The present application, filed on or after 16 Mar 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-22 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-22 as detailed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder (“system”) that is coupled with functional language (“offset determining”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are the “offset determining system” found in independent Claims 9 and 20 and the corresponding dependent claims.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Specifically, the Spec. (P19|14) describes an offset determining system that “may comprise a memory and a processor,” and “may be considered to be a computer.”
The MPEP (§2181 (II)(B)) states that “In cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general-purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function.”
In this case, the algorithms for performing the claimed functions of the offset determining system are disclosed in the Spec. at least at P9|31 - P10|5, P15|4-12, and Fig. 5 along with its descriptions on P14-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroki (JP2006080896 [IDS entry]).
As for Claim 1, Hiroki teaches emitting light from an emitter and detecting reflected light (¶2|1: “A photoelectric switch, which is a type of detection switch, emits light toward an area to be detected, receives light from the area to be detected….”); applying an offset to the detected reflected light to provide an output signal indicative of proximity (¶30|7: “The amplifier circuit 25 amplifies the electrical signal corresponding to the amount of received light according to a predetermined gain and offset, and the gain and offset can be adjusted (corrected) by the processor 28.”); determining an average signal of the output signal (¶55|3: “Therefore, for the reference detection value, the average of a plurality of values sampled during a certain period (t2) may be obtained.”); determining whether drift has occurred by comparing the output signal to a first threshold (¶53|1: “If the acquired detection value is the first detection value (Yes in step # 102), the difference D between the reference detection value and the first detection value is calculated in step #103.”) and comparing the average signal to a different threshold (¶53|7: “If the difference D is within the second specified range [different threshold] (No), the difference D is compared with the first specified range in step # 106.”); and adjusting the offset if drift is identified (¶56|4: “The offset of the amplifier circuit 25 is corrected so that the value approaches a preset reference detection value.”)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Hiroki teaches wherein drift is not identified until the output signal and the average signal satisfy the threshold criteria for drift for a predetermined period of time (¶55|3: “Therefore, for the reference detection value, the average of a plurality of values sampled during a certain period (t2) may be obtained.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 2, Hiroki teaches wherein the predetermined period of time is a predetermined number of proximity measurement cycles (¶55|3: “Therefore, for the reference detection value, the average of a plurality of values sampled during a certain period (t2) may be obtained.”)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 1, Hiroki teaches wherein drift is identified if the average signal is between a first upper boundary threshold and a second upper boundary threshold, and the output signal is below the second upper boundary threshold (¶3|4: “In this method, the threshold value is changed according to the time-dependent change of the physical quantity. Specifically, a predetermined number of physical quantities corresponding to the ON state (for example, second level output) and physical quantities corresponding to the OFF state (for example, first level output) are accumulated. When a predetermined number of physical quantities are accumulated, the distribution of physical quantities in the ON state and the distribution of physical quantities in the OFF state are obtained, and the threshold value ls reset (updated) to an intermediate value between them.”)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 1, Hiroki teaches wherein drift is identified if the output signal is greater than a release threshold and the average signal is less than a pick-up threshold (Fig. 7, flowchart, ¶52-53).
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 1, Hiroki teaches wherein drift is identified if the average signal is greater than a third upper boundary threshold and the output signal is less than a fourth upper boundary threshold (Fig. 7, flowchart, ¶52-53).
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 1, Hiroki teaches wherein drift is also identified if the average signal falls below a lower boundary threshold (¶3|4: “In this method, the threshold value is changed according to the time-dependent change of the physical quantity. Specifically, a predetermined number of physical quantities corresponding to the ON state (for example, second level output) and physical quantities corresponding to the OFF state (for example, first level output) are accumulated. When a predetermined number of physical quantities are accumulated, the distribution of physical quantities in the ON state and the distribution of physical quantities in the OFF state are obtained, and the threshold value ls reset (updated) to an intermediate value between them.”)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 2, Hiroki teaches wherein a measurement of the time is reset when the offset is adjusted (¶3|4: “In this method, the threshold value is changed according to the time-dependent change of the physical quantity. Specifically, a predetermined number of physical quantities corresponding to the ON state (for example, second level output) and physical quantities corresponding to the OFF state (for example, first level output) are accumulated. When a predetermined number of physical quantities are accumulated, the distribution of physical quantities in the ON state and the distribution of physical quantities in the OFF state are obtained, and the threshold value ls reset (updated) to an intermediate value between them.”)
Claims 9-11 and 14-18 recite substantially the same subject matter as Claims 1-8, respectively, and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
As for Claim 12, which depends on Claim 10, Hiroki teaches wherein the offset determining system is programmable, and the predetermined period of time may be programmed by an operator (¶55|9: “This delay time (t2) is also preferably manually settable by the user.”)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 9, Hiroki teaches wherein the offset determining system is programmable, and the number of measurements that are used to determine the average signal may be programmed by an operator (¶55|9: “This delay time (t2) is also preferably manually settable by the user.”)
As for Claim 19, which depends on Claim 9, Hiroki teaches wherein the detection system comprises a first amplifier stage configured to amplify an output from the detector and provide an intermediate output, and a second amplifier stage configured to receive the intermediate output and the offset and to provide an output signal (¶30|7: “The amplifier circuit 25 amplifies the electrical signal corresponding to the amount of received light according to a predetermined gain and offset, and the gain and offset can be adjusted (corrected) by the processor 28.”)
Claim 20 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 9 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Claim 21 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Claim 22 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 21 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645