DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15, 16, 18 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/11/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that amended claim 1 is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by Ghanouni because Ghanouni allegedly fails to disclose: (i) a non-crosslinked gelling agent, (ii) caffeine as the active ingredient, and (iii) the specific claimed composition without impermissible selection. Applicant further asserts that Ghanouni teaches away from the claimed invention. These arguments are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant’s “non-crosslinked gelling agent” argument is not persuasive
Applicant asserts that amended claim 1 requires that the gelling agent is not crosslinked, and that Ghanouni allegedly teaches only crosslinked gelling agents.
This assertion is incorrect. Ghanouni broadly discloses the use of hydrocolloid gelling agents and provides a list of suitable gelling agents. While Ghanouni describes calcium-crosslinked alginate and/or calcium-crosslinked pectin as possible embodiments, the reference does not require crosslinking for the gelling agent generally. The use of crosslinking is described as optional (“may comprise”), not mandatory.
Thus, Ghanouni expressly discloses embodiments in which the gelling agent is not crosslinked, and amended claim 1 reads on those embodiments.
Applicant’s reliance on preferred or exemplary crosslinked embodiments does not negate the broader disclosure of non-crosslinked gelling agents.
Applicant’s “multiple independent selections” argument is not persuasive
Applicant argues that the presently claimed amorphous solid is not anticipated because a person of ordinary skill in the art would need to make “multiple independent selections” from Ghanouni to arrive at the claimed invention.
This argument misstates the standard for anticipation. Anticipation does not require that a reference describe the claimed invention as a single, preferred, or expressly highlighted embodiment. Rather, anticipation exists when a single reference describes the claimed subject matter such that it falls within the scope of what is disclosed, even if the reference also discloses alternative embodiments.
Ghanouni expressly discloses an aerosol-generating amorphous solid comprising:
an active ingredient,
an aerosol-generating (aerosol-former) material, and
a gelling agent,
along with explicit wt% ranges for each component calculated on a dry weight basis. The presently claimed amorphous solid merely recites one embodiment that falls squarely within the compositional framework and ranges disclosed by Ghanouni. Selecting a disclosed active ingredient and formulating it within disclosed ranges does not amount to impermissible “reconstruction,” but rather reflects the ordinary reading of a reference that teaches compositional alternatives.
Accordingly, Applicant’s “multiple selections” argument does not overcome anticipation.
Applicant’s argument that caffeine is merely “one of many actives” is not persuasive
Applicant argues that although caffeine listed in Ghanouni, the reference does not disclose caffeine as a preferred active ingredient, and therefore anticipation is lacking.
This argument is not persuasive. A reference anticipates if it expressly discloses the claimed subject matter, regardless of whether it is described as preferred. Ghanouni explicitly lists caffeine among the active ingredients suitable for inclusion in the amorphous solid. The fact that Ghanouni also discloses other active substances does not negate that caffeine is expressly disclosed as an option.
Anticipation does not require exclusivity or preference. Because caffeine is expressly identified as a suitable active ingredient in Ghanouni, this limitation is met.
Applicant’s alleged “technical effect” does not overcome anticipation
Applicant argues that the claimed combination provides a technical effect, such as improved delivery, and that this effect is not disclosed in Ghanouni.
This argument is not persuasive. Anticipation is determined by whether the structural and compositional limitations of the claim are disclosed, not by whether the reference recognizes or describes the same advantages or results. Intended use, benefits, or discovered properties do not impart patentability to an otherwise anticipated composition.
Additionally, arguments regarding “teaching away” are inapplicable to anticipation and do not negate the express disclosure in Ghanouni.
For the reasons discussed above, Ghanouni expressly discloses all of the limitations of amended claim 1. Applicant’s arguments rely on preference, selection, and alleged advantages rather than on a lack of disclosure, and therefore do not overcome the rejection.
Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–2, 5–10, and 12–15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghanouni et al. (WO 2020/025701).
Regarding Claim 1, 17 and 19:
Ghanouni teaches an amorphous solid, a slurry and a composition suitable for use in aerosol generation (p. 3, l. 5–15; p. 31, l. 11-13).
the amorphous solid comprises at least about 20 wt% of an active substance (p. 12, l. 30), wherein the active substance may be caffeine (p. 35, l. 25 – p. 36, l. 10).
15–27 wt% of a gelling agent (p. 10, l. 12–14), wherein the gelling agent may be selected from alginate, pectin, starch, cellulose derivatives, gums, PDMS, clay, and polyvinyl alcohol (p. 10, l. 15–25).
the amorphous solid comprises 20–40 wt% aerosol-forming material such as glycerol, propylene glycol, and triacetin (p. 11, l. 5–15).
And solvent (pg. 13 l. 17).
All weight percentages are disclosed as being on a dry-weight basis (p. 10, l. 10).
Ghanouni describes both crosslinked and non-crosslinked gelling systems, indicating the presence of non-crosslinked embodiments (p. 10, l. 25–30). Ghanouni further teaches that crosslinking is optional, explaining that the gelling agent may be combined with a setting agent, such as calcium source during formation of the amorphous solid but is not required (p. 10, l. 25–30).
Regarding Claim 2:
Ghanouni teaches the amorphous solid comprises at least about 20 wt% of an active substance (p. 12, l. 30), wherein the active substance may be caffeine (p. 35, l. 25 – p. 36, l. 10).
Regarding Claim 3:
Ghanouni teaches the amorphous solid comprises 20–40 wt% aerosol-forming material such as glycerol, propylene glycol, and triacetin (p. 11, l. 5–15).
Regarding Claim 5:
Ghanouni teaches gelling agents selected from cellulose derivatives (p. 10, l. 15–25).
Regarding Claim 7:
Ghanouni teaches polysaccharide gelling agents comprising cellulose derivatives (p. 10, l. 18–20; p. 11, l. 1–5).
Regarding Claim 8:
Ghanouni discloses hydroxypropyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, and carboxymethyl cellulose as examples of cellulose derivatives (p. 10, l. 18–20).
Regarding Claim 10:
Ghanouni expressly discloses carboxymethylcellulose (CMC) as a gelling agent (p. 10, l. 18).
Regarding Claim 11-12:
Ghanouni teaches aerosol-forming materials including glycerol, propylene glycol, and triacetin (p. 11, l. 10–15).
Regarding Claim 13-14:
Ghanouni teaches an aerosol-generating composition comprising aerosol-generating material comprising 50–100 wt% of the aerosol-generating material (p. 3, l. 8–12; p. 14, l. 30–33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghanouni et al. (WO 2020/025701).
Regarding claim 4, the limitation requires that the gelling agent being present in an amount of about 30 to about 50 wt %.
Ghanouni teaches that the amorphous solid may comprise about 1 wt % to about 60 wt % of a gelling agent and, in suitable embodiments, 1–50 wt %, 5–40 wt %, 10–30 wt %, or 15–27 wt % of a gelling agent (p. 10, l. 10–15; dry-weight basis).
The claimed range overlaps and is encompassed by the range expressly taught by Ghanouni (1–60 wt %).
It has been held that, where the claimed and prior-art ranges overlap or lie inside each other, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (See MPEP § 2144.05). In such cases, the burden shifts to Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed range is critical or yields unexpected results relative to the overlapping prior-art range.
No showing of criticality or unexpected results has been provided.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected a gelling-agent amount within the overlapping range, specifically about 30 to 50 wt %, as taught by Ghanouni, rendering claim 4 obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Christopher M Rodd/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766