Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control unit” in claim 1 “can be understood as any control device for a gas flow, as e.g. a valve or a processor” (paragraph 17) or an equivalent structure
Response to Amendment
The claim 31 objection is withdrawn in view of amendments.
The 112b rejections of claims 2-5 are withdrawn because the claims are canceled.
The 112b rejection of claim 7-10 and 73 are withdrawn in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 17, 31, 70, 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist et al (WO2019096925A1 published 05/23/2019; hereinafter Rosenquist).
Regarding claim 1, Rosenquist teaches a manufacturing device (10) for a pharmaceutical product (a volume tailorable manufacturing system 200 – Figs. 2a-b), comprising:
- a housing (walls of the volume tailorable manufacturing system 200 – Figs. 2a-b),
- a process chamber (a first multi-product suite 210 – Figs. 2a-b),
- a technical chamber (a second multi-product suite 215 – Figs. 2a-b),
- a separation element (a supply system 220 – Figs. 2a-b), and
- a control unit (a seal 240 in each outlet 230a and inlet 220a – Figs. 2a-b and page 8 line 13) (the seal 240 is deemed to be an equivalent structure to a valve; see 112f interpretation),
wherein the housing is closed relative to the environment outside the housing (the walls of the volume tailorable manufacturing system 200 are closed – Figs. 2a-b),
wherein the housing encompasses the process chamber and the technical chamber (the walls of the volume tailorable manufacturing system 200 encompasses the first and second multi-product suites – Figs. 2a-b),
wherein the process chamber is separated from the technical chamber by the separation element (first and second multi-product suites are separated by the supply system 220 – Figs. 2a-b),
wherein the control unit is configured to control a gas flow through the process chamber (the seal 240 is capable of controlling a flow via a control facility to direct a unidirectional flow in a circulation system of the multi-product suite 210 – page 9 line 18),
wherein the control unit is configured to control the gas flow to provide in the process chamber a positive pressure relative to the environment (the seal 240 is capable of holding a positive pressure in the first multi-product suite 210 – Figs. 2a-b), and
wherein the control unit is further configured to control the gas flow to provide the gas flow through the process chamber as a gas shower falling in the direction of gravity (the seal 240 is capable of controlling a flow to direct a gas shower in the direction of gravity – Figs. 2a-b);
wherein the process chamber comprises a bioreactor (the first multi-product suite 210 is used to produce mAbs, Rec proteins, vaccines, viral vectors, insulins, etc - page 8 lines 5-7) for RNA in vitro transcription (“for RNA in vitro transcription” is an intended use recitation of the process chamber and deemed to read on a chamber capable of being used for RNA transcription) (the first multi-product suite 210 is capable of being used for RNA in vitro transcription – Figs. 2a-b);
wherein the technical chamber 3 is suitable and used for providing technical media supply (the second multi-product suite 210 is capable of being used for providing technical media supply – Figs. 2a-b);
wherein the separation element is plate-shaped (the supply system 220 is flat and therefore plate shaped – Figs. 2a-b).
However, Rosenquist (Figs. 2a-b) does not teach wherein the technical chamber is dimensioned to provide a larger available space to the gas compared to the process chamber to expand the gas in the technical chamber to provide a lower pressure compared to the process chamber.
Rosenquist (Figs. 2c) teaches a multi-product suites embodiment wherein the technical chamber (a connected multi-product suites 211 and 212 – Fig. 2c) is dimensioned to provide a larger available space to the gas compared to the process chamber to expand the gas in the technical chamber (a multi-product suite 210 – Fig. 2c) to provide a lower pressure compared to the process chamber (the multi-product suites 211 and 212 provide a larger space than the multi-product suite 210, thereby allowing a gas to expand and having a lower pressure – Fig. 2c). Rosenquist teaches to use the multi-product suites to expand a production volume capability of a manufacturing system for quality assured manufacturing of biopharmaceutical products (page 1 lines 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first and second multi-product suite 210, as taught by Rosenquist (Figs. 2a-b), with the expanded manufacturing system 200, taught by Rosenquist (Figs. 2c), to expand a production volume capability of a manufacturing system for quality assured manufacturing of biopharmaceutical products. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist teaches embodiments of the same invention.
