Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 103 rejection have been considered and they are moot because they do not apply to the new references used in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (US 20210105817) in view of Wason (US 20050259617) further in view of Kim (US 20230209476).
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen discloses a first terminal comprising:
a receiving unit (fig. 3) configured to receive first reservation information for reserving a first resource from a second terminal and receive second reservation information for reserving a second resource from a third terminal (fig. 8, 802, the receiving device receives a first resource reservation from a first transmitting device, 804, the receiving device receives a second resource reservation from a second transmitting device);
a controlling unit (fig. 3) configured to, in a case where a destination related to the first reservation information is not the first terminal and a destination related to the second reservation is the first terminal, identify a terminal that is to be a transmission destination of information related to a collision between the first resource and the second resource based on a first priority related to the first reservation information and a second priority related to the second reservation information (fig. 8, 806, [0106], the receiving UE may identify a collision between first resources reserved by the first transmitting device and second resources reserved by the second transmitting device. The receiving device may determine a respective priority associated with each of the first and second resource reservations (or each of the first and second transmitting devices), and the receiving device may determine to send the collision indication to the first transmitting device or the second transmitting device based, at least in part, on which respective priority is relatively higher between the first resource reservation from the first transmitting device and the second resource reservation from the second transmitting device. Note, Nguyen discloses identifying the potential collision after receiving the two reservation information, includes the case where a destination related to the first reservation information is not the first terminal and a destination related to the second reservation is the first terminal (which is only an addressing details)); and
a transmitting unit configured to transmit the information related to the collision to the identified terminal (fig. 8, 808, 810, the receiving device may transmit the collision indication to the determined one of the first transmitting device or the second transmitting device),
wherein the controlling unit detects the collision in a case where a value of an RSRP (Reference signal received power) of the second terminal is greater than a predetermined value that is based on the first priority and the second priority ([0079][0102], determine that a collision between reserved resources will occur , determine a collision if a difference between the measurements for the signals from the two transmitting devices is within a threshold level and/or within a range, such a preconfigured threshold level and/or preconfigured range. The measurements may include, for example, reference signal receive power (RSRP)).
The first and second resource reservation information taught by Nguyen cover a broad range of destination nodes, it is possible that the destination related to the first reservation is not the first terminal, and the destination related to the second reservation is the first terminal. To support this feature, Wason discloses a controlling unit configured to, in a case where a destination related to the first reservation information is not the first terminal and a destination related to the second reservation is the first terminal, identify a terminal that cause the collision (Wason, fig. 14, [0192], the destination device D2 recognizes the reservation processing of the slot n through the data slot reservation indicator received from the destination device D1, and also recognizes that the priority is higher than its own reservation and thus a reservation cannot be continued (cause of collision). The destination device D2 cancels the reservation by sending a data slot negative acknowledge information element to the source device S2 (S1417). Here, the destination of the first reservation is D1, while, the destination of the second reservation is D2; two separate D2D communication, S1-D1, and S2-D2, steps S1413, s1415, D2, which can be considered as the first terminal, can receive both indicators and send feedback to S2 after identifying S2 is the terminal which causing the collision, s1417).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of exchanging reservation information as given by Nguyen with the teachings of detecting collision given by Wason. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the system capacity by spatial reuse of channel time (Wason, abstract).
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose the threshold is based on the first priority and the second priority.
Kim discloses detects the collision in a case where a value of an RSRP (Reference signal received power) of the second terminal is greater than a predetermined value that is based on the first priority and the second priority (Kim, [0148], the L1 SL RSRP measurement value for the specific resource exceeds an SL RSRP threshold; UE 2 may not select specific resource or detect a collision as taught by Nguyen; the SL RSRP threshold may be determined based on the priority of the SL transmission indicated by the SCI received by UE 2 from UE 1 and the priority of the SL transmission on the resource selected by UE 2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of exchanging reservation information as given by Nguyen with the teachings of detecting collision given by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently detect potential collision.
Claims 13-15 are rejected similarly with claim 9 noting that Nguyen and Kim disclose a controlling unit configured to control reselection of a resource used for communication between terminals based on the information related to the collision (Kim, [0146]-[-150]).
Regarding claim 11, Nguyen and Kim disclose the first terminal as claimed in claim 9,
wherein the controlling unit detects the collision in a case where a difference between an RSRP (Reference signal received power) of the second terminal and an RSRP (Reference signal received power) of the third terminal is greater than a predetermined value (Nguyen, [0079][0102], determine that a collision between reserved resources will occur , determine a collision if a difference between the measurements for the signals from the two transmitting devices is within a threshold level and/or within a range, such a preconfigured threshold level and/or preconfigured range. The measurements may include, for example, reference signal receive power (RSRP)).
Regarding claim 12, Nguyen and Kim disclose the first terminal as claimed in claim 9,
wherein the transmitting unit transmits the information related to the collision via a PSFCH (Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel) (Nguyen, [0094][0097], may send the indication as feedback on a feedback channel, such as a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474