DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the Examiner’s rejection of claim 1 under Kayaba was based on the percentage of primary and secondary nitrogen in only one molecule of xylenediamine and one molecule of aminopropyltriethoxysilane. The Applicant has shown this to be inconsistent with the measurement of primary and secondary amine in the compound as shown in Table 1, Examples 2-4.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kayaba as Kayaba does disclose in Example 26 the quantity of additional amine in the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kayaba US 20180334588A1.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5-6, in Example 26 Kayaba teaches a composition comprising a compound (A) aminopropyldiethoxymethylsilane which includes a Si-O bond and a cationic functional group containing at
least one of a primary nitrogen atom or a secondary nitrogen atom (Paragraph [0318]). This reads on the claimed “A.” Kayaba also teaches the composition of Example comprises a crosslinking agent ethyl half ester oxydiphthalic acid acid which includes three or more -C(=O)OX groups (X is a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having from I to 6 carbon atoms) in the molecule, in which from one to six of three or more -C(=O)OX groups are -C(=O)OH groups, (Paragraph [0319). The molecular weight of this structure is 400.12 g/mol. This falls within the claimed range of 200-600 g/mol. This reads on the claimed “B.”
Kayaba teaches in Example 26 a composition comprising an additional amine component para-xylenediamine (Paragraph [0318]), mentioned previously as the preferred form of xylenediamine (Paragraph [0129]). Kayaba does teach that the amount of xylenediamine in the composition is 5% by mass and the amount of APDES, or component (A) in the composition is 2% by mass. The molar mass of APDES is 191.34 g/mol. The molar mass of xylene diamine is 136.2 g/mol.
This corresponds to 12.4% percent of primary and secondary nitrogen in A with respect to the total amount of nitrogen in (A) and (C). This overlaps with the claimed range of 3-95 mol%.
The molar mass of xylenediamine of 136.2 g/mol falls within the claimed range of 80-600.
Kayaba also teaches in example 26 that the composition comprises ethanol (Table 5). This reads on the claimed “polar solvent.”
Regarding claim 7, Kayaba teaches the composition can be used in a semiconductor device (Title). This reads on the claimed “semiconductor device.”
Regarding claim 8, Kayaba teaches that the composition can be applied to a substrate (Paragraph [0146]). This reads on the limitations of claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 and 12 recite that two alkyl groups are bonded to an oxygen atom in the Si-O bond. This is the implied structure
where R is an alkyl group. This structure is not taught in Kayaba. Trivalent, positively charged oxygen substituents bonded to a silicon atom are not known in the art and would generally be considered highly unstable and undesirable by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762