Regarding claim 6, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 1, wherein the gas shower is laminar (the seal 240 is capable of being used to create a laminar gas shower – Figs. 2a-b).
Regarding claim 7, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 1, wherein a speed of the gas shower is in a range of about 0.2 to about 0.6 m/s (the seal 240 is capable of being used to create a laminar gas shower a range of about 0.2 to about 0.6 m/s – Figs. 2a-b).
Regarding claim 31, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 1, further comprising a sensor unit comprising at least one of a flow sensor, a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a microbial sensor, a particulate sensor, an organics sensor, and/or a leakage sensor (processing circuitry may refer to, for example, one or more computers, computing entities, distributed systems, processing devices, processing entities – Rosenquist page 14 lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 59, Rosenquist teaches a manufacturing module (100) for a pharmaceutical product,
comprising at least two manufacturing devices (10) according to claim 1, wherein the at least two manufacturing devices (10) are coupled with each other (an expanded manufacturing system 200 has been achieved using multi-product suites 211, 212 configured to be connected to further multi products suites – Rosenquist Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 70, Rosenquist teaches a manufacturing system for a pharmaceutical product, comprising a manufacturing device (10) according to claim 1 as well as a clean room, wherein the manufacturing device (10) is arranged in the clean room (manufacturing system 200 further comprises clean room areas 260 – Rosenquist page 8 line 18).
Regarding claim 87, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 7, wherein the speed of the gas shower is in a range of about 0.36 to about 0.54 m/s (the seal 240 is capable of being used to create a laminar gas shower a range of about 0.36 to about 0.54 m/s – Figs. 2a-b).
Claim 73 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist in view of Dabrowski et al (US20180311637A1 published 11/01/2018; hereinafter Dabrowski).
Regarding claim 73, Rosenquist teaches a method for producing a pharmaceutical product, wherein the method comprises the following steps:
- providing a manufacturing device (10) according to claim 1 (a volume tailorable manufacturing system 200 – Figs. 2a-b);
- providing a gas flow through the process chamber (2), wherein the gas flow through the process chamber (2) is a gas shower (a circulation system formed by the supply and return system that interconnect the first and 20 second multi-product suites – page 9 lines 19-20) falling in the direction of gravity (a portion of the air flows in the direction of gravity – Figs. 2a-b);
- providing a positive pressure in the process chamber relative to the environment (positive pressure personnel suits – page 1 line 22);
- providing a process media (media preparation areas 580 – page 12 line 25) and a technical media (buffer preparation areas 590 – page 12 line 25) for the unit.
However, Rosenquist does not teach operating the unit to obtain the pharmaceutical RNA product.
Dabrowski teaches an automated purification system (an automated modular system and method for production of DNA, RNA – paragraph 3) and operating the unit to obtain the pharmaceutical RNA product (elimination of the requirement for human intervention at multiple steps in the production process significantly decreases the costs of DNA/RNA production – paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device, as taught by Rosenquist, with the automated purification system, taught by Dabrowski, to eliminate human intervention in order to decrease cost of DNA/RNA production. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist and Dabrowski teach clean room manufacturing techniques.
Claims 8-10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist in view of Eshima et al (US20160263545A1 published 09/15/2016; hereinafter Eshima).
Regarding claim 8, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 1,
However, Rosenquist does not teach further comprising a first filter unit (6) arranged upstream of the process chamber (2).
Eshima teaches a system for producing radiopharmaceuticals comprising a first filter unit (6) arranged upstream of the process chamber (2) (HEPA filters are provided with a laminar flow hood to prepare the pharmaceutics – paragraph 231). Eshima teaches to use HEPA filters to create a clean interior to determine the airborne particulate density of possible contaminates (paragraph 231).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the manufacturing system 200, taught by with a HEPA filter, taught by Eshima, to create a clean interior to determine the airborne particulate density of possible contaminates. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success Rosenquist and Eshima teach systems for manufacturing pharmaceuticals.
Regarding claim 9, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 8, further comprising a second filter unit arranged between the process chamber and the technical chamber (HEPA filters are provided with a laminar flow hood to prepare the pharmaceutics – Eshima paragraph 231).
