Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 3-5, 12-13 are cancelled and pending claims 1-2, 6-11 are addressed below.
Previous Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species group 5 (figure 26) filed 10/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahe (DE102016109406A1) in view of Serrat (US 20220256832).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 6, Rahe discloses a system comprising:
a boom (16; see figure 2);
a first nozzle assembly (one of the nozzle 15 and light) attached to the boom;
a second nozzle assembly (another nozzle 15 and light spaced away from the first assembly and second assembly) attached to the boom and separated from the first nozzle assembly by a space;
a third nozzle assembly (another nozzle 15 and light spaced away from the second assembly) attached to the boom and separated from the first nozzle assembly by a space (see annotation) and separated from the second nozzle assembly by a space (see annotation),
wherein each of the first, second, and third nozzle assemblies comprise at least one light (par. 45: “a series of light sources for separate illumination of each individual spray fan 18 may be provided, as is known from the prior art for visual monitoring…These light sources…are then typically assigned to each individual spray nozzle 15 and are arranged for this purpose in the vicinity of the latter on the boom 16”);
Examiner's Annotated Figure 1 (Rahe)
Rahe does not teach the first nozzle assembly includes at least a first light and a second light, the first light disposed to illuminate a spray from the second nozzle assembly and the second light disposed to illuminate a spray from the third nozzle assembly (claim 1), and wherein the second nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and a light combination (claim 2) and wherein the third nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and a light combination (claim 6). Rahe does teach that each nozzle is assigned light source for illuminating each individual spray fan (par. 45).
Serrat discloses a system with lighting and imaging system having a first nozzle assembly, second nozzle assembly, and third nozzle assembly (as annotated below), each assembly having three lights 410i, 420i, and 430i (par. 45-46). The first nozzle assembly includes at least a first light (430i; see annotation below) and a second light (420i; see annotation below), the first light disposed to illuminate the adjacent area aligned with the second nozzle assembly and the second light disposed to illuminate the adjacent area aligned with the third nozzle assembly (as annotated below). The light arrangement is provided to improve image quality being monitored by the cameras 210 (par. 6). Serrat shows that light projections can be rearranged to have different projecting directions: (1) figure 1 of Serrat shows a straight line projection from light projectors 40i toward a targeted illuminating area and (2) an alternative lighting arrangement that have the light projectors 420i and 430i pointing in opposing directions toward adjacent areas.
Considering the advantage of uniform and homogenous lighting for better image captured described in Serrat’s paragraphs 45-48 and 58, a person of ordinary in the art would have had the technological capabilities to assess the similar advantages on fixture placement and illuminating opposing adjacent targeted areas, i.e. adjacent spray fans of Rahe, to optimize lighting capture for spray monitoring as mentioned in paragraph 45. With Rahe already discloses illuminating the spray discharge from the each nozzles, repositioning the light fixture(s) on each of the first, second, and third nozzle assemblies and redirecting the light projection from the respective light fixture to illuminate an adjacent nozzle spray fan discharge in Rahe’s system would have required no inventive effort.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahe to incorporate the teachings of Serrat to provide the first nozzle assembly includes at least a first light and a second light, the first light disposed to illuminate a spray from the second nozzle assembly and the second light disposed to illuminate a spray from the third nozzle assembly (claim 1), and wherein the second nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and a light combination (claim 2) and wherein the third nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and a light combination (claim 6). Doing so would provide optimized lighting for image capture and precision in spray monitoring.
Examiner's Annotated Figure 2 (Serrat)
Regarding claims 7-8, Rahe discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and two light combination with a first light being disposed to illuminate an adjacent nozzle for a first side of the first nozzle assembly (claim 7; illuminating the second nozzle, Rahe as modified in view of Serrat); and a second light of the first nozzle assembly being disposed to illuminate an adjacent nozzle for a second opposing side of the first nozzle assembly (claim 8; illuminating the third nozzle, Rahe as modified in view of Serrat).
