DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the enclosure regions" in line 4, and “the direction of travel” in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 13, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vossel et al. (US 2003/0151178).
In Re claim 11, Vossel et al. disclose a hydraulic bearing bushing (figs.1 and 2) comprising: an inner bushing (1); an annular rubber body (9, 11) vulcanized to the inner bushing (par. 0018); an outer housing (8); two chambers (5, 5’); a throttle channel (7) connecting the two chambers; and reinforcing members (10, 10’) vulcanized to the rubber body (par. 0018), wherein the reinforcing members at least reduce an axial inflation of the rubber body during travel. The examiner notes that “the direction of travel” is broad and not clearly defined; thus allowing the reinforcing members of Vossel et al. to be interpreted to read on the claim limitation.
In Re claims 13, the reinforcing members (10, 10’) are annular disks (par. 0018).
In Re claims 18-20, see support rings (12, 12’). Vossel et al. further disclose the use of metal (claim 4).
In Re claims 21 and 23, Vossel et al. disclose that the hydraulic bearing bushing is intended to be used with wheel suspensions (par. 0002). The examiner notes that limitations of claims 21 and 23 are interpreted to recite an intended use of the claimed invention, and are therefore not given patentable weight.
In Re claim 22, the hydraulic bearing bushing is intended to be used with a pin inserted through the central inner bushing. The examiner notes that limitation regarding the “bogie frame” is interpreted to recite an intended use of the claimed invention, and are therefore not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vossel et al. (US 2003/0151178) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Palluck et al. (US 2018/0087567).
In Re claim 12, Vossel et al. fail to disclose the material of the reinforcing members.
Palluck et al. is related to the art of hydraulic bearing bushings (1) having axial end reinforcing members (18, 19), and teaches forming said reinforcing members of plastic (par. 0031). Plastic is a well-known, cheap, lightweight, strong, and corrosion-resistant material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bearing bush of Vossel et al. to use a plastic material for the reinforcing members, as taught by Palluck et al., as it was a cheap, lightweight, strong, and corrosion-resistant material suitable for use in the bearing bushing art. The examiner notes that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP2144.04).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vossel et al. (US 2003/0151178) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wittbracht et al. (US 2019/0040928).
In Re claim 14, Vossel et al. further disclose the use of metal for elements of the bearing bushing (claim 4), but fail to specifically disclose steel.
Wittbracht et al. is related to the art of hydraulic bearing bushings. Wittbracht et al. teach the use of steel for the structural elements of the bearing bushing. Steel is a well-known, readily-available, cheap, and strong material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the reinforcing members of steel, as taught by Wittbracht et al., as it was a readily available, strong, and art-recognized material suitable for use in bearing bushings. The examiner notes that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP2144.04).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vossel et al. (US 2003/0151178) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Krsjak et al. (EP 3604851 A1).
In Re claims 16 and 17, Vossel et al. fail to specifically disclose a fiber mesh material.
Krsjak et al. is related to the art of hydraulic bearing bushings. Krsjak et al. teach the use of a fiber reinforced plastics material, understood to be formed as a fiber mesh encased in a plastic material. Fiber reinforced plastics are a well-known, lightweight, strong, and corrosion-resistant material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the reinforcing members of a fiber-reinforced plastic material, as taught by Krsjak et al., as it was a readily available, strong, lightweight, and corrosion-resistant material suitable for use in bearing bushings. The examiner notes that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP2144.04).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616