Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 178-193 in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 178-193 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johnson (US9459488).
Applicants’ claims are directed toward an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 178-193, Johnson discloses the device for analysis of cells, comprising (See Figures 1A-D & 2A Item 100 which is reader 102 and cartridge 104/200; cartridge and in the embodiment where Figure 7 is incorporated into Figure 2A Column 23 line 14 to Column 25 line 16): A). A hollow rectangular frame (See Figure 2A; Item 238; airline plate); B). A microfluidic layer received within the hollow rectangular frame and comprising a microfluidic unit having microchannels configured to receive at least a component of the cells therein (See Figure 2A Item 236 microfluidic layer); C). A sensor layer received within the hollow rectangular frame and comprising sensors, the sensor layer being configured for placement such that the microchannels of the microfluidic layer interact with the sensors (See Figure 2A Item 234 sensor assembly); and D). A base layer detachably connectable to the microfluidic layer and/or to the hollow rectangular frame to obtain a predetermined positioning of the microfluidic layer relative to the sensor layer (See Figure 2A Item 232 bottom plate snaps into Item 238 to form predetermined positioning of the microfluidic later relative to the sensor plate).
Regarding Claim 179, Johnson discloses the device of claim 178, wherein the base layer comprises hooks adapted to slide into corresponding slots provided in the hollow rectangular frame (See Figure 2A hooks are on Item 232 which slide into corresponding slots on Item 238).
Regarding Claim 180, Johnson discloses the device of claim 178, wherein the base layer and the hollow rectangular frame are engageable via a snap-fit, a screw, a pressure fit, a latch, a lock or a magnet (See Figure 2A, Item 232 has hooks that snap over the groove in Item 238 in the slot).
Regarding Claim 181, Johnson discloses the device of claim 178, wherein the sensor layer is integrated into the base layer (See Column 23 line 14 to Column 25 line 16).
Regarding Claim 182, Johnson discloses the device of claim 178, wherein the sensor layer is provided underneath the microfluidic layer (See Figure 2A, Item 234 – sensor layer is underneath item 236 microfluidic layer).
Regarding Claim 183, Johnson discloses the device for analysis of cells, comprising: A). A microfluidic layer comprising a microfluidic unit having microchannels configured to receive at least a component of the cells therein, the microchannels being provided in a spaced- apart relationship relative to each other (See Figure 2A Item 236 microfluidic layer); and B). An electrode layer comprising electrodes placeable in contact with the microfluidic layer to achieve a predetermined organized architecture of the microchannels relative to the electrodes (See Figure 2A Item 234 when Figure 7 is incorporated into Figure 2A; Column 23 line 14 to Column 25 line 16).
Regarding Claim 184, Johnson discloses device of claim 183, wherein the electrode layer is deposited onto, or integrated into, a bottom wall of a cell culture well of the device (See Column 23 line 14 to Column 25 line 16).
Regarding Claim 185, Johnson discloses the device for analysis of cells, comprising (See embodiment of Figures 1A-D & 2A Item 100 which is reader 102 and cartridge 104/200; cartridge when Figure 7 is incorporated into the cartridge): A). A microfluidic layer comprising a microfluidic unit having microchannels configured to receive at least a component of the cells therein, the microchannels being provided in a spaced- apart relationship relative to each other (See Figure 2A item 236 microfluidic layer); and B). A sensor layer comprising sensors placeable in contact with the microfluidic layer to achieve a predetermined organized architecture of the microchannels relative to the sensors (See Figure 2A Item 234 sensor assembly).
Regarding 186, Johnson discloses the device of claim 185, wherein the sensors comprise optical sensors, chemical sensors and/or electrical sensors (See Figure 2A Item 234 has electrochemical sensors).
Regarding Claim 187, Johnson discloses the device of claim 185, wherein the sensors are configured to detect and/or measure a physical signal, a biological signal or a chemical signal (See Figure 2A Item 234 has electrochemical sensors).
Regarding Claim 188, Johnson discloses the device of claim 185, wherein the sensors are configured to detect and/or measure an electrical activity and/or the concentration of a specific compound (See Figure 2A Item 234 has electrochemical sensors. Electrochemical sensors function in this manner).
Regarding Claim 189, Johnson discloses the device of claim 185, wherein the sensors are configured to stimulate the cells present in the microchannels, measure an activity of the cells present in the microchannels, or measure a response from the cells present in the microchannels to stimulation, and/or provide an output and/or receiving an input (See Figure 2A Item 234 electrochemical sensors function in this manner).
Regarding Claim 190, Johnson discloses the device of claim 185, further comprising an electronic device in ohmic connection with the sensors (See Figure 1A-D Item 102 reader is interpreted as an electronic device in ohmic connection with the sensors).
Regarding Claim 191, Johnson discloses the device of claim 190, wherein the electronic device comprises a sensing device or a stimulating device (See Figure 1A-D Item 102 reader is interpreted as a sensing device).
Regarding Claim 192, Johnson discloses the device of claim 190, wherein the electronic device is configured for providing an electrical read-out comprising at least one of a potential recording, an impedance spectroscopy recording, a voltammetry recording and an amperometry recording (See Figure 1 Item 102 reader).
Regarding Claim 193, Johnson discloses the device of claim 185, wherein the sensors comprise electrodes (See embodiment of when Figure 7 is incorporated into Figure 2A for Item 234, sensing layer & Column 23 line 14 to Column 25 line 16).
Conclusion
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779