DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims included in the prosecution are claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35 and 37-40.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicants' arguments, filed 06/19/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Pan) in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter) and Elejalde et al. (US 2011/0189376, Aug. 4, 2011) (hereinafter Elejalde), as evidenced by US Biological Life Sciences (Pluronic P-105 Technical Data, 2025).
Pan discloses an oral care composition comprising an orally acceptable vehicle, a peroxide whitening agent, and one or more gelling agents. The gelling agents mat include a fatty acid (abstract). The oral care composition prior to use may be anhydrous (¶ [0028]). The fatty acid includes a C12-C28 fatty acid (¶ [0006]). The fatty acid includes a saturated fatty acid (¶ [0008]) or an unsaturated fatty acid (¶ [0009]). Examples of fatty acids include stearic acid and palmitic acid (¶ [0007]). The gelling agents are present in an amount of from about 1 weight % to about 50 weight % (¶ [0011]). The orally acceptable vehicle may include one or more humectants such as glycerin, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, and block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide. Illustrative block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide include PLURONIC® P105 (¶ [0031]). As evidenced by US Biological Life Sciences, Pluronic P-105 has a molecular weight of 6500. The orally acceptable vehicle may be present in an amount of from 5 weight % to about 60 weight % (¶ [0032]). The peroxide whitening agent includes hydrogen peroxide or one or more sources of hydrogen peroxide. Exemplary peroxide whitening agents include hydrogen peroxide, peroxides of alkali and alkaline earth metals, organic peroxy compounds, and peroxy acids (¶ [0034]). The source of hydrogen peroxide may be present in an amount of from about 1 weight % to about 30 weight % (¶ [0034]). The oral care composition may further include fluoride (¶ [0041]). Illustrative fluoride ion sources include stannous fluoride. The amount of the fluoride ion source may be greater than 0 weight % and less than 0.8 weight % (¶ [0042]). The oral care composition may include fatty alcohols in an amount of less than 5.0 weight % (¶ [0013]). The oral care composition may include water in an amount of less than 5.0 weight % (¶ [0015]). The oral care composition may include an abrasive, such as sodium metaphosphate (¶ [0038]). The amount of abrasives may be from greater than 0 weight % to about 40 weight % (¶ [0040]). The oral care composition may include an antioxidant such as butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) (¶ [0046]). Surfactants may also be included in the composition (Table 1). A method of whitening teeth comprises contacting a tooth surface of a subject in need thereof with the oral care composition (claim 16).
Pan differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises a sodium salt of a fatty acid as the gelling agent.
However, Johannpeter discloses a cosmetic, dermatological, or pharmaceutical formulation comprising gelling agents (¶ [0052]). Cosmetic, dermatological or pharmaceutical formulations include oral and dental care compositions (¶ [0026]). Suitable gelling agents include metal salts of fatty acids, preferably having 12 to 22 carbon atoms, for example sodium stearate, sodium palmitate, and mixtures thereof (¶ [0099]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. The oral care composition comprises a fatty acid gelling agent. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a sodium salt of the fatty acid gelling agent (e.g., sodium stearate and sodium palmitate) into the composition of Pan since they are known and effective fatty acid gelling agents for oral and dental care compositions as taught by Johannpeter.
The combined teachings of Pan and Johannpeter do not teach fatty acid has an iodine value of less than 5.
However, Elejalde discloses a sugar free confectionery product (abstract). The confectionery composition comprises an oil or fat. The oil or fat has an iodine value of 10 or less (¶ [0055]). The fat/oil can contain non-trans fatty acids (¶ [0221]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Pan discloses wherein the composition comprises fatty acids. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a fatty acid with an iodine value of 10 or less into the composition since this is a known and effective fatty acid for oral compositions as taught by Elejalde.
2. Claims 32, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Pan I) in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter), Elejalde et al. (US 2011/0189376, Aug. 4, 2011) (hereinafter Elejalde), and further in view of Pan et al. (US 2016/0302011, Oct. 20, 2016) (hereinafter Pan II).
The teachings of Pan I, Johannpeter and Elejalde are discussed above. Pan I Johannpeter, and Elejalde do not teach the amount of antioxidant and wherein the composition comprises about 0.03% to about 5% sodium lauryl sulfate.
However, Pan II discloses an oral care composition (abstract). The composition may comprise 0.01-5% antioxidant e.g., BHT and 0-5% surfactant, e.g., SLS (¶ [0033]).
The composition of Pan I comprises antioxidants. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have incorporated 0.01-5% antioxidant into the composition of Pan I since this is a known and effective amount of antioxidants for oral care compositions as taught by Pan II.
