DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Meng (CN-106278402-A).
In regard to claim 1, Meng discloses a method for preparing a composition (e.g. liquid product) [Example 3], comprising a step of treating a liquid composition of humic substances (e.g. 1 ton weathered coal with a humic acid content ≥ 55% and 1 ton water) [para. 0015] comprising particles (e.g. weathered coal is a granular material or pulverized to more than 20 mesh) [0008] with an oxidizing agent, wherein the oxidizing agent is ozone and the ratio ozone weight / humic substance weight is less than 8 (e.g. O3 fed at a rate of 2 kg/h for 48 hours : 1,000 kg weathered coal = 0.096) [0015]. While Meng does not explicitly disclose the weight-average hydrodynamic ratios, the prior art’s disclosure of oxidation treatment of the humic substance solution will necessarily result in a hydrodynamic radius value greater than the hydrodynamic radius before treatment by changing the humic acid surface layer’s interaction with the aqueous solvent thus improving solubility and stability in aqueous environments. “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property (e.g. weight-average hydrodynamic radius) which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the step of treating a coal suspension with an oxidizing agent results in the formation of carboxyl groups within coal’s carbon structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to introduce polar carboxyl groups to the liquid coal of Meng because carboxyl groups are more hydrophilic and thus more soluble in water.
In regard to claim 2, Meng discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the liquid composition having humic substances is obtained from peat, leonardite, lignite, coal or anthracite (e.g. weathered coal) [0015].
In regard to claim 3, Meng discloses the method according claim 1, wherein the liquid composition having humic substances comprises at least 50% by dry weight of humic substances (e.g. 1 ton of weathered coal is mixed with 1 ton of water) [0015].
In regard to claim 5, Meng discloses the method according to claim 1 but does not explicitly recite wherein the Hr average post-treatment is at least 5 times higher than the Hr average pre-treatment. However, the prior art’s disclosure of oxidation treatment of the humic substance solution will necessarily result in a hydrodynamic radius value 5 times greater than the hydrodynamic radius before treatment by changing the humic acid surface layer’s interaction with the solvent thus improving solubility and stability in aqueous environments. “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property (e.g. weight-average hydrodynamic radius) which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the step of treating a coal suspension with an oxidizing agent results in the formation of carboxyl groups within coal’s carbon structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to introduce polar carboxyl groups to the activated of Meng because carboxyl groups are more hydrophilic and thus more soluble in water to achieve a hydrodynamic radius at least 5 times higher than pre-treatment.
In regard to claim 6, Meng discloses the method according to claim 1 but does not explicitly recite the claimed comparison of weight proportion of particle size before and after oxidation. However, the prior art’s disclosure of oxidation treatment of the humic substance solution will necessarily result in particles having a smaller hydrodynamic radius because the oxidation process will increase particle solubility in water thus decreasing hydrodynamic diameter [see discussion in claim 1].
Response to Arguments
The objection to claims 2-5 and the rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of Applicants amendments (03/10/2026) to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/10/2026, with respect to rejection of the claim(s) based on the teachings of Fertinagro have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dyachkov et al. (SU-763309-B) is directed to a plant growth stimulating composition obtained by treating peat mass containing humates with ozonized air [abstract].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 March 26, 2026