Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 49, 53, 54, 58, 59, and 68-70 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 49, 53, 54, and 68-70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm (“NR Multicast services and configuration for UEs in different RRC states”, R2-2006795, 8/28/2020) in view of Wei et al. (US 2023/0171698) (“Wei”).
For claims 49 and 68-70; Qualcomm discloses: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), one or more messages (section 2.3, option 2: some of the common multicast service configuration (example: BWP/CORESET/SS configuration for PDCCH monitoring etc.) can be delivered to UEs using broadcast RRC signalling and any UE specific MRB configuration (example: L1 HARQ configuration, L2 configuration etc.) can be provided to UEs through dedicated RRC signalling) comprising: configuration information indicating that one or more multicast broadcast services are associated with: a first control resource set (CORESET), and a first bandwidth part (BWP), radio network temporary identifiers (RNTIs) (section 2.3, option 2: some of the common multicast service configuration (example: BWP/CORESET/SS configuration for PDCCH monitoring etc.) can be delivered to UEs using broadcast RRC signalling and any UE specific MRB configuration (example: L1 HARQ configuration, L2 configuration etc.) can be provided to UEs through dedicated RRC signalling), each of the RNTIs being associated with a different set of the one or more multicast broadcast services (section 2.3: Following is a high level list of multicast service configuration parameters:…Multicast QoS: LCID: G-RNTI mapping configuration), and; receiving, by the UE, downlink control information associated with an RNTI of the RNTIs in the first CORESET of the first BWP (section 2.3, option 2: some of the common multicast service configuration (example: BWP/CORESET/SS configuration for PDCCH monitoring etc.) can be delivered to UEs using broadcast RRC signalling and any UE specific MRB configuration (example: L1 HARQ configuration, L2 configuration etc.) can be provided to UEs through dedicated RRC signalling); and receiving, by the UE, based on the downlink control information, one or more transport blocks associated with the one or more multicast broadcast services (section 2.3, option 1: This assumes that Multicast service(s) can only be delivered to UEs while in RRC_CONNECTED state or optionally can continue to receive multicast services without any feedback after transitioning to RRC_INACTIVE).
Qualcomm does not expressly disclose, but Wei from similar fields of endeavor teaches: multiple sets of discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters, each of the multiple sets of the DRX configuration parameters being associated with the different set of the one or more multicast broadcast services and including a configuration parameter that indicates a slot offset (paragraph 68: a single DRX configuration may be used for all MBMS sessions associated with session-specific fields in the DCI. Alternatively, as described above, an independent DRX configuration may be used for each MBMS session associated with session-specific fields in the DCI), and; receiving, by the UE, based on a set of the multiple sets of DRX configuration parameters, downlink control information associated with an RNTI of the RNTIs (paragraph 65, 68: the UE 120 may receive a PDCCH-WUS that includes the DCI in a set of wakeup signal monitoring occasions. In some aspects, the DCI (e.g., the PDCCH-WUS) may be scrambled by the same RNTI (e.g., a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the DCI may be scrambled by the same RNTI), such as a group RNTI, for a plurality of MBMS sessions associated with the PDCCH-WUS… a single DRX configuration may be used for all MBMS sessions associated with session-specific fields in the DCI. Alternatively, as described above, an independent DRX configuration may be used for each MBMS session associated with session-specific fields in the DCI). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Wei in the MBS as described by Qualcomm. The motivation is to improve PDCCH power savings.
For claim 53; Qualcomm discloses: wherein the one or more messages comprise one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages (section 2.3, proposal 3, option 2: Some of the parameters are provided in unicast RRC signalling and some of the configuration parameters by means of broadcast RRC signalling).
For claim 54; Qualcomm discloses: wherein the one or more messages comprise a system information block (SIB) associated with the multicast broadcast services (section 2.3, proposal 2, option 2: Some of common configuration can be delivered by using broadcast signalling (e.g. SIB, MCCH like channel) and UE specific configuration can be delivered through dedicated RRC signalling).
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm in view of Wei as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Samsung et al. (“On Basic functions for broadcast/multicast for RRC_IDLE/RRC_INACTIVE UEs”, R1-2006175, 8/8/2020) (“Samsung”).
For claim 58; Qualcomm discloses the subject matter in claim 49 as described above in the office action.
Qualcomm does not expressly disclose, but Samsung from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the receiving the one or more messages is via a default BWP (section 2-3: In order to support multicast, that initial BWP can be utilized). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Samsung in the MBS as described by Qualcomm. The motivation is to improve configuration of multiple services.
Claim(s) 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm in view of Wei in view of Samsung as applied to claim 58 above, and further in view of Takeda et al. (US 2021/0045017) (“Takeda”).
For claim 59; Qualcomm discloses the subject matter in claim 58 as described above in the office action.
Qualcomm does not expressly disclose, but Samsung from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the receiving the one or more messages includes receiving the one or more messages via a default BWP (section 2-3: After a UE detects SSB/PBCH, it monitors CORESET#0 and receives SIB. Then, the UE can be aware of initial BWP). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Samsung in the MBS as described by Qualcomm. The motivation is to improve configuration of multiple services.
Qualcomm does not expressly disclose, but Takeda from similar fields of endeavor teaches: a primary cell (paragraph 92: the UE 115-a may receive one or more of the SIB or the MCCH in a default downlink BWP of a primary cell). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Takeda in the MBS as described by Qualcomm. The motivation is to improve configuration of multiple services.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (US 2022/0322169); Park discloses the MBS interest service list comprises at least one of: an MBS frequency; an MBS session identifier; a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) of an MBS service or a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) service; a destination layer-2 identifier for the MBS service or the V2X service; an MBS service priority; or a V2X service priority.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466