DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 16, 2025, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 depends from a cancelled claim; therefore, it is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al., US 12284525 B2, hereinafter “Wang.”
Consider Claim 1 as amended. Wang discloses:
a network slice determination method, performed by a terminal device (See column 1 lines 47-54: Systems, methods, and instrumentalities are provided for a network control node for connecting a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) to a network slice in a network. The network control node may receive service information associated with a service being requested by the WTRU), comprising:
sending a slice query request to a server to indicate the server to determine available network slice information (See fig. 3 and column 11 lines 54-56: the WTRU may indicate services that the WTRU wants to use and the main control node may utilize the provided service information to select a slice):
receiving the available network slice information by the server according to the slice query request (See column 1 lines 49-51: The network control node may receive service information associated with a service being requested by the WTRU), the available network slice information being configured to characterize at least one available network slice for the terminal device (See column 6 lines 46-51: the RAN may broadcast information associated with available network slices that the RAN belongs to or is connected to. The RAN may broadcast the information using air interface signaling (e.g., such as system information and/or beacon message). The network slice information for a particular network slice may include one or more of the following example fields or parameters: an identifier of the network slice, priority of the network slice, service class(es) served by the network slice, target device class, QoS targets, mobility support, security service, charging information, and/or performance information);
determining a target network slice from the at least one available network slice according to the available network slice information (See column 24 lines 31-34 and 60-63: receive network slice selection policy information from a network, wherein the network slice selection policy information defines criteria for determining a session for accessing one or more network slices,… wherein the session associated with the target network slice is determined based on the criteria defined in the network slice selection policy information);
applying for the target network slice to a core network (see column 12 lines 65-67 through column 13 lines 1-2: Once the NAS message reaches a control entity of the network slice for the core network connection selected by the RAN, the control entity may verify whether it may serve the WTRU for some or all of the required services -reads on target network slice); and
establishing a session corresponding to the target network slice with a core network side (see column 12 lines 65-67 through column 13 lines 1-8: Once the NAS message reaches a control entity of the network slice for the core network connection selected by the RAN, the control entity may verify whether it may serve the WTRU for some or all of the required services. The verification may be made based on information included in the NAS message and/or other information (e.g., subscriber information, local policies, etc.). If the control entity determines that one or more of its supported slices can serve the WTRU service and that control entity is able to serve the WTRU for all of the services, the control entity may process the NAS message and respond to the WTRU);
wherein the available network slice information is determined by the server according to at least one of the current position of the terminal device (see column 5 lines 64-67: The devices may be configured to discover what network slices are being provided by the operator (e.g., in the devices' current location and/or radio access network)) or the subscription information of the user in response to the slice query request (see column 6 lines 13-16: In an example, the network may select one or more network slice on behalf of the WTRU based on information stored about the WTRU (e.g., subscription information, capability information, etc.); see column 11 lines 54-58: the WTRU may indicate services that the WTRU wants to use and the main control node may utilize the provided service information to select a slice. The main control node may utilize subscription information for the WTRU to select a slice), and the available network slice information comprises an applicable service type of the available network slice and a position of the available network slice (see column 7 lines 35-37: A service class may indicate the target service type and/or user group that a network slice is intended to serve. See column 12 lines 15-24: The main control node may contact one or more network slices that may serve the WTRU (e.g., based on services requested by the WTRU). The main control node may forward the NAS message as received from the WTRU. The main control node may forward a sub-set of the NAS message, e.g., to include information related to the service type that the slice can offer but not include other information unrelated to the service(s) that can be provided by the network slice).
Consider claim 3 as amended. Wang in view of Jin teaches claim 1; and Wang further discloses wherein the slice query request comprises information characterizing a current position of the terminal device (See column 5 lines 64-67: The devices may be configured to discover what network slices are being provided by the operator (e.g., in the devices' current location and/or radio access network)); and the available network slice information comprises network slice information of at least one available network slice for the terminal device at the current position (See column 8 lines 49-54: The slice information provided by the network server may be organized in different ways. In an example, the slice information may be organized based on the geographical locations in which the slices are available (e.g., such as an RAN IDs, cell IDs, various area IDs, network IDs, GPS coordinates, etc.)).