The composition of Pan I comprises surfactants. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have incorporated 0-5% SLS into the composition of Pan I since this is a known and effective surfactant and amount thereof for oral care compositions as taught by Pan II.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Elejalde is directed towards sugar free confectionary products. The present application is directed towards the stability of peroxide in high pH oral care compositions. Elejalde is silent on peroxides and their stability. Accordingly, one of skill in the art would not look to the disclosure of Elejalde when working to formulate an oral care composition containing peroxides.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. In order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention. A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). See MPEP 2141.01(a). Thus, since it is not necessary for a reference to be reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, Elejalde does not need to address Applicant’s problem of peroxides and its stability. Elejalde is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention by disclosing an oral composition. As such, it is proper to use the teachings of Elejalde in the rejection and Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Elejalde discloses iodine values for fat/oil, not for a fatty acid.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Elejalde discloses in paragraph [0221] wherein the fat/oil can contain non-trans fatty acids. As such, Elejadle does disclose iodine values for a fatty acid and Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Example 2 of the specification shows that the viscosity of the inventive composition remains stable over time, even under elevated temperature storage conditions.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Without comparing the claimed composition with another composition, unexpected results with regards to viscosity stability cannot be determined. The claimed subject matter must be compared with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 716.02(e). As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Example 3 demonstrates that a control formulation lacking the fatty acid salt experiences immediate bloating due to peroxide decomposition, whereas the claimed formulation was stable.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. The control formulation comprises H2O2 and fatty alcohol, instead of fatty acid salt. This is not the closest prior art. As discussed above, the claimed subject matter must be compared with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 716.02(e). The composition of Pan is the closest prior art because it comprises hydrogen peroxide and fatty acid, which is more closely related to fatty acid salt than fatty alcohol. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Pan II does not cure the deficiencies of Pan, Johannpeter, and Elejalde.
The Examiner submits that arguments regarding Pan, Johannpeter, and Elejalde are addressed above and are unpersuasive. Therefore, the rejection with Pan II is maintained.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35 and 37-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7, 13, 14, 16-18, 23, 24, 28, 32-34, 36, 39, 42 and 44 of copending Application No. 18/043,703 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e., the conflicting claims recite additional gelling agent) and thus read on the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
2. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35 and 37-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 14, 16, 18, 21, 25-27, 29, 32, 34, 35 and 37 of copending Application No. 18/043,695 in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter) and Elejalde et al. (US 2011/0189376, Aug. 4, 2011) (hereinafter Elejalde).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as disclosing a sodium salt of fatty acid and an iodine value of less than 5. However, Johannpeter discloses a cosmetic, dermatological, or pharmaceutical formulation comprising gelling agents (¶ [0052]). Cosmetic, dermatological or pharmaceutical formulations include oral and dental care compositions (¶ [0026]). Suitable gelling agents include metal salts of fatty acids, preferably having 12 to 22 carbon atoms, for example sodium stearate, sodium palmitate, and mixtures thereof (¶ [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used sodium salt of a fatty acid since it is a suitable gelling agent as taught by Johannpeter. Elejalde discloses a sugar free confectionery product (abstract). The confectionery composition comprises an oil or fat. The oil or fat has an iodine value of 10 or less (¶ [0055]). The fat/oil may can contain non-trans fatty acids (¶ [0221]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a fatty acid with an iodine value of 10 or less into the composition since this is a known and effective fatty acid for oral compositions as taught by Elejalde.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35 and 37-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-17 of copending Application No. 17/472,241 in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter), Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019), and Elejalde et al. (US 2011/0189376, Aug. 4, 2011) (hereinafter Elejalde).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as disclosing a sodium salt of fatty acid, a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide, and an iodine value of less than 5. However, Johannpeter discloses a cosmetic, dermatological, or pharmaceutical formulation comprising gelling agents (¶ [0052]). Cosmetic, dermatological or pharmaceutical formulations include oral and dental care compositions (¶ [0026]). Suitable gelling agents include metal salts of fatty acids, preferably having 12 to 22 carbon atoms, for example sodium stearate, sodium palmitate, and mixtures thereof (¶ [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used sodium salt of a fatty acid since it is a suitable gelling agent as taught by Johannpeter. Pan discloses wherein an orally acceptable vehicle may include one or more humectants such as glycerin, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, and block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide. Illustrative block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide include PLURONIC® P105 (¶ [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide since it is a known and effective orally acceptable vehicle as taught by Pan. Elejalde discloses a sugar free confectionery product (abstract). The confectionery composition comprises an oil or fat. The oil or fat has an iodine value of 10 or less (¶ [0055]). The fat/oil may can contain non-trans fatty acids (¶ [0221]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a fatty acid with an iodine value of 10 or less into the composition since this is a known and effective fatty acid for oral compositions as taught by Elejalde.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
4. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35 and 37-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,141,364 in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter), Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019), and Elejalde et al. (US 2011/0189376, Aug. 4, 2011) (hereinafter Elejalde).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as disclosing a sodium salt of fatty acid, a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide, and a iodine value of less than 5. However, Johannpeter discloses a cosmetic, dermatological, or pharmaceutical formulation comprising gelling agents (¶ [0052]). Cosmetic, dermatological or pharmaceutical formulations include oral and dental care compositions (¶ [0026]). Suitable gelling agents include metal salts of fatty acids, preferably having 12 to 22 carbon atoms, for example sodium stearate, sodium palmitate, and mixtures thereof (¶ [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used sodium salt of a fatty acid since it is a suitable gelling agent as taught by Johannpeter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used sodium salt of a fatty acid since it is a suitable gelling agent as taught by Joerger. Pan discloses wherein an orally acceptable vehicle may include one or more humectants such as glycerin, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, and block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide. Illustrative block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide include PLURONIC® P105 (¶ [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide since it is a known and effective orally acceptable vehicle as taught by Pan. Elejalde discloses a sugar free confectionery product (abstract). The confectionery composition comprises an oil or fat. The oil or fat has an iodine value of 10 or less (¶ [0055]). The fat/oil may can contain non-trans fatty acids (¶ [0221]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a fatty acid with an iodine value of 10 or less into the composition since this is a known and effective fatty acid for oral compositions as taught by Elejalde.
Response to Arguments
Applicants respectfully defer these issues until the application is otherwise in condition for allowance. Since this has not occurred, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35 and 37-40 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614