Claims 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahe (DE102016109406A1) in view of Serrat (US 20220256832), further in view of Stanhope (US 20210308708).
Regarding claim 9, Rahe discloses the system of claim 1, but fails to teach the system further comprising: a first camera attached to the boom, the first camera is disposed to capture images of the first and second nozzle assemblies; and a second camera attached to the boom, the second camera is disposed to capture images of other nozzle assemblies that are attached to the boom (Rahe shows only one camera 21, fig. 2, for spray fan monitoring; par. 19).
Examiner's Annotated Figure 3 (Stanhope)
However, Stanhope discloses a comparable system having one or more cameras 104 (fig. 3) attached to the boom disposed to capture images of the first and second nozzle assemblies 38 (see annotation below). Paragraph 30 discloses “one or more imaging devices 104 may be installed on the sprayer 10. In general, the imaging device(s) 104 may be configured to capture image data depicting the spray fans 54 dispensed by one or more of the nozzles 38 mounted on the boom assembly 24”. Such disclosure is understood to encompass another one of cameras 104, not shown in the figures, intended to monitor spray fans 54 of other nozzles 38 not yet captured by the annotated camera 104 in examiner’s annotated figure 4.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahe to incorporate the teachings of Stanhope to provide the system further comprising: a first camera attached to the boom, the first camera is disposed to capture images of the first and second nozzle assemblies; and a second camera attached to the boom, the second camera is disposed to capture images of other nozzle assemblies that are attached to the boom. Providing multiple cameras, with a dedicated camera for every one or two nozzles so would enhance precision of the spray monitoring, compared to a single camera monitoring the entire boom, to ensure target application rate and spray quality is maintained (Stanhope, paragraph 20).
Regarding claims 10-11, Rahe discloses the system of claim 1, but fails to teach at least one camera attached to the boom (claim 10); wherein the camera is disposed to capture images of a spray pattern of the nozzle of the first assembly (claim 11; Rahe shows only one camera 21 not mounted on the boom, fig. 2, for spray fan monitoring; par. 19).
However, Stanhope discloses a comparable system having one or more cameras 104 (fig. 3) attached to the boom disposed to capture images of the first and second nozzle assemblies 38 (see annotation below). Paragraph 30 discloses “one or more imaging devices 104 may be installed on the sprayer 10. In general, the imaging device(s) 104 may be configured to capture image data depicting the spray fans 54 dispensed by one or more of the nozzles 38 mounted on the boom assembly 24”.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rahe to incorporate the teachings of Stanhope to provide at least one camera attached to the boom (claim 10); wherein the camera is disposed to capture images of a spray pattern of the nozzle of the first assembly (claim 11). Providing multiple cameras mounted on the boom, with a dedicated camera for every one or two nozzles would enhance precision of the spray monitoring, compared to a single camera not mounted on the boom monitoring the entire boom, to ensure target application rate and spray quality is maintained (Stanhope, paragraph 20).
Alternative rejections
Claims 1, 2, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunthorpe (US 20130256433) in view of Serrat (US 20220256832).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, Gunthorpe discloses a system (figs. 2-5) comprising:
a boom (31);
a first nozzle assembly (one of nozzle 15 with its associated light 9; see fig. 3) attached to the boom (figs. 4-5);
a second nozzle assembly (another nozzle and light group adjacent the first nozzle assembly) attached to the boom and separated from the first nozzle assembly by a space (see figs. 4-5); and
a third nozzle assembly (another nozzle and light group adjacent the first nozzle assembly and/or second nozzle assembly) attached to the boom and separated from the first nozzle assembly by a space and separated from the second nozzle assembly by a space (see figs. 4-5),
wherein the first nozzle assembly includes at least a first light (9; see fig. 3)
Examiner's Annotated Figure 4 (Gunthorpe)
Gunthorpe does not teach the first nozzle assembly includes at least a first light and a second light, the first light disposed to illuminate a spray from the second nozzle assembly and the second light disposed to illuminate a spray from the third nozzle assembly (claim 1), and wherein the second nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and a light combination (claim 2) and wherein the third nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and a light combination (claim 6). Gunthorpe does intend to have each individual spray fan illuminated for monitoring (see figs. 2-3).