Regarding claim 10, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device according to claim 8, wherein the control unit is configured to control the gas flow to provide in the process chamber about 20 to about 120 exchange volumes of gas per hour and per m3 process chamber (the seal 240 is capable of controlling the gas flow to provide in the process chamber about 20 to about 120 exchange volumes of gas per hour and 1m3 of volume – Rosenquist Figs. 2a-b and page 8 line 13).
Regarding claim 17, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 8, wherein the control unit is configured to control the gas flow to provide the gas flow from the process chamber into the technical chamber parallel to the gas flow in the process chamber, but in an opposite direction (the seal 240 is capable of controlling parallel and opposite direction gas flows in the first and second multi-product suites 210, 215 – Rosenquist Figs. 2a-b).
Claims 46, 90, 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist in view of Zenhausern et al (US20150238958A1 published 08/27/2015; hereinafter Zenhausern).
Regarding claim 46, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 1, further comprising a process media supply unit (media preparation areas 580 – page 12 line 25),
However, Rosenquist does not teach a mixing unit, a de-novo DNA synthesis unit, a DNA template generation unit, a purification unit, a filtration unit, a formulation unit and an RNA generation unit.
Zenhausern teaches a sample preparation method comprising a mixing unit (extraction of DNA from the released lysate solution – paragraph 46), a de-novo DNA synthesis unit (multiplex PCR amplification of STR loci – paragraph 46), a DNA template generation unit (a DNA extraction module – paragraph 39), a purification unit (the result analysis for allelic peak – paragraph 46), a filtration unit (separation of PCR products by capillary electrophoresis – paragraph 46), a formulation unit (analysis steps combining DNA extraction – paragraph 41) and an RNA generation unit (multiplex PCR module – paragraph 67). Zenhausern also teaches that all the swab sample preparation was performed in a biological hood (paragraph 107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the manufacturing system, as taught by Rosenquist, with the sample preparation method performed in a biological hood, taught by Zenhausern, to gain the additional functions of the sample preparation method. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist and Zenhausern teach clean room techniques for processing biological agents.
Regarding claim 90, Rosenquist teaches the manufacturing device according to claim 1.
However, Rosenquist does not teach a purification unit and/or a filtration unit.
Zenhausern teaches a sample preparation method comprising a purification unit and/or a filtration unit (the purification system including Reverse-Phase High Performance Liquid Chromatography (RP-HPLC), Anion-Exchange HPLC, or Gel Filtration, and Polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis (PAGE) – paragraph 27). Zenhausern also teaches that all the swab sample preparation was performed in a biological hood (paragraph 107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the manufacturing system, as taught by Rosenquist, with the sample preparation method performed in a biological hood, taught by Zenhausern, to gain the additional functions of the sample preparation method. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist and Zenhausern teach clean room techniques for processing biological agents.
Regarding claim 92, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 90, wherein the purification unit and/or filtration unit comprises an affinity chromatography unit (Reverse-Phase High Performance Liquid Chromatography – Zenhausern paragraph 27).
Claims 53-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, in view of Dabrowski et al (US20180311637A1 published 11/01/2018; hereinafter Dabrowski).
Regarding claim 53, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 46.
However, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, does not teach wherein the purification unit comprises at least one chromatography purification unit as the device configured to be in contact with the process media.
Dabrowski teaches wherein the purification unit comprises at least one chromatography purification unit as the device configured to be in contact with the process media (Purification can also eliminate most of the truncated molecules. Various purification methods may by be implemented by the purification system including Reverse-Phase High Performance Liquid Chromatography (RP-HPLC) – paragraph 27). Dabrowski teaches to use a HPLC system to separate full intended sequence and truncated (shorter) molecules of the synthesis reaction products (paragraph 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device, as taught by Rosenquist as modified by Zenhausern, with the HPLC purification system, taught by Dabrowski, to separate full intended sequence and truncated (shorter) molecules of the synthesis reaction products. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist, Zenhausern, Dabrowski teach clean room manufacturing techniques.
Regarding claim 54, Rosenquist, as modified by Zenhausern modified by Dabrowski, teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 53, wherein the chromatography purification unit comprises a high-pressure liquid chromatography unit (Reverse-Phase High Performance Liquid Chromatography (RP-HPLC) – Dabrowski paragraph 27) and/or an affinity chromatography unit.
