DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 32 are amended. Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 12, 17, 18, 22, 26-29, 32, 33, 37, 38, 40, and 41 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 22, 26-28, 32, 33, 37, and 40 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0006492), Helfrich et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,209,752), and Byrne, et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0048093), claims 12, 18, and 38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Helfrich, Byrne, and Chapel et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2015/0066227), and claims 29 and 41 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Helfrich, Byrne, and Schoenfelder et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2021/0142601), Applicant traverses the rejections.
First, Applicant asserts that Byrne teaches away from “a single connection providing both power and data” as in the claimed invention. Applicant asserts that the purpose of Byrne is to create a power-only, no-data connection, and that one of ordinary skill in the art “would be actively discouraged from implementing a data connection for identification purposes” by Byrne (Remarks, p. 9-10).
Examiner submits however that Byrne clearly disclosed an “electrical power connector” (e.g., “a USB charging port”), i.e., single connection, “for recharging portable electronic devices…also [having] electronic data capability” (¶[0003]), as cited in the rejection. While Byrne might seek to provide power-only connections, doing so does not diminish the clear disclosure of power-and-data connections by Byrne as a feature known in the art.
Applicant also asserts that Byrne does not provide motivation to combine this connector type with the system of Kim and Helfrich. In response to Applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, motivation to combine the teachings exists as stated in the rejection, as such a modification would have been use of known technique (i.e., a USB charging port to supply both power and data connection to a device) to improve similar devices/methods/products (i.e., the receptacle/device interface of Kim and Helfrich).
Second, Applicant asserts that the combination of Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne is technically inoperable. Applicant again asserts that the invention of Byrne is incapable of data exchange, and therefore such a design feature as modified into Kim and Helfrich would not be able to “receive, from the electronic device…a device identifier” as required by the claims.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, Applicant’s argument regarding Byrne is in reference to a feature not relied upon in the rejection. As noted above, Byrne clearly taught “power-and-data” connections as a feature known in the art (¶[0003]). Regardless of any additional disclosure by Byrne of power-only connections, the power-and-data connections of Byrne, which are capable of data transfer (“have electronic data capability”, Byrne, ¶[0003]) were relied upon as teaching the claimed invention in combination with the prior art of record, and therefore would be able to receive device identifiers as claimed.
Third, Applicant asserts that the combination of references relies on impermissible hindsight as there is no motivation to combine the prior art of record.
In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant asserts that “Helfrich teaches a standalone power converter that identifies a device only to optimize charging voltage” (Remarks, p. 11). Such a characterization however does not preclude relying upon Helfrich to teach emulation of a computer interface as detailed in the rejection. To reiterate, Helfrich disclosed a USB power converter capable of emulating a PC system, i.e., computer interface, according to USB standards, which could then retrieve descriptors/IDs from a connected electronic device (col. 4, lines 46-55, col. 5, lines 20-24 and 63-65, col. 6, lines 1-3). Examiner reiterates that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine this feature of Helfrich into Kim, as doing so would have been use of known technique (i.e., emulating a computer interface at a power interface to send/receive a device identifier from a device using USB standards) to improve similar devices/methods/products (i.e., the receptacle/interface of Kim) in the same way. Kim was concerned with receiving IDs from devices plugged into a power receptacle, e.g., USB connection, (¶[0079], [0082], [0160]). The teaching of Helfrich therefore provided an improved technique for doing so via emulation of a computer/USB host, also through a USB connection (col. 4, lines 46-50).
Furthermore, Applicant asserts again that Byrne teaches away from the claimed invention. However, Examiner submits that Byrne disclosed providing power and data transfer in a single connection as claimed, and Examiner relies upon the motivation noted above and in the rejection below for combining this feature into the system of Kim and Helfrich.
The rejection states the motivation to combine the prior art references, which relies on improvements to similar features within the arts (especially related to USB/power connections and devices) and does not use any knowledge gleaned from Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, Examiner submits that the combination does not rely upon impermissible hindsight.
Accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 22, 26-28, 32, 33, 37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0006492), hereinafter Kim, and further in view of Helfrich et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,209,752), hereinafter Helfrich, and further in view of Byrne et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0048093), hereinafter Byrne.