Serrat discloses a system with lighting and imaging system having a first nozzle assembly, second nozzle assembly, and third nozzle assembly (as annotated below), each assembly having three lights 410i, 420i, and 430i (par. 45-46). The first nozzle assembly includes at least a first light (430i; see annotation below) and a second light (420i; see annotation below), the first light disposed to illuminate the adjacent area aligned with the second nozzle assembly and the second light disposed to illuminate the adjacent area aligned with the third nozzle assembly (as annotated below). The light arrangement is provided to improve image quality being monitored by the cameras 210 (par. 6). In short, Serrat was cited to show that light projections can be rearranged to have different projecting directions: (1) figure 1 of Serrat shows a straight line projection from light projectors 40i toward a targeted illuminating area and (2) an alternative lighting arrangement that have the light projectors 420i and 430i pointing in opposing directions toward adjacent areas.
Considering the advantage of uniform and homogenous lighting for better image captured described in Serrat’s paragraphs 45-48 and 58, a person of ordinary in the art would have had the technological capabilities to assess the similar advantages on fixture placement and illuminating opposing adjacent targeted areas, i.e. adjacent nozzle spray fans of Gunthorpe, to optimize lighting capture for spray monitoring as mentioned in paragraph 45. With Gunthorpe already discloses illuminating the spray discharge from the each nozzles, repositioning the light fixture(s) on each of the first, second, and third nozzle assemblies and redirecting the light projection from the respective light fixture to illuminate an adjacent nozzle spray fan discharge in Gunthorpe’s system would have required no inventive effort.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gunthorpe to incorporate the teachings of Serrat to provide the first nozzle assembly includes at least a first light and a second light, the first light disposed to illuminate a spray from the second nozzle assembly and the second light disposed to illuminate a spray from the third nozzle assembly (claim 1), and wherein the second nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and a light combination (claim 2) and wherein the third nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and a light combination (claim 6). Doing so would provide optimized lighting for image capture and precision in spray monitoring.
Regarding claims 7-8, Gunthorpe, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first nozzle assembly comprises a nozzle and two light combination with a first light being disposed to illuminate an adjacent nozzle for a first side of the first nozzle assembly (first side illuminating the second nozzle, Gunthorpe as modified in view of Serrat); and a second light of the first nozzle assembly being disposed to illuminate an adjacent nozzle for a second opposing side of the first nozzle assembly (second side of the first nozzle illuminating the third nozzle, Gunthorpe as modified in view of Serrat).
Claims 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunthorpe (US 20130256433) in view of Serrat (US 20220256832), further in view of Stanhope (US 20210308708).
Regarding claim 9, Gunthorpe, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, but fails to teach the system further comprising: a first camera attached to the boom, the first camera is disposed to capture images of the first and second nozzle assemblies; and a second camera attached to the boom, the second camera is disposed to capture images of other nozzle assemblies that are attached to the boom.