Claim 88 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist, modified by Dabrowski, in view of Eshima.
Regarding claim 88, Rosenquist, modified by Dabrowski, teaches the method of claim 73.
However, Rosenquist, modified by Dabrowski, does not teach a step of sanitizing the process chamber.
Eshima teaches a modular cassette subsystem for radionuclides comprising a step of sanitizing the process chamber (once sterilized in the hood, the dilution container 4866 and vials 4804/4854 may be connected to the other sterile kit components – paragraph 243). Eshima also teaches system provides users safe and efficient mechanisms for aseptic assembly of the system to reduce the chance of contamination (paragraph 235).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method, as taught by Rosenquist as modified by Dabrowski, with the sterilization process, taught by Eshima, to reduce the chance of contamination. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist, Dabrowski, and Eshima teach systems for manufacturing pharmaceuticals.
Claim 89 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, in view of Au-Yeung et al (US20110070638A1 published 03/24/2011; hereinfafter Au-Yeung).
Regarding claim 89, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, teaches the manufacturing device according to claim 46.
However, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, does not teach a tangential flow filtration unit.
Au-Yeung teaches purifying nucleic acids included DNA and RNA comprising a tangential flow filtration unit (A open screen tangential flow ultrafiltration cassette is used together with a modified polyethersulfone based, 50,000 Dalton molecular weight cutoff ultrafiltration membrane – paragraph 95). Au-Yeung teaches to use a tangential flow filtration unit to retain plasmid DNA and pass small molecules (paragraph 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device, as taught by Rosenquist as modified by Zenhausern, with the ultrafiltration step, taught by Au-Yeung, to retain plasmid DNA and pass small molecules. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist, Zenhausern, and Au-Yeung teaches devices for producing pharmaceuticals.
Claim 91 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, in view of Au-Yeung et al (US20110070638A1 published 03/24/2011; hereinfafter Au-Yeung).
Regarding claim 91, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, teaches the manufacturing device according to claim 90.
However, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, does not teach a tangential flow filtration unit.
Au-Yeung teaches purifying nucleic acids included DNA and RNA comprising a tangential flow filtration unit (A open screen tangential flow ultrafiltration cassette is used together with a modified polyethersulfone based, 50,000 Dalton molecular weight cutoff ultrafiltration membrane – paragraph 95). Au-Yeung teaches to use a tangential flow filtration unit to retain plasmid DNA and pass small molecules (paragraph 95).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device, as taught by Rosenquist as modified by Zenhausern, with the ultrafiltration step, taught by Au-Yeung, to retain plasmid DNA and pass small molecules. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist, Zenhausern, and Au-Yeung teaches devices for producing pharmaceuticals.
Claim 93 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, in view of Corn et al (US20060211024A1 published 09/21/2006; hereinafter Corn).
Regarding claim 93, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, teaches the manufacturing device (10) according to claim 92.
However, Rosenquist, modified by Zenhausern, does not teach the affinity chromatography unit is an oligo dT purification unit.
Corn teaches a nucleic acid isolation system wherein the affinity chromatography unit is an oligo dT purification unit (an oligo-dT column, to isolate the RNA - paragraph 84). Corn teaches to use the oligo-dT column to isolate the RNA/DNA hybrids and non-hybridized DNA oligonucleotide (paragraph 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device, as taught by Rosenquist as modified by Zenhausern, with the oligo-dT column, taught by Corn, to gain the ability to isolate the RNA/DNA hybrids and non-hybridized DNA oligonucleotide. One of ordinary skill would have expected that this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success because Rosenquist, Zenhausern, Corn teach systems for manufacturing biological reagents.
Response to Arguments
Point 1: The applicant’s argument that “The claims have been amended to introduce a specific RNA in vitro transcription bioreactor into the process chamber” is not persuasive.
The examiner points out that the limitation “for RNA in vitro transcription” is an entity use recitation of the process chamber and deemed to read on a chamber capable of being used for RNA transcription. Rosenquist teaches a first multi-product suite 210 capable of being used for RNA transcription and is therefore deemed to read on the claims.
Applicant’s addition arguments with respect to the 102/103 rejections of the claims have been considered, and the prior art rejection has been modified in order to address the amended claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798