Regarding claim 1, Kim disclosed a system for identifying an electronic device connected to an electrical power source, the system comprising a plurality of apparatuses (receptacles, ¶[0079], Fig. 1, element 4) configured to communicate with a remote host (central management device, ¶[0076]);
wherein each apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses comprise:
an interface having an interface identifier (USB/Ethernet connector, i.e., interface, ¶[0079]; receptacle ID, i.e., interface identifier, ¶[0103], [0104], [0136], [0160]), the interface configured to
receive electrical power from an electrical power source (receptacle connected to external AC power source, i.e., electrical power source, ¶[0100]), the interface being connectable to an electronic device [and] can provide electrical power from the electrical power source to the electronic device (receptacle including insertion slot for inserting, i.e., connecting, a power plug of a device, i.e., electronic device to provide electrical power, ¶[0100]) and receive data from the electronic device that includes identification information that can be used to identify the electronic device (device communicating unique ID of device, i.e., identification information, to receptacle, i.e., receiving data, ¶[0082], [0160]);
thereby causing an electronic device connected to the interface to send a device identifier (device communicating, i.e., sending, unique ID of device, i.e., device identifier, ¶[0082], [0160]), and
receive, from the electronic device in response to connecting the electronic device to the interface, a device identifier identifying the electronic device (device communicating unique ID of device, i.e., device identifier, to receptacle, i.e., receiving, ¶[0082], [0160]); and
a communication device configured to send the device identifier and the interface identifier to the remote host (microcontroller, i.e., communication device, notifying, i.e., sending, central management device to store IDs, ¶[0160]); and
the remote host comprising:
a communication device configured to receive the device identifier and corresponding interface identifier associated with an electronic device connected to an interface of the plurality of apparatuses (internal communication unit, i.e., communication device, ¶[0091]; notifying central management device to store, i.e., receive, IDs, ¶[0160]), and
a processor configured to generate a control signal to control an electronic device associated with a selected device identifier connected to an interface having a corresponding interface identifier (controller, i.e., processor, ¶[0094]; providing control signals to control devices, ¶[0093]; controlling devices based on a selected ID, i.e., selected device identifier, and receptacle ID, ¶[0197]-[0198]);
wherein each apparatus further comprises a switch configured to control a supply of electrical power to a connected electronic device based on the control signal received from the remote host (power supply cutoff unit, i.e., switch, for supplying power to device, ¶[0102]).
While Kim disclosed sending a device ID using USB/Ethernet from a device connected to a receptacle, and providing power to the device via an insertion slot, Kim did not disclose:
receive electrical power from an electrical power source, the interface being connectable to an electronic device by a single connection that can provide both electrical power from the electrical power source to the electronic device and receive data from the electronic device that includes identification information that can be used to identify the electronic device; wherein the interface can:
emulate a computer interface according to a standard for connecting an electronic device to a computer, thereby causing an electronic device connected to the interface to send a device identifier according to the standard, and
receive, from the electronic device in response to connecting the electronic device to the interface, a device identifier identifying the electronic device according to the standard (emphasis added).
Helfrich disclosed:
wherein the interface can: emulate a computer interface according to a standard for connecting an electronic device to a computer (USB power converter, i.e., interface, emulating a PC system, i.e., emulating a computer interface, using USB standards, col. 4, lines 46-50, col. 5, lines 63-65), thereby causing an electronic device connected to the interface to send a device identifier according to the standard (USB power converter asking device, i.e., electronic device, for and retrieving descriptors, including VID and PID, i.e., device identifier, col. 4, lines 50-55, col. 5, lines 20-24, col. 6, lines 1-3), and
receive, from the electronic device in response to connecting the electronic device to the interface, a device identifier identifying the electronic device according to the standard (USB power converter asking device, i.e., electronic device, for and retrieving descriptors, including VID and PID, i.e., device identifier, col. 4, lines 50-55, col. 5, lines 20-24, col. 6, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interface of Kim wherein the interface can emulate a computer interface according to a standard for connecting an electronic device to a computer as claimed, because doing so would have been use of known technique (i.e., emulating a computer interface at a power interface to send/receive a device identifier from a device using USB standards) to improve similar devices/methods/products (i.e., the receptacle/interface of Kim) in the same way.