Examiner's Annotated Figure 5 (Stanhope)
However, Stanhope discloses a comparable system having one or more cameras 104 (fig. 3) attached to the boom disposed to capture images of the first and second nozzle assemblies 38 (see annotation below). Paragraph 30 discloses “one or more imaging devices 104 may be installed on the sprayer 10. In general, the imaging device(s) 104 may be configured to capture image data depicting the spray fans 54 dispensed by one or more of the nozzles 38 mounted on the boom assembly 24”. Such disclosure is understood to encompass another one of cameras 104, not shown in the figures, intended to monitor spray fans 54 of other nozzles 38 not yet captured by the annotated camera 104 in examiner’s annotated figure 4.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gunthorpe to incorporate the teachings of Stanhope to provide the system further comprising: a first camera attached to the boom, the first camera is disposed to capture images of the first and second nozzle assemblies; and a second camera attached to the boom, the second camera is disposed to capture images of other nozzle assemblies that are attached to the boom. Providing multiple cameras, with a dedicated camera for every one or two nozzles so would enhance precision of the spray monitoring, compared to having a single camera monitoring the entire boom, to ensure target application rate and spray quality is maintained (Stanhope, paragraph 20). Since monitoring the spray fan with cameras is known, utilizing multiple cameras to view targeted areas and different positioning of the cameras for better view angle would have required no inventive effort.
Regarding claims 10-11, Gunthorpe, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, but fails to teach at least one camera attached to the boom (claim 10); wherein the camera is disposed to capture images of a spray pattern of the nozzle of the first assembly (claim 11).
However, Stanhope discloses a comparable system having one or more cameras 104 (fig. 3) attached to the boom disposed to capture images of the first and second nozzle assemblies 38 (see annotation below). Paragraph 30 discloses “one or more imaging devices 104 may be installed on the sprayer 10. In general, the imaging device(s) 104 may be configured to capture image data depicting the spray fans 54 dispensed by one or more of the nozzles 38 mounted on the boom assembly 24”.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gunthorpe to incorporate the teachings of Stanhope to provide at least one camera attached to the boom (claim 10); wherein the camera is disposed to capture images of a spray pattern of the nozzle of the first assembly (claim 11). Providing multiple cameras mounted on the boom, with a dedicated camera for every one or two nozzles would enhance precision of the spray monitoring, compared to a single camera not mounted on the boom monitoring the entire boom, to ensure target application rate and spray quality is maintained (Stanhope, paragraph 20). Since monitoring the spray fan with cameras is known, utilizing multiple cameras to view targeted areas and different positioning of the cameras for better view angle would have required no inventive effort.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument against claim 1: Serrat’s lights illuminate the crop for plant identification and not spray from nozzles (Remarks page 4), therefore Rahe in view of Serrat would not be obvious.
This is found not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Serrat was cited to show that light projections can be rearranged to have different projecting directions:
Figure 1 of Serrat shows a straight line projection from light projectors 40i toward a targeted illuminating area and
Figure 3 shows an alternative lighting arrangement that have the light projectors 420i and 430i pointing in opposite directions toward adjacent areas.
Considering the advantage of uniform and homogenous lighting for better image captured described in Serrat’s paragraphs 45-48 and 58, a person of ordinary in the art would have had the technological capabilities to assess the similar advantages on fixture placement and illuminating opposing adjacent targeted areas, i.e. adjacent nozzle spray fans of Rahe or Gunthorpe, to optimize lighting capture for spray monitoring as mentioned in paragraph 45. With Rahe and Gunthorpe already disclose the intention of illuminating the spray discharge from the each nozzles for monitoring, repositioning the light fixture(s) on each of the first, second, and third nozzle assemblies and redirecting the light projection from the respective light fixture to illuminate an adjacent nozzle spray fan discharge in Rahe or Gunthorpe’s system would have required no inventive effort. This modification to Rahe and Gunthorpe is not relevant to Serrat’s plant identification feature since Serrat is not being modified.
Argument against claim 1: Serrat’s lights are positioned adjacent the cameras and are not part of a nozzle assembly.
This is found not persuasive. The current claim language only requires that the “first nozzle assembly includes at least a first light and a second light disposed to illuminate…”. There is no specific claim language specifying how the nozzle and light are connected, just that the claimed assemblies are attached to the boom. Since each of Serrat’s light, camera and nozzle combination are attached to the boom and connected in some way, this meet the limitation of the claim as being part of the respective nozzle assembly.
In light of the response above, the prior art rejections(s) shall be maintained.
Conclusion
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752