DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Palluck et al. fail to teach the reinforcing members, and that the reinforcing members are formed of a material having a modulus of elasticity higher than the rubber body, and are formed of plastic
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner points out reinforcing members (18, 19, 20, 21) formed of plastic (par. 0031), which are functionally disposed in a similar location as applicants with respect to the rubber body (4) and outer housing (3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palluck et al. (US 2018/0087567).
In Re claims 11 and 22, Palluck et al. disclose a hydraulic bearing bushing (1) comprising: an inner bushing (15); an annular rubber body (4); an outer housing (3); two chambers (10, 11); a throttle channel (12) connecting the chambers; and reinforcing members (18, 19, 20, 21) formed of plastic (par. 0031). In Re claim 22, Palluck et al. disclose that the hydraulic bearing bushing is intended to be used as an elastomeric journal bearing. The examiner notes that limitations of claim 22 are interpreted to recite an intended use of the claimed invention, and are therefore not given patentable weight.
In Re claims 12, 13, 20, 24, and 25 see reinforcing members (20, 21) in figs. 1, 3, and 4.
In Re claims 18 and 19, see metal support rings (18, 19).
In Re claims 21 and 23, Palluck et al. disclose that the hydraulic bearing bushing is intended to be used as an elastomeric journal bearing. The examiner notes that limitations of claims 21 and 23 are interpreted to recite an intended use of the claimed invention, and are therefore not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palluck et al. (US 2018/0087567) as applied to claims 11 and 22 above, and further in view of Wittbracht et al. (US 2019/0040928).
In Re claim 14, Palluck et al. further disclose the use of metal (par. 0031), but fail to specifically disclose steel.
Wittbracht et al. is related to the art of hydraulic bearing bushings. Wittbracht et al. teach the use of steel for the structural elements of the bearing bushing. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the reinforcing members of steel, as taught by Wittbracht et al., as it was a readily available, strong, and art-recognized material suitable for use in bearing bushings. The examiner notes that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP2144.04).
Claims 16, 17, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palluck et al. (US 2018/0087567) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Krsjak et al. (EP 3604851 A1).
In Re claims 16, 17, 27, and 28, Palluck et al. further disclose a plastics material (par. 0031), but fail to specifically disclose a fiber mesh material.
Krsjak et al. is related to the art of hydraulic bearing bushings. Krsjak et al. teach the use of a fiber reinforced plastics material, understood to be formed as a fiber mesh encased in a plastic material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the reinforcing members of a fiber-reinforced plastic material, as taught by Krsjak et al., as it was a readily available, strong, and art-recognized material suitable for use in bearing bushings. The examiner notes that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP2144.04).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616