Kim and Helfrich did not disclose:
receive electrical power from an electrical power source, the interface being connectable to an electronic device by a single connection that can provide both electrical power from the electrical power source to the electronic device and receive data from the electronic device that includes identification information that can be used to identify the electronic device (emphasis added).
Byrne disclosed electrical power connectors that also have electronic data capability, e.g., a USB charging port (¶[0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interface of Kim and Helfrich to receive electrical power from an electrical power source, the interface being connectable to an electronic device by a single connection that can provide both electrical power from the electrical power source to the electronic device and receive data from the electronic device as claimed, because doing so would have been use of known technique (i.e., a USB charging port to supply both power and data connection to a device) to improve similar devices/methods/products (i.e., the receptacle/device interface of Kim and Helfrich) in the same way.
Regarding claim 2, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system wherein each apparatus is one of: an electrical power outlet (receptacles, Kim, ¶[0079], Fig. 1, element 4), an adapter for attaching to an electrical power outlet, and a further electronic device.
Regarding claim 6, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system wherein the standard is a Universal Serial Bus (USB) standard, each interface comprises a USB connector and is configured to emulate a USB host and each device identifier comprises a device descriptor according to the USB standard (USB power converter, i.e., interface/USB connector, emulating a USB host, and asking for descriptors from devices using USB standards, Helfrich, col. 4, lines 56).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system wherein the remote host is one or more of: in the same building as the interfaces (central management device in same home/office, i.e., building, as slave devices/receptacles, Kim, ¶[0133]), connected to the same local network as the interface (central management device on wide area network with slave devices, Kim, ¶[0133]), on a central server serving interfaces in multiple locations, connected to the interfaces over a wide area network (central management device on wide area network with slave devices, Kim, ¶[0133]), and in the cloud.
Regarding claim 22, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system further comprising a user device configured to receive information about connected electronic devices from the remote host, wherein the user device is, for example: a switch, a control panel, a portable electronic device, a computer, a tablet and a smartphone (collecting energy management data, i.e., receiving information about connected electronic devices, via user interface on a computer/portable device, i.e., user device/portable electronic device/computer, Kim, ¶[0078]).
Regarding claim 26, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system wherein at least one apparatus of the plurality of apparatuses comprises a further electronic device comprising the interface (receptacle including USB/Ethernet connector, i.e., interface, i.e., further electronic device, Kim, ¶[0079]).
Regarding claim 27, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system wherein the further electronic device is a computer (connector enabling wired communication, Kim, ¶[0100], communication with a device broadly requiring the function of the connector to be that of a computer), television, or media device.
Regarding claim 28, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system wherein the further electronic device is configured to control electrical power to its interface based on a control signal from the remote host (connector delivering pulsed power, i.e., control signal, from central management device, to control power supplied to device, Kim, ¶[0100], [0102]).
Regarding claim 32, Kim disclosed an apparatus for identifying an electronic device connected to an electrical power source, the apparatus comprising:
an interface having an interface identifier (USB/Ethernet connector, i.e., interface, ¶[0079]; receptacle ID, i.e., interface identifier, ¶[0103], [0104], [0136], [0160]), the interface configured to:
receive electrical power from an electrical power source (receptacle connected to external AC power source, i.e., electrical power source, ¶[0100]), the interface being connectable to an electronic device [and] provide electrical power from the electrical power source to the electronic device (receptacle including insertion slot for inserting, i.e., connecting, a power plug of a device, i.e., electronic device to provide electrical power, ¶[0100]) and receive data from the electronic device that includes identification information that can be used to identify the electronic device (device communicating unique ID of device, i.e., identification information, to receptacle, i.e., receiving data, ¶[0082], [0160]);
thereby causing an electronic device connected to the interface to send a device identifier (device communicating, i.e., sending, unique ID of device, i.e., device identifier, ¶[0082], [0160]); and
receive, from the electronic device in response to connecting the electronic device to the interface, a device identifier identifying the electronic device (device communicating unique ID of device, i.e., device identifier, to receptacle, i.e., receiving, ¶[0082], [0160]);
a communication device configured to:
send the device identifier and the interface identifier to a remote host (microcontroller, i.e., communication device, notifying, i.e., sending, central management device, i.e., remote host, to store IDs, ¶[0160]), and
receive, from the remote host, a control signal configured to control the electronic device having the device identifier and the interface identifier (central management device providing control signals to control devices, ¶[0093]; controlling devices based on a selected ID, i.e., selected device identifier, and receptacle ID, ¶[0197]-[0198]); and
a switch configured to control a supply of electrical power to the electronic device based on the control signal (power supply cutoff unit, i.e., switch, for supplying power to device, ¶[0102]).
