DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims included in the prosecution are claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35, and 37-39.
Applicants' arguments, filed 03/04/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Pan) in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter), as evidenced by US Biological Life Sciences (Pluronic P-105 Technical Data, 2025).
Pan discloses an oral care composition comprising an orally acceptable vehicle, a peroxide whitening agent, and one or more gelling agents. The gelling agents mat include a fatty acid (abstract). The oral care composition prior to use may be anhydrous (¶ [0028]). The fatty acid includes a C12-C28 fatty acid (¶ [0006]). The fatty acid includes a saturated fatty acid (¶ [0008]) or an unsaturated fatty acid (¶ [0009]). Examples of fatty acids include stearic acid and palmitic acid (¶ [0007]). The gelling agents are present in an amount of from about 1 weight % to about 50 weight % (¶ [0011]). The orally acceptable vehicle may include one or more humectants such as glycerin, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, and block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide. Illustrative block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide include PLURONIC® P105 (¶ [0031]). As evidenced by US Biological Life Sciences, Pluronic P-105 has a molecular weight of 6500. The orally acceptable vehicle may be present in an amount of from 5 weight % to about 60 weight % (¶ [0032]). The peroxide whitening agent includes hydrogen peroxide or one or more sources of hydrogen peroxide. Exemplary peroxide whitening agents include hydrogen peroxide, peroxides of alkali and alkaline earth metals, organic peroxy compounds, and peroxy acids (¶ [0034]). The source of hydrogen peroxide may be present in an amount of from about 1 weight % to about 30 weight % (¶ [0034]). The oral care composition may further include fluoride (¶ [0041]). Illustrative fluoride ion sources include stannous fluoride. The amount of the fluoride ion source may be greater than 0 weight % and less than 0.8 weight % (¶ [0042]). The oral care composition may include fatty alcohols in an amount of less than 5.0 weight % (¶ [0013]). The oral care composition may include water in an amount of less than 5.0 weight % (¶ [0015]). The oral care composition may include an abrasive, such as sodium metaphosphate (¶ [0038]). The amount of abrasives may be from greater than 0 weight % to about 40 weight % (¶ [0040]). The oral care composition may include an antioxidant such as butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) (¶ [0046]). Surfactants may also be included in the composition (Table 1). A method of whitening teeth comprises contacting a tooth surface of a subject in need thereof with the oral care composition (claim 16).
Pan differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises a sodium salt of a fatty acid as the gelling agent.
However, Johannpeter discloses a cosmetic, dermatological, or pharmaceutical formulation comprising gelling agents (¶ [0052]). Cosmetic, dermatological or pharmaceutical formulations include oral and dental care compositions (¶ [0026]). Suitable gelling agents include metal salts of fatty acids, preferably having 12 to 22 carbon atoms, for example sodium stearate, sodium palmitate, and mixtures thereof (¶ [0099]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. The oral care composition comprises a C12-C28 fatty acid gelling agent. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated sodium stearate and sodium palmitate into the composition of Pan since are known and effective C12-22 fatty acid gelling agents for oral and dental care compositions as taught by Johannpeter.
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Pan) in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter), and further in view of Elejalde et al. (US 2011/0189376, Aug. 4, 2011) (hereinafter Elejalde).
The teachings of Pan and Johannpeter are discussed above. Pan and Johannpeter do not teach wherein the unsaturated fatty acid has an iodine value of less than 5.
However, Elejalde discloses a sugar free confectionery product (abstract). The confectionery composition comprises an oil or fat. The oil or fat has an iodine value of 10 or less (¶ [0055]). The fat/oil may contain monounsaturated fatty acids (¶ [0222]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Pan discloses whereon the composition comprises unsaturated fatty acids. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated an unsaturated fatty acid with an iodine value of 10 or less into the composition since this is a known and effective unsaturated fatty acid for oral compositions as taught by Elejalde.
3. Claims 32, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019) (IDS reference) (hereinafter Pan I) in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter), and further in view of Pan et al. (US 2016/0302011, Oct. 20, 2016) (hereinafter Pan II).
The teachings of Pan I and Johannpeter are discussed above. Pan I and Johannpeter do not teach the amount of antioxidant and wherein the composition comprises about 0.03% to about 5% sodium lauryl sulfate.
However, Pan II discloses an oral care composition (abstract). The composition may comprise 0.01-5% antioxidant e.g., BHT and 0-5% surfactant, e.g., SLS (¶ [0033]).
The composition of Pan I comprises antioxidants. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have incorporated 0.01-5% antioxidant into the composition of Pan I since this is a known and effective amount of antioxidants for oral care compositions as taught by Pan II.