Consider claim 5 as amended. Wang teaches claim 1, and further discloses receiving an input slice selection instruction configured to indicate the target network slice in the at least one available network slice (see column 14 lines 30-32); and determining the target network slice according to the slice selection instruction (see column 14 lines 37-44).
Consider Claim 9 as amended. Wang discloses:
a network slice determination method, performed by a server, (See column 6 lines 32-33: Methods may be defined for such application server triggered or assisted selection of a core network slice) comprising:
in response to receiving a slice query request sent by a terminal device, determining at least one available network slice corresponding to the terminal device (See column 10 lines 41-45: The WTRU may use one or more pieces of the information described herein to match the preconfigured/target network slices with the discovered network slice information, and choose the serving network slice accordingly. See column 8 lines 44-50: A WTRU may receive network slice information from a network server (e.g., using Web APIs such as XML-based APIs or JSON). The network service may identify available network slices and/or may provide network slice information parameters for one or more slices (e.g., slice identifier, service classes, etc.). The slice information provided by the network server may be organized in different ways) according to at least one of the current position of the terminal device or the subscription information of the user in response to the slice query request (see column 5 lines 64-67: The devices may be configured to discover what network slices are being provided by the operator (e.g., in the devices' current location and/or radio access network)) or the subscription information of the user in response to the slice query request (see column 6 lines 13-16: In an example, the network may select one or more network slice on behalf of the WTRU based on information stored about the WTRU (e.g., subscription information, capability information, etc.); see column 11 lines 54-58: the WTRU may indicate services that the WTRU wants to use and the main control node may utilize the provided service information to select a slice. The main control node may utilize subscription information for the WTRU to select a slice); and
sending available network slice information characterizing the at least one available network slice for the terminal device to the terminal device, the available network slice information being configured for the terminal device to select a target network slice from the at least one available network slice (See column 9 lines 60-67 through column 10 line 1: The WTRU may provide information, such as its service class, QoS requirements, mobility characteristics, etc., to help the network choose the slice. When a network supports network slicing and multiple network slices are deployed (e.g., to serve different target user groups and/or services), a WTRU may select (or be served by) a network slice, for example, based on the WTRU's services and/or characteristics),
wherein the available network slice information comprises an applicable service type of the available network slice and a position of the available network slice (see column 7 lines 35-37: A service class may indicate the target service type and/or user group that a network slice is intended to serve. See column 12 lines 15-24: The main control node may contact one or more network slices that may serve the WTRU (e.g., based on services requested by the WTRU). The main control node may forward the NAS message as received from the WTRU. The main control node may forward a sub-set of the NAS message, e.g., to include information related to the service type that the slice can offer but not include other information unrelated to the service(s) that can be provided by the network slice).
Consider claim 11 as mended. Wang teaches claim 9, and further discloses wherein the slice query request comprises information characterizing a current position of the terminal device (See column 5 lines 64-67: The devices may be configured to discover what network slices are being provided by the operator (e.g., in the devices' current location and/or radio access network)); and determining the at least one available network slice corresponding to the terminal device according to the slice query request comprises: querying the at least one available network slice corresponding to the terminal device at the current position according to the information characterizing the current position of the terminal device (See column 8 lines 49-54: The slice information provided by the network server may be organized in different ways. In an example, the slice information may be organized based on the geographical locations in which the slices are available (e.g., such as an RAN IDs, cell IDs, various area IDs, network IDs, GPS coordinates, etc.)).
Consider claim 13 as mended. Wang teaches claim 1, and further discloses a communication device, comprising a processor, a memory and a communication bus (see fig. 8B), wherein the communication bus is configured to implement connection communication between the processor and the memory and the processor is configured to execute at least one program stored in the memory to perform the network slice determination method (See column 24 lines 10-14: In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
Consider claim 15. Wang teaches claim 1, and further discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing a first network slice determination program, wherein the first network slice determination program, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform the network slice determination method (See column 24 lines 10-14: In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
Consider claim 17 as amended. Wang teaches claim 3, and further discloses receiving an input slice selection instruction configured to indicate the target network slice in the at least one available network slice (see column 14 lines 30-32); and determining the target network slice according to the slice selection instruction (see column 14 lines 37-44).