While Kim disclosed sending a device ID using USB/Ethernet from a device connected to a receptacle, and providing power to the device via an insertion slot, Kim did not disclose:
receive electrical power from an electrical power source, the interface being connectable to an electronic device by a single connection that can provide electrical power from the electrical power source to the electronic device and receive data from the electronic device that includes identification information that can be used to identify the electronic device; wherein the interface can:
emulate a computer interface according to a standard for connecting an electronic device to a computer, thereby causing an electronic device connected to the interface to send a device identifier according to the standard; and
receive, from the electronic device in response to connecting the electronic device to the interface, a device identifier identifying the electronic device according to the standard (emphasis added).
Helfrich disclosed:
wherein the interface can: emulate a computer interface according to a standard for connecting an electronic device to a computer (USB power converter, i.e., interface, emulating a PC system, i.e., emulating a computer interface, using USB standards, col. 4, lines 46-50, col. 5, lines 63-65), thereby causing an electronic device connected to the interface to send a device identifier according to the standard (USB power converter asking device, i.e., electronic device, for and retrieving descriptors, including VID and PID, i.e., device identifier, col. 4, lines 50-55, col. 5, lines 20-24, col. 6, lines 1-3); and
receive, from the electronic device in response to connecting the electronic device to the interface, a device identifier identifying the electronic device according to the standard (USB power converter asking device, i.e., electronic device, for and retrieving descriptors, including VID and PID, i.e., device identifier, col. 4, lines 50-55, col. 5, lines 20-24, col. 6, lines 1-3).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Kim and Helfrich did not disclose:
receive electrical power from an electrical power source, the interface being connectable to an electronic device by a single connection that can provide electrical power from the electrical power source to the electronic device and receive data from the electronic device that includes identification information that can be used to identify the electronic device (emphasis added).
Byrne disclosed electrical power connectors that also have electronic data capability, e.g., a USB charging port (¶[0003]).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 33, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the apparatus wherein the apparatus comprising the interface is one of: an electrical power outlet (receptacles, Kim, ¶[0079], Fig. 1, element 4), an adapter for attaching to an electrical power, and a further electronic device.
Regarding claim 37, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the apparatus wherein the standard is a Universal Serial Bus (USB) standard, the interface comprises a USB connector and is configured to emulate a USB host and the device identifier comprises a device descriptor according to the USB standard (USB power converter, i.e., interface/USB connector, emulating a USB host, and asking for descriptors from devices using USB standards, Helfrich, col. 4, lines 56).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 40, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the apparatus wherein the apparatus comprising the interface is a further electronic device (receptacle including USB/Ethernet connector, i.e., interface, i.e., further electronic device, Kim, ¶[0079]).
Claims 12, 18, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0006492), Helfrich (U.S. Pat. 10,209,752), and Byrne (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0048093), as applied to claims 1 and 32 above, and further in view of Chapel et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2015/0066227), hereinafter Chapel.
Regarding claim 12, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system as detailed above. Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne did not disclose the system wherein the remote host comprises a computer-readable storage medium configured to store a policy database comprising a policy associated with electronic devices and/or a policy associated with a class of electronic devices;
wherein the control signal is generated based on the policy; and
in the event that the policy indicates that operation of the electronic device having the selected device identifier is allowed, the control signal is configured to enable the switch in the interface to which the electronic device having the selected device identifier is connected; and
in the event that the policy indicates that operation of the electronic device having the selected device identifier is disallowed, the control signal is configured to disable the switch in the interface to which the electronic device having the selected device identifier is connected.
