Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 18-20 are new. Claims 16-17 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reuber (US 2020/0307041).
Regarding claim 1, Reuber discloses a system for producing at least one particle foam molding from an expandable or expanded particle foam material (abstract), comprising:- at least one automatic molding machine which comprises at least one mold device for processing expandable or expanded particle foam material for producing a particle foam molding (molding tool 3 along with feed line 4 and connection to vacuum pump 19, [0101], Fig. 1), wherein the at least one automatic molding machine comprises at least one interface for coupling a functional module which can be functionally assigned to the at least one automatic molding machine in order to form an individually configured automatic molding machine functional module arrangement (jet nozzle 8, [0100], Fig. 1); - at least one functional module which can be individually assigned to the at least one automatic molding machine to form an individually configured automatic molding machine functional module arrangement (material container 2, vacuum pump 19, [0100] [0107], Fig. 1), wherein the at least one functional module comprises at least one interface for coupling to the at least one automatic molding machine to form an individually configured automatic molding machine functional module arrangement (jet nozzle 8 connects material container 2 to feed line 4 for filling injector 10, [0100], Fig. 1; connection to vacuum pump 19, [0107], Fig. 1);- at least one central data processing device which, on the basis of the configuration of the individually configured automatic molding machine functional module arrangement, is configured to generate operating information which regulates and/or controls the operation of at least one functional module (control unit, [0189]), wherein in a connected position, the at least one interface of the at least one functional module is directly connected to the at least one interface of the at least one automatic molding machine (jet nozzle 8 directly connects material container 2 to feedline 4, [0100-01], Fig. 1; direct connection of vacuum pump 19, [0107], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Reuber discloses herein the at least one molding machine comprises a housing-, rack- or frame-like structure on or in which the at least one mold device is arranged or formed (housing 35, [0161]).
Regarding claim 3, Reuber discloses wherein the at least one interface of the at least one automatic molding machine is configured as or comprises a connection device for connecting at least one supply device for supplying the at least one automatic molding machine with at least one supply medium (feed line 4 connects filling injector 10 to supply air and foam, [0101]) and/or the at least one interface of the at least one functional module is configured as or comprises a connection device for connecting at least one supply device
Regarding claim 4, Reuber discloses wherein the at least one interface of the at least one automatic molding machine is configured as or comprises a fastening device for fastening
Regarding claim 5, Reuber discloses wherein the at least one interface of the at least one automatic molding machine is configured as or comprises a data transmission device for the transmission of data to the at least one functional module; and/or the at least one interface of the at least one functional module is configured as or comprises a data transmission device for the transmission of data to the at least one automatic molding machine (circuity for controlling the electric power supplied and receiving voltage data from the voltage measuring device, [0178-80]).
Regarding claim 6, Reuber discloses wherein the at least one functional module is configured as or comprises a provision device for providing at least one supply medium for the at least one automatic molding machine and/or for at least one further functional module (feed line 4 connects filling injector 10 to supply air and foam, [0101]).
Regarding claim 7, Reuber discloses wherein the at least one functional module is configured as or comprises a provision device for providing electrical energy and/or kinetic energy and/or pneumatic energy and/or thermal energy for the at least one automatic molding machine and/or for at least one further functional module (electrical energy supplied by generator 18, [0104-05] [0148] [0172] [0178] [0180], Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Reuber discloses wherein the at least one functional module is configured as or comprises a power system for providing electrical energy and/or thermal energy (electrical energy supplied by generator 18 to heat the mold, [0104-05] [0148] [0172] [0178] [0180], Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Reuber discloses wherein the at least one functional module is configured as or comprises a provision device for providing an expandable or expanded particle foam material that can be processed or is to be processed via the at least one automatic molding machine (material container 2 provides foam particles that are injected to the molding tool 3 by filling injector 10, [0099]; steam may be used to process the foam, [0103]).
Regarding claim 10, Reuber discloses wherein the at least one functional module is configured as or comprises a treatment device for treatment of a supply medium of the at least one automatic molding machine and/or at least one other functional module (steam generator treats foam particles with heat and moisture, [0103]).
Regarding claim 11, Reuber discloses wherein the central data processing device forms part of the at least one automatic molding machine (control unit and control device 57 for circuitry, [0180] [0189]).