Consider claim 18. Wang teaches claim 9, further discloses a communication device, comprising a processor, a memory and a communication bus, wherein: the communication bus is configured to implement connection communication between the processor and the memory; and the processor is configured to execute at least one program stored in the memory to perform the network slice determination method (See fig. 8B).
Consider claim 19. Wang teaches claim 12, further discloses a communication device, comprising a processor, a memory and a communication bus, wherein: the communication bus is configured to implement connection communication between the processor and the memory; and the processor is configured to execute at least one program stored in the memory to perform the network slice determination method (See fig. 8B).
Consider claim 20. Wang teaches claim 9, further discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing a second network slice determination program, wherein the second network slice determination program, when executed by one or more processors, causes at least one processor to perform the network slice determination method (See column 24 lines 11-14: In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
Consider claim 21. Wang teaches claim 12, further discloses a (See column 24 lines 11-14: In addition, the methods described herein may be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a computer-readable medium for execution by a computer or processor).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al., US 12284525 B2, hereinafter “Wang,” in view of Zhu et al., US 11190987 B2, hereinafter “Zhu.”
Consider claim 6. Wang teaches claim 5, but is silent regarding displaying the available network slice information and receiving a slice selection instruction issued based on displayed content.
Zhu, in related art, suggests displaying the available network slice information; and receiving a slice selection instruction issued based on displayed content (see column 1 lines 66-67 through column 2 lines 1-7: According to a first aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a method for associating an application with a network slice, including: obtaining, by a terminal, display instruction information, an identifier of a first network slice that the terminal is allowed to access, and service feature information corresponding to the first network slice; displaying the service feature information corresponding to the first network slice on a first display interface of the terminal based on the display instruction information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to consider Zhu’s teachings in relation to the claimed invention, thus providing means to implement configuration of a mapping relationship between an application and a slice type on a terminal side, thereby improving user experience, as discussed by Zhu (see column 1 lines 48-53).
Consider claim 7. Wang in view of Zhu teaches claim 6; and Zhu further suggests determining a recommended network slice (see column 5 lines 11-16: the session management function network element instructs, by using the reassociation instruction information, the mobility management function network element to associate the application with a suggested network slice, and provides a network service for the application by using the suggested network slice); and wherein displaying the available network slice information comprises in response to the available network slice information being displayed, identifying network slice information corresponding to the recommended network slice by a recommendation identifier (see column 5 lines 21-29: The apparatus is applied to a terminal and includes: an obtaining unit, configured to obtain display instruction information, an identifier of a first network slice that the terminal is allowed to access, and service feature information corresponding to the first network slice; a display unit, configured to display the service feature information corresponding to the first network slice on a first display interface of the terminal based on the display instruction information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to consider Zhu’s teachings in relation to the claimed invention, thus providing means to implement configuration of a mapping relationship between an application and a slice type on a terminal side, thereby improving user experience, as discussed by Zhu (see column 1 lines 48-53).
Consider claim 8. Wang in view of Zhu teaches claim 7; and Wang further suggests , wherein determining a recommended network slice comprises any one of following modes: mode one: determining a commonly-used service type based on at least one of a frequency and a usage duration of a service by the terminal device; and
identifying a network slice corresponding to the commonly-used service type as a recommended network slice; or mode two: determining a recommended network slice based on a usage duration of each network slice by the terminal device (see column 7 lines 33-37: An example of a network slice information parameter that may be utilized for network slice selection may include a service class. A service class may indicate the target service type and/or user group that a network slice is intended to serve).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following references, although not relied upon, are considered to be pertinent prior art since they disclose subject matter related to the invention claimed by the present application, i.e., mobility enhancement with network slicing.
US 12356491 B2 US 11812377 B2 US 11812375 B2
US 11792723 B2 US 11743812 B2 US 11716669 B2
US 11638205 B2 US 11490326 B2 US 11457500 B2
US 11395220 B2 US 11284240 B2 US 20210306937 A1
US 11032858 B2 US 20210168906 A1 US 10820241 B2
US 10716096 B2 US 10506552 B2 US 10172009 B1
US 20180352501 A1 US 20180270743 A1
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez, can be reached at (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/AMANCIO GONZALEZ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642
January 14, 2026