Chapel disclosed programmed policy conditions, i.e., storing a policy database, for controlling power usage, i.e., enabling/disabling a switch of a receptacle, of devices (¶[0051], [0026], [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne wherein the remote host comprises a computer-readable storage medium configured to store a policy database comprising a policy associated with electronic devices and/or a policy associated with a class of electronic devices, wherein the control signal is generated based on the policy, and in the event that the policy indicates that operation of the electronic device having the selected device identifier is allowed, the control signal is configured to enable the switch in the interface to which the electronic device having the selected device identifier is connected, and in the event that the policy indicates that operation of the electronic device having the selected device identifier is disallowed, the control signal is configured to disable the switch in the interface to which the electronic device having the selected device identifier is connected as claimed, because doing so would have addressed potential or actual overcapacity situations and reduced power consumption (Chapel, ¶[0018], [0060], [0062]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system as detailed above. Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne did not disclose the system wherein each apparatus is configured to determine an electrical demand profile of an electronic device connected to the interface, wherein the communication device of the apparatus sends the electrical demand profile to the remote host and the remote host is configured to identify the electronic device based on the electrical demand profile, wherein the apparatus determines an electrical demand profile in response to the interface receiving no device identifier from the connected electronic device.
Chapel disclosed:
determine an electrical demand profile of an electronic device connected to the interface (identifying, i.e., determining, an electrical signature, i.e., electrical demand profile, of a device connected to a receptacle, i.e., interface, ¶[0051]), wherein the communication device of the apparatus sends the electrical demand profile to the remote host and the remote host is configured to identify the electronic device based on the electrical demand profile (processor, i.e., remote host, monitoring, i.e., receiving, electrical signature at receptacle to identify the device, ¶[0051]), wherein the apparatus determines an electrical demand profile in response to the interface receiving no device identifier from the connected electronic device (identifying devices via signature as an alternative to communicating, i.e., in response to receiving no, identification code, i.e., device identifier, ¶[0051], [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne wherein each apparatus is configured to determine an electrical demand profile of an electronic device connected to the interface, wherein the communication device of the apparatus sends the electrical demand profile to the remote host and the remote host is configured to identify the electronic device based on the electrical demand profile, wherein the apparatus determines an electrical demand profile in response to the interface receiving no device identifier from the connected electronic device as claimed, because doing so would have better identified electrical devices for the purpose of power management and addressing quality issues (Chapel, ¶[0014]).
Regarding claim 38, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the apparatus as detailed above. Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne did not disclose the apparatus wherein the interface is configured to determine an electrical demand profile of the electronic device, wherein the interface determines an electrical demand profile in response to the interface receiving no device identifier from the electronic device.
Chapel disclosed:
wherein the interface is configured to determine an electrical demand profile of the electronic device (identifying, i.e., determining, an electrical signature, i.e., electrical demand profile, of a device connected to a receptacle, i.e., interface, ¶[0051]), wherein the interface determines an electrical demand profile in response to the interface receiving no device identifier from the electronic device (identifying devices via signature as an alternative to communicating, i.e., in response to receiving no, identification code, i.e., device identifier, ¶[0051], [0085]).
The combination of references is made under the same rationale as claim 18 above.
Claims 29 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0006492), Helfrich (U.S. Pat. 10,209,752), and Byrne (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2018/0048093), as applied to claims 28 and 40 above, and further in view of Schoenfelder et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2021/0142601), hereinafter Schoenfelder.
Regarding claim 29, Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne disclosed the system as detailed above. Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne did not disclosed the system wherein the further electronic device is configured to receive a software update with instructions to allow the further electronic device to control the electrical power to its interface based on the control signal.
Schoenfelder disclosed smart outlets, i.e., further electronic devices/interfaces, receiving software updates and being remotely controlled, i.e., controlling electrical power (¶[0051], [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Kim, Helfrich, and Byrne wherein the further electronic device is configured to receive a software update with instructions to allow the further electronic device to control the electrical power to its interface based on the control signal as claimed, because doing so would have been use of known technique (i.e., software updates to smart outlets) to improve similar devices/methods/products (i.e., the receptacles of Kim and Helfrich) in the same way.
Claim 41 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 29 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH R MANIWANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441