The composition of Pan I comprises surfactants. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have incorporated 0-5% SLS into the composition of Pan I since this is a known and effective surfactant and amount thereof for oral care compositions as taught by Pan II.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the high water content formulations of Johannpeter are fundamentally incompatible with the claimed nonaqueous oral care compositions. Accordingly, one of skill in the art would not look to the teachings of Johannpeter to modify the compositions of Pan to arrive at the claimed invention.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. The rejection does not state to incorporate the entire formulation of Johannpeter into the composition of Pan. The rejection states to incorporate only sodium stearate and sodium palmitate into the composition of Pan. Incorporating only sodium stearate and sodium palmitate would not be incompatible with the claimed nonaqueous oral care composition. Pan discloses wherein the composition comprises C12-28 fatty acid gelling agents. Sodium stearate and sodium palmitate are C12-22 fatty acid gelling agents. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of incorporating sodium stearate and sodium palmitate into the composition of Pan. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Johannpeter explicitly teaches against using propylene oxide-containing substances. Therefore, one of skill in the art would not include substances containing propylene oxide, such as a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide, in any formulation.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Johannpeter discloses wherein a solubilizer is free from components containing propylene oxide (see abstract and claims 1 and 8 of Johannpeter). Thus, components containing propylene oxide are undesirable for forming a solubilizer. Johannpeter does not disclose wherein components containing propylene oxide are undesirable for forming an oral care composition. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Example 2 of the specification shows that the viscosity of the inventive composition remains stable over time, even under elevated temperature storage conditions.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Without comparing the claimed composition with another composition, unexpected results with regards to viscosity stability cannot be determined. The claimed subject matter must be compared with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 716.02(e). As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Example 3 demonstrates that a control formulation lacking the fatty acid salt experiences immediate bloating due to peroxide decomposition, whereas the claimed formulation was stable.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. The control formulation comprises H2O2 and fatty alcohol, instead of fatty acid salt. This is not the closest prior art. As discussed above, the claimed subject matter must be compared with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 716.02(e). The composition of Pan is the closest prior art because it comprises hydrogen peroxide and fatty acid, which is more closely related to fatty acid salt than fatty alcohol. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Elejalde and Pan II do not cure the deficiencies of Pan and Johannpeter.
The Examiner submits that arguments regarding Pan and Johannpeter are addressed above and are unpersuasive. Therefore, the rejections with Elejalde and Pan II are maintained.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35, and 37-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7, 13, 14, 16-18, 23, 24, 28, 32-34, 36, 39, 42 and 44 of copending Application No. 18/043,703 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims recite a more specific version of the instant claims (i.e., the conflicting claims recite additional gelling agent) and thus read on the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
2. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35, and 37-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 14, 16, 18, 21, 25-27, 29, 32, 34, 35 and 37 of copending Application No. 18/043,695 in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as disclosing a sodium salt of fatty acid. However, Johannpeter discloses a cosmetic, dermatological, or pharmaceutical formulation comprising gelling agents (¶ [0052]). Cosmetic, dermatological or pharmaceutical formulations include oral and dental care compositions (¶ [0026]). Suitable gelling agents include metal salts of fatty acids, preferably having 12 to 22 carbon atoms, for example sodium stearate, sodium palmitate, and mixtures thereof (¶ [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used sodium salt of a fatty acid since it is a suitable gelling agent as taught by Johannpeter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35, and 37-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 12-17 of copending Application No. 17/472,241 in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter) and Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019)
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as disclosing a sodium salt of fatty acid and a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide. However, Johannpeter discloses a cosmetic, dermatological, or pharmaceutical formulation comprising gelling agents (¶ [0052]). Cosmetic, dermatological or pharmaceutical formulations include oral and dental care compositions (¶ [0026]). Suitable gelling agents include metal salts of fatty acids, preferably having 12 to 22 carbon atoms, for example sodium stearate, sodium palmitate, and mixtures thereof (¶ [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used sodium salt of a fatty acid since it is a suitable gelling agent as taught by Johannpeter. Pan discloses wherein an orally acceptable vehicle may include one or more humectants such as glycerin, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, and block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide. Illustrative block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide include PLURONIC® P105 (¶ [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide since it is a known and effective orally acceptable vehicle as taught by Pan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
4. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35, and 37-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,141,364 in view of Johannpeter et al. (US 2009/0005463, Jan. 1, 2009) (hereinafter Johannpeter) and Pan et al. (US 2019/0159981, May 30, 2019).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as disclosing a sodium salt of fatty acid and a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide. However, Johannpeter discloses a cosmetic, dermatological, or pharmaceutical formulation comprising gelling agents (¶ [0052]). Cosmetic, dermatological or pharmaceutical formulations include oral and dental care compositions (¶ [0026]). Suitable gelling agents include metal salts of fatty acids, preferably having 12 to 22 carbon atoms, for example sodium stearate, sodium palmitate, and mixtures thereof (¶ [0099]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used sodium salt of a fatty acid since it is a suitable gelling agent as taught by Johannpeter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used sodium salt of a fatty acid since it is a suitable gelling agent as taught by Joerger. Pan discloses wherein an orally acceptable vehicle may include one or more humectants such as glycerin, propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, and block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide. Illustrative block copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide include PLURONIC® P105 (¶ [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have incorporated a copolymer of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide since it is a known and effective orally acceptable vehicle as taught by Pan.
Response to Arguments
Applicants respectfully defer these issues until the application is otherwise in condition for allowance. Since this has not occurred, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19, 24, 28, 30, 32, 35, and 37-39 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614