounds of rare-earth, nickel, cadmium, chromium, and copper elements. The amounts of pigment is selected to provide the desired properties. SEE [0032] and [0115].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use refractory pigments in WO2016051053 process, motived by the fact that US-20020066233 discloses that pigments can be used in ceramic substrate. The pigments are typically inorganic materials that tend to affect ceramic aggregate particle properties, such as, for example, color, whiteness, or opacity. Exemplary useful pigments include iron oxides, cobalt oxide, manganese dioxide, titanium oxides. Other exemplary useful pigments include compounds of rare-earth, nickel, cadmium, chromium, and copper elements. The amounts of pigment is selected to provide the desired properties. See [0032] and [0115]. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Development of a Thermal Energy Storage Pressed Plate Ceramic Based on Municipal Waste Incinerator Bottom Ash and Waste Clay” to Ferber et al, further in view of WO2016051053A.
Regarding claim 1, Ferber et al. discloses municipal waste incinerator bottom
ashes (MWIBA) and waste clay as starting materials to make ceramics.
MWIBA consists in a mixture of ashes, sand, glassy material, metallic
and ceramic fragments and residual unburnt organic compounds.
Milled MWIBA and waste Clay are used to make a mixture. Adding water to the mixture and shaping the green bodies. The added clay represents 20, 30, 40 or 70% of the dry mixture weight. After being dried at 105 °C for 12 h, green bodies have been fired in electrical furnaces, with a heating rate of 5°C/min from room temperature to 500 °C, then 2°C/min from 500 °C to the maximum temperature, with isothermal firing duration of 2 h. The furnaces are not equipped with an active cooling system, implying cooling durations of about 10 h. See abstract; Materials and Methods;
But they are silent about sieving the clay.
However, WO2016051053A disclose sieving clay to get the prefeed size.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to sieving the clay in Ferber et al. process, motived by the fact that WO2016051053A, also drawn to ceramic material, disclose sieving clay to get the prefeed size. See page 6.
Regarding claim 2, clay is read on unfired raw ceramic material and ash is read on refractory waste.
Regarding claims 3-4, the added clay represents 20, 30, 40 or 70% of the dry mixture weight.
Regarding claim 5, the added clay represents 70% of the dry mixture weight.
Regarding claim 7, MWIBA consists in a mixture of ashes, sand, glassy material, metallic and ceramic fragments and residual unburnt organic compounds. See sampling.
Regarding claim 8, the added clay represents 70% of the dry mixture weight. Thus, MWIBA content is 30%. MWIBA consists in a mixture of ashes, sand, glassy material, metallic and ceramic fragments and residual unburnt organic compounds. Thus,
Claims 5-7, and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US2021/0198151.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claims 5-7, and 9-12, US’151 discloses a method of producing a ceramic product comprising:
receiving as a first component material a first feedstock;
receiving as a second component material a second feedstock;
combining the first and second component materials with water to form at least one of (1) an extrudable paste and (2) a granulated mixture;
forming a green body from the at least one of (1) the extrudable paste after extrusion and (2) the granulated mixture;
drying the green body;
firing the green body to form the ceramic product; and
cooling the ceramic product. See claim 1.
(1) URCM comprises about 40 to about 80 wt. % of the mixture weight, (2) Fired Ceramic Materials or Sand comprises about 10 to about 50 wt. % of the mixture weight, and (3) one feedstock comprises about 10 to about 50 wt. % of the mixture weight included in the following feedstocks list: MSWIBA, Glass Waste, Steelmaking dusts, Rock Dust, and Fired Ceramic Materials (if not selected as second powder). Some disclosed construction and technical ceramics are produced wherein an optional fourth feedstock comprises about 3 to about 40 wt. % of the mixture weight selected from the group consisting of: MSWIFA, Alumina Red Mud, Aluminum Dross, Steelmaking dusts, and Biomass Ash. See [0115].
The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "overlapping" ranges, and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
FIG. 1 is flowchart showing a number of repeatable pre-treatment steps that may be applied to feed stocks
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18044602.
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18044602(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications disclose a similar process of making a ceramic product by receiving as a first pretreated component material a first feedstock; receiving as a pretreated second component material a second feedstock; combining the first and second component materials with water to form at least one of (1) an extrudable paste and (2) a granulated mixture; forming a green body from the at least one of (1) the extrudable paste after extrusion and (2) the granulated mixture; drying the green body; firing the green body to form the ceramic product; and cooling the ceramic product, wherein the first component material and the second component material can be treated as the recovered material without organic substance.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731