DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 12/23/25 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugita et al (US 2004/0023102 A1) in view of D’Aleo et al (US 6372372 B1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Sugita teaches a fuel cell system comprising of two fuel cell stacks arranged in parallel (Paragraph 0035; a fuel cell stack comprising a plurality of fuel cells arranged in at least two cell series). The surfaces disposed at first ends of the stacks (Paragraph 0035; annotated Figure 15, Element 12 and 14) along with the first end plates (annotated Figure 15, element 16 and 18) constitute the first end plate and first cover as claimed. The first end plate and first cover are integrated by means of six tie rods 154 (Paragraph 0059). Thus, the first end plate is also the first cover of the housing.
Sugita teaches second end plates (Paragraph 0036; annotated Figure 15, Element 26 and 24) which are connected via a connecting plate section 106. This connected assembly constitutes the second end plate and second cover as claimed. Based on this configuration, the first and second covers define externally facing ends of the housing. Since, the first end plate and first cover are integrated, then the first end plate is in turn externally facing as well.
Sugita also teaches piping mechanism used to supply and discharge fuel gas, oxygen containing gas, and a cooling medium incorporated on one end of the stacks (Paragraph 0036; Figure 1, Element 28; media distribution). The system also has tensioning means such as tie rods (Paragraph 0043), and belleville springs (Paragraph 0058).
Sugita teaches that media distribution structures and connections (Figure 1, piping mechanism 28) exist on plate element 24 and 26. Figure 1 in Sugita also shows that the piping mechanism is common for both fuel cell stacks. In Sugita the media connections are shown on the second end plate as defined above. Hence, Sugita does not explicitly teach that the first end plate has common media connections and distribution structures.
However, D’Aleo teaches that the distribution structures can be arranged on the first end plate. Figure 1 in D’Aleo shows that the external conduits 24 are on one end plate (first end plate), and the spring mechanism 22 is on the other end plate (second end plate). Also, per MPEP 2144.04 VI, rearrangement of parts can be considered a design choice. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the media connections on the first end plate in order to communicate the reactants, coolants and product with the manifold passageways of the stack (Paragraph 0013).
Regarding Claim 2,
Sugita teaches a second end plate 26 that is also a part of the cover for the fuel cell system (Paragraph 0036).
Regarding Claim 4,
Sugita teaches the use of Belleville springs 146a to 146c which are provided on the outer surface of the second end plate (Paragraph 0058).
Regarding Claim 5,
Sugita teaches the use of springs 146a to 146c on each of the second end plates 24 and 26 (Paragraph 0058; multiple springs and multiple parts of second end plate), and the first and second fuel stacks are constructed symmetrically (Paragraph 0062). Hence, there are multiple springs on the second fuel stack as well.
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 7,
Sugita teaches tensioning elements such as tie rods 154 between the first and second end plate (Paragraph 0059).
Claims 3, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugita in view of D’Aleo, and further in view of Inagaki et al (US 20090317688 A1).
Regarding Claim 3,
Sugita teaches a tensioning system but does not teach about the use of two side walls arranged on opposite sides of the housing used as a tensioning system.
However, Inagaki teaches a fuel cell stack and a stack case comprising end plates and tension plates 13 (Paragraph 0022; side walls). This is also seen in Figure 1, Element 13. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two side walls as the tensioning system in order to assist in making a fuel cell that is capable of imparting a load uniformly to a cell (Paragraph 0012).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9,
Sugita teaches that the intent of the invention is to be used in a vehicle to provide electric power and to reduce the large size and complicated structure of a fuel cell stack (Paragraph 0006 and Paragraph 0011). Sugita also teaches a fuel cell system that comprises the fuel cell stacks which can be considered to be the fuel cell device (Paragraph 0013). Sugita does not have direct reference to the device or the motor vehicle.
However, Inagaki teaches the use of the fuel cell in a car-mounted power generation system of a fuel cell car, a power generation system for any type of mobile body such as a ship, an airplane, a train or a walking robot, a stational power generation system for use as power generation equipment for construction (housing, building or the like) or the like, but specifically the cell is used for a car (Paragraph 0021). Inagaki teaches the use of the fuel cell in a device and motor vehicle. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Sugita and Inagaki to these applications for power generation purposes.
References of Interest
Sato et al (US 20170117571 A1)
Yang et al (US 20020110722 A1)
Blanchet et al (US 20040121216 A1)
Hu et al (US 20050170235 A1)
Bobrov et al (US 20030235742 A1)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sugita and other cited references do not teach or suggest a fuel cell stack wherein the first end plate forms a cover of a housing of a fuel cell stack. Examiner disagrees because Sugita teaches an assembly wherein the first surface and the first end plates are integrated, and form the first cover of the fuel cell stack. Similarly, the second end plates are also integrated and form a cover of the fuel cell stack. Both covers are externally facing ends of the fuel cell stack. This is explained in the 103 rejection above.
Applicant argues that Sugita’s plate 16 is internally located on the fuel stack – in other words, plate 16 is located interiorly of plate 12 and thus fails to meet the claimed recitation of the cover(s) defining externally facing ends. Examiner does not agree because the claim does not preclude the cover from being made of multiple pieces which define externally facing ends of the housing. In addition, the claim does not preclude the plate from being located interiorly – the claim simply recites that the plate ‘defines’ the externally facing ends. Plate 16 combined with plate 12 make up the cover which defines externally-facing ends of the housing (or ends which face outward).
Applicant argues that Sugita and other cited references fail to teach an end plate that includes common media connections and distribution structures to atleast two cell series of the stack. Examiner disagrees and asserts that Sugita teaches a piping mechanism which includes media connections and distribution structures that is common for both fuel cell series as shown in Figure 1 (Elements 208, 212, 194), and furthermore D’Aleo teaches that the media connections can be made on an end plate resembling the first end plate of the claimed invention. Hence, examiner maintains the rejection in this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783