DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 cites “supplementing means for increasing an amount of the contaminant gas in the principal gas stream to above said predetermined threshold so as to ensure that combination by the CAS hydrogen and oxygen in said principal gas stream occurs” (see lines 4-6).
112(f) interpretation of “supplementing means” is invoked.
The specification fails discloses a “supplementing means”; however, claim 3, which depends on claim 2, states that the supplementing means comprises either means for recirculating of the principal gas stream drop downstream of the CAS back to upstream thereof, or a reservoir the contaminant gas, the reservoir being adapted to release said contaminant gas under a predetermined condition.
The specification discloses means that include recirculation of gases, or the use of a reservoir prior to the combiner, or a combination thereof (see page 4, 2nd paragraph).
The specification fails to discloses the specifics of claim 3.
The examiner will interpret the supplementing means of claim 2 as a means that include recirculation of gases, or the use of a reservoir prior to the combiner, or a combination thereof and claim 3 will be interpreted the means as a recirculation of gas or a reservoir.
Claims 7 recites “computing means for determining the amount of a contaminant gas present in the principal gas stream” (see lines 2-3).
112(f) interpretation of “computing means” is invoked.
The specification discloses that mass could be measured and a mass balance conducted to calculate the ratios of the gases present; however, the computing means are not defined.
The examiner will interpret the computing means to be a calculator or any device/apparatus that is capable of computing calculations.
Claim 11 recites “means for the removal and optional recycling of the generated liquid” (see lines 2-3).
112(f) interpretation of “means” is invoked.
The specification discloses that generated water is removed by means for wicking water, means such as heating, and a chemical pre-treatment (see page 8, 4th paragraph) and, optionally, a recycle loop comprising a feed (20a) and enters the housing via pipe (20b) (see figure 5 and page 18, 3rd paragraph).
The examiner will interpret the means as any device/apparatus that is capable wicking water, heating water in order to evaporate the water, resulting in a chemical pre-treatment, and resulting in a recycle loop.
Claim 13 recites “means for the introduction of ambient air to the principal gas stream” (see claims 2-3).
112(f) interpretation of “means” is invoked.
Ambient air is introduced to the CAS via a second inlet (8) (see figure 2B and page 17, 1st paragraph).
The examiner will interpret the means is an inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “wherein the demister additionally acts a flame arrestor”, and the claim also recites “preferably wherein the demister is attached to the inlet” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 10 recites the broad recitation “wherein the demister is a microporous material”, and the claim also recites “preferably one of; a foam or sintered material, preferably a foam or sinter metal; a ceramic, preferably a sinter ceramic; or a carbon based material” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “an AEM electrolyzer with a dry cathode”, and the claim also recites “preferably wherein the AEM electrolyzer with dry cathode is configured to operate with the dry cathode at an elevated pressure” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Henrie (US 3,755,075).
Regarding claim 1, Henrie discloses, in one embodiment, a combiner device (a condenser-type gas combiner) for, in use, removing a hydrogen contaminant in a principal gas stream comprising predominantly oxygen, or vice versa, with said combiner device comprising: a catalytically active structure (CAS) (catalyst bed, 16) comprising a housing having an and an outlet; a first pipe (12) coupled to the inlet for conveying said principal gas stream into the housing such that it flows from the inlet to the outlet, and an exhaust pipe (22) for conveying said principal gas stream away from said housing; the CAS (16) further comprising a structural element comprising or including a catalytic material operable to combine hydrogen and oxygen to form water, the structural element being located within the housing, part way between the inlet and the outlet, and extending across a substantial majority of a cross-section thereof, such that, in use, the principal gas stream flows therethrough (see Abstract; figure 1; and column 3, lines 15-39).
Henie discloses, in another embodiment, a combiner device (a condenser-type gas recombiner, 108) for, in use, removing a hydrogen contaminant in a principal gas stream comprising predominantly oxygen, or vice versa, with said combiner device comprising: a catalytically active structure (CAS) (catalyst bed, 110) comprising a housing having an and an outlet; a first pipe (106) coupled to the inlet for conveying said principal gas stream into the housing such that it flows from the inlet to the outlet, and an exhaust pipe (124) for conveying said principal gas stream away from said housing; the CAS (110) further comprising a structural element comprising or including a catalytic material operable to combine hydrogen and oxygen to form water, the structural element being located within the housing, part way between the inlet and the outlet, and extending across a substantial majority of a cross-section thereof, such that, in use, the principal gas stream flows therethrough (see Abstract; figure 3; and 5, lines 36-58).
Regarding claim 2, Henrie discloses a combiner device wherein the CAS is configured to combine hydrogen and oxygen to form water when the quantity of the contaminant gas in the principal gas stream is above a predetermined amount, the device further comprising supplementing means for increasing an amount of the contaminant gas in the principal gas stream to above said predetermined threshold so as to ensure that combination by the CAS of hydrogen and oxygen in said principal gas stream occurs (see Abstract; figure 3; and 5, lines 36-58), since Henrie discloses a water cooler (120) that acts as reservoir.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 8, and 11-15, Henrie fails to discloses a combiner device wherein said supplementing means comprises either: means for recirculating the principal gas stream from downstream of the CAS back to upstream thereof, or a reservoir containing the contaminant gas, the reservoir being adapted to release said contaminant gas under a predetermined condition; configured to simultaneously recombine the contaminant gas with the principal gas to form water, and detect the presence of said contaminant gas; coupled with a demister, the CAS being either: upstream of a demister pad, downstream of a demister pad, or combined with a demister pad; further comprising means for the removal and optional recycling of the generated liquid; wherein the structural element comprises a backbone of: carbon black, metal oxides including ceramics, a polymeric film, metal foam, zeolitic structures, or metal organic frameworks; further comprising means for the introduction of ambient air to the principal gas stream; and wherein the catalytic material is platinum, palladium or an alloy thereof; wherein the catalytic material is a non-PGM material including metal alloys, ceramics, chalcogenides, pnictogenides, organometallics, or other metal complexes.
Claim 4 depend on claim 3.
Claims 6-7 depend on claim 5.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 16-17 and 20-22 are allowed.
The closest prior art references are Henrie (US 3,755,075) and Sakai et al. (EP 3,492,630 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Sakai et al. discloses an electrochemical cell, since the electrochemical hydrogen pump (100) has a single cell (100A) that includes an electrolyte membrane (11), an anode (13), a cathode (12), a cathode separator (16), an anode separator (17), and an insulating member (17), see paragraph 58) comprising: a membrane electrode assembly (MEA), since the anode (13) is called a membrane electrode assembly (MEA) (see paragraph 0600).
Sakai et al. fails to disclose or suggest an electrochemical cell comprising: a membrane electrode assembly (MEA) wherein the MEA comprises: an anode layer, a cathode layer and an ion exchange membrane situated therebetween; an anodic compartment adapted to operate at a first pressure, a cathodic compartment adapted to operate at a second pressure, and an electrically insulated catalytically active structure (CAS), wherein the CAS is: situated in the compartment with a relatively lower pressure, and extending across a substantial majority of the cross-section said compartment, such that, in use, the principal gas stream flows therethrough.
Claims 17 and 20 depend on claim 16.
Regarding claim 21, Henrie discloses a combiner device according to claim 1 such that said principal gas stream flows through the housing from the inlet to the outlet (see Abstract; figures 1 and 3; column 3, lines 15-39; and 5, lines 36-58).
Henrie fails to disclose or suggest a method, in a system that utilizes a principal gas stream comprising hydrogen and oxygen, for removing contaminant hydrogen from a principal gas stream comprising predominantly oxygen, or vice versa, since Henrie fails to disclose a contaminant to remove.
Claim 22 depends on claim 21.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774