DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when the claim recites “a refractive index difference…is 0.0068 or less”. The refractive index n1 and n2 as recited in the claim generally also depends on the wavelength. The scope of the n1 and n2 is not clear without setting forth wavelength at which the n1 and n2 are measured. Claims 2-19 are also rejected from depending from claim 1, thus inclusion of its indefinite features.
Claim 3 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when these claims recite “wherein the polyimide-based resin film has a thickness direction retardation Rth value at a thickness of 10 μm of 10 nm to 52 nm”. The Rth value generally also depends on the wavelength. The scope of the Rth value is not clear without setting forth wavelength at which the Rth is measured.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Auman et al (US 2020/0216614, of record, IDS 04/09/24, ‘614 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7, ‘614 discloses a polyimide film with a thickness of 10 microns ([0025], [0040], [0242]) having refractive index difference being less than 0.002 ([0026], [0041], [0243]); yellow index being less than 5, specifically 3.77 as in Example 2 ([0029], [0044], Table 1); color coordinate b* being less than 3, specifically 2.51 as in Example 2 ([0028], [0043], [0245], Table 1); thickness direction retardation Rth being less than 20 nm at wavelength of 550 nm, specifically 18 nm as in Example 2 ([0025], [0040], [0242], [0268], Table 1); and haze being less than 1.0% ([0027], [0042], [0244]); satisfying the all the limitations of present claims 1-3 and 7.
Regarding claims 8-15, ‘614 also discloses that the polyimide can be formed from 4,4’-oxydiphthalic anhydrate (ODPA), satisfying Chemical Formula 2 as in present claim 9; 1,3-phenylene diamine (m-PD) and 4,’4-oxydianiline (ODA), satisfying Chemical Formulae (3-1) and 5 as in the present claims 10-11 and 14 (ODPA/3,4ODA/MPD=100/40/60, [0505]); thus the polyimide as disclosed satisfies all the limitations of present claims 8-15.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, ‘614 also discloses an optical device comprising the polyimide film as a substrate ([0447]-[0468]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auman et al (US 2020/0216614. of record, ‘614 hereafter).
Regarding claims 4-6, ‘614 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but ‘614 does not expressly set forth that the polyimide film having refractive indexes as recited in the present claims 4-6. However, as discussed above in the paragraphs 9-10, 614 discloses a polyimide film having chemical structure (OPDA/ODA/MPD) being substantially identical to the polyimide film as disclosed in the present application (see examples of present application, Table 2), which also shows similar optical properties related to the refractive indexes of the film, such as refractive index difference, color coordinate, and thickness direction retardation; thus it is reasonable to expect that the polyimide film of ‘614 would have possessed the presently claimed refractive index, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary (See MPEP 2112).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auman et al (US 2020/0216614. of record, ‘614 hereafter) in view of Nakayama et al (US 2014/0134428, ‘428 hereafter).
Regarding claims 16-17, ‘614 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but ‘614 does not set forth that the polyimide film further includes a phosphate-based additive. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘428 discloses a polyimide film formed from a polyimide acid solution and a phosphate-based compound ([0018]), preferably triaryl phosphate ([0058]), to suppress thermal decomposition of polyimide resin ([0062]), and renders a polyimide film having excellent heat resistance, chemical resistance and radiation resistance ([0035]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the phosphate-based additive as taught by ‘428, to modify the polyimide film of ‘614, in order to render a polyimide film having better heat resistance.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782