Regarding claim 12, Reuber discloses 12. (Currently Amended) The system according to claim 1, wherein the central data processing device is configured to generate corresponding operating information based on detection information describing the configuration of the individually configured molding machine functional module arrangement (feedback from voltage measurement by measuring capacitor for controlling voltage applied, control device 57, [0180]).
Regarding claim 13, Reuber discloses comprising a detection device which is configured to detect an item of detection information describing the configuration of the individually configured automatic molding machine functional module arrangement and to generate an item of detection information describing the configuration of the individually configured automatic molding machine functional module arrangement (feedback from voltage measurement by measuring capacitor for controlling voltage applied, measuring capacitor is a detection device, control device 57, [0180]).
Regarding claim 14, Reuber discloses wherein the central data processing device is configured to generate corresponding operating information on the basis of operating state information describing at least one operating state of the at least one automatic molding machine and/or at least one operating state of the at least one functional module for generating operating information regulating and/or controlling the operation of the at least one functional module (control unit can receive information by reading barcode or RFID chip to know which tool is at which workstation, thereby the operating information, [0189]).
Regarding claim 15, Reuber discloses comprising a detection device which is configured to detect operating state information describing at least one operating state of the at least one automatic molding machine and/or the at least one functional module (implied disclosure of machine that reads the barcode or RFID chip tied to the location of where the barcode or RFID was read, [0189]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuber (US 2020/0307041) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brum (US 2009/0072437).
Regarding claim 18, Reuber discloses a single automatic molding machine (abstract, Fig. 1). Reuber teaches a system substantially as claimed. Reuber does not disclose wherein the at least one automatic molding machine comprises a first automatic molding machine and a second automatic molding machine, wherein the first automatic molding machine includes a first housing and the second automatic molding machine includes a second housing, wherein in a second connected position, the first housing of the first automatic molding machine is directly connected to the second housing of the second automatic molding machine at a first side.
However, in the same field of endeavor of automatic molding machines (abstract), Brum teaches wherein the at least one automatic molding machine comprises a first automatic molding machine and a second automatic molding machine (multiple cores encased in a frame, [0028], Fig. 2), wherein the first automatic molding machine includes a first housing and the second automatic molding machine includes a second housing (conjoined frame for two of the multiple cores, [0028], Fig. 2), wherein in a second connected position, the first housing of the first automatic molding machine is directly connected to the second housing of the second automatic molding machine at a first side (joined together in the frame, [0028], Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Reuber to include multiple molding cores together in a frame because [0028] of Brum teaches that doing so increases line speed (manufacturing production speed).
Regarding claim 19, Reuber as modified teaches wherein, with the first housing of the first automatic molding machine directly connected to the second housing of the second automatic molding machine at the first side (joined together in the frame, Brum [0028], Fig. 2), the at least one interface of the at least one functional module is directly connected to the first housing of the first automatic molding machine at a second side (Reuber jet nozzle 8 directly connects material container 2 to feedline 4, [0100-01], Fig. 1; Reuber, direct connection of vacuum pump 19, [0107], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Reuber as modified teaches wherein the at least functional module comprises a first functional module (material container 2, Reuber [0100-01]) and a second functional module (vacuum pump 19, [0107], Fig. 1), wherein the first functional module includes a third housing (housing of material container 2, Reuber [0100-01]) and the second functional module includes a fourth housing (housing of vacuum pump 19, Reuber [0107], Fig. 1), wherein in a third connected position, the third housing of the first functional module is directly connected to a first portion of the first housing of the first automatic molding machine (jet nozzle 8 directly connects material container 2 to feedline 4, Reuber [0100-01], Fig. 1) and the fourth housing of the second functional module is directly connected to a second portion of the first housing of the first automatic molding machine (direct connection of vacuum pump 19, Reuber, [0107], Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that lines running between molding tool 3 and container 2 mean that these components are indirectly connected, and not directly connected as recited in claim 1. This argument is not persuasive because the claim recites an “automatic molding machine” and a “functional module.” These claim limitations are not limited to a particular portion of the structure. As presented above, the automatic molding machine includes the lines feeding molding tool 3 of Reuber. Applicant appears to be making an argument based on details of the coupling between an automatic molding machine and a functional module. However, with reference to the figures of Applicant’s disclosure, there is a lack of detail as to this coupling. Accordingly, limitations like “directly connected” have to be interpreted in context with the breadth of Applicant’s disclosure and the lack of more specific disclosure. The machine and module, as recited by Applicant, cannot be interpreted to refer to a mold cavity without connecting lines